Waterbury Center estate rental - Winter view of house
Winter view of house
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Waterbury Center Estate Rental Photos and Description
- 3 to 5 Bedroom, 3 to 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10 to 12 people.

Private Lake access with beach, dock, camp sites, etc. Three bedrooms, 3 bathrooms on the lower level of a newly constructed home and a 1 to 2 bedroom efficiency with full bath on the upper level with a king-sized bed and a queen-sized bed. It features a convenient galley kitchen with a comfortable living room/dining room with a queen-sized sleeper couch. The master bedroom has a jacuzzi tub with a California king-sized bed. The second bedroom has a queen-sized bed with a private shower. The third bedroom is a queen-sized bed. There are beautiful views of Camels Hump and the Ricker Mountain Basin and access to a private beach on the Waterbury Lake, an 800+ acre lake, that abuts to 1000's of acres of State Forest. Great for weddings or corporate retreats! Rental cars and taxis available in the area if you would rather arrive by train or airplane.

We are Eric and Francine Chittenden, and we each grew up in Vermont. Eric is an ancestor of Vermont's 1st Governor, Thomas Chittenden. Francine was born in Quebec, and thus her 1st language is French. We both grew up on dairy farms. We got married in 1973, and founded the Cold Hollow Cider Mill in 1974, which rapidly evolved into one of Vermont's premier 'must-see' attractions. In 1980 we created Governor Tom's restaurant, an immensely popular eatery for 8 years. We sold the cider mill in 2000 to Paul & Gail Brown so that we could fulfill our growing 'bucket lists.' The mill continues to be very successful.

Currently Eric holds a license to sail as Captain on the largest ships in the world, and works primarily on the Hawaiian run as a deck officer. Francine is Director of Human Resources for the Vermont Foodbank.

Francine or Eric purchased this estate in 2000

Our 30-acre property is one of the most unique getaways in the Stowe / Central Vermont area, affording privacy, waterfront, great sledding hill, easy access to recreation activities; such as, 4 ski areas, hiking, biking, water sports, concerts, theaters, and much, much more.

Hot tub, sauna, pool table, high-speed internet, flat-screen cable TV, 4 bathrooms, 2 jacuzzi baths, outside shower, volley ball court, 1.5 mile hiking trail that follows a stream in the woods, use of small boats, private beach, fire pit for camp fire at the beach and close to the house, retreat cabin in the woods by the lake, ample parking, gas grill, no extra fees.

13 Reviews of Property 104225 in Waterbury Center, Vermont

Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
5

Perfect Wedding Home Base!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed at the Blue Heron Cove with Francine and Eric for our wedding in Waterbury. We had use of the downstairs suite and the upstairs suite. It was an amazing place to prepare for my wedding. The views are unbelievably gorgeous , my sister and I walked the trails in the woods the morning of my wedding, we were able to have our after-party by the fire and were welcomed so kindly we knew we would have and amazing stay. If you are considering staying here, I can give you our recommendation - it's amazing!
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
5

Fabulous summer week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed for a week here and absolutely loved the entire week! We hiked around the property actually saw a mommy bear and her two cubs (scary but so exciting), the beach was a perfect private spot for all the kids, fishing off the rocks, using the boats in the water, and enjoying the hot tub and a fire each night! It was so much fun. The owners are the nicest people who are always there to help or chat! Wish we got to hang out more with them. They are fabulous! We are looking forward to another year with them! Wonderful week.
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a wonderful time in the property that you provided. It far exceeded our expectations and provided a place to have a wonderful Christmas with our family and friends.Thanks so much for the wonderful experience. We hope to return again and again
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
5

BEST WEEKEND EVER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
There are a gang of us that go skiing every year together. This was our first year at Stowe, and could not have asked for a better place to stay. First, Eric and Francine are the most amazing hosts I have ever dealt with. They make you feel so welcome and offer every ammenity, and encourage you to have as much fun as you possibly can. The house was amazing; bedrooms were all private, clean, and comfy. Hot tub, pool table, large kitchen, and amazing sledding hill were all put to great use. If you ever find yourself in need of a place to stay in Stowe, do not hesitate to grab this place up!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Washington, District of Columbia
5

Fantastic Holidays in Vermont

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Since the first email I sent to them, Francine and Eric had been nothing but amicable and welcoming to their home in Waterbury. I was planning a family get together/ski trip for Christmas and it was a great experience. Everything was taken care of and they even went out of their way to lend my 2yr old nephew a pair of skis and boots so we wouldn't have to rent it for him.

The property itself was beautiful, well-kept and with more than ample room for the 6 of us and close to all the attractions of Waterbury and just 20min or so away from Stowe skiing. My only complaint would be that I didn't have enough days there. Next time I'm in the area, I'll be sure to look them up again!

Thanks Eric and Francine!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
United States
5

A Wonderful Weekend at a Wonderful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We had a wonderful time at this wonderful house. The house is very comfortable and has everything one could ask, from wi-fi, to a sauna, hot tub and even sleds and snow shoes. It was a great time on a beautiful property. The owners, Eric and Francine, are extremely kind and helpful. They were constantly available to provide us with any help we needed. They also know the are really well which is a plus as they tell you what the best places to go are. Whether it's for skiing, relaxing or hiking this is the best place to stay in Stowe!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Portsmouth, NH
5

Weekend Ski Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
I stayed at the house with a group of great friends and we had a wonderful time. Besides a great location outside of Stowe and Waterbury Center, you have spectacular views of Camel's Hump!

The owners, Eric and Francine, answered my questions (several times) concerning the sleeping accomodations and what items we didn't have to bring. Eric and Francine were very accomodating and so friendly to help us with anything we needed. They really made us feel welcome in their beautiful home!

We enjoyed moonlight sledding and the hot tub after long days of skiing at Stowe and Smuggler's Notch. This house has everything you would need to keep a large group of friends or family entertained. The kitchen was large enough to cook some great meals and plenty of space for people to relax.

Thanks again for an amazing weekend!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Portsmouth, NH
5

Nice Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
I think I had just as much fun staying at the house as I did skiing this weekend. Sledding, sitting in the hot tub, and playing pool were great apres-ski activities. Hiking out to the rustic cabin near the lake was pretty neat too. I can confidently say that I and everyone I stayed with this weekend had a great time and would highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Waltham, MA
5

Wicked friggin nice pad

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This place was absolutely outstanding. It was truly a winter wonderland of entertainment set in a majestic setting. Three days was not enough time.

The hospitality of the owners, Eric and Francine, was second to none.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Private Suite in a Major Country Estate Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104225
802 244-8683
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
NJ
5

Great views & great hosts

Great views & great hosts
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
A group of 10 adults and 2 babies stayed at Eric & Francine's retreat for the New Year's Holiday. While initially I thought it was a bit strange to rent a house that the owners live in, this feature ended up being one of the highlights of the trip. Francine & Eric have a spectacular home and even better views. There are such great things to do on the property itself--sledding, hot tubbing, sauna, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, ice-fishing on the reservoir. I would recommend to everyone renting this place to ask the owners for the personal tour of the property. Eric & Francine took us on a night hike (with plenty of lanterns) around their property to a cabin they built for their kids. In the cabin is an antique stove to keep it warm. Eric brought down thermoses of hot cider as well as some rum. We all chatted at kept warm with the delicious drinks for an hour or so before heading back to the house. Needless to say our hosts made it a priority that we had a great time and unique experience. My only regret is that we couldn't stay for a whole week. The property was clean and well-maintained. A great feature for our group was that only 2 couples shared a bathroom, each of the other couples had their own. Both Francine & Eric were very helpful with any questions we had prior to our visit. This is a really unique, beautiful place to stay with wonderful hosts.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2