Matunuck house rental - Rose covered cottage
Rose covered cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Matunuck House Rental Photos and Description
One bedroom, one bathroom, sleeps two

If you have been to South County, RI and Matunuck you know it is special.. Windswept beaches, wide open spaces, and a low key attitude. This charming, immaculate guest house tucked in a corner of an outstanding oceanfront property offers all that and more. Surround yourself in comfort in a spacious master bedroom, fall asleep to the sound of the waves in a king size feather bed, wake to the sound of songbirds and step on to private second floor deck. The first floor has an open floor plan with new kitchen and large and a cozy 'breakfast' deck . The property is surrounded by perennial gardens with a path leading to a wide quiet sandy and private beach. On your return, you can enjoy an enchanting outdoor 'Key West' shower filled with flowers. Spring and summer are spectacular and fall and winter are a perfect time to get away and experience the ocean, extraordinary clear air and tranquility of the season. Come and enjoy

19 Reviews of Property 102740 in Matunuck, Rhode Island

Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
New York, New York
5

The Sweetest Weekend Getaway EVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I hesistate writing a review only because I almost want to keep this place for myself and my husband! The pictures are spot on, it is the coziest romantic cottage ever. Let me begin from the time we got there. We arrived in the evening, turned up the little dirt path flanked with bushes we were slightly taken a back only becasue it seemed so desolate; but what awaited us at the end of the path was the beginning of a fabulous weekend. The lights were turned on and the cottage was aglow. The door was open and the mellowest music played and the aromatic and relaxing scent of a candle permeated every corner and fresh flowers adorned the table. It was HEAVEN!
The night was clear and a blanket of stars decorated the sky we cuddled up on the 2nd floor balcony and stared at the stars and listened to the ocean (becasue that's how close you are to the beach!) The king size bed was ample and cozy with 2 feather beds that put you on cloud nine for the night.
The morning was exquisite with a fantastic morning walk on the beach - which we had to ourselves...I can go on and on but I hope this description is convincing enough...
Marion is the sweetest hostess and a pleasure to deal with from the begininning of our reservation to the end, We cannot wait to go back - she's booked for the Summer but we are hoping for a cancellation in July! We are making this place our little piece of heaven for years to come. You might want to as well. :)
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
5

Absolutely charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The charm of this cottage is truly of an earlier unhurried time, peaceful with birds, butterflies and bunnies and the pounding surf. One feels at peace here. The amenities are just right and I loved the outside hot shower. Saw two productions at Theatre by The Sea which is in walking distance. Bought lobsters directly from the fishermen at the docks as well as fresh swordfish from Skips dock. The cottage is beautifully decorated and outfitted by Marian, the owner. Again tasteful and in keeping with the setting. Even though I am familiar with Matunuck, Marian offered good suggestions such as the Matunuck Oyster Bar for dinner. She is a delightful host. I hope to return next year.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
5

Bliss.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
There is no other way to describe our recent stay. The house was so comfortable and welcoming, from the idyllic setting to the accoutrements: the smell of the sea, the gardens, the location with its Disney-like wealth of bunnies, hummingbirds, and butterflies-- everything one could ask for in order to truly get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The owner made sure our experience was the best. Definitely going on our short list of places to which to return.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
5

Piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This was the perfect vacation and everything we thought it would be. September was a good time to visit since most of the tourists have gone home and the stores and restaurants are quieter. The cottage was cozy, clean and comfortable with beautiful, peaceful breezes of ocean air coming in from the open windows and doors. We loved the deck off the bedroom where we could have coffee in the morning. We kept the sliding door open at night and fell asleep and awoke to the sound of ocean waves. It's more beautiful than the photos with actual "beach bunnies" that hop around the grassy lawn, the sound of crickets, and the meticulously landscaped property. The September air is crisp and we never felt too hot. The beach was gorgeous and we had a day or two of really large, glorious waves to watch crash onto the shore...magnificent. We also got a chance to view the surfers ride the waves at another beach about a mile down the road The water was still warm enough to swim in and our beach is very private and quiet. On the drive in we saw a few farmers markets, a corn field, and even a field of growing pumpkins! If you get a rainy day you can go to Dave's Coffee on Rte 1 South (on the right side past Wilcox Tavern). He has great coffee drinks, smoothies, homemade muffins and cookies that are the best things I've tasted. There's books and couches and they play eclectic music. For dinner one night we went to the Coast Guard Inn..the food is fabulous (5 star) and you get the very best view of the ocean. If you like being pampered you can get spa services (including a terrific massage) at the Mosaic Spa.

We wished we could have stay longer but there is always next year. Our hostess Marion was very kind and generous. Thank you Marion for taking good care of us and sharing your little piece of paradise. Until next time....farewell.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
Cold Spring, NY
5

I honestly can't imagine a more perfect getaway.

I honestly can't imagine a more perfect getaway.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We've been spending a week at this house each July for the past 5 years, and it's become -literally - the highlight of each year. We now have accumulated enough memories to make some of the most charming aspects of Matunuck, and this property in particular, feel like "ours". They are part of the feelings and images that come to mind now when we think "summer" - the flowers, the grassy walkway to the private beach, the bike rides down the road to the ice cream shop, the birds, the kayaking, the boutiques in town, the quiet relaxation I never knew was possible in a "vacation/beach town", the friendly locals we now recognize year after year. The home itself is unlike any beach rental I've ever seen...tucked away where it's private and peaceful, clean, bright, airy, perfectly maintained, filled w/ Marian's fresh cut flowers, and the sound and smell of the ocean coming through all the open windows. It is truly a home away from home.

The home is such an integral part of our enjoyment of Matunuck that my daughter and I have discussed visiting the town another week during the summer, but without having reserved THIS house to stay in, we realized we'd be spending the week regretting what we were missing rather than enjoying anything else.

I can't imagine a more comfortable and enjoyable place to spend my vacation week than here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
Marengo, IL
5

Perfect place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had a wonderful time during our stay. The cottage is charmng and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and very peaceful and quiet. This is a perfect place for a long weekend and exceded our expectations!
We couldn't have asked for more.

Marion is a wonderful hostess.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
MA
5

One of the best get away's we've ever had

One of the best get away's we've ever had
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This cottage is one you will surely fall in love with . I know we did . Just a long weekend did it for us . What a beautiful place to end the day on the second floor in a cozy king size bed .The Ocean breeze coming in and the sound of waves crashing on shore......It was heaven .
The deck off the bedroom was a big plus . The grounds were filled with magnificent flowers and shrubs , birds singing just a terrific place .....I can't say enough about it. Thanks so much for everything Marion ....

C&J , MA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
Bethesda, Maryland
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This seaside cottage is Paradise. My daughter and I spent two serene weeks hearing the Atlantic from the cozy bed, inhaling sea mist and the heady scent of Summer roses, and reveling in the rocks and sand at the private beach. There is an aura of grace and tranquility in the verdant estate gardens leading to the Ocean.. We spotted many species of birds and even caught a fleeting glimpse of a fox in the surrounding woods. The outdoor shower has a great Key West feel. We enjoyed the diverse library and elegant ammenities. Marion, our hostess, is charming and very knowledgable. We cherished our time in this special place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
Newtown CT
5

No other like it....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We were fortunate to spend Memorial Day weekend at this "perfect spot". Having spent most of my summers in R.I. I can guarantee you this is the place to stay if all you want is: beach, beautiful gardens escorting you down the path to the beach, quiet, constant crashing waves and a beautiful place to stay. Once you are here you won't want to leave. A five star in my book if you are a true beach bum!
Thanks Marion!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Private Oceanfront Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102740
Matunuck Rhode Island Coastal
Baltimore, Maryland
5

Cottage Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
My husband and I spent a week at this charming beach cottage! It was very clean, cozy and comfortable. We had everything we needed and Marion's special touches added even more. When we arrived at the cottage, it was so inviting - the front door and windows were open, a radio was on in the living room and fresh cut flowers from the garden were in each room. A short, pleasant walk through the garden and down a path lead to the beach. We can't say enough about this cottage and hope to spend another week there soon! Thank you, Marion!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5