Bethlehem chalet rental - The Mountain House offers easy living for nature lovers
The Mountain House offers easy living for nature lovers
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bethlehem Chalet Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 4-6

The Mountain House offers an easygoing, relaxing retreat for people who love to be close to nature. Perched on ten private acres of balsam fir, maple and birch forest, the Mountain House offers sunset views across unbroken woods, private paths to explore and walks up lovely country lanes.

Snug, simple, and dug into the hill for enviro-friendly insulation, the Mountain House is organized for comfort, not fancy looks. It has a glass-faced wood burning stove and backup heating. The kitchen is stocked for those who like to cook, with solid pots, real knives, cookbooks and spices to play with. A spiral staircase leads upstairs to an open plan sleeping loft with two rooms. The main bedroom has a pillow-top full bed. The second bedroom has a full bed and a futon for additional sleeping. The sink-into couches and outdoor hammocks for napping. Sunset facing deck, and southern facing sunken patio for outdoor living.

4 miles from the Arlington Hotel in Bethlehem. NH Tax#04752

Outdoors: Hiking Suggestions:

You are centrally located to the Franconia Notch, Zealand and Crawford notches, including access to the western side of Mt. Washington.

Skiing:

Equidistant between Bode Miller's mountains: Cannon and Bretton Woods. About 45 minutes in various directions to Loon, Attitash and (secret) Burke. About an hour to Wildcat and Cranmore, 90 minutes to Jay. Great groomed XC at Bretton Woods, Franconia Inn, Sunset Hill Inn, Grand Mountain View trails, all at close reach, and ungroomed in Franconia and Zealand notches. Snowshoe through an old apple orchard - right out the front door!

Summer:

Swimming 5 minutes away at Lake Forest State Park. Golf at Bethlehem's two historic courses and at Bretton Woods, Grand Mountain View, and other local courses. Canoe or kayak on the Connecticut or Pemigawasett. Bird watching at Pondicherry Reserve, 20 minutes away. Local historical museums, artist studios.

Kids:

In summer: Clark's Trading Post, Santa's Village, Maya Papaya ice cream, Cog Rail ride and Mt. Washington weather station, Lost River Park with Lemon Squeezer cave, bouncy bridge in Littleton, catching frogs in woods around the house, outlet mall in Conway (45 minutes away).

Dogs:

Well loved dogs welcome. Pets are enchanted with the enticing smells of the property's 10 acres. Cool resting spots next to wood stove in summer, warm napping in winter. Great walks for pup and person right out the door.

Horse lovers:

Sunset Hill Stables at bottom of hill has Morgans to admire. Some boarding options.

Creatives:

I use the Mountain House as my creative retreat. Meditate to sounds of breeze in the trees and waterfall in spring, rain is mesmerizing. Do weeding meditation in the rock garden and Japanese style demi-tasse garden. Some percussion instruments on site. And an old acoustic guitar. Bring your instruments for a circle jam in the cave room. Writers have the desk upstairs to work.

Work from Away:

Good cellphone coverage. No high speed internet on site, but SmartPhone users have perfect access. Wireless options at WREN business center in Bethlehem, and mornings care of the wonderful folks at Maya Papaya, also in Bethlehem.

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a former high tech communications manager who bought the house as a retreat, and then, when the industry crashed, decided to share it with guests in order to keep it. I now work as a freelance writer, tai chi teacher, reggae musician, sustainable gardener and Reiki therapist. Sounds comical almost, such a shift. But, being over 50, I couldn't go back if I wanted to. And I don't. The Mountain House is my retreat,for solo time and cooking, eating and chilling with friends. I have loved being its caretaker, and look forward to being able to afford some of the improvements I envision - one the mortgage is paid! I have had wonderful guests who have left artwork, rearranged the furniture so that it works better, and have blessed the place with their energy. It has been, on the whole, a wonderful experience to be able to share (and keep) my Mountain House.

Jacki Katzman purchased this chalet in 2000

This house was built by hand by my friend and karate master. I bought it from him when he was looking to fund the adoption of his Chinese daughter. The construction is totally solid, even if the cosmetics are still fairly simple. The house is warm, snug, water-tight, and you can feel the earth energy flowing through it. The woods are full of plant and animal life. It is, for me, a sacred space.

I fell for the setting, the white pines, balsam firs, spruce and birches the instant I met them. As an afternoon person, the sunset views and bird choruses delight me. Being so close to the AT and all the natural beauty of the Whites, with charming small towns nearby is the ideal combo for me. Also, I like be offline. This isn't the place for someone expecting designer furniture and 248 channels - but it is heaven for me.

96 Reviews of Property 103070 in Bethlehem, New Hampshire

Mountain House with Sunset Views
average rating of 4.647059 based on 96 reviews
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
4

A peaceful relaxing spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent a very pleasant Labor Day weekend at this property with our daughter and partner. We loved the deck and the firepit and the quality of the kitchen knives was second to none! We also enjoyed the crickets in the surrounding meadow. The facilities were fine and good for the price. Our little dog soon mastered the spiral staircase - upwards at any rate. A bit closer to the road than we expected but still far enough away for a relaxing experience overall.
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
Worcester Massachusetts
5

Wonderful Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I spent 2 wonderful days at the Mountain House and found it to be very charming and private. The welcome booklet the owner sent us was very informative and we took her advice and took a few walks right out the door. Unfortunately we did not read the directions quite carefully enough so the little 2 mile loop she wrote about turned into a 7 mile walk which included a very long, steep hill. It went so high that once we hit the crest we were almost level with the mountain tops. The views were breathtaking so even though we were lost for some of the time and had to walk so far, looking back it was one of the highlights of our stay. The house is loaded with interesting books and the kitchen had all the conveniences we needed. We had planned to eat out but once we got to the house we didn't want to leave. All things considered it was a wonderful place to spend time in the mountains and we are looking forward to going back some time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
United States
1

So disappointing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Another couple, my husband and I rented the chalet earlier this month. As my friend puts it, we felt "had." Jacki was so good with her communication and description of all the activities, I will say that was a huge plus. We knew where to go hike etc. ANd the listing looks good because there are so many reviews--I didn't notice until I started reading closely our second night there that they go back a decade and there are very few recent ones. I suspect that this was once a nice place that just hasn't been cared for over the years.

We arrived on a cold weekend and there was only a few logs inside the chalet for starting the fire, wish the caretaker had loaded it up for us. The carpet was stained. The linoleum in front of the fireplace had holes in it (which we didn't notice until we moved the couch there...) The exposed plumbing in the bathroom was leaking into an empty trash can—more holes in the linoleum, including a soft spot that we kept stepping on that eked us out. The 2nd bedroom upstairs had a bed that consisted a futon mattress, perched on top of two box springs and the box springs were slightly narrower than the futon mattress, so the edges of the mattresses were unsupported from underneath. The bedside tables were stained lawn furniture. The dining table was broken and propped up by newspapers. There was random stuff everywhere, including a disassembled humidifier and a stack of 2x4s behind the couch.
Owner's Response: This guest is correct in many ways. The house reflects my personal preferences, which are for good knives, solid cookware, good music, lots of time outdoors and hot showers. Decor is not my thing, and the house doesn't excel at it. The flooring is old and much of the furniture is more functional than lovely. She happened to arrive just after a hard, hard freeze which took out the water pump. Thanks to the graces of our local tradesmen, there was water for her visit. And two weeks before, the old water heater needed replacing, so, yes the bathroom floor was not in good shape. I hadn't seen the floor, so I wasn't sure of its condition. I know I told this guest these repairs had just been made. The futon I keep so your kid's friend can come along (and EVERYONE is happier) does migrate around the house. It has ended up atop the second bed at times. The second bed, however, is a complete, fairly new box spring and mattress that my Mom bequeathed me when she downsized her house and gave me the bed from her little-used guest room. I have updated the house description to further clarify that the decor is not "House Beautiful" so that future guests will better be able to self-select. And, had this guest spoken to me directly, I would have happily offered a refund in compensation for the bathroom floor. I had no idea she was so unhappy until I saw this review.

Happily, the insurance check has arrived and bathroom floor repairs are in progress. The old table, which we always sentimentally loved for its droopy arm, has been formally repaired (sigh), and the end tables have been returned to the deck, from which a guest removed them.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
Trumbull, CT
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Went up for the weekend with my son and the house was just as promised. Great sunset first nite we were there. Everything you need in the house. The spiral staircase is a bit cumbersome but cute. The wood stove was great and heated the whole house. Would stay here again definitely.
Owner's Response: Hey Dan: I love hosting father-son weekends. And girls' weekends, and romantic getaways. Thanks for visting -come again for the foliage!
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
Philadelphia, PA
5

Winter Wonderland!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Me and my girlfriend along with another couple wanted to ring in the new year with snow in a romantic setting. We could not have chosen a better place! Its really cozy and inviting. The heating is excellent. We cooked and baked in the fully equipped kitchen. And its just 20 minutes from Bretton Woods which has an amazing hotel and great views of mount washington. Will definitely come again!! Thank You!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
DC Area
4

Mountain Home - Charming

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
A real north country experience. We enjoyed our stay. The cottage was cozy and warm. (very warm) The location was awesome. So many stars! We didn't take out the telescope because the evenings were so cold but with so many stars we didn't need it. In the summer, I would certainly take advantage of the scope. Lots of great reading options between books and magazines. We took advantage of the kitchen for two dinners and it had what we needed. The guys loved chopping wood and tending the fire. This is a rustic cottage so I would not recommend for someone looking for luxury accommodations. The beds are all doubles so keep that in mind when planning for sleeping arrangements. The two boys were able to share a bed comfortably but two adults, especially if one is very tall or wide, can not share the bed comfortably. The spiral stairs are tight and would be difficult for someone with any physical challenges or a larger frame. Overall, we really enjoyed this place and would consider staying again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
Brookline, MA
5

Great for a family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We really enjoyed our weekend in the Mountain House. The views are beautiful, and the house is clean and cozy. Jacki gave us a very helpful and detailed info packet. I recommend the place to families.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
Fairhaven, MA
5

Fun with Doug and Kathy at Mountain House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We just returned from Mountain House and had a wonderful time. It looks exactly as it's picture above, but even prettier. Everything was exactly as described with a kitchen full of everything you would need to prepare a feast. The weather was cold and snowy, but we had a wonderful time in spite of (or perhaps because of) the weather. There is quite a bit to see and do in the area and the owner has a wonderful house book filled with maps, brochures, menus, etc. We tried Mr. Lee's, Angelica's and Tim-Bur Alley, which frankly is outstanding. We had lattes at FloraLatte and loved it. I have actually recommended this property to one of my friends. We would certainly return again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
Thank you so much for renting your house to us. We had a great time. It was very cozy and my husband liked cooking in your kitchen.
business
Mountain House with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103070
781 223-1364
Bethlehem White Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
We loved the Mountain House. Even though the temperature dropped to -12, the house was warm and comfortable. No frozen pipes. Thanks.