Grand Cayman condo rental - Sea Side Lanai
Sea Side Lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Grand Cayman Condo Rental Photos and Description
One Bedroom, one full bath .Sleeps up to four.

Kiwi Kai is perfect for the couple or family that enjoys tropical open air living. This 910 square foot home sits right on the beach at Cayman Kai, Rum Point, North Side, on the island of Grand Cayman .You will be a few steps from snorkeling, swimming or wading in the crystal clear Caribbean Sea. Soak up the sun on your just about private sandy beach where you can listen to the gentle sounds of the waves lapping within the reef 200 yards away. All rooms have Caribbean views and open to screened porches with patio set, chaise lounges, hammock and BBQ. Ceilings are vaulted to 16 feet with Casablanca fans throughout. Kitchen is fully equipped with updated corian counters and sink, flat top stove and new washer/dryer. The comfortable Living room contains a library of 250+good books. This is definitely a retreat from a busy world and a get away from the touristy spots elsewhere on the island.....We do, however, supply a modem for Ethernet & Wireless Internet access for our guests

A Guest Speaks: Sea Lodge #18 is a fine place for easy,

private, and idyllic holiday. For our time

there, we had the entire beach to ourselves.

Everything is laid on, including plenty of

towels, and lots of little extras that made for

an easier trip and fewer journeys out to the

store. Good library of books and videos.

The best snorkeling on the island (and we

checked it out) is right outside or within a

reasonable swim of the lodge. Absolutely

no complaints - not a luxury place (who

needs that anyway?) but cool, comfortable,

and well-appointed.

Tom Myers, Maine, USA

Absolutely wonderful!!! It was great to have someone do our shopping before we arrived. One whole week with out a car or television and it was heaven. The oceanfront view was unbelievable. Great collection of reading.

---Donna Kiliingbeck (Howell)

Our Guests Speak: We are back safely from our stay at Sea Lodge 18 at

Rum Point in Cayman. What an amazing time we

had! We loved the sunrises, moonrises, eating on

the patio facing the sea, the weather, the lodge, the

kitty, the fishes, the stingrays, the palm trees, the

seclusion, B.A., her husband, Barbara, Rum Point,

the sunsets at Rum Point, napping in the hammocks

at Rum Point, the beverages at Rum Point, the

snorkeling which we did a good two hours of

everyday, sipping our own drinks while staring the

Milky Way and watching for shooting stars, living in

our swim suits, cooking our own food, napping

under a palm tree, the quiet, the no tv reception, no

news Tamra Larter, Philadelphia, PA

Guests say: We stayed in Kiwi Kai in September 2008.It was thoughtfully appointed with everything from a hommock to games, a library and even art supplies. What sets Bruce and Susan's sea lodge apart from those we saw was the sense we were staying at a freind's home-not a rental unit.

At the Sea Lodges Benji was there to answer our questions and Barbra let us know we could call her for anything we needed, making us feel welcome and well provided for without intruding. Bruce called us during our visit to make sure we didn't need anything and to answer any questions we might have.

The Beach at Kiwi Kai was simply marvelous. We were in absolutely gorgeous water 3-4 hours each day. The reef was less than 200 yards out, and there was abundant sea life for us to observe on our daily snorkeling trips. This was truly a destination we cherished and will hopefuly return to. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we enjoyed an island paradise.

Mare Akana & Christopher Anthony

Tinton Falls, NJ

More Details
Hide Details

42 Reviews of Property 103593 in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
average rating of 4.928571 based on 42 reviews
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Beautiful Beach Front Walk Out!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is our second time staying at the Sea Lodges, the first in Kiwi Kai. The property is well kept and the beach is clean, big and sandy. Kiwi Kai is a beautiful little condo with views of the ocean from every window. Both the front and back patios are screened. The washer and dryer are in a small closet, no sharing with other renters or going to a laundry room! The back patio has an amazing view of the ocean. We ate most meals on the comfortable patio furniture and enjoyed the breeze. My husband really enjoyed the hammock. I enjoyed to lounge chairs and sun! 85 every day. Beautiful sunrises.

The condo itself really is nicely equipped! We ate all breakfasts, most lunches and most dinners at the condo. I love to cook and found everything I needed to make GREAT meals, even a garlic press. It's the small things that make a difference. We packed lunches in the coolers provided, so we could enjoy other beaches and not rush back for meals. Ice cubes were in the freezer and the blender made great mudslides! The WiFi was speedy. We had iPhones and were able to send iMessages and FaceTime with family and use the docking station to stream music. All the furnishings were in nice shape. Everything was neat and clean.

The manager greeted us at the door and was very plesant. We had a number and could call her with any questions.The flowers left on the kitchen table were a sweet touch. Half way through our stay, the microwave died. It was replaced within a day! Great staff! Sue provided great communication before, during and after our stay. We felt the rental price was good and the description on HomeAway was accurate.

This is the quiet side of the island and the drive into Georgetown for dinner or shopping takes about 45 minutes. There are a few restaurants much closer, which were enjoyable, but we chose to stay in half our nights and just eat by candlelight ;) There are some DVDs and we did watch a few movies. Heads up, there is no Cable TV service. Hubby and I went and watched a Football game at Over The Edge, they have the NFL package :)

We spent one day at Rum Point. A beach with bar, outside eating, volleyball and water sports. Lots of fun! We had a car, which is necessary and explored the entire island. A different beach or snorkel spot every day.

This beach vacation was just an amazing way to connect with my husband and relax. The reviews are all true! This is a lovely, relaxing place to stay in paradise
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Best Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is such a piece of paradise. When I was booking this vacation, I tried to find at least one bad review and couldn't and now I know why. Kiwi Kai is so beautiful and relaxing. Susan's place is perfect! Clean, well equipped, and feels like home. The ocean view is amazing. We don't have one complaint. Plenty of room, towels, and lots of little touches. Susan was awesome to work with. She is quick to communicate and made sure we were set to go with all the information we needed. We came to the Cayman's as boyfriend/girlfriend and are leaving engaged!! This place will always be special to us.

And the reviews aren't misleading about the private beach. We saw many two people on the beach the entire week. The snorkeling is fantastic and it's only a couple of steps away. I highly encourage you to book Kiwi Kai. You won't regret it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

The Little Things

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I really liked both the amenities and the location of Susan's unit. It is a strategically well designed place with great ocean views and easy access to the beach. And, at the end of the day....a very comfortable king size bed. If you are there when the weather does not cooperate (we had some high winds for the first couple of days), there are plenty of books and games, and enough space to enjoy food and drinks. Overall, it was the little things/amenities in the unit that kept on suprising and pleasing us, including the eclectic CD collection! Way to go, Susan - you have a great beachside retreat that really clicks all the buttons!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
If you are looking for a place to stay in Grand Cayman that is away from the chaos of 7 Mile Beach..don't waste your time...look no more! I always do my homework when I book a place and I spent lots of time checking all the websites etc etc and landed on Sea Lodge 18 at Kiwi Kai. It is everything and more that is advertised..quiet, relaxing, beautiful, completely equipped close to amenities and restaurants but far enough away from the tourist madness when the cruise ships that are in. And snorkeling from your doorstep that is simply breathtaking. Seriously folks..look no further..this place is amazing and we were thrilled to have spent 11 nights there
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Los Angeles
5

love love love kiwi kai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Kiwi Kai is amazing! We spent a week in paradise. So relaxing, peaceful and serene. Susan's place is beautiful, tranquil and very clean. Everything we could possibly need was in our sea lodge, it is like home away from home. Susan was such a help in planning our trip, she answered all questions promptly and sent us a map and coupon package that was very helpful on our stay. We enjoyed many excursions around the island and found equal enjoyment staying in and relaxing on the hammock on the porch as well. We spent a lot of time on the beach right out back and would take walks to rum point as well. It was so amazing falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing and waking up to the same beautiful sound.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
On arriving at Sea Lodges you are welcomed by a collection of attached cozy cottages perched on what has to be the most beautiful part of the Caymans. Situated near Rum Point on the quiet north side of the Island, Sea Lodge #18 Kiwi Kai provides an open, airy way to enjoy the sea breezes while you feast your eyes on the turquoise water of the Caribbean. Every morning we enjoyed watching colorful sunrises and eating breakfast on the screened patio. The local cat adopted us the first day and was always there to greet us in the morning as well as meowing good night to us each night.

Comfortable and homey, Kiwi Kai has everything you need to enable a self sufficient stay without having to eat out for every meal. Since we were visiting in the off season when the weather is warmer, we welcomed the fans to help bring in the cooler sea breezes. With the front and back patios screened, we never had to be concerned with mosquitoes and other undesired critters.

Snorkeling in the water out front is a lot of fun and we also enjoyed the palm covered structure on the beach to protect us from the sun while we lounged in its shade cooled by the breeze coming off the water. We could just sit for hours and soak up the view.

It is a short walk to Rum Point either along the beach or the road. Since there are some coral outcroppings along the beach path, it is faster to walk on the road. Rum Point is a great place to enjoy water sports, snorkeling, swimming and people watch when the occasional tour groups arrive from the cruise ships. Everyone should sign up for a sunset cruise and a trip to stingray city with Red Sails Water Sports. Those two events were the highlight of our stay.

This was definitely the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. Susan, the owner, provides every detail you need to have an enjoyable stay on the island. Prior to our arrival we had used the material she provided to better understand where to go and what to do during our wonderful 9 day stay. Thanks to Susan, we had a worry free enjoyable stay in her little piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
On arriving at Sea Lodges you are welcomed by a collection of attached cozy cottages perched on what has to be the most beautiful part of the Caymans. Situated near Rum Point on the quiet north side of the Island, Sea Lodge #18 Kiwi Kai provides an open, airy way to enjoy the sea breezes while you feast your eyes on the turquoise water of the Caribbean. Every morning we enjoyed watching colorful sunrises and eating breakfast on the screened patio. The local cat adopted us the first day and was always there to greet us in the morning as well as meowing good night to us each night.

Comfortable and homey, Kiwi Kai has everything you need to enable a self sufficient stay without having to eat out for every meal. Since we were visiting in the off season when the weather is warmer, we welcomed the fans to help bring in the cooler sea breezes. With the front and back patios screened, we never had to be concerned with mosquitoes and other undesired critters.

Snorkeling in the water out front is a lot of fun and we also enjoyed the palm covered structure on the beach to protect us from the sun while we lounged in its shade cooled by the breeze coming off the water. We could just sit for hours and soak up the view.

It is a short walk to Rum Point either along the beach or the road. Since there are some coral outcroppings along the beach path, it is faster to walk on the road. Rum Point is a great place to enjoy water sports, snorkeling, swimming and people watch when the occasional tour groups arrive from the cruise ships. Everyone should sign up for a sunset cruise and a trip to stingray city with Red Sails Water Sports. Those two events were the highlight of our stay.

This was definitely the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. Susan, the owner, provides every detail you need to have an enjoyable stay on the island. Prior to our arrival we had used the material she provided to better understand where to go and what to do during our wonderful 9 day stay. Thanks to Susan, we had a worry free enjoyable stay in her little piece of paradise.
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Chesapeake, Virginia
5

Second time around

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I cannot say enough about our stay at kiwi kai. this was our second stay at the sea lodge,we always stay two weeks and leave wishing we could have stayed longer. you are right on the beach and it is like having your own private beach. the snorkling right off the beach is some of the best on the island. The reef is about 225 yards out and is definitley worth the swim,there are all kinds of marine life to see and you can easily stay out there all day and not see everything there is .the sea lodge is well appointed and soooo comfortable. rum point is just a mile or so down the road and is a great place to go. it is truely Island living .we love it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Tranquility found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Upon arriving at kiwi Kai, the view of the water takes your breath away! You can't wait to unpack and get settled in to your homeaway from home. Which everything is right in this cozy and comfortable cottage by the sea! Every amenity you could possibly need has been provided. Loved spending time on the enclosed porch eating meals and listening to the sea. By the way, the sea calls you all the time...whether it was to do some snorkeling right outside the door, whatch the sun rise or watch it set, it was spectacular, You can't help but be one with nature here. The sea and the stars and island living put a spell on you, it's called relax and enjoy"

We recommend eating at over the edge, the lighthouse and rum point. All great meals. The carribean barbecue was with a reggae band and all you can eat for $25 each...two for one rum punches. This was also at rum point. Going into Georgetown was a good snorkeling shopping day. Another good day was find sea glass on Boddentown beach. The best days were right outside the sea lodge on the beach! And star gazing at night!

Susan provided all the information needed for an enjoyable vacation. The place was very clean and the layout flowed just like fine wine on the porch! You can do as much as you want to and enjoy doing very little! We will definitely be going back to this little bit of paradise called kiwi kai!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Original Island Beachfront Living at Kiwi Kai with Gorgeous Caribbean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103593
(609) 492-5857
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
United States
4

Relaxing at Kiwi Kai

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We have visited the Sea Lodges before, but this was our first time at Kiwi Kai. Kiwi Kai is a comfortable and cozy lodge that is well maintained. The owners have a relaxing decor--love the white with bright color accents--and have provided little extras for their place that makes it very much worth renting. From having everything you might want in the kitchen, including a good selection of spices, to the extra masks, snorkels, etc. in case you forgot yours or want to try snorkeling for the first time, Kiwi Kai is obviously well loved by its owners. Susan's attention to providing details on things to do on the island, and her communications regarding how things were going/how things went, were very appreciated and indicated to us that she sincerely wants her guests to have a good time and return.

The amazing beach and offshore reef make beginner and experienced snorkelers happy. One of the things I love about the Sea Lodges is that even when there are other guests, you typically feel like you are alone in your own private paradise. Having a grill is fantastic so you can cook for yourself and really you have a better view than most restaurants if you dine on the back porch. Picking up take-out from Over the Edge and sitting on the Kiwi Kai porch watching the sun set and the stars come out is a great way end a day of snorkeling and relaxing on the beach or in Kiwi Kai. On this visit we also explored the Kaibo Beach Club, which is slightly further away than Rum Point but a bit more reasonably priced and more relaxed. You can walk there but it is a bit of a hike in the heat.

Thanks Susan for sharing Kiwi Kai! Can't wait to return.
Helpful votes: 2/2