Stowe farmhouse rental - Spring! A touch of Lilac
Spring! A touch of Lilac
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Stowe Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 6

Wi-Fi Internet access.

[NOTE: rate chart design&format may result in rate errors. Please inquire for accurate information.]

EASILY ACCESSIBLE, EXTRA-CLEAN 3 bedroom, 2 bath, mid-19th century farmhouse on 2+ hilltop country acres...and maybe a glimpse of our neighborhood DEER that visit regularly! Furnished with antique accents and immaculately maintained. Fully equipped, cook's delight kitchen. Modern, warm, spacious interior has hardwood and ceramic tile floors, plus slate entry 'mudroom.' Wood stove-fireplace + covered porch for summer dining. Perennial gardens, small apple orchard, barn. Dramatic views from our hilltop location minutes from Stowe Village, Alpine and cross-country skiing, and Stowe's famous all-seasons Recreation Path. 5 minutes to Stowe Village. Less than 15 min. to Mt. Mansfield skiing. 40 min. to Lake Champlain and Burlington, VT. Proximity to Boston & Montreal. INTERIOR PHOTOS/slide show-SEE LINK BELOW. Think fallow field, country road and covered bridge, or evergreens drenched in snow -- that's Deer Hollow! NO PETS OR SMOKING PLEASE.

ALLERGIES? Please Note: Pets and smoking are strictly prohibited. All efforts have been made to maintain a reduced-allergen environment.

Any season, Stowe offers excellent facilities to visitors from all over the world. From the highest peak in Vermont (Mount Mansfield) for pristine skiing to a championship 18-hole Golf Course with a view of Mount Mansfield in the distance, you'll be enchanted by Stowe..and you'll be back. DEER HOLLOW AT STOWE offers you rural vistas combined with the comforts of home, and access to all of Stowe's magic within minutes...and maybe a glimpse of the neighborhood *Deer* that visit regularly!! Experience Serendipity: Happy and unexpected discoveries made by accident... or, BY RESERVATION! Interior by ZAN KAYE.

No pets or smoking, please. (Note:Jet Blue flies to Burlington, Vermont.)

COMMENT FROM VISITOR: 'Deer Hollow really did give us the best of everything. Close to Stowe town but also far enough away to feel isolated, a beautiful log fire on wintry nights and in general a place of calm escape. I'll never forget sitting by the fire reading Robert Frost at night, then walking out the next morning through the landscape of his poetry - perfect fields of snow, still roads overhung with branches and an incredible light on the horizon between the distant trees.'

ANOTHER COMMENT: 'We usually try to go somewhere completely different every time for our vacations, but we both agreed we'd be tempted to come back. We've never rented a house that was so spotless or so well equipped, either. Thanks!'

aND ANOTHER: Deer Hollow is spacious & very clean, a house with a personality and at the same time easy to feel at home in and we would like to thank Susan for her hospitality + we did see a DEER!

More Details
Hide Details

When I speak directly to anyone who inquires about DEER HOLLOW AT STOWE, I tell them about the continuous efforts made to provide an extra-clean environment, and an especially comfortable vacation experience. As a recent guest from the UK reported, 'Everything was as Susan described, and spanking clean.' See many INTERIOR PHOTOS at the website slide show. I look forward to your visit!

17 Reviews of Property 104234 in Stowe, Vermont

SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 17 reviews
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
Brighton, UK
5

Summertime in Stowe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Susan's cottage is well situated, just a few of miles out of Stowe, both for the peace of the mountains and for the high-life. Stowe proved a lively place even in the 'low' summer season. There's a vast choice of places to eat and drink there, although with such a high-spec kitchen we often ate in - and one evening even entertained friends and family. The place is wonderfully spacious. Everything was as Susan described, and spanking clean. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed breakfast and after-dinner drinks on the porch, entertained by butterflies, birds and dragonflies. Our young American nephews insisted we visit Ben and Jerry's icecream factory and the Magic Hat brewery - free samples included! And we particularly enjoyed a visit to Montpelier. We would definitely recommend 'Deer Hollow' in the summer months to other non-skiers like ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: JenandDave cheerfully discovered that Deer Hollow is the picture-perfect place to stay when visiting Stowe or the surrounding areas. In Stowe, the hills are often "alive with the sound of music" because there is almost always a festival or market happening each weekend during the summer: music, food, garden, hot-air balloons, antique cars, etc. (During the winter ski season, the roads are extremely well-maintained to accommodate visitors and locals alike.) I personally take extra-care of the house to make sure your stay is perfectly comfortable. Experience the night silence and daytime beauty of Deer Hollow at Stowe...you'll be quite pleased! JenandDave...come back during the fall PEEK season--I'm sure you'll love it!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
5

deer hollow a nice quiet place to go

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We got to deer hollow because our other rental did not work out. susan, the owner was great ! She got us into deer hollow on short notice! The property is on a very accessible road but far from any hustle and bustle....we woke up to a beautiful setting but not too far from the stowe mountain road. I would highly recommend staying at deer hollow.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kudos! I'm really glad things worked out well for you. I manage the property myself and want to be as helpful as possible, from initial inquiry to check-out. When guests arrive after dark, they are always impressed the next morning by Deer Hollow’s beautiful setting, no matter the season. (They also love the fabulous views on the way to and from the Village.) It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Deer Hollow—hopefully you’ll come back to experience another spectacular season in Stowe. Right now, I’m heading out for a walk in the brilliant sunshine…there’s three feet of snow and it’s 12° F!
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Great place, really cute, beautiful area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Great little country house! Very clean and comfortable.
Owner's Response: Deer Hollow truly is in a beautiful and peaceful setting, right down to the uncommon stand of ancient oak trees on the property. And, VERY CLEAN & COMFORTABLE is absolutely my aim! I’m very happy you enjoyed your stay at Deer Hollow. Come back again to explore the surrounding area—there are so many things to see and do!
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
4

Ideal location for 3-generation family holiday

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Deer Hollow is well described in the literature and provided perfect accommodation for us grand-parents travelling from the UK to spend time with son, wife and 2 grand-children (9 and 7) who had travelled to Vermont from California. We wanted a peaceful location but one where we could go out and visit interesting places in the area.

The owner was there to meet and greet us and show us the amenities. We were reassured by this in that it showed the level of care that she has for her house which was well appointed and beautifully clean.

We enjoyed renting bikes, visiting Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Morse Maple Syrup Farm, boating/kayaking on Westbury Reservoir, visiting Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream factory. We didn't eat out much, preferring to snack while out and then have a meal together when returning to base.

The whole holiday was very special with only a couple of hiccups:
1) It was promised that the grass would be cut but it wasn't during our week's visit and this curtailed outdoor games etc. with our grand-children. Disappointing
2) Both the payment of the rental fee and re-payment of the security deposit were very costly in bank charges when paying and receiving to/from the UK and took the edge off what otherwise was a brilliant holiday. Perhaps if we could have had the facility to pay by credit card this hassle and extra cost may have been avoided or lessened.

I would recommend this property for a peaceful outdoorsy holiday for people who like countryside and fresh air (which we do).
Owner's Response: As with many UK visitors in the past, Richard and family really enjoyed their stay at Deer Hollow and its easy-access to all area activities. Located in a highly scenic and tranquil setting, Deer Hollow also invites lazing on the covered porch to read or just to watch the butterflies flit by.

I would like to note that the grass did not get cut as promised during Richard’s stay because of a number of overlapping and unfortunate occurrences and some miscommunication: there had been continuous, excessive rainfall for many weeks before Richard’s arrival and the grass could not be cut; as well, our property manager had two personal problems at the time: she was hurt in an auto accident, and her lawn-care equipment had broken down. There is, however, a large open area under the ancient oak trees that shade one side of the house (see photos) where the grass never grows much at all, and that area can always be used for outdoor activities. Regardless of these things beyond my control, I apologized to Richard for any inconvenience.

I would also like to note that while it is the case that there are bank charges to both me and visitors from the UK when transferring money, these vary tremendously depending on which bank is used by each visitor. Some banks’ fees are minimal. In an effort to try to minimize these costs for Richard, I accommodated all requests to explore various options. This resulted in at least 24 emails—rereading them, including those written after Richard’s return to England, they are all very positive about the family's stay at Deer Hollow and the return of the security deposit; It was clear that we had both been very cooperative. I am exploring other payment options for future guests.
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
4

Cozy stay near Stowe

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My friends and I ( 3 couples) stayed here for the winter holidays overlapping 2013 New Year.

1) Location: Excellent - 10min from a grocery store. 25min to Stowe mtn. Useful to have a 4wd vehicle, but even the "dirt road" leading up to the house gets paved in storms (there was a massive one after we got there) and there is a designated snow plow for the drive way.

2) Space: Great 3 bedroom, but one has 2 double beds which could be awkward if the group is composed of all couples, but we worked through it. Some of the locks on the bathrooms and bedrooms need to be replaced and we notified the owner who will fix it. Having a kitchen was great since we didn't feel like going out every night, and it was well stocked with all the necessary dishes. The heater makes a loud creaking sound in one of the bedrooms, but we dealt with this by having heater on to get the place toasty before bedtime and then turning if off for the night.

3) Cost: Relative to other places we looked at, this was a great deal and quite convenient. We were a little wary of wiring money rather than provide a credit card number for the cost of the stay, but I can only tell you that it all worked out. The deposit paid for in cash was refunded very promptly, though it required a trip to a bank branch (since my Citi ATM wouldn't accept a Canadian check).

4) Owner: Susan clearly loves her house and rightly wants you to take care of it properly. If your group is like ours, and you're looking for convenient access to the mountain, enjoy cooking together and a glass of wine and board games, this is probably a great place for you. Susan also went the extra mile to send us back a bed sheet we had left behind and followed up with us to make sure we had everything we needed. We couldn't have asked for more in terms of responsiveness and consideration.

5) Connectivity - one minor issue is that there is no cable or wifi. We relied on our smartphones so email and looking up restaurant reviews wasn't too taxing, but you should be aware of this if you are looking to do extensive work and don't have a data connection that you can tether to your laptop.

Overall: we would definitely recommend this cabin to those looking for convenience and charm.
Owner's Response: Dan, thanks very much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review.

ONE CORRECTION: THE HOUSE IS NOW WiFi CONNECTED. [You had offered to remove your Comment #5 but unfortunately could not find the way to accomplish that on the Homeaway website.]

Dan and friends visited Stowe during the New Year holiday period. The town is always bustling then, and the times you noted to get to various places can be affected. Normally, it takes me 5 minutes to get to the Shaws Supermarket, which marks the beginning of the actual Village. Stowe's Mt. Mansfield area generally takes me 15-20 minutes to get to when there are regular traffic levels in town.

Deer Hollow is always easily accessible: Town roads are all attended to regularly, especially in snow storms, and Deer Hollow's driveway is maintained by the property manager. The only exception to that is what's referred to as "mud season" (a 5th season, dependent on the level of snow melt in early spring, which is annually evident to varying degrees!). Yet, I have always driven a front-wheel drive car to get to the house. The last mile is a hard-packed dirt road that is regularly maintained by the town's graders and plows.

Re: door locks and noise in one bedroom from heating system...I will investigate possible solutions.

I also want to add the following note you sent me in an email after your stay: "The house was great, very conveniently located to the town and not far from the mountain at all. We love your decor and the fireplace. Also, the sleds were great! We used them on the hill behind the elementary school and it was a great experience."

I'm really happy that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your Deer Hollow/Stowe experience. Please come back again--maybe during another season--for a completely different Stowe adventure. If it's not winter, you may also want to explore the surrounding villages or Burlington on Lake Champlain... and don't forget Montreal!
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Perfect Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What more can we say that past guest hasn’t already said. Everything was as Susan had described, the house is in a wonderful setting surrounded by trees and open fields with everything you might require in the house for both small and large parties. The kitchen/dining area is fully stocked for eating at home but if you prefer to eat out, there are many places in Stowe and the surrounding area to do so. The beds are comfy and there is plenty of wardrobe space in all bedrooms. Everything was clean and neat as a pin but very much a home feel throughout. The lounge area had a log burning stove for the chilly evening and there is a ‘snug’ where you can watch a film or read.

We spent many happy hours on the back porch watching the humming birds, dragonflies and butterflies as well as the four legged wildlife, a great place to see the night sky too, so many stars.

Stowe is a picture postcard town with many interesting shops and eating places but the general area is just wonderful with lots of things to see and do for all ages.

If you decide that Deer Hollow is the place you would like to spend some time, you need to be prepared as it could turn out to be a place you have to return to more that once.
Owner's Response: This "wonderful setting" seems to have accommodated the Perfect Guests: you left the house spotless and even well-stocked! Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness; it is very much appreciated.

I'm so happy you truly enjoyed your stay at DEER HOLLOW and your visit to Stowe. I know you found many interesting places to go in the surrounding hills of Vermont and also across Lake Champlain in New York state after a beautiful, scenic ferry ride. As for dinning out, Stowe offers more than 50 choices! Of course, alfresco dinning on the porch is always a warm-weather option.

Please return to DEER HOLLOW soon....and maybe you can add a visit to Montreal, too. I look forward to meeting again.
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Family summer week at Stowe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had decided to rent a house in Vermont for the second week of our three week holiday in Canada and the US. Travelling with the family (parents and three children aged 14, 14 and 12) from Denmark we had a great week in Deer Hollow and in Stowe. Just what we had been looking for.
Following a week in Toronto we did enjoy the peace of the woods and the country but also managed a few sights, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory in Waterbury being an obvious choice with kids, the cable trip to Mansfield Mountain, Burlington with Shelburne Farms and Lake Champlain -- and shops and restaurants, incl. the Olde England Inne in Stowe, which - by the way - offers a good selection of beer. Not as much dining at home as we had thought but the kitchen at Deer Hollow is fully equipped and we managed to cook our dinner there a couple of times. Shaw's supermarket is located just before entering Stowe, a 8 minute drive from Deer Hollow, and local farm products are on sale there and in other shops or at farm doors.
On the last evening we went to the annual Stowe balloon festival with 25 hot air balloons taking off from a field just outside Stowe. A great experience.
Deer Hollow is spacious (at least to a Danish visitor), very clean, a house with a personality and at the same time easy to feel at home in and we would like to thank Susan for her hospitality, which we felt all the way through.
We really enjoyed the week in northern Vermont, in Stowe and in Deer Hollow -- and yes, we did see a deer in the garden on the
morning of July 4th!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Helping guests get settled and keeping the house extra-clean are really important to me--comfortable and happy guests are always best! Not only is Deer Hollow in a lovely park-like setting, but the area offers an abundance of activities and attractions--truly something for everyone. The town of Stowe dates back to the mid-1700s when settlers were attracted to the spectacular mountains and the valley they formed. Historical significance (Deer Hollow dates back to the mid-19th century) and a picturesque setting drawn visitors from around the world who are delighted to discover Stowe's unique qualities...they are often hooked and return regularly.
So do the "resident deer" and I'm so happy you got to see one...a patriotic one, at that! Please visit again soon.
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
4

Hilltop Farmhouse Deer Hollow Stowe

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed at Deer Hollow in June 2011 and really enjoyed the tranquliity of the surroundings. The house was very clean and well equipped. Location for us was perfect as we could choose countryside or equally easily Stowe or other nearby towns. Good restaurants in Stowe and a trip to Burlington and the lake is recommended. Susan was there to greet us and take us through the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Your return visit to Stowe after 20 years surely held some surprises, but Stowe and Mt. Mansfield--Vermont's highest peak--are always spectacular and do provide limitless opportunities for every outdoor enthusiast. Burlington, on the shore of Lake Champlain, is a favorite of mine, too.
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay at Deer Hollow and found the house extra-clean, well equipped, and very much as described--no surprises there!
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
Randolph, NJ
5

Deer Hollow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Home away from home, this cottage has all the facilities you would expect in a house and more! Susan is a pleasure to deal with and helps with local knowledge to enhance your trip. This cottage was perfect for us, a short drive to the town and the local supermarket. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit again! Our only initial minor disappointment was no internet connection,however, Stowe itself offers plenty of free access so this did not interfere with our vacation at all. Thanks Susan!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: NEW! WiFi INTERNET ACCESS.

I keep DEER HOLLOW completely equipped including great kitchen amenities, all-cotton linens and plenty of outdoor furniture to keep everyone comfortable. The property is in a wonderful, scenic Stowe location, but unfortunately, doesn't have access to a high speed internet connection, but we do have dial-up...which could lead to a rather relaxing vacation! As Yvonne mentioned, there are plenty of free wireless internet spots in town, along with a long list of attractions and over 50 restaurants. Stowe is wonderful any season!
business
SPRING/SUMMER_Radically Reduced WEEKLY Rate_HILLTOP COUNTRY FARMHOUSE w/ views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104234
+1 5144818986
Stowe Stowe Area
Ottawa ON
5

Deer Hollow Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a fantastic week's stay in this lovely farmhouse. It was spacious, comfortable and amazingly clean. Susan puts a lot of time and effort in keeping everything shipshape. We recommend Deer Hollow to anyone vacationing in the Stowe area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at DEER HOLLOW AT STOWE and the EXTRA-clean environment. I do take pains to make sure everything is just about perfect when you arrive. Combine a well-equipped, comfortable house in a park-like setting + views with all Stowe and the surrounding area have to offer, and you have the makin's of a perfect vacation....and apparently, a great place for geocaching, too.