L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Unique Designer Apartment close to Rambla de Catalunia and Paseo de Gracia

The apartment is situated in a residential building of modernist style built around 1904 by the architect Maurici Augé Robert who was also author to other elegant buildings and houses of similar style built in the Eixample and one of the candidates for the construction of the Columbus monument for the preparation of the Expo 1888. The apartment itself has a unique style of high quality, decorated with design furniture. Guests enjoy a living room with sofa and dining table and two balconies facing the street. There is a lot of natural light coming through two big windows. The bedroom comes with two single beds pulled together, with the possibility to make it double upon request, the kitchen is fully equipped as well as the bathroom which comes with fresh towels ready to be used upon arrival. Building and area are safe, there is a doorman in the building. Due to the apartments location it is a perfect base for exploring the city as main attractions like Placa Catalunia, Las Ramblas (Gothic quarter), La Pedrera, etc. are reachable within a few minutes walking

This lovely stylish apartment is located in the heart of Barcelona; close to Gaudí's La Pedrera, the visitor to Barcelona will find themselves in the heart of the city, experiencing true life in Barcelona....

The building is characterized by a rich stone ornamentation such as the Salomonic columns and the busts carved into the lintels, specially the one dominating the front door.

The owner of the apartment has taken care of the decoration himself, as owner of a high end furniture and decoration business that also through the close relationship between his family and Salvador Dalí, has collaborated in the furnishing of well known buildings such as the Teatre-Museu Dalí in Figueres, the Casa-Museu Salvador Dalí in Portlligat and the Casa-Museu Castell Gala Dalí in Púbol.

This wonderful and exclusive apartment is located right by the city's most elegant commercial boulevard, “Passeig de Gracia”.

The guest staying at the Casa Verdu apartment will be assured easy access to this lively Mediterranean city and will find that this apartment is a great spot from which to map out daily jaunts and from which to explore all that this fantastic city has to offer...

Located on the corner with Rambla de Catalunia, this apartment offers the guest the best of both worlds; close enough to Plaza Cataluña and La Ramblas that the guest can make their way down to enjoy such wonderful experiences as La Boqueria market, El Born or the Gothic Quarter, and as you walk out of the apartment building the guest can enjoy the huge shopping Mecca of Paseo de Gracia

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 1023429 in L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample , Spain

Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
Canada
5

Amazing location & a super lovely apartment !!!

Amazing location & a super lovely apartment !!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you Marcel! It was an absolute pleasure to deal with you and we fell in love with the apartment. From the first email, to our arrival & the orientation you provided, and arranging a taxi to the airport on the last day...you were an email or phone call away. I so appreciated your level of service, professionalism, timeliness and good nature. When we travel, we stay in apartments as opposed to hotels and I have to say that this has been my best find yet...and I've scoped out many apartments in many locations! I had been dreaming of my trip to Barcelona for many months and our stay could not have been more perfect. It will remain a very special memory. For those reading this, we were 4 adults in our mid 50's staying here for a 10 night stay. The apartment was spotless and exactly as the pictures – the black & white décor, exquisite furnishings & building facade provided much character. All the beds (even the two in the dining room that dropped down) were very comfy – 12” mattresses on all beds! First day in, we immediately felt at home and didn't want to leave. Located a few blocks from much of Gaudi's work too...perfect location. We walked to Sagrada Familia, the beach, the Cathedral in the Gothic area, etc...apt was close enough to the main touristy sites, restaurant and plenty of shopping and yet resided on the cuff of quieter streets. PERFECT! Huge grocery store 7 minute walk away, and bakery and small store around the corner. We cooked-up a few meals and enjoyed a few dinners indoors, it was lovely. Plenty of taxis at your door-steps. A/C worked very well, it was nice to come back to a very cool apartment as the weather was quite hot in July. Wifi/Internet perfect! Shower water pressure, amazing! On Day 2 the coffee maker stopped working, Marcel replaced the unit within hours...that's service!!!

For those looking for a great apartment, look no further, you won't be disappointed with this find...this is the place to stay! Safe neighborhood too. I would not hesitate to recommend this place and when we return to Barcelona we would definitely stay here again, definitely! Thank you for everything Marcel, be well...Linda & Murray
Owner's Response: Hi Linda,
Thank you for your “wow”- review. It is a very beautiful reward for me and Andrea getting this kind of reaction from our guests. It feels really good to know that you feel we handled our part well in order to make this trip to Barcelona a memorable experience for you.
Again, thank you for being such wonderful tenants. I certainly hope you and Murray will be back soon.
Kind regards,
Marcel
Helpful votes: 27/27
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
Where do you live?
4

Great Apartment, Excellent Location. Would be improved by a few extra amenities.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Marcel was very kind to us and as a couple we were very comfortable in this small, fashionable apartment right in the heart of all the Modernist architectural wonders. Virtually everything interesting in Barcelona was within walking distance or at least an easy, quick bus/metro/walk away. This being said, the only toiletries/amenities in the apartment were salt, pepper, pump soap at the bathroom sink and toilet paper. There were no shower products (not even bar soap), only one waste basket in the entire apartment and no tissues or basic kitchen products (like olive oil, vinegar and coffee). There were only two wash cloths for the four nights we stayed and I could have used at least three more of those as well. We did not expect luxury, but given that we had traveled a long distance and I arrived with a terrible head cold, the lack of these simple things was a definite inconvenience.

As mentioned in a previous review, the two twin beds pushed together do not exactly make a proper king bed as the "crack" inbetween the beds does not accommodate much repositioning or snuggling. I would actually have preferred a smaller "double" or "queen" bed to this arrangement but given that I was sick anyhow we made the best of it.

I would stay here again but be sure next time to check a bag with all the "extras" that would bring a more basic level of comfort. I do thank Marcel for his attention and hospitality.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I certainly will take you suggestions in consideration.
Kind regards,
Marcel
Helpful votes: 3/14
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
5

The perfect city break apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This stunning apartment is just perfect for a city break to Barcelona. The location is excellent and in walking distance of all the main attractions. It is decorated beautifully to the highest quality and has everything you could need. The service you receive from Marcel through the booking process is excellent and then he met us at the apartment to give us the keys and show us how everything works. Marcel will also give recommendations and has maps available to show where the nearest amenities are. We had the most wonderful 3-night break and this apartment definitely topped it off. I would recommend this to anyone. A 5-star stay.
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
Canada
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We would recommend this apartment for a great time in Barcelona. The location is just right - an easy walk to most of the tourist sites, while very quiet.

The apartment is exactly as it is pictured on the site, clean, well maintained, with friendly, helpful service.
Helpful votes: 22/22
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
5

Beautiful, classy, cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Superb apartment, stands out of the average because of its history and also the decor. We really really loved it!
Marcel was organizing everything even the pick up taxi to the airport in our last day, and everything was just great.
This was our first time in Barcelona and we just fell in love with the city.
I would love to come back, see if there is any luck next year :)
Owner's Response: Dear Hannah,
you are welcome back any time. There is probably so much more to discover for you in Barcelona. I hope to see you next year again.
Kind regards,
Marcel
Helpful votes: 27/27
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Nice apartment, with a good location! very clean, it was very well decorated, overall it had everything needed to have a comfortable stay.
It was good to feel taken care of during our stay as Marcel contacted us to check on us to make sure everything was fine.
We felt at home and that was a very important part of the trip experience to us.
A good apartment to recommend.
Owner's Response: Hello Levi, thank you for your review. I hope I will be able to welcome you soon again in Barcelona.
All the best. Marcel
Helpful votes: 24/24
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
5

Great Location! No more Old Quarter!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The location of this apartment really made the difference for us. We have been in Barcelona before but stayed at another apartment in the old quarter, which I sworn we will never do again.
This apartment is right in the center, very well connected by metro and with markets, cafeterias and restaurants just around the corner. Also Marcel was quick to assist us with any questions we had. The doorman Santi is also very polite and helpful. The apartment itself is very comfortable for two people, maybe a bit too tight if there were more persons staying. Overall we had everything we were looking for! A quiet, safe and comfortable place to stay in Barcelona and also well connected by metro in order to reach any point of the city.
Owner's Response: Hi John,
thank you for your kind feed back. I hope we will meet again some day here in Barcelona. All the best!
Helpful votes: 25/25
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
Toronto
5

Great Location, Excellent for an Extended Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Property #
Rental Agent: BCN Insiders (Marcel)

The true measure of this apartment is that we felt comfortable here during our six-week stay in Barcelona.

An excellent location. Elegant buildings including this one. Three fine restaurants within a stone’s throw, one became our favorite. Medium-sized super-market three blocks away, minimarkets within a block. Fine bakeries also in the area. A few blocks to many fashion stores. The Metro is two blocks away. The street (Carrer Valencia) is very busy and is a main route for eastbound traffic.

The building is beautiful, with an elevator. The building and the apartment are very secure. There is a friendly, helpful concierge during the day and early evening.

The apartment faces on to the street. There are two large floor-to-ceiling double-glazed window-doors opening on to small balconies. It is very smart and well-furnished. The furniture is quite comfortable. It was immaculate when we arrived and were greeted by the agents, Marcel and Andrea. It comprises a large living-dining room, sleeping area, kitchen and bathroom. The beds are twin with very good mattresses. The clothing drawers and cupboards are built in to a wall of the dining area. Although there are two pull-down beds in the dining area, we would not recommend this apartment for sharing, although a family with one or two children could live here quite comfortably.

The kitchen is well-equipped with a good-sized refrigerator, a modern, electric ceramic-top stove & oven, a dishwasher and a microwave. There are sufficient pots & pans, dishes, cutlery, glassware and utensils. There is a window over the sink opening on to a central air-shaft.

There is a very up-to-date washer-dryer in a utility cupboard, where there is also cleaning equipment.

Finally, we have to mention Marcel and Andrea who have been very helpful during our stay and in the negotiations leading up to our renting the apartment. They have been quick to answer any of our questions.
Helpful votes: 29/29
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
4

Safe recently renovated place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at this apartment in the end of Sep 2012. Overall, the apartment must be recently renovated and in a great condition. Sizable bathroom with a shower, manageable size kitchen, there is living area combined with dining area/table. For Europe the place is of a decent size. Marcel (the agent) was easy to reach both by texting and over the phone. Location is good: 15-20 min walking time to the north tip of las Ramblas, about 5 min to the closest metro. There is a bakery few steps away and a restaurant across the street. One minute walk there is a major street with shops/restaurants. Something to keep in mind is that Barca is quite compact, so taking a cab from this place to the sea was only 12 euros. The apartment is in a historical building and area is very safe, there is a door-man during a day. It’s really on the fourth floor even though an elevator button says “2” with windows facing the street and the building across. The street is relatively busy during a day with lots of mopeds, but the street noise is minimal with closed windows. However, if someone wants to sit on a balcony outside in the evening, it’d still be too noisy. There is no bedroom per American standards, but a sleeping area separated by a glass door from the living room with two single beds pushed together. There is wireless internet and couple English speaking channels. We liked the place and the price for this quality is very reasonable.

Couple tips to the owner/manager:
- Install something simple to keep beds together during night (they kept sliding apart)
- Print out locations and directions to supermarkets/stores around the area for the visitors, those are not easy to find.
Owner's Response: Hi Yuliya,
thank you for your kind feedback. Your tips are are very useful. We have now a folder in the apartment with a city map and instructions of how to find the closest grocery store and other useful information such as restaurant tips. I also have not been aware that the beds slight apartment during the night. It has been solved and future guests can also advice upfront in case they would like to have the bed to be prepared as a double bed.
I hope you will be back one day. Kind regards, Marcel
Helpful votes: 25/25
business
Exclusive, High Quality Apartment In Barcelona Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023429
+34 635209244
L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample Eixample
4

Central, very convenient

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Iam very happy to have found this apartment, it is exactly what i wanted and overall the location is very convenient for moving around the city. Very quiet building mostly residential, excellent for business trips!
Helpful votes: 21/21