Ajijic house rental - Living Room - that nice mexican touch
Living Room - that nice mexican touch
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

Ajijic House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

[Yes - that's right; Allan Fotheringham, the famous Canadian writer & journalist (magazines, newspapers, and books), stayed here while visiting Ajijic.]

Hola!

Your hosts are The Gutman's who reside in Ajijic.

The Mexican Jewel Home was built only a few years ago and everything is fresh, fresh, fresh!

This charming Mexican Jewel House is located in the most desirable area of Ajijic- Las Salvias area. Walking distance to EVERYTHING!!!

Set into the hills, with a lake view,why not rent your very own one story Mexican style house?

Are you considering retirement? The Mexican Jewel home will give you a true flavor of life in our village. An excellent getaway to a warm climate and a chance to experience the authentic Mexican life -enjoy the morning church bells, smell the fragrant flowers and be peaceful in the hills of Mexico. Some of the best weather in the world is enjoyed by folks from all over the world! This well designed home is located in a very safe and secure area and you can feel comfortable to walk the village streets in the evening.

The Mexican Jewel home has two spacious bedrooms-styled for comfort and charm with dramatic domed ceilings (cupula)in a large living room dining area. The terazza (terrace) provide space for outside dining and the lull of the fountain will make you understand why you are in paradise. Protected from the sun, you can enjoy the terazza all day long and dine out in the evening.

The master bedroom has an American queen size pillow-top bed with built-in spacious closets. We've taken the liberty to have all the rustic furniture hand painted by a well known local artist. This Mexican style room is light, airy and over-sized for your comfort with brick ceiling and tropical fan. The master bathroom is steps away with a Mexican tiled sink, dramatic shower with an actual built-in tiled sitting bench and sky lights to show off the hand painted wall mural.

The second bedroom has French doors to a small terrace, an American sized queen size bed, as well as an elegant rustic desk to set up your laptop - high speed internet access is already set up for you. Just step outside to another half bathroom with stained glass windows, Mexican tiled sink and all the comforts of home.

Mexican arches and nooks allow for a very open and spacious flow in this jewel of a home. Dramatic lighting sets off the hues and colors used on the walls. The Mexican kitchen was designed for easy living - with its array of bright colors and original tiles- has all modern appliances, large pantry, gas oven and stove-top. There is a triple filtered water system as well as bottled water.

All linens and towels are quality fabrics, understanding the needs of spoiling visitors. The TV, with 600 satellite stations from Canada to United States, includes movies,sports and a host of music stations for your listening pleasure.

For your convenience: there is a US washer and US dryer, a storage room for folks with golf clubs and sports equipment.

We've taken the pleasure to supply you with a list of our favorite restaurants, shops, village outdoor market days and full day outings to artistic and historical cities. We enjoy stocking the fridge with a few goodies to get you going the first day you arrive and you can certainly pop down the street for some fill- ins. This home is so well located that many visitors never use their cars. There are a variety of small fruit and vegetable markets 3 streets away, 2 fish markets and a small grocery store. This will give you a chance to stock up on our local produce and enjoy the quality foods.

Only 3 minutes from home,we have our very own baker (Pan). Walk down the cobblestones to the original rustic bakery and buy warm fresh rolls every morning, croissants, sweet rolls (pan dulce) and have an authentic experience with our local baker who speaks English! Once inside this amazing bakery-you can special order: bagels, baguetes whole wheat croissants and cactus bread.

If you are here for affordable plastic surgery, dental work or medical treatments - this home is a perfect place to be peaceful.

With everything on one floor, you can be mobile and enjoy the house.

Remember – location, location, location! Just a short stroll away and you are at the main plaza with over 40 international restaurants, local artist galleries, shops and the true Mexico, at your feet. Walk the cobblestone streets, get caught in the local sights and sounds of the village, and enjoy what over 7,000 North Americans call home.

We would also like to remind you that we have another home, The Mexican Sunrise House (VRBO #143099),that is close by for families and friends that want to enjoy their visits together, but maintain their privacy and comfort. Just ask for both homes if you are considering multi- family/friend visits to our village.

Maid and gardener services are included once a week as are gas, electric and local phone calls. There are absolutely no hidden charges!

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

63 Reviews of Property 104029 in Ajijic, Mexican Riviera

Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
average rating of 4.904762 based on 63 reviews
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
Boonville,CA.
5

Fantastic home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The Jewel house in Ajijic is appropriately named. This clean, comfortable, well stocked home was more than the four of us expected ! It is tastefully decorated and nestled into a nice neighborhood with walking access to small markets, bus stops, through town and to the lakeside park. There is an information book in the house with detailed descriptions of local highlights, taxi info, car rentals, restaurants and galleries. Leo will also greet you to make sure you are comfortable and tell you about any special craft fairs, or farmers markets that might be happening. I recommend a bus ride to the hot mineral pools at Hotel Balneario. We loved our week in the Jewel House and will tell others about its comfort and location.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
5

Wonderful Casita, Wonderful Hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
First of all, Leo sent us extensive information on Ajijic in general and on the Casita specifically, before our arrival. We had great directions in both English and Spanish for the taxi driver from the airport. Getting into the house at night was simple and safe....and then we were overjoyed at how lovely the Casita was!! Beautiful hand painted Mexican tiles, Mexican paver flooring, arches and domed ceiling, but best of all is the little front patio with lots of plants and a lovely area to have our meals. The home is fully set up for an easy stay. We could walk everywhere, and did! Leo came to explain things about the house, answer questions. He was available to us and attentive. We would highly recommend the Mexican Jewel House to anyone coming to Ajijic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
5

In Good Hands

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
With Leo, you are in good hands! He is very conscientious and looks after every detail. We found the Jewel House very comfortable. And we liked the location –
a bit noisy at times – but close to almost everything. And with the information Leo passes on, you get to know how things work in Ajijic. You get the feel of the town.
And it all felt very good. We enjoyed our stay - anybody would.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
portland oregon
4

mexican jewel house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
very nice casita. Ajijic is high up and difficult for people with breathing problems.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: This is the second visit in two years by these guests - I love it when guests return. Their comment is true - Ajijic is at 5,000 feet above sea level, and it takes a day or two to acclimate to this altitude. Having said that, it is this altitude in the tropics, that helps create one of the best climates in the world - year around (It is Feb. as I write this, and all the trees are blooming with beautiful flowers). They don't call Ajijic "The land of eternal spring" for nothing.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
Reno, Nevada
4

A true taste of Mexico...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I arrived here and were greeted by the owner, Leo. He gave us a short but helpful talk on the house and living in Ajijic. He let us know that living in Mexico was not to be a quiet experience. That proved to be very true over the next week. There was a celebration going on all week and between the skyrockets going off at 6 AM and the rooster across the street beginning to crow each morning at 4 am, we found out quickly that we didn't need an alarm clock!
Leo and Gabby were the most wonderful hosts. They never bothered us but were always available if we needed anything. We would happily recommend this rental as a way to begin your experience of living in the downtown village of Ajijic.Mexico.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our guests came during the noisiest week of the year - the celebration of the patron saint of Ajijic - San Andres. During this week, there are celebrations all day and into the night in the main town square. It is a major annual cultural event, and lot's of fun for the whole village. However ..... it is a noisy week in the second half of November.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
5

A Wonderful Week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I had a fantastic week at the Mexican Jewel House. Leo ,our host , has done a fantastic job in providing all the comforts of home while providing a casa with a great Mexican ambiance. We had an automobile and used the villa as base camp as we took day trips to Talapan and the adjoining state of Colima. However, a great time could be had without a car as all needed items are within walking distance. We hope to come back in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
4

Lovely!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a very pleasant time in Ajijic at "The Jewel House". The house itself is lovely and is in a very convenient location to some of the best restaurants. The property is very clean and well maintained. Unfortunately, when we were there the weather was quite cool in the evenings and night (between 6 and 10 degrees celsius) and since the house has no heat whatsoever we were a little uncomfortable sometimes. (And we're Canadians! We're used to the cold!) We had my 84 year old mother-in-law with us who was recovering from the flu and it was too cold for her until we borrowed a small electric heater from a friend in Ajijic for her bedroom. Of course the weather is not usually that cold in Ajijic (we hit a rough patch!) but I would suggest that anyone going there in December or January definitely take clothes you can layer on as the temperature plunges in the evening and there's no convenient thermostat on the wall to turn up! Also, the information we rec'd from the owner before we arrived suggested that we should bring our own hairdryer (blowdryer) but when we got there, there was a blowdryer in the house for us to use (rats! I would have had room for that extra pair of shoes in my suitcase after all!) So don't bother bringing your blowdryer or an ethernet cable for your computer either since the house has WIFI now. A really nice bonus that we didn't know about was a phone line to call anywhere in North America free. That was a really nice surprise and enabled us to stay in touch with family back home free of charge! I would definitely recommend this property to others. The owner is extremely helpful. Our best meal was at a restaurant in nearby San Antonio called Adelita's (a short taxi ride away). Some friends invited us to half price ribs night on Tuesday night. It was WONDERFUL! For 70 pesos you get the most succulent amazing rack of ribs with french fries and coleslaw! Delicious. But be sure to make a reservation because the place is packed. Also very good was Tango Steak House in Ajijic and the guacamole made fresh right at your table in the Beer Garden in Lake Chapala was exceptional too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As the guest mentions in the review - this cold spell is not usual. Ajijic is 'The land of eternal spring' . Just about no one in Ajijic has either Heating nor A/C due to its great weather year around. This was a freak cold spell related to the 'Arctic Vortex' - with coldest temps in a century in much of the US and Canada, and even reached Mexico. The temperature returned to its normal 75-80 degrees F. one week later.
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
-
5

A super experience!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful stay at Leo’s casitas !! We were a group of 6 people so we booked the 2 houses and both of them were extremely comfortable and beautiful. We’ve been traveling for 6 months and we agreed that this place was the best rental experience we’ve had because not only was Leo and his wife extremely welcoming and full of resources, but also the houses were very tastefully decorated (we loved the tile, the colors, the attention to details in every room), clean and perfect in every way. We also loved having Cali, the owner’s dog, come and over and play with us…Leo asked us if we would like Cali’s company from time to time, and we said yes so it was an added bonus for us since we’re dog lovers (but if you’re more of a cat lover, then you can close your garden door and he won’t come). The location was also perfect as we could walk to everywhere in Ajijic. If you’re going to cook and stay there for a while, I highly recommend to go to the Tuesday morning organic market!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
Portland OR
5

A great Mexican Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I stayed with friends for a week in The Mexican Jewel House and it was the perfect place. We were immersed in the local Mexican community and yet safe and comfortable in a lovely house. Every detail of the house is well crafted and decorated. The location is great and close to the plaza and wonderful restaurants. Leo is a great host and has thought of every detail to make you comfortable. This was my first visit to Mexico and I am so happy that we had Leo to guide us. There was an issue with the bedding and Leo was at the house in minutes making it right. He lives right behind the house so you always feel like you can get help if you need it. But, his dog Cali was the one who stole my heart- what a sweetheart!
Thanks Leo- it was great.
Susan, Sedona AZ
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104029vbi
+52 3767-665170 (Mexico)
Ajijic Lake Chapala
5

Lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We so enjoyed our stay at this wonderful apartment. Leo was so helpful with every detail. He made our visit so easy and comfortable. The decorations were beautiful. This is an easy walk to the plaza and most restaurants. The local bakery was a plus. Thanks Leo and Gaby for everything
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, People with Disabilities