Spring River Lake cabin rental - Living room
Living room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Spring River Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4

Exclusive 300 acre peninsula with private sand beaches. The fully maintained and renovated, mint condition 1933 cabin is spacious and has extensive beach, water and mountain views.

In 1994 we gifted all 7500 acres of the property to the State of Maine for a preserved land reserve. We kept the 300 acre peninsula where now three cabins are located. The surrounding area is an undiscovered wilderness. The hiking is incredible with tremendous views of Down east Maine and Acadia National Park. There are many remote lakes and ponds snuggled in the hills that provide total privacy. In addition, Acadia National Park is only a short drive away and can easily be visited for a day or afternoon.

Spring River Lake and the other surrounding lakes, ponds, and mountains are minimally developed if developed at all. Our peninsula has several private beaches within a couple minutes walking distance. Directly in front of the rental cabin is a 1000-foot soft sandy beach with beautiful swimming. There is a mile long gated private driveway, allowing for considerable privacy.

The cabins are fully furnished and decorated in cabin style, yet comfortable. They are very clean and well maintained with electricity and plumbing. They are heated by large fireplaces and kitchen wood stoves which can also be used to cook on if one wishes to 'cook old-style.' There is of course a full kitchen with regular stove and oven as well.

The reservation calendar on this ad is not maintained or updated. Please email for availability. Thank you.

More Details
Hide Details

The property and the surrounding area are very dear to me and my family. In 1994 we donated thousands of acres to the State of Maine for a Maine State Land Reserve which is now enjoyed and respected by enthusiastic visitors. We work hard to keep our remaining private peninsula pristine and in complete respect to the natural beauty of the area. Andrew grew up in the Bangor and Downeast area and has a strong connection to the Acadia region.

Two proximal reserves have been designated here: 1,940 acres east of Donnell Pond and 4,274 acres northeast of Spring River Lake. The mountains and lakes formed by the Tunk Mountain Pluton constitute one of the most distinctive landmarks of the East Coastal Region. The two reserves include mid-elevation (~1,000 foot) summits of Tunk Mountain, Black Mountain, and Caribou Mountain as well as Tilden Pond, Little Long Pond, and Wizard Pond.

web site: maine.gov/doc/nrimc/mnap/reservesys/tunklake.htm

The State’s best private beach, cleanest water and swimming, fantastic views and sunsets, well maintained cabin and the proximity to the Maine coast. A perfect romantic get-a-way or a memorable family Maine woods, lake and coastal experience!

10 Reviews of Property 102874 in Spring River Lake, Maine

Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
baltimore
5

spring river lake cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
i hesitate to write a review because i don't really want to share this best kept secret. totally idyllic. my kids cried when it was time to leave. gloriously unspoiled, unhurried, and chill. asked the owner to keep our deposit and booked immediately for next summer. love is not too strong a word for our time there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 46/46
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Lovely weekend at spring river lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My boyfriend and I went to Andrew's cabin for a long weekend last October. We booked the one bedroom cabin with the big fire place. It was last minute and Andrew has been really accommodating. He was there to welcome us and show us around the property. The cabin was very clean and well equipped. We had more then enough wood to keep the fire going all weekend long. It was perfect for the chilly weather of October! The lake is beautiful and the water is very clear. We went canoeing and we could see plenty of fish swimming under the canoe. Bring your fishing gear! The beach is quiet and well maintained and perfect to watch the sunset. You won't see another one as sandy and big as this one on the lake! I strongly recommend Andrew's cabins, we liked our stay so much that we already booked for October 2014 :)
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Maine Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We rent in Maine every year, but this has to be one of the best places we've rented in a long time. If you are looking for peace and quiet/a relaxing vacation, this is the place for you. The surroundings are breathtaking, the cabin is so comfy/cozy and clean, plus we had the most beautiful weather week as well. Kayaking, canoeing, hiking and sitting on the beach with a nice cocktail to watch the sunsets were the best. Our Airedale Terrier, Clementine loved exploring the beach, chasing frogs and exploring the woods......each night she was totally exhausted and slept so well on her own pup bed. Highly highly recommend this hidden paradise.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Hidden Gem near Hidden Lakes Trail

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our children summarize best how we feel about "our" cabin on Spring River Lake: "It's our second home." We stumbled upon this camp three summers ago, have returned every summer since, and imagine returning for years to come. We're already counting the days until our visit next summer... It truly is a spectacular week.

Spending meaningful time as a family and sharing our love for the outdoors can be challenging with our busy lives; yet, Spring River Lake affords us time to slow down and do just that. We awake each morning feeling the day stretching before us, and we let each day unfold in its own way, feeling no pressure to do anything but what comes to mind at the moment. It is wonderful to truly unwind and spend time together as a foursome on the lake and in the woods.

Favorite activities include:
- making a charming, rustic cabin our home for the week
- eating our meals al fresco on the screen porch overlooking the lake
- swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking
- hiking area trails, such as Tunk Mt., Black Mt., and Little Moose Island at Schoodic Peninsula
- making friends, catching frogs, digging in the sand, building forts in the woods
- looking for bald eagles
- reading books on the beach
- making pancakes with huckleberries or blueberries foraged from the property
- exploring the beaver ponds
- climbing the boulders that dot the lake's edge and marveling at the ones submerged below the water line
- enjoying the scenery and beautiful landscape
- watching the sunset with a glass of wine or mug of hot cocoa in hand
- playing games and making s'mores fireside in the evenings
- gazing at the stars above
- falling asleep to the call of the loons or the hoot of the owls
- being completely disconnected from cell phones, internet, and TV

The Pierce family are gracious hosts, and we're grateful for their opening up their little corner of Maine for us and others to enjoy.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Maine in May

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was a wonderful vacation spot for my husband and I and our two dogs. It was so nice for the dogs to have a lot of land and beach that they could run on. Unfortunately, it rained every day we were there. But we still made the best of it; we strolled the beach with our umbrella in hand and enjoyed the fires in the cabin. Thankfully, the cabin was stocked high with wood for us to use. We had the wood burning stove going in the kitchen as well as the fireplace in the living room. It was nice and toasty inside. There was a lot of ants in the cabin while we were there; but it is a cabin so I guess it's to be expected, plus the rain may have made it worse. We were able to visit Acadia/Bar Harbor which was about 30-40min from the cabin. All and all we loved this property and how secluded and private it is. We are planning to visit again, but probably will be in July/Aug in hopes that it will be a little warmer and not so rainy. Thank you Andrew for great communication throughout.
Owner's Response: Rebecca,
Thank you for the kind words about your vacation! I regret that the weather did not cooperate during your stay. It is a beautiful part of Maine especially when the sun is shining. The month of May often has clear skies allowing for great visits to Acadia without the crowds etc. I apologize for the ants. You are correct that the rain will drive the ants inside during late spring but they usually dissipate into the woods for better foraging. Rarely do we have ants within the cabin but nevertheless I hope they were not too much of a deterrent to your enjoyment of the cabin. We look forward to your return visit.
Thank you,
Andrew
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Best kept secret in Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and I rented a cabin for about 5 days and absolutely loved our time at Spring River Lake. After endless hours of paddling around, swimming, fishing and even snorkeling in various parts of the lake, it becomes incredibly obvious that this is a one of a kind property that you seldom encounter nowadays.

The cabins remain true to their 1930s origin yet are meticulously maintained, giving you the feeling that they are a labor of love for their very accommodating owner. We are a young newlywed couple who were looking for a remote getaway from our city life and could not have envisioned a better place after our stay here. This would be a great place for any person, couple or family that simply want to get away from it all in a secluded, picturesque setting.

If you want a place where every angle is a spectacular view, and your biggest concern every night is having wine and snacks out in time to catch the perfect sunset, then this is the place for you.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Peaceful, Relaxing and Fun for the Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have visited Spring River for a few years and each year we have the same thing happen... We don't want to leave!!!

We have 2 kids (6&9) so the 2 Bed room cottage has the space and a nice field for running around but reality is we spend most of our days on the beach and in and around the lake. We have also stayed in the 1 Bed Room log cabin and we love that just as much (Kids sleep on the screen porch). Both are well kept, very clean and Andrew ensuring everyone feels at home and has the vacation that you wanted / needed.

Loons sing you to sleep and don't be surprised if you wake up to see them or a family of ducks fishing right off the beach.

How do we spend our days? The lake is crystal clear and just the right temperature to play in all day. Building sand castles, etc... Then on to paddling around the lake and hit some secluded beaches for a picnic and the jumping rock is a must do.

Hiking Tunk Mtn or up to the painted flag provides amazing views of Down East Maine.

Day trip to Acadia or other Coastal areas is always fun BUT getting back to Spring River feels so good. Don't for get to grab some lobsters and steamers on the way home for dinner (Some times we have them cooked and wrapped for us, other times we bring them home to cook ourselves).

We typically wrap up the day with a board game and S'mores then off to bed so we can do it all over again. Yep no TV, cell phone / Face Booking, etc... A week of being disconnected from the grind and focused on Family and Fun!!!

This is a must for anyone looking for a great outdoor vacation that has just the right amount of seclusion, Nature and varied activities... Family, couples, etc... Everyone ends up loving Spring River!!!

Dave & Joan
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
Brooklyn, NY
5

Just what we needed.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
After a nice drive up from NYC, we entered what we felt was an enchanted forest. This is exactly the kind of place that we love, quiet, secluded, beautiful. Although we did not get a chance to meet Andrew, it was obvious that he and his family are wonderful stewards of the land. We had the opportunity to use everything offered, right down to the wood burning furnace in the kitchen. Our two city dogs were barely walking when we left, completely tired out from swimming all over the cove and basically not wanting to leave. We felt their pain, as we were looking at real estate ads prior to our departure.

There is not enough space here to say what an amazing time we had. With nobody around on the lake, the loons calling, and the calm, foggy paddling in the morning, this place was worth every penny and the time to get there. If you really need a getaway in every sense of the word, this is the place. Thanks Andrew!

Randy, Ruzanna, Roman and Roger
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Nestled Discretely

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Nestled discretely behind a fringe of woods is the perfect vacation cabin. Even in July it was cool enough to make a big fire in the fireplace and sleep soundly under wool blankets, lulled by the loons. On warmer days we walked the 3 minutes down to a 50 meter sandy beach, pulled over an Adirondack chair, opened the book and the grapefruit soda and whiled away the day with stops only to admire the merganser, apply more suntan lotion, or venture up to the kitchen for a snack. When beach-sitting was too tame we took out the kayaks, fished for bluegills amongst the rocks, bird watched, and just let the breeze blow us to new fingers of the lake. We finished our week better people. Thank you!

Kent H. R.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Log Cabin with Private Beach.Views of Mountains, Lake and Sunset!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102874
+1 6177752993
Spring River Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

This place is poetry!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a blissful time and definitely plan to return for more.

The setting is stunning and as private as described. The lake is crystal clear and extremely comfortable for swimming. We loved the sandy beach! The cabin is an architectural gem from the 1930s, and is lovingly maintained. The furniture is cozy, practical, and contributes nicely to the overall vintage feel of the place. The screened-in porch is ideal for soaking in the vista at all hours, and the fireplace is made for cool nights or rainy day reading. The kitchen is well stocked with the basics. The available boats and marine accessories are in great condition. We saw loons and an eagle while kayaking, and heard plenty of loons, owls, and assorted songbirds from our cabin.

We followed the posted signs to the many organic farms in the area, and treated ourselves to fresh veggies, fruits, eggs, and local wines for many of our meals.

You certainly can take daytrips to Mt Desert Island from the cabin. But if you want to avoid the crowds and driving, no worries. There is plenty of hiking at the many mountains near the cabin--Black, Schoodic Point, Tunk, and Catherine Mtns, to name a few. Our favorite was the Big Chief Trail at Black Mtn, with its 360-degree summit views of the surrounding mountains and coast.

We brought our spaniel along with us to the cabin. Lucky dog! Being a water dog, he was in paradise. When he wasn't swimming or boating with us, he was exploring the woods that surrounded our cabin. The owner generously provides your dog a cozy bed during your stay. It was a nice touch.

There also is very nice cabin manager who greeted us when we arrived and was available if we needed him.

We knew we were not alone in appreciating this special place after we read all the glowing entries in the cabin's guestbook. The book dates back to 1998. What a shame that all those lovingly written entries are not online here for prospective renters to read. Since the owner actually wants his guests to post their feedback online, too, I hope that future guests will follow suit. If you go, reading the experiences of the cabin's many returning guests, in their own words, is a pleasure you won't forget.
Helpful votes: 1/1