Little Switzerland cabin rental - One of a kind panoramic mountain veiw
One of a kind panoramic mountain veiw
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Little Switzerland Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 queen bed 1 full bath; 1 queen 1 bath down stairs

Come nest with the wrens! Cozy cabin with two levels, each with its own entrance. This layout allows privacy for couples and families. LCD high defintion TV in all bedrooms and living room. Lots of wood and glass, massive stone fireplace on each level, decks, kitchens and bathrooms on both levels. Hot tub on deck. Located minutes from the village of Little Switzerland. Gem mining, horseback riding, water falls, hiking, golf and shopping all nearby. Hope you don't mind sharing the property with the family of wrens who nest in a birdhouse right next to the cabin door Rental also includes pool- hot tub and tennis privileges a close by.

Long time resident of Little Switzerland. I designed and built my vacation rental cabins keeping in mind what I would be looking for in a residence for my self / rental property in the mountains. Enjoy the natural beauty, quality of life and sustainability this area provides. Spend most of my time outdoor hiking and tending the garden..

The Perch Cabin has a prime location and all the amenities including a panoramic view that's unrivaled..

Located on a private road 2/10 of mile with in easy walking distance to the village of Little Switzerland

20 Reviews of Property 101916 in Little Switzerland, North Carolina

The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Had an amazing time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Just returned from an amazing stay at the Perch Cabin. The views were breath taking and the cabin was great. With such short notice Rick made our accommodations very enjoyable. He even got the hot tub ready and brought us some extra firewood for the cold nights a head. We have decided to make this our destination every 6 months. I never thought we would have as great of time as we did but waking up to that amazing view every morning made us get rid of all of our thoughts of the big city, and just relax. Thanks Rick!
Owner's Response: Really happy you enjoyed your stay at the cabin. Thanks again for your business and leaving the place so neat and tidy.
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Thank you!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We wanted to get away for the weekend and had to make arrangements at the last minute. Boy did we get lucky! Rick was great and the cabin was very private, quaint and cozy with an unbelievable view. Loved it!!! I will definitely be back again...Couldn't ask for a nicer weekend.

April
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed the view and your stay at the cabin. Thanks for leaving the place so exceptionally neat and tidy. ;Hope to see you folks again.
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Fantastic Place to stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My friend and I spent a long weekend taking in the views from “The Perch” and relaxing in this cozy, comfortable cabin built on the side of the mountain. We loved every minute of it!! The only downfall was that it was only for 2 nights and not longer. A weekend is not nearly enough time to enjoy all of the sights and relax. We came to do a little mining and hiking and didn’t have enough time to get it all done.

The Perch's owner was extremely prompt and helpful during our planning process. After meeting up at the Post Office so he could lead the way, He offered some great advice on some local area attractions and sights. And while we were given the peace and privacy we were looking for, we knew that he was just a phone call away if we needed anything.

The steaming hot tub was great for relaxing after a long day of mining. We got to relax, drink a little wine, have a great meal, and relax for the weekend. I think a hot tub and great views of the mountains are a must for a vacation rental.
This cabin is close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and not far from Linville Falls, Crab Tree Falls, Mt Mitchell, Grandfather Mountain, and the local mines. There are many charming things to see and visit very close to the cabin.

We would highly recommend “The Perch” for anyone seeking peace and relaxation among the beauty of the surrounding mountains and ever changing landscape.

We will be back for another trip when we get a chance.
I would highly recommend “The Perch” to anyone looking for a great place to stay.
Owner's Response: Thanks again for your business and taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you both and the socializing was a special treat. It always nice to make new friends. Rick
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
4

Fantastic View!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great place! The view was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub after long motorcycle rides in the mountains. You feel like you are above the clouds at times and the sunsets and sunrises were really beautiful. Very clean and fully equipped with everything you needed. The fireplace was also a nice treat! Check it out, it's worth it.
Owner's Response: Thanks again for your business. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope to see you again in the future. Rick
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Perfect Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife usually does not let me plan any trips, but we needed a get away and Rick's place came recommended by a co-worker. Happy to say it was perfect and my wife told me it couldn't have been much better. She may even let me plan the next trip.

Rick greeted us at the Little Switzerland post office and led us up to his cabin and offered some great suggestions for area attractions. He let us know if we needed anything, he was just a phone call away.

As one can expect, the pictures really don't do the breath taking views justice. We had a warm fire every night (Rick supplied all the wood) and had some lovely late night star gazing from the hot tub to see a number of shooting stars. The sun rises from our deck were also spectacular. We took in some hiking for the great views at nearby Crabtree falls and Linville falls with a number of scenic stops along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Super Walmart in Spruce Pine was just a convenient hop away. We visited a number of antique shops scattered through out the area and would definitely like to come back. We stayed 5 nights, but would have liked to do at least a couple more. If you want a real get away, this is it.

Larry and Becky, Savannah, GA
Owner's Response: Larry and Becky Thanks again for your business and leaving the place so neat and tidy. Also thanks for taking the time to post a review. It was a pleasure to meet you folks. Hopefully I will see you again in the not to distant future. Rick
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Roanoke, VA
5

Beautiful Views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I stayed at "the Perch" for a quick getaway. We loved the views of the mountains. The photos here do not do it justice! The cabin is split, we stayed on the top level, but it would be perfect for two families traveling together to have separate units.
We traveled to Linville Falls and Grandfather Mountain during our stay. It was nice to relax in the hot tub after hiking and take in the night time lights across the mountains.
Rick was an awesome host! We highly recommend "the Perch" cabin!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jessica Thanks again for your business and leaving the place so neat and tidy. Your were model tennants. Hopefully will see you in the near future. Rick
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Danville, VA
5

Great Host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a great weekend at the Perch. The pictures didnt do the cabin justice, it was extremely clean and well kept, and Rick was great. Rick gave us all the privacy we wanted , but was only a phone call away if we needed something, which we didnt because he had everything set up, even firewood and laundry detergent. We will definately be returning if Rick will have us!

Christy and Kirk
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Christy Thanks for business and leaving the place so neat and tidy. NIce to meet you folks. Hope to see you again. Have a happy holiday season. Rick
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Fort Myers
5

Fresh Air & A Slice of Heaven

Fresh Air & A Slice of Heaven
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We spent a week taking in the views from The Perch and relaxing in this cozy, comfortable cabin on the hill. And loved every minute of it!! If I could figure out a way to make a living here I would never leave! Rick was gracious enough to take our initial call on a holiday (July 4th) and was prompt and helpful during our planning process. After meeting up at the post office so he could lead the way, Rick offered some great advice on sights we might not want to miss. And while we were given the peace and privacy we were looking for, we knew that Rick was only a phone call away should we need anything. Supplied with a generous stock of firewood for those chilly nights, a steamy, bubbling hot tub to relax in after a day of hiking, and a comfortable bed to rest our weary (old!!) bones, The Perch could easily be our go to home away from home. This cabin is close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and not far from Linville Falls, Crab Tree Falls, Mt Mitchell and a little drive to Grandfather Mountain. (Only a few of the "not to miss" local sights) And having the convenience of shopping basically down the road a piece is actually kinda nice. We had dinner at the local cafe on the last night serving for the season. Everyone we encountered were friendly and gracious, and the food was filling and delicious!! We would highly recommend The Perch for anyone seeking peace and relaxation among the beauty of the surrounding mountains and ever changing landscape.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Fort Myers
5

A Breath of Fresh Air & A Slice of Heaven

A Breath of Fresh Air & A Slice of Heaven
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We spent a week taking in the views from The Perch and relaxing in this cozy, comfortable cabin on the hill. And loved every minute of it!! If I could figure out a way to make a living here I would never leave!

Rick Gonsor was gracious enough to take our initial call on a holiday (July 4th) and was prompt and helpful during our planning process. After meeting up at the Post Office so he could lead the way, Rick offered some great advice on sights we might not want to miss. And while we were given the peace and privacy we were looking for, we knew that Rick was only a phone call away should we need anything.

Supplied with a generous stock of firewood for those chilly nights, a steamy, bubbling hot tub to relax in after a day of hiking, and a comfortable bed to rest our weary (old!!) bones, The Perch could easily be our go to home away from home.

This cabin is close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and not far from Linville Falls, Crab Tree Falls, Mt Mitchell and a little drive to Grandfather Mountain. (Only a few of the "not to miss" local sights) And having the convenience of Walmart basically down the road a piece is actually kinda nice.

We had dinner at the Little Switzerland Cafe on the last night for the season. Everyone we encountered were friendly and gracious, and the food was filling and delicious!!

We would highly recommend The Perch for anyone seeking peace and relaxation among the beauty of the surrounding mountains and ever changing landscape.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kim Thanks for taking the time to post a fine review of the cabin and the surrounding area. You are the dream clients leaving place exceptionally neat and tidy. Have a great rest of the year. Rick
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101916
+1 8287660611
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

"The Perch" is a Perfect Cabin!

"The Perch" is a Perfect Cabin!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was our 2nd stay in two years. At least a week each time.

If you need a starting spot for your motorcycle trip up and back on the Blue Ridge Parkway the entrance is minutes away.

If you need a cane to get around, it's still a great place to stay.

Sit on the deck or in the hot tub and enjoy the view while the occasional cloud comes through. Beautiful!

It's private, quiet and close to either cute local shops or a Super Walmart.
If you want fancy dining or casual meals there's both and they are great.
If you enjoy cooking the cabin is equipped for that also.
Even the washer/dryer combo makes a long stay far easier.
The Internet is fast and has never failed us.
Even our cell phones work here!

Even without the privacy, convenience and view there's owner Rick. He great company, happy to give advise about local attractions or help if needed.
He would be welcome in our home anytime!

L & W
Savannah, GA
Owner's Response: Will and Lori Always enjoy your company and the great diningl invitations. Wills chili is the best I have ever had. Thanks for the review. Looking forward to seeing you folks next year. Rick.
Helpful votes: 1/1