Murphy cabin rental - The Cherokee Wind-cabin 2
The Cherokee Wind-cabin 2
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Murphy Cabin Rental Photos and Description
- 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath- Sleeps 4

Come and visit 'our piece' of God's Country.

Our cabin 'the Cherokee Wind' is situated on 13 acres of lush woodlands. Nature trails have been cut through the property for adults, kids and pets to enjoy. There is a wood burning campfire pit below the deck of the cabin outside for roasting marshmallows, or for just relaxing with good friends or family.Times like these make the best memories. There is a gas grill and rocking chairs on the covered deck. We also have a 10x20 chain link, 5 foot high fenced pet kennel for your dog or dogs so they can enjoy the outside air and smells that are different from home, while you are out and about away from the cabin.

We have many critters that come through the property. Deer are common, as are turkey, and other wildlife.

MORE INFORMATION CONTINUED BELOW.

The cabin is built with an open floor plan and decorated in a Northwoods theme. The living room has a rock wood burning fireplace with wood and kindling provided for those times when the weather turns chilly or for a romantic evening.

The living room is warm, comfortable and inviting and has a 32' flat screen TV with satellite and DVD player. We recently installed High Speed Internet/ WIFI.

We have a fully equipped kitchen with dining area. It has everything you will need for your stay, including a crock pot.

Each bedroom has a queen size bed with headboard and footboard. The beds are made with flannel sheets and hand made quilts.

We have a mountain view in winter months, more trees during the summer months.

There are many things to do while you are here.

People have told us that their stay was not long enough to do it all.

If you enjoy fly fishing, the Nantahala River is a blue ribbon trout stream which is hatchery supported and holds rainbows, browns and brook trout up to 25 inches.

The Cherohala Skyway, is a beautiful drive that goes to heights over a mile high from Robbinsville to Tellico Plains with magnificent views and waterfalls all times of the year. Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest is close by and worth the trip.

There are many golf courses, hiking and mountain biking trails, whitewater rafting and tubing, swimming, horseback riding and much more to enjoy while you are here.

There is the Alpine Village in Helen, Ga., John C. Campbell Folk School, in Brasstown, Fields of the Wood Biblical Park 3 miles from the cabin, plus flea markets, and our quaint downtown with 50's style movie theater, and local shops and eateries.

Our cabin is private and secluded, yet accessible, perfect for friends, family and reunions.

So, bring your fishing rod, your walking shoes and your camera for a memorable, relaxing Smoky Mountain getaway.

****PLEASE SEE OUR OTHER CABIN ON THIS HOMEAWAY PROPERTY- LISTING NUMBER 3002711

**PLEASE DISREGARD INSTANT QUOTES FROM THIS SITE-THEY ARE NOT ALWAYS RELIABLE, OUR WEEKS ARE 7 FULL NIGHTS.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 103344 in Murphy, North Carolina

Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Clean, private, pet friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Debbie was kind enough to let us view the property a year before we actually stayed here, so we were looking forward to our stay. The cabin is very clean, well-appointed with all the amenities, and is pet-friendly. Our cats travel with us always and we were quite pleased to know that they were welcome here as well. Although the cabin is kept warm with a heat pump, we used the fireplace several times and it was nice to snuggle by the fire. The bed was soft and the bedrooms afforded us privacy if one of us wanted to stay up and watch tv.We enjoyed our winter stay, taking time to visit some of our favorite places, such as the Cherohala Skyway and Bald River Falls. At Debbie's urging, we visited the Fields of the Wood and the Hiwassee Dam, which is beautiful, even in winter. We also went to the annual Possum Drop on New Year's and had a great time. We want to thank Debbie for her hospitality and for her friendship. We were just saying that this was perhaps our most rested and enjoyable vacation in many years. We can't wait to return to the Cherokee Wind soon!
Owner's Response: Gerald & Sandi-
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. . I am also glad that I could make all your wishes come true for a beautiful snowfall while you were here with us. So Please bring those beautifull kitty's with you when you come back and stay with us again.
Debbie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Relax and Discover

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cabin was even more than we expected. I first noticed the cabin was very clean!! A must in my book. Mike and Debbie paid attention to all the details needed to make our stay comfortable. We were most impressed with how secluded the property is. Debbie came by one day to introduce herself and she was a pleasure to meet. However, she went above and beyond when we started having car trouble. Not only did she connect us with a wonderful mechanic, she also offered to drive us there and pick us up. Having said that, they respected our right to privacy and just let us know they were there if we needed anything. I was concerned that Murphy would not be interesting enough, but we made so many discoveries. We enjoyed seeing Hiwassee Dam, Fields of the Woods, and Cherokee Lake. My husband caught a nice sized catfish. Our dogs were so happy to explore their new surroundings. I highly reccomend this cabin. Thank you Debbie and Mike!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Tampa, FL
5

Perfect retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family enjoyed staying at Cherokee Wind over 4th of July. We were especially excited to bring our dog, and this cabin is the perfect site for four-legged friends. From the spacious fenced pen in the backyard to the doggie mat for the food and water bowls, this cabin has it all! In addition to the dog-friendly features, the cabin is fully stocked to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks to Debbie and Mike for making our stay a memorable one!
Owner's Response: It was very nice meeting all of you, especially Emma (Basset Hound dog).
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will come back again and again.
Debbie
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

WONDERFUL VACATION!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife and I had the best vacation enjoying "Gods Country". We had a memorable little cozy fire down at the fire pit making s'mores while enjoying the cool mountain air and staring up at the stars. Thank you Debbie so much for allowing us to bring our little puppy along with us. She just loved the freedom of adventuring around the grounds of the cabin. Thank you for opening up your cabin for us to stay in. Had a nice time and we can't wait til April to do it again.

David Sandifar
Bradenton, Florida
Owner's Response: David & Susan-
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us-
We try to provide all the essentials for our guests while they are here.
See you in April!
Debbie
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Well needed relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband and I so needed some quiet time. What a perfect location. Rental went smoothly and the drive from VA was amazing. The home was more than we anticipated. The loving cat, Peanut, kept us entertained for hours. Debbie had provided us with all the luxaries of home. There was nothing we needed to purchase except the big steaks we cooked on the grill.We took 2 day trips. We spent one day in Cherokee and the other we drove to Chattanooga Tenn. We enjoyed the drive and scenic routes to both places. The other days remaining in the week we spent sleeping in on a comforting mattress and caught up on some videos on the flat screen t.v in the living room. We would love to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Tammy-
Thank you so much for all your nice comments.
We try to make our cabin just like our home with all the amenties and comforts we are used to having here.
Peanut is a sweetie pie and most of our customers hate leaving him, but he loves to see all the new people who come and stay, even people who bring their dogs.
You both are welcome to come back anytime and I am sure Peanut would love to see you too.
Debbie
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
San Jose,CA, USA
5

Great getaway! Near tourist spots but secluded

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Spent a week at the cabin in late Oct. 2010. Owners were wonderful hosts and the cabin was super clean, in great condition. Even had a friendly resident outdoor cat, Peanut, who would venture in for a cat-loving guest. Very secluded cabin but within driving distances of all the tourist sites. Your own little slice of the Smokies without being jammed in with other tourists in an overpriced town. Rafting, canoeing, fishing, hiking, photography, history - it's all there! I will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
San Jose,CA, USA
5

Beautiful, personal, up close Smokies without the tourist traps and crowds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Roomy but cozy cabin, impeccably furnished with modern conveniences. Plenty of "elbow room" in the woods with all the acreage; you're not smack against a dozen other rental cabins in a tourist trap town. You can drive right up to the cabin and it's not far off a nice paved highway - yet feel truly like you have your own slice of mountain paradise. A friendly cat will even keep you company, if you wish! (I did, since I was staying by myself). Within 60-90 mins you can drive to 5000 ft up in the Smokies with great views and countless photo and hiking opportunities, or some great Olympic-class whitewater, or a Germanic village. Of course, you're in the mountains above Murphy so there are fall and winter views from the huge covered back porch of the cabin! I visited in June and had to come back in late fall to see the beautiful foliage. Owners are very attentive and great people! A great value for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Hillsborough, NC, USA
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This is a wonderful place to just get away and relax! Lots of birds, woods and quiet so you can just rest and have a peaceful time. And Peanut the resident cat is a joy too.

Our "city" dogs really had a great time with all the "country" smells and still don't understand why there aren't any woods to smell when we go for walks now that we are home. We really appreciated the opportunity to take our pets with us. This made our vacation complete since our dogs are both rescue animals with special needs.

Hope to return again soon, with the entire family, dogs and all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Cheryl-
Wow-thank you so much-
We are always glad to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us, especially the dogs!
Peanut is a very loving and affectionate kitty, who evidently was abandoned by his owners when they moved and left him behind.
We are glad he decided to make our cabins his new home. He has been with us 8 years.
He loves meeting new guests when they stay at the cabins and being spoiled rotten, but hates it when they leave.

Come back and stay with us again-
Debbie
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Cedar Cabin w/ Fireplace on 13 Secluded Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103344
+1 8286449431
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
South Florida
5

Best Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
MY family has stayed here many times. great scenery, good fishing, peace and quite. love the national forest and the people of murphy are very nice. it is great to have a real home to go back to on your vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/17