Canal District apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Canal District Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Amazing canal apartment with great view, 1 bed, 1 bath, gourmet kitchen

This amazing and most luxury property consists of a large kitchen and living room, facing the houseboats of the Prinsengracht, bathroom with shower and sink, and a large bedroom and dressing room with charming balcony. Location wise there is no better position than this one, since it is the most central position of the city, and everything you may want to see at walking distance.

Amsterdam, also referred to as the Venice if the north, is truly an amazing and most livable city, on one hand very international and on the other hand almost village like, with charming bars, restaurants (all world cuisines are represented in Amsterdam), theaters, and the best cultural offer in Europe, and all that on a very small surface.

The world famous paintings of Van Gogh and Rembrandt can be admired in the Rijks museum and the Van Gogh museum. Visit the Vondel Park on a sunny day, or go cycling in the Jordaan area or the Plantage. Enjoy!

7 Reviews of Property 1016729 in Canal District, Netherlands

Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1016729
+31 0624621729
Canal District Amsterdam
Australia
5

Picture windows opening from a charming apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The owner seems to often live here when it is not rented to a tenant -so it is a fully equipped home -like staying with friends.
I was anxious booking, as the agent has one name, the owner another and the bank details yet another -but everyone was very helpful and it worked out beautifully. Juliette could not meet us -but Alex was an excellent guide -showing us around on arrival. The apartment is up 2 easy flights of stairs -but there is a lift -a big bonus with luggage and shopping.
The kitchen was great with lots of condiments -we cooked 2 dinners -including one for friends as we wanted to show off the apartment. It is probably the nicest rental apartment we have ever had. The windows onto the canal were the big drawcard -but I loved the balcony out the back too -everything was so nice and bright! The bed and pillows were gorgeous too!
It was fun being able to pop your head out the front window to see which way the tram (you could just hear) was going -such a convenient position. We loved the area -lots of cute shops and cafes, bakeries and an amazing deli. And an easy walk to 2 good sized supermarkets -in fact you could walk almost anywhere central from here and it's on the direct tram to RAI conference centre -the reason for our stay! Nights were peaceful -no noisy neighbours with the rear bedroom.
The single bed made a perfect place for our suitcases- it's like a dressing room off the master bedroom -but would have been fine for a third family member -but offers little privacy for them.
We loved our 5 night stay and would definitely recommend it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1016729
+31 0624621729
Canal District Amsterdam
Portland, ME
5

Truly a Fabulous Apartment...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This lovely, well-decorated, and fully-equipped home was a great base for our visit to Amsterdam. The location is perfect, on a quiet block on Prinsengracht Canal, with butchers, bakers, cheese and wine shops within a block. Two supermarkets within two blocks. And many restaurant options also within blocks.

Well-located for walking to the museums area and all other Amsterdam attractions. There is tram stop at the end of the block, a welcome convenience after a long day...

The owner thoughtfully left guidebooks and maps and noted the location of local shops and restaurants.

I highly recommend this very special home, one of the nicest we have ever rented... Thank you, Juliette, for providing such a special base for a memorable visit to Amsterdam!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1016729
+31 0624621729
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Great option if you are in town for business !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I decided to stay at this lovely apt during a recent business trip and convention in Amsterdam. Juliette and the apt were wonderful. The space was full of great objects of art and fully equiped so that I felt like I could stay forever...a far cry from the usual hotel and convention experience. It was a three minute walk from the tram which took me directly to the RAI our convention site. For those wishing to dine out, there are an endless number of restaurants within walking distance of all ethnicities. A list of favorites is being compiled by previous guests and for those eating in, there are two very convenient markets. For those with mobility problems , there is a very convenient and prompt elevator, so the 2nd floor is not a problem. If you call a cab, they are there almost immediately, so be prepared to go when you call! My only regret is that I did not have time to rent a bike and explore the city more, next time I hope!
Owner's Response: Thank you !
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1016729
+31 0624621729
Canal District Amsterdam
London
5

Perfect Flat; Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I spent the most wonderful week in Amsterdam in this delightful apartment during mid-March 2013. Located within the seventeenth century canal ring area of the city which has now been designated a World Heritage Site, the flat is on the third floor of a building that overlooks the Prinsengracht. The apartment is filled with lots of light, both in the front and in the rear. Each of the three large front windows affords a picturesque view of boats traveling the waterway as well as of the tree lined street across the canal with its compact row of scenic Dutch architectural style buildings, every one of which is three or four hundred years old. The rear windows serve the two bedrooms, with a small terrace and colorful awning off the primary bedroom. Regardless of whether one is in the front or the rear of the apartment, the noise level is minimal because so few cars are able to travel within the canal zone.
The apartment itself has a surprisingly simple but very functional layout. It is comprised of an open kitchen, dinning and living area combined in the front room, a hallway off of which is a separate toilet and (amazing) shower room, and two bedrooms in the rear--a larger one with a double bed and a small junior one with a single bed. Juliette, the owner, has done a magnificent job renovating the apartment and installing the latest appliances and equipment. She has tastefully decorated her place with comfortable furniture and covered her walls throughout with many, many interesting drawings. The apartment has a good sound system with an extensive collection of classical and jazz CDs as well as numerous books on photography and the fine arts.
The canal zone is a charming and quaint part of the city. It is filled with small specialty shops, friendly "Brown Cafes" (read: local pubs) and good restaurants. One need not walk more than five minutes from the apartment to find butchers, wine and pastry shops, formal and/or informal dinning. At the end of the street is a tram stop which makes the museums and main train station easily reachable within a short period of time.
All in all, a perfect flat in a perfect location!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1016729
+31 0624621729
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Lovely Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed in this lovely apartment for a week in the fall of 2012. The owner is a very lovely person who made us feel very welcome and very much at home. The apartment is in a very nice part of Amsterdam, it is within easy walking distance of the major museums, and is near good food, cheese and wine shops, and very good restaurants. It is also very close to a tram stop, so getting about Amsterdam is quite easy. The apartment is modern, clean, and very nicely decorated. The furniture is very comfortable and it has great views of the canal and surrounding area. If you plan to do a lot of cooking, the kitchen is great, it has everything you need! We highly recommend this apartment as a great place to stay while visiting the Netherlands.

Bill & Kris, Denver, CO
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1016729
+31 0624621729
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Highest recommendation for this lovely apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband & I had the pleasure of renting this beautiful apartment for the last week in May, 2012. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly owner who showed us her freshly cleaned and well-stocked home. We found the decor most lovely with a mini-gallery of the owner's art and books in each room. Interior furnishings are comfortable for 2-5 persons with views onto the pretty Prinsengracht canal from living, dining & kitchen via the triple windows.

The kitchen was a chief's dream: Wolf gas range, Subzero fridge w/icemaker, Siemens oven & dishwasher: plenty of LeCrueset pans, Wusthof knives, dishes for 5 or more guests. The nearby grocery, butcher, bakery & cheeseshop make cooking a snap. Those who prefer to dine out will find several of Amsterdam's best restaurants (Red, Antoine's, In deKeuken, Beddington's) a short, 3-10 minute stroll away. Carryout and family-style are also just around the corner, along with a plethora of bars and pubs both large and small.

The bedrooms consist of a nicely arranged, comfortable queen platform bed which is very firm--just perfect for our backs--with great linens, down pillows and down comforter with duvet. The smaller, twin bedroom seemed perfect for a child or single adult. Separated from the queen bedroom with a door it is certainly more bedroom than advertised here. There is ample storage with double closets and drawers in the twin room and hallway, respectively.

The toilet room with hand sink is separate from the main shower room. The shower room is spacious by any standard with modern marble & granite throughout, a walk-in rain shower and hand-held paddle option. No bath tub but we didn't miss it. Hot water was plentiful and water pressured excellent throughout our stay. A quadruple mirrored sink with good lighting was a real plus. The bath also contains a small, enclosed washer-dryer combo that worked surprisingly well-- although a brief instructional session was necessary unless you read/speak Dutch.

Overall we give this apartment our highest rating and recommendation. Definitely a 5-star property for its comfort, location in a quiet neighborhood, and modern, elegant decor. Is it a bit expensive? Perhaps, but then again we found it a good bargain that was well worth the price! We would happily return and whole-heartedly recommend to others. We would be happy to provide further details or confirm our personal recommendation of this property.

Carol & David Lambert
Bethesda, Maryland 20817 USA
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Fabulous apartment at canal with glorious view and terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1016729
+31 0624621729
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

amazing apartment !

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What an amazing apartment ! My wife and I had a great time in your gorgeous place, great position, and so quiet and lovely.The view of the canal and the houseboats in front is spectacular, we had the best holidays ever !
I would certainly recommand this property to friends and family.
Helpful votes: 8/9