Damariscotta cottage rental - Huston Cove...this is your view.
Huston Cove...this is your view.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Damariscotta Cottage Rental Photos and Description
- 3 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 5-6.

SOUTHERN EXPOSURE..One mile south of the lovely village of Damariscotta (charming shops, fine dining and cafes, book store, community movie theatre) is a private road leading into Cottage Point, a quaint little settlement on the saltwater/tidal Damariscotta River evoking neighborhoods of yesteryear. The cottage, barely visible from the winding road, perches high above Huston Cove and overlooks Hog Island, that has been the home to a nesting pair of bald eagles! The garden has plantings of hydrangeas, lilacs, rugosa roses, and rhododendron. Swim or kayak from the private dock. Built in 1941, this cottage is a charmer with comfortable furnishings (new firm mattresses and cotton sheets) and warm pine paneling! It is perfect for a quiet and private relaxing get-away. IThere are fantastic water views from the cottage. The kitchen is well equipped for those who like to cook. An outdoor shower is discretely hidden at the back of the cottage.http://southernexposuredamariscotta.shutterfly.com

'Southern Exposure' is sited on a 1/2 acre lawn perfect for children. There is a wonderful collection of books and games if you're vacationing with the younger set. The Cottage Point community is a quiet safe area for bicycling and walking.

Read the on-line guest book and you will learn why this cottage is so beloved and why everyone wants to return to this waterfront 'slice of heaven!' Although it is a simple cottage, it is not rustic. Just like Reny's, anything you need is there.

If the date you want is shown as unavailable on the calendar, contact me anyway since I have a waiting list in case of cancellations. http://southernexposuredamariscotta.shutterfly.com/

More Details
Hide Details

Native South Carolinian who LOVES Maine! I live in Charleston, SC..the other most wonderful place to live...other than Maine. Southern Exposure was bought for a retirement spot...but since I can't retire, I live vicariously through others who also love the cottage.

Ann Dibble purchased this cottage in 2002

My Realtor called me about Southern Exposure before it hit the market! I bought it 'sight unseen' and still pinch myself for my good forturne. The Pemaquid Peninsular is the best place to be and Damariscotta is a hub of fun shops, restaurants, and art galleries. The best neighbors anywhere!

Location, location, location (very private, yet close to everything)...View, view, view!

42 Reviews of Property 101734 in Damariscotta, Maine

Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
average rating of 4.964286 based on 42 reviews
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Charleston, South Carolina
5

Fabulous Week at Southern Exposure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our week at the delightful cottage, Southern Exposure, exceeded all expectations for me and my guests! I've been summering in Maine for many years but had not stayed in the Damariscotta area until now. And, everything could not have been better. From the beautifully appointed cottage, Southern Expsoure, the charming humming birds in abundance, the bald eagle on Hog Island, the kayaking around the area, walks along the river, drives to Pemaquid Point & Wiscasset to yummy chowder from SeaBasket Cafe on Route 1, fabulous shops in all the surrounding towns, beautiful late spring weather, gorgeous garden created by the owner and the delight of staying in the comfortable, cozy cottage where the owner has anticipated most any need and has supplied whatever you might consider. Highly recommend the accommodations and the centrally located spot in mid-coast Maine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Great Maine Hide-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was the best hide-away in the mid coast.We had a great time.This house is good for 2 couples or a small family. The views are spectacular and the daily hummingbirds are a added treat. Damariscotta is a great small town with great restaurants. We were in daily contact with Ann, telling her of our daily outings. The house is fully equipped with everything you need. We even added to a few things that others can use.we will defintely be returning as this is truely a piece of heaven. We even travelled further up the coast and never really felt we were far from home. Great centrally located for all of your venturing out into the Maine countryside
Owner's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed yourselves at Southern Exposure and have you down for 2013!
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Southern Exposure Damariscotta, Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The house is very comfortable and cozy. The bedrooms fit our needs perfectly, the kitchen, dining room, living room and porches were very comfortable, neat, functional and user friendly. The bathrooms are small and dated but perfectly fine unless you want something really new and modern.

The yard is beautifully landscaped. The view is beautiful and the deck and dock are perfect for capturing the view and spending the time outdoors. The water in the bay and the view of Hog Island with all of the birds and wild life makes this cottage so ideal.

The location and access to the coast and small towns in Maine is ideal. There are ample hikes, day trips and activities to keep families or couples occupied for a long time.

We loved our time at the cottage and would love to rent it again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Phoenixville, PA
5

Cousin Catch-Up

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I enjoyed 4 wonderful days at "Southern Exposure". The weather was perfect and the cottage was very warm and inviting. It was easy to settle into the peace and serenity of this well maintained cottage on the Damariscotta River. What a treat sitting on the deck to take in the never ending views across the river to Hog Island, the birds, the sky, the stars. There was so much to do....kayaking, biking, hiking, antiqueing, and eating in the many delicious lobster houses throughout the area.

I loved the outdoor shower....it was great looking up at the pine trees overhead and taking in the scent while scrubbing sea mist from my skin.

Even with all the activity I still had time to catch up with my southern cousin and share many stories on the deck and in the cozy living room. I certainly look forward to a return visit!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Charleston, South Carolina
5

Book Now

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We had a fabulous time in Damariscotta and loved the cozy cottage and splendid view. Everything you need - and more - is there (wonderful touches like fresh flowers throughout). It is tidy, immaculately clean, comfortable and as welcoming as a big hug. It feels like home. We relaxed, kayaked, ate incredible meals, explored charming seaside towns and lived large all week. If you have half as much fun as we did you will have done well. I would recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Sumter, South Carolina
5

Sibling Retreat at Southern Exposure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
. My brother and sister and I just spent five glorious days at Southern Exposure. The cabin was very comfortable and had all of the amenities of home We spent hours catching up on our lives while watching the continuous parade of hummingbirds at the feeders. On several occasions, we went out on day trips. The cabin is very centrally located and made this easy to do. What a wonderful base camp it provided for us! The outdoor shower was truly a Maine experience! Thank you for thinking of your guests’ every need. We kayaked around the point and took advantage of all of the photographic opportunities that abound in that neck of the woods. I am a bit hesitant about writing this review because, selfishly, I want it to be kept a secret. Your little chunk of Heaven is very special.. We are already making plans to have another reunion there in 2010
Thank you for providing the perfect getaway for us to reconnect.


August 27-September 3, 2009
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
New York City, N.Y.;
5

The Perfect Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My husband and I have vacationed here in June, July and August (four years total). The description of the listing is accurate to the letter. It is evident that the owner cares a great deal for her cottage by the way it is maintained and that each year she has added improvements (renovating the deck, adding a very lovely outdoor shower, new windows and more). The furnishings are comfortable and most attractive. Over the years the plants and bushes have matured so that there have been plenty of flowers whenever we have been there. The owner is available if there is a need to contact her and there is someone at hand if there is a problem. We would and have recommended this property to friends. We bring our canoe and have totally enjoyed canoeing on the river and other places nearby. There are many places to hike nearby that vary re sights and terrain. We have enjoyed going to nearby auctions (in August) and trips to Rockport (a museum, interesting shops, antiques and boats) and Camden for hiking and boat trips. We also enjoy the clambake that is part of a boat trip in Boothbay Harbor. What we have enjoyed enormously have been going to the many lobster pounds (especially the one in Round Pond) and feasting on local lobster. We have stayed home most evenings to relax on the deck, grill local fish and enjoy
the beautiful view.

There are so many things to do in and around this part of Maine and I have only named a view. Clearly we love "Southern Exposure" as we keep returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Williamstown, MA
4

Southern Exposure in Damariscotta

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Our family of three, including a teenage son, spent a week at Southern Exposure. It was our first stay at the cottage, which was recommended to us by friends. We had a pretty good idea of what to expect, and we weren’t disappointed.
The cabin was in excellent condition. Everything was clean and ready for our use, and fresh-cut flowers were placed around the cottage. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances, equipment, and dinnerware, as well as staples like condiments and seasonings. Towels and bed linens were all fresh. Bathrooms are small, but manageable. Delightful works of art hang throughout the cottage and the bookshelves are stocked with regional and wildlife guides. There are a number of hummingbird feeders, which get a steady stream of customers. Friends had told us of nesting eagles on the island, but they weren’t in evidence during our stay.
The cottage’s location is perfect for getting up and down the coast and into the interior. Although Damariscotta is tiny, it offers a variety of restaurants, shops, and galleries to try. We had a fabulous meal at the Damariscotta River Grille and heard a wonderful jazz band, the Down East Jazz Babies, at Schooner Landing. (Check Schooner Landing’s performance schedule to see who’s performing.) I really enjoyed shopping at Darling & DeLisle, a shop specializing in accessories and jewelry (made by the shop’s owners). We can also recommend the Firehouse Gallery and Damariscotta Pottery, where each piece is one-of-a-kind. In New Harbor, you can catch the Hardy Boat Ferry to Monhegan, and in Boothbay, you can visit the Coastal Maine Botanical Garden. Plenty of opportunities to hear chamber music, as well. I used a Verizon card to access the internet at the cottage, but you can also settle in at the bookstore in town to log on.
Depending on where you are in life, the campuses of Bowdoin, Bates, and Colby are easy to get to, in case you want to work some college visits into your stay. Each campus has much to offer, including art galleries, plays, and concerts, and specialties like Bates’ summer dance festival.
The only minor drawbacks were the difficulty in getting an NPR station on the cottage radio and the placement of the television in the entryway, which was too small to accommodate all three of us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Because of the size and reception of the television, I purposely do not advertise a TV in my listing of Southern Exposure. I agree that NPR reception is not the best...but that's life in coastal Maine.

This guest has requested to return in 2010, so I guess the drawbacks she noted were indeed minor.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Raleigh, NC
5

Wonderful Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
What a wonderfully cozy cottage you have with Southern Exposure! We had planned a simple extended weekend getaway to escape the pressures of work and wedding planning. Southern Exposure contributed to our respite even more than expected!

Every cottage comfort seemed thoughtfully considered, and the activity guide was loaded with fun activities and helpful hints. What a neat idea to include past renters’ comments and leave room for more. Who needs Zagats? From suggestions on restaurants and sight-seeing adventures, to tips on securing reasonable lobster prices and cooking at home – this guide was a how-to for peaceful living!

From the fresh flowers in the house, the kayaks and life jackets, the rocking chairs on the front deck, and the hammock that beckons you the moment you arrive – every consideration seems to have been made to make our stay easy, cozy, and comfortable.

One night was a little chilly, but the gas stove made for a nice romantic evening with a bottle of wine and an absolutely gorgeous view of the Damariscotta River. And we LOVED the outdoor shower – what a fantastic experience!

The location could not have been better, as it was secluded enough to feel private but close enough that you could be in town (be it by car or kayak) within minutes. You truly have a treasure in Southern Exposure. Part of us wants to tell all our friends about it, and the other part wants to keep it our little secret!

Thanks for everything, we look forward to returning soon – when you aren’t already booked!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Most Beloved Damariscotta River Cottage -- Memorial Day and Early June Specials!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101734
+1 4048956583
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Cary, NC
5

The Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
What a wonderful cottage! The location is perfect – close enough to great spots for eating, shopping, and exploring yet secluded enough to enjoy the peaceful surroundings. The thoughtfulness that has been put into the cottage made us feel at home. We loved the view, collecting oysters around the dock at low tide to cook for dinner, Muscongus Bay for a relaxing lobster dinner overlooking the water, a day trip by ferry to Monhegan Island, Pemaquid Point, Botanical Gardens, shops in Freeport, and lots of ice cream! We can’t wait to return to Southern Exposure!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2