Thurman Pond lodge rental - The great room overlooking the lake.
The great room overlooking the lake.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Thurman Pond Lodge Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Accommodates 6 to 8

Your vacation home is Running Deer Lodge, a lovely cedar log cabin chalet on the edge of one of the most private and secluded lakes in this wilderness park. See more deer, beaver, osprey and loons, than you will people. Authentic furnishings in a Great Camp tradition throughout. Three bedrooms (and an overflow sofa bed in the lower den), enough for two families and children. A wall of glass opens the cathedral ceiling living/dining area to the lake, mountain views, and sunsets. Fully equipped modern kitchen, a den, 3 boats, 1 kayak, dock and float.

We have been told that this is one of the most attractive camps in the Adirondacks available for rent. Furnished and decorated in the best style (J. S. Crew asked to shoot their summer catalog here). Many of our guests come back year after year. The kids especially love it.

Guest comments: Hi Rod, Wow did we have a wonderful stay at Running Deer! The nice thing is having family members drop by for a day or so and sharing in their amazement at how beautiful the place is. Enjoy the rest of your summer, Thanks, S. D. 2007

Rod, A wonderful week! Everything was just great, the weather, lodge, all the wildlife (beaver, bald eagles, loons, heron), and especially the fishing! Lots of bass (a few 5 lb+) and two huge pike 36'-328.' Looking forward to next year. Thanks again, J. M. 2007

These two letters are characteristic of those we receive each year. Rod Blackburn

Cancellations:

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 103436 in Thurman Pond, New York

Adirondack Lakefront Retreat- Running Deer Lodge
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Adirondack Lakefront Retreat- Running Deer Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103436
+781 275 2674
Thurman Pond Adirondacks
Bloomington, Indiana, USA
4

Nice stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Most definitely could hear thruway noise, and that was a problem for us, and prepare for a godawful road to get to house-- bring a high clearance car if you can. Once there, comfortable and well appointed. Very well equipped kitchen, and lots of boating/fishing equipment. A few cobwebs but generally clean upstairs. Moldy smell in basement room. I see owners asking rental rate of 3k/week-- don't think it's worth it, but fortunately we paid half that. Fishing on the lake is everything they say -- we fed a lot of worms to the sunnies under the float before we figured out how to attract the bass, then caught 5 pounders. Listen to the guys at the bait shop in schroon.
business
Adirondack Lakefront Retreat- Running Deer Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103436
+781 275 2674
Thurman Pond Adirondacks
4

Peaceful and Relaxing!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We enjoyed all the outdoor activities to the full. We thoroughly enjoyed the fishing, boating, and swimming to and from the docks. All the "toys" you need are there. We loved the evenings on the water watching the stars. There was some late night fishing excursions which were very exciting....caught some big fish! We also saw a bear swimming across the pond!! We've seen many bears over the years, but never one swimming. We did some hiking in the area and found some beautiful places.
We enjoyed our meals out on the awesome deck which wraps around to the entrance.....very convenient.
If I had any complaint it would be that the beds were not very comfortable. None of us slept very well even with the added "eggcrate" foam in the house, and the home is actually smaller than the pictures show. It could get a little tight with 6 people or so in the dining/living area.
business
Adirondack Lakefront Retreat- Running Deer Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103436
+781 275 2674
Thurman Pond Adirondacks
5

Peaceful and Serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a beautiful Cabin, in a very secluded section of lake George on a private pond. We counted about 8 houses around the pond and most were not occupied labor day weekend. You can tell this cabin was thoughtfully designed even on where the fire pit was placed...
The house was very well kept, bed and lining were clean and comfy.
There were adequate amount of kitchen tools
Close to the pond ( note that there isn't a sandy beach area) it is a true pond. Just jump off the dock and look out for weeds and small rocks :)
Road to go in is about 1.5 miles and very rough and not suitable for small cars esp. in winter
There were two kayaks and 2 metal boats for our use
Lots of board games and beautiful books
There isnt a proper TV per say just a small one in the den below. So if you are here in winter time and want to catch up on your TIVO. Load it up on your laptop :)
We were blessed with beautiful weather and practically stayed outside until morning hours... So peaceful and serene. Much needed change from the noise and chaos of NYC
business
Adirondack Lakefront Retreat- Running Deer Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103436
+781 275 2674
Thurman Pond Adirondacks
5

Incredible week at RDL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We caught more fish this trip then ever before, and that's saying a lot. Not only did we catch more fish, we caught huge fish!!

The show the wildlife on Thurman Pond put on was equally incredible. Osprey catching fish, two large families of canadian geese, beavers smacking their tails patrolling their territory.The show stopper had to be the loons and their newly born chick. Watching them feed and care for their young was mesmerizing. I have many great pictures and some fantastic HD video of them close up. On a few occasions they were as close as 20' from our boat.
business
Adirondack Lakefront Retreat- Running Deer Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103436
+781 275 2674
Thurman Pond Adirondacks
New Jersey
5

Guestbook Comment

Been coming to Thurman Pond for 8 years. Beautiful house. Everything you need. Great bass and pike fishing.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2003
  • Stayed: Aug 2003
Been coming to Thurman Pond for 8 years. Beautiful house. Everything you need. Great bass and pike fishing.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Adirondack Lakefront Retreat- Running Deer Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103436
+781 275 2674
Thurman Pond Adirondacks
Middletown,NJ
5

Guestbook Comment

Great place. The fishing was almost unreal (easily caught over 30 bass per day).
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2003
  • Stayed: Mar 2003
Great place. The fishing was almost unreal (easily caught over 30 bass per day).
Helpful votes: 2/2