Pine Island house rental - Swimming pool
Swimming pool
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Pine Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Here are 3 reasons this canal home is a great place to stay!

Reason #1. The house is in a fabulous Southwest Florida location for fishing, boating or exploring nature! Bring your own boat; we have true direct Gulf access and a deep water canal! No boat? No problem. Easily rent from one of the local marinas. Or hire fun & expert fishing guide Gregg McKee of Wild Fly Charters (see Link below) who will pick you up right on our dock! From our Matlacha Pass canal, it's just minutes to Charlotte Harbor, to legendary Boca Grande and the Gulf of Mexico. Or, head south under The World's Most Fished Bridge, where the Matlacha Pass leads to San Carlos Bay, Pine Island Sound, and neighboring islands Sanibel, Captiva and Cabbage Key. The Intracoastal Waterway is minutes away.

Reason #2. it's an easy-care house! This uncluttered 2-bedroom home has all tile floors and is clean and bright. Enjoy sun-washed mornings outside on the enclosed poolside patio, overlooking the canal. The house faces just the right direction to receive great natural light all day, without intense afternoon direct sun. The simple, open plan creates a no-stress vacation retreat.

The house has a complete kitchen for easy meal prep. Bedrooms 1 and 2 both have plush queen size beds. There is a queen sleeper-sofa. Bedding, towels and pool towels are provided. Enjoy WiFi Internet and expanded cable! Most other basic supplies are on hand. All you need is food in the fridge.

Sliding glass doors open to the lanai and another table that seats 6 for outdoor meals poolside. The enclosed patio area expands the living space of an otherwise small home. A Weber gas grill is available. The second tiled bath w-shower is accessed from the pool area. Take a refreshing dip in the pool, then hang out on a comfortable chaise lounge.

Reason #3. Nearby are great restaurants, shops and recreation. Matlacha is a colorful and quaint island community, in mesh with the nature around it. Strolling around Matlacha, you'll experience an historic old-style Florida island town that is hard to find. It is devoid of generic modern-day development. Its appeal lies in postcard scenery, an eclectic array of small, colorful shops, affordable art galleries, and places to eat and drink.

Need a beach fix? Cross the Midpoint Bridge into Fort Myers and head for the gorgeous white sand of Fort Myers Beach, or take the Causeway for a day trip to Sanibel's shell-strewn beaches, with each being only 45 minutes away.

A short walk away, you can rent kayaks; go out for a guided or self-guided tour of the shallow backwaters around Matlacha. This designated Aquatic Preserve is home to manatees and countless rare and not-so-rare species of birds and marine life. Fly fish in the shallow waters. Or, fishing right off our seawall or dock is fun and always successful.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 102095 in Pine Island, Florida

Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Troy, MI
5

wonderful way to start the winter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We rented the house for a week to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and my husband's 70th birthday. The rental process was very easy and the directions to the house and information on the area were very helpful. Bill and Karen, the caretakers welcomed us and had the house opened up and the air conditioning on. I will always rent a house with a pool, swam at least twice a day. The bath/shower off the pool area was very nice as I could swim and then shower and change without dripping through the house. We drove to Sanibel island for a day and toured the Ding Darling nature reserve which was very nice. Took the afternoon boat tour and saw a large number/verity of birds coming to roost on the mangrove islands. Spent a day in Punta Gorda and Fisherman's Village. Looking forward to returning to the area. Wonderful house and excellent people to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Hollister,Missouri
5

Relaxing place to unwind.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wonderful to escape from the day to day grind. Everything was great. Neighbors very helpful. Thanks for lending us your home for a week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Tampa Florida
5

Saltwater therapy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Everthing was great. We had one of the best times of our lives and we will be back. Bill and Karen are great people and thanks to some fishing advice from Bill we caught Redfish, Trout, and Flounder every day. We had family come and visit from Tallahassee and cooked a big Thanksgiving dinner. A nice fish claening table has been added to the dock since the picutres were taken and I used it a lot. I am already planning a return trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Wantage, NJ
5

This Matlacha home was fantastic!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our family greatly enjoyed our stay at this home. Everything you could think of was available for your use. The owners and property managers were greatly helpful and friendly. We hope to go back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Greensboro, GA
5

Wonderful home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We found everything just as described! Very clean, neat and bright. Will choose this rental again and again.
There are so many great things to say about this home, it's location and friendly neighbors! The property owner was very easy to work with, too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Fort lauderdale
5

A wonderful place to come home to.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house was a wonderful place to recharge my batteries after a great day of fishing near by.The pool and dock are top notch and the house itself was fully equipped and very comfortable.My wife,who doesn't like to fish,had a great time going to the Spa in town and looking at the galleries there.She made some friends on a previous visit and was asked to join them at Berts for a get together.Bert's is a great local place with lots of flavor.The house,the town and the people who live there all helped to make our vacation a wonderful experience.Billy and Karen next door who manage the house for the owner,were very nice people and bent over backwards to make you feel right at home.It would be hard not to enjoy yourself in Matlacha but this place makes it easy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
5

Matlacha Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We rented this 2 bedroom, 2 bath home as a base for a fishing trip. It was everything it was advertised. The place was clean and well equiped. The beds were comfortable. The managers, the nextdoor neighbors, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Matlacha is very laid back and very "Old Florida" as well as very friendly. It was perfect for us. Definetly would recommend this to friends. Very likely we will want to return next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Florida
5

Matlacha Home On The Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The listing description and photos of the rental were right on. We loved the home and having a dock in the back was so serene and relaxing. It was a needed get away and also a Birthday celebration for my husband. Karen next door was so friendly and helpful, and so was the owner Barbara. We had been to Matlacha before and stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. But this was so much better and private. The house, pool, deck and appliances were well maintained. The only problem was the deck outside light did
not work and the handy man Steve never came to fix it. But we just kept our little party inside. Thank you Barbara for the Birthday Banner and beautiful champagne glasses. That was such a nice surprise,
and we appreciated it very much. We will be back again in the near future. JoAnn & Marty Szott
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Campton NH
5

Close to it all or just hang out poolside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
My husband enjoyed fishing off the wall while I floated in the pool; we spent two days with guide Gregg McKee- he picked us up right at our dock. Plenty of local color at Berts Bar & Grill for waterfront drinks & dinner and The Perfect Cup for delicious breakfast. The neighbors were great too. We would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Nice Home with Pool on Matlacha Pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p102095vbi
(770) 979-9717
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Fl
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
We had a wonderful time here, and fish a lot at Matlacha. To be able to fish right out on our favorite island and come home to a cool relaxing pool was a plus. The house is great and very comfortable. Resturants are very close and the quaint little shops are right there also. Bill and Karen are very nice and were there to help us out with what ever we needed. I will recommend this house to everyone I know. Thank you Barbara for renting us your beatiful home.
Sherri Barker
Fort Myers Fl
Helpful votes: 5/5