South Iceland cottage rental - Our special Golden Circle Cottage.
Our special Golden Circle Cottage.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

South Iceland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom

Only 1 hours drive from the capitol Reykjavík and 1,5 hours from the Keflavik International airport.

This is a first time rental of our special Golden Circle cottage. Equipped in total luxury, great kitchen to cook in.

Don´t miss out on the fascinating experience the Golden Circle Cottage gives you. You can drive for few minutes and walk around the world-famous Geysir geothermal area, a geothermal field where hot springs are in abundance, geysers explode and pools of mud bubble.

You could stop by the magnificent Gullfoss waterfall and visit Þingvellir national park, the original site of the oldest existing parliament in the world. There the great Atlantic rift is clearly visible, a rift that is slowly pulling Iceland apart along tectonic plates.

And when you come home in the evening you can relax in the Natural Hot Tub. In winter time you can stay in the Hut Tub and enjoy the Northern Lights dancing our cottage.

12 Reviews of Property 1023002 in South Iceland, Iceland

THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

AMAZING!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed in the cottage for a week over Valentine's Day and couldn't have been more impressed. The property is spotlessly clean and very well equipped, unlike other cottages we've stayed in it is not a case of "just enough", ie accommodation for 4 will have 4 knives, 4 forks etc but Elen and Steini have equipped the cottage with everything you could need and more. We received a very warm welcome despite being late in arriving and nothing was too much trouble. Gestur was extremely helpful with everything and the car he provided was perfect. We had a small issue with the brakes but when reported to Gestur he had it replaced the same day - great service. The location is perfect and very close to the main sites of the Golden Circle, but be aware the floating icebergs and glaciers are a whole day out so don't expect them to be close if you wish to visit them. Bed is extremely comfortable and cottage is cozy and warm at all times. The hot tub is brilliant for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. Selfoss is about 20 mins drive and has supermarkets and petrol stations, one of which is open 24 hours and sells essentials such as bread and milk (don't do what we did and buy yoghurt - ask someone to translate the labels :-)) There is also a Dominos and KFC in Selfoss if you can't be bothered cooking! We would highly recommend this cottage but be aware it is quite isolated and in bad weather could be difficult to access if you aren't confident driving in ice and snow. Main roads were clear while we were there but some of the minor roads were treacherous and a 4x4 is essential - but you don't need the to pay the extortionate rates for a brand new Land Rover - Gestur's older but reliable small jeeps are ideal. Will definitely return to the cottage if we visit Iceland again.
Owner's Response: Dear Alan,
it was nice to have your over :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

Incredible cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful cottage. It is in a beautiful setting and ideal location for exploring the golden circle and the south of Iceland. The cottage was spotlessly clean when we arrived and Steini and Ellen gave a very warm welcome to us and were very helpful. The cottage was warm and cosy and the hot tub was great after a day of exploring. We would highly recommend this fantastic place and looking forward to returning soon!
Owner's Response: Thanks Alex :)
it was a pleasure.
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

Fantastic country, fantastic cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cottage was perfect, very clean and well maintained. The Hot Tub was very relaxing. The location was very central making it an ideal base to get to everywhere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the scenary was stunning. Thank you for a very enjoyable holiday and we would definitely recommend this cottage to all of our friends.
The Pickard Family
Owner's Response: Thank you Pickard family :)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

Lovely cottage. Much smarter than the photos.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Central location for many tourist sites in south Iceland. Very cosy and clean. Friendly and thoughtful owners. Good to see a bit of Icelandic life by staying in a 'summerhouse'

Would recommend to others.

Managed to visit the Westman Islands and Skogarfoss easily in a day. Swimming pool in Borg was good for the children.
Owner's Response: Dear Antonia & family,
It was nice meeting you all :)
Thank you for coming to stay with us, we so like to serve our guests and make their stay a happy one!
Greetings from Iceland,
Steini & Ellen.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

Fantastic Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We flew to Iceland by WOW Airlines and this cottage is also a WOW!
It has everything that you will need for a relaxing holiday in Iceland.
Spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed-fully equipped kitchen-lounge with a TV that also comes with over 100 films ready to watch for free and a Hot Tub to relax in after along day visiting all the sites of the Golden Circle that are all within easy reach.
Golf is nearby if you want to play and there were Ptarmigans in the garden as well as beautiful views in all directions.
We also saw an Arctic Fox and 20 Whales when we went Whale watching.
Gesture can help with proving a car for your visit at a more reasonable rate that you get elsewhere.
No praise too high for this property-and the Icelandic people are so friendly a credit to their beautiful country-we will be back!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for you kind words :)
We also had a great time to be in touch with you.
With love from Iceland.
Ellen & Steini
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

Our honeymoon at the golden circle cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We have just had the most wonderful honeymoon staying at The Golden Circle cottage. We were made very welcome by Ellen and Steini upon arrival and the cottage is fantastic - spotlessly clean, very close to the main sights of the golden circle but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet. The hot tub is the icing on the cake. We really wanted to stay for longer!
Organising our booking and trip to Iceland was so easy as Gestur kept in contact with us right up until our trip, giving us directions and information about the cottage and its location. He also organised 4x4 hire for us which seemed much cheaper than the rentals offered by other companies.

I can 100% recommend this cottage for your stay in Iceland if you want to relax, get away from it all and enjoy what Iceland has to offer!
Owner's Response: We are so glad to you came over to stay with us and specially as it was your honeymoon :)
Your are most welcome back, anytime.
With love from Iceland,
Ellen,Steini and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

A very cosy cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed here for four nights in November 2012. The cottage is very cosy and has all modern conveniences. The setting is very peaceful and the hot-tub is amazing.

There's lots to do in the surrounding area but it's also nice to just relax in the house.

4WD was useful in winter conditions.
Owner's Response: Thank you Tom, we were glad to assist you with the good priced car rental.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

Great cottage great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The title of the cottage is spot on, as the Golden Circle highlights are all nearby. It is in a lovely quiet location but within 15/20 minutes of the Supermarkets and Petrol stations in Selfoss.
We received a very warm welcome from Ellen and Steini who met us and showed us how everything worked which was much appreciated and made settling in for the week very easy. The cottage itself is far superior to what you would normally expect and was a warm and cosy retreat to return to after enjoying the sights of Iceland. The hot tub is a lovely way to ease those aching muscles after a day sightseeing.
An excellent choice both for location and standard of accommodation, we will return to Iceland and know exactly where to stay.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
5

Best cottage to explore Iceland.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We were just so surprised to find the cottage to go over the top due to luxury and so well equipped and the most important in the midst of all the attractions, you just can´t find a better location for your daytrips and to explore Iceland. Thank you Ellen and Steini (the owners) to meet with us and drive with us to show us the neighborhood and for all your SUPER service ?
We were always so happy to end our day in the “Hot Tub” it was so relaxing and we slept so comfortable after the bath. We miss it so.
The owner helped us to find the best deal for the car rental – we compared the price and it was up to 50% !!! lower and NO extras. Great car. Thank you for that. saved" a lot money *_* $$$$$
We will be back another time, that’s for sure and then we look so forward to come back to the Golden circle cottage.
Owner's Response: We are so happy to assist in any way :)
Steini and Ellen.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
THE LUXURIOUS GOLDEN CIRCLE COTTAGE. Hot tub natural water-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1023002
+354 8560704
South Iceland Iceland
Southampton
5

A beautiful cottage in an amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Words can not describe how blown away we were upon arrival, the cottage is absolutely stunning, very well presented and superb facilities (the hot tub is amazing)

We were welcomed personally by the owners who made us feel very welcome and after a quick tour left us to settle in.

The booking process was very easy and Gestur was very professional and efficient in getting all the information to us.

The cottage is located right in the heart of the golden circle making it very easy to visit all the main sites.

If you are after top class accommodation in a great location then look no further, this cottage is an absolute must!!

Thanks for a great holiday :)
Owner's Response: Dear Richard & family,
thank you so much for your kind words :) we so like to take good care of our guests.
Hope you come back :)
Helpful votes: 3/3