Marathon house rental - Your Own Private Island has everything you'll need for a fabulous getaway.
Your Own Private Island has everything you'll need for a fabulous getaway.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Marathon House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 baths, sleeps 8

Seabird Key is a private 10 acre tropical island hideaway located one-half mile offshore Marathon in the heart of the Florida Keys. As our guest, you have the entire Island to yourself, including an exquisite hardwood beach house (the only house on the Island) and a 19' Boston Whaler for your personal use. The runabout is used to visit the mainland, go fishing, snorkel on beautiful coral reefs, or enjoy a serene sunset cruise. The home is fully equipped, sleeps eight persons and is furnished with nautical antiques and Caribbean accents. Special features include multi-level porches, decks and a 35' widow's walk which affords 360-degree ocean views and a spectacular panorama of the bird sanctuary at sunset.

A palm shaded, white sandy beach with hammocks provides an unbelievably beautiful setting for private sunbathing, exploring jungle trails, and enjoying the ocean breezes and relaxing tranquility. Our manager, who lives on the mainland, is a phone call away 24/7 to assist you.

My husband & I currently live in Miami where Jim works in the financial industry and I work with Seabird Enterprises, Inc. in the marketing/reservations/accounting areas. We have 2 college age kids and an older daughter + family. I play the piano for fun and accompany a couple of local groups. Jim and I both stay busy with work, but also find time to volunteer in our local school, church, opera and community homeless assistance center. Jim and I were both working in New York City when we purchased the Island. We share a passion for creative projects. Jim worked long hours on Wall Street, but co-owned a Southern Style restaurant as a hobby. The fun for him was in designing and building the restaurant. When that was sold, he purchased the Island and our new adventure began.

Deborah Davidson purchased this house in 1983

It was my husband's childhood dream to own an island.We lived in NYC and came down to the Keys for a quick vacation and fell in love with the Florida Keys. The weather, the gorgeous water, the coral reefs, the fabulous fishing and the 'laid-back' feeling of the area captured our hearts and provided the perfect get away from New York's fast pace. While visiting the Keys, Jim saw an ad that read 'Island for Sale.' The Island posted for sale was fabulous with white sandy beaches, but it was a risky purchase because it could literally get blown away in a hurricane. We returned to NY with a seed planted in Jim's mind. Months later we got a call from a broker who said an island was for sale that might meet our needs. Located on the bay side and made of solid coral with good water access, it didn't matter that the island looked pretty rough. Jim realized that a thorough clean-up and some heavy duty palm tree planting could transform the Island into the paradise we feel it was meant to be. 26 years later, we're all enjoying Jim's vision.

12 Reviews of Property 102524 in Marathon, Florida

Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

Special Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
There are no true words to describe Seabird Key. It was absolutely breath taking the moment we arrived until the unfortunate day when we had to leave. Every day was a day in paradise, between the private beach, snorkeling, kayaking around the island, and just taking a private walk around the island and seeing the luscious plants. Our family loved it and it will always be a very special memory. Hopefully we can save up and experience Seabird again! Thank you Deborah and Jeff so much for letting us experience such a very special place.
-Trevor & Elissa & Ava-
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Seabird Key. We're so happy you three had a great experience on the Island and we look forward to your return soon. Stay in touch!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

A Unique Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I were planning a special trip for our wedding anniversary and we were looking for something different from the usual tourist attractions when we discovered Seabird Key. I’m glad we did because it was one of our most unique vacation experiences. Jim and Deborah have created a private paradise that is absolutely gorgeous. Jim’s passion for gardening shows in his selection of orchids, stag horn ferns, a variety of palms, banana trees, lime trees and bromeliads planted throughout the landscape. The walk along the path from the dock to the house feels like a stroll though a South Pacific botanical garden.

The house is beautifully decorated in an island décor and with wooden louvers open on all sides, you feel like you’re in a tree house on a deserted tropical island. Except this deserted island has solar power, an outdoor kitchen / Tiki bar, and a private beach complete with music from your favorite playlist.

If you stay at Seabird Key, be sure to have your coffee in the front porch rocking chairs at sunrise. The morning sun shining through the gumbo limbo tree makes the peeling bark glow a brilliant orange against the dark blue morning sky.

Seabird Key is not just a place to stay; it is a unique experience that should be on everyone’s bucket list!

Keith and Sandy G.
Owner's Response: Thank you Keith & Sandy! You were terrific guests and we hope to see you again one of these days. Like you, we feel that Seabird Key is a "must" bucket list item for anyone who has ever longed to have their own private island. With Seabird, you can enjoy Island living at it's best and get the full experience without the investment. We hope you enjoyed your anniversary and will think of us as you toast the next one!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wow. That's about all my family could say when we first arrived at the island. The four of us (mom, dad, my brother, and me) were truly amazed... And that was just the beginning! I had just graduated from high school in June, so my family decided that traveling to Seabird Key would be the perfect way to celebrate. Throughout the trip, we each found different things on the island that we loved. My brother's favorite part of the island was the dock. He loved floating on his raft in the waves! My dad and I had some nice father-daughter fishing adventures off the dock too! We sure didn't catch much... My mom loved walking around the island on all of the different paths. She was also amazed by the outdoor kitchen too! That was another family hangout spot during the trip. The whole family went on a kayaking adventure around the island too! Dad and I also got to go explore Sombrero Reef!!! That was really incredible. There were so many bright fish that would just swim right up to you. I had never been snorkeling before, so it was a great experience. All in all, the trip was remarkable. Your house is beautiful, the island is full of unique wildlife (loved those hermit crabs), and it really was the perfect getaway. I couldn't have asked for a better graduation trip or a better vacation in general. Thank you for all of your hard work making the island one of a kind.

-The Speight family
Owner's Response: This is one of the sweetest reviews we've received to date. This lovely high school senior writes beautifully and is so thoughtful. I applaud Mr. & Mrs. Speight for bringing up their daughter to respect nature and appreciate the beauty of her unique experience on Seabird Key. We find this review so refreshing...Thank you so much and good luck in college. Seabird will always welcome you back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Arizona
5

WONDERFUL UNFORGETTABLE LIFE LONG MEMORIES

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was the 12th year in a row, that our family has enjoyed this magical place. Jim and Deborah have created an oasis in an oasis and their efforts have given us a one of a kind destination to go relax, explore and experience the natural beauty of the island and area, and have irreplaceable family time.

We all voted that this year was the best trip we have ever had. The island and house looked so beautiful. Everything had really grown and most of it was blooming. As usual, the place was spotless clean and everything in perfect working condition, thanks to the caretakers Jeff and Katy. It is always a pleasure visiting with them and they are always available for questions or assistance if needed.

We boated, fished, sailed, wake boarded, swam, snorkeled, and just stayed as busy as we wanted. We all read, took a nap or two, and cooked some fabulous meals. We only went into Marathon to eat dinner one evening the whole week. We just thoroughly enjoyed cooking and visiting in the awesome outdoor cooking and eating area at the island. It is definitely a room with a view...fireflies included!!

After dinner one evening we were out on the dock after dark just visiting and we heard a manatee. It was out in the water past the dock. We went and turned on the hose water at the dock and just sprayed it into the sea to make noise. Sure enough he came swimming up. He laid on his back and we fed him water for almost 1/2 hour!! What a wonderful experience.

We are already looking forward to our time at Seabird next year. We wish that everyone could see and experience such a great place. It is truly a unique and perfect island getaway.
Owner's Response: Seabird Key provides a retreat that definitely captures the hearts and souls of our guests. We are most fortunate to have more than half our bookings coming from repeat guests such as Jeff P. and his family. We are grateful for their loyalty and appreciate their love of Seabird Key. We are happy to share Seabird Key with those good people who understand how special it really is and look forward to having them back year after year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Arizona
5

Wonderful Lifelong Memories!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was the 12th year in a row, that our family has enjoyed this magical place. Jim and Deborah have created an oasis in an oasis and their efforts have given us a one of a kind destination to go relax, explore and experience the natural beauty of the island and area, and have irreplaceable family time.

We all voted that this year was the best trip we have ever had. The island and house looked so beautiful. Everything had really grown and most of it was blooming. As usual, the place was spotless clean and everything in perfect working condition, thanks to the caretakers Jeff and Katy. It is always a pleasure visiting with them and they are always available for questions or assistance if needed.

We boated, fished, sailed, wake boarded, swam, snorkeled, and just stayed as busy as we wanted. We all read, took a nap or two in the hammocks on the beach, and cooked some fabulous meals. We only went into Marathon to eat dinner one evening the whole week. We just thoroughly enjoyed cooking and visiting in the awesome outdoor cooking and eating area at the island. It is definitely a room with a view...fireflies included!!

After dinner one evening we were out on the dock after dark just visiting and we heard a manatee. It was out in the water past the dock. We went and turned on the hose water at the dock and just sprayed it into the sea to make noise. Sure enough he came swimming up. He laid on his back and we fed him water for almost 1/2 hour!! What a wonderful experience.

We are already looking forward to our time at Seabird next year. We wish that everyone could see and experience such a great place. It is truly a unique and perfect island getaway.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
wilton,ct
5

a perfect retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
An absolutely remarkable retreat, Seabird Key’s private ten acre island may just be the best kept secret of the Florida Keys. A full on emersion into paradise awaits prospective visitors with an added bonus; an all inclusive boat rental for the stay. Exuding authentic charm and undeniable character while at the same time tastefully including a great deal of modern conveniences, Seabird Key is perfect
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate the review from Cast5 and assume that their comments are sincere given they have visited Seabird on an annual basis for years. We welcome their return to Seabird Thanksgiving 2010.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
wilton,ct
5

Castaldi Family, Wilton Ct

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
An absolutely remarkable retreat, Seabird Key’s private ten acre island may just be the best kept secret of the Florida Keys. A full on emersion into paradise awaits prospective visitors with an added bonus; an all inclusive boat rental for the stay. Exuding authentic charm and undeniable character while at the same time tastefully including a great deal of modern conveniences, Seabird Key is perfect
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
After 14 months in the Iraqi desert, Seabird Key was the paradise that we needed. What an amazing job you all have done to ensure that we wanted for nothing. We loved the wildlife and the kayaking. Even though the Keys were brushed by hurricane Fay during our visit, it was handled beautifully and everything was perfect. We look forward to visiting next year. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2004
  • Stayed: Dec 2004
Just had to thank you for allowing us to celebrate our Thanksgiving Holiday on Seabird Key. We all had a wonderful time! It was interesting for me to watch my adult/children as they marveled at the effort, time and love that has gone into the creation of Seabird Key. It truly is a tropical paradise! Our Thanksgivings in the future will always pale when compared to Thanksgiving 2004!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent Your Own Private Island- Seabird Key, Marathon, Florida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102524
+1 3056690044
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 28, 2004
  • Stayed: May 2004
On behalf of the Mills family, we thank you for the opportunity to enjoy the beauty of your island. You have the finest piece of real estate on God's earth. It is georgous and so exotic and the house is one to treasure.
Helpful votes: 1/1