East Lothian apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

East Lothian Apartment Rental Photos and Description
4 bed double upper villa in the heart of North Berwick,

Situated right on the seafront, a short walk to the town centre. You have the two upper floors of a Victorian Villa to call home for the duration of your stay in North Berwick.

You'll instantly feel at home in this comfortable well equipped house combined with spectacular views and proximity to the beach, town centre and local facilities.

Why not enjoy a relaxing break before the school holidays to take advantage of the best rates! Just give me a call or drop a line to get the best price for a short break or longer stay.

Local Highlights

East Lothian is the sunniest and the driest area of Scotland, and the mild climate in this sheltered corner of the country makes it a popular year-round holiday destination.

The coastline is punctuated with places of interest, including castles at Tantallon and Dirleton dating back to the 13th century. The area's many other attractions include beaches, historic homes and ancient monuments, good walking and cycling routes, and the best collection of golf courses to be found anywhere.

For those who like exploring our past, the Iron Age sites at Chester's Hill Fort and Traprain Law are worth a visit, and the county's interior is dotted with delightful villages where you can stop for refreshment at the many pubs and coffee shops.

The Bass Rock, 2 km offshore, is home to one of the world's largest gannet colonies and dominates the sea view from North Berwick, whilst Aberlady Bay (the UK's first local nature reserve) hosts thousands of migrating birds each autumn.

Edinburgh is just half an hour away by train. Scotland's capital city offers many attractions, but is at it's busiest for three weeks every August during the Edinburgh International Festival, North Berwick also joins in with a Fringe by the Sea festival just minutes from our front door.

The North Berwick area

North Berwick is a thriving coastal town with a long and colourful history. The growth of the 'Royal Burgh' is closely linked to the establishment of the railway line in the late 19th century, a time when North Berwick was a fashionable destination for the well to do in society, and became known as the 'Biarritz of the north'.

These days the town is home to a population of around 7,000 and is one of six main towns in East Lothian. Local infrastructure includes a high school, sports centre and swimming pool, health centre, shops, banks, pubs, restaurants, etc. There are golf, rugby, sailing and tennis clubs, and many other tourist attractions. Excellent transport links mean Edinburgh is easily accessible by road or rail.

Local attractions include Tantallon and Dirleton Castles, the Museum of Flight, Glenkinchie Disitillery, and the Scottish Seabird Centre. Boat trips to the Bass Rock and other islands are available from the old harbour in summer months.

At the heart of Edinburgh's golf coast, North Berwick is home to the West Links, the oldest piece of golfing land outside St Andrews and one of the finest courses to be found anywhere. Muirfield, Gullane, Dunbar, and the new courses at Archerfield and Renaissance are all just a short drive away.

For those who simply want to relax and unwind, there are miles of beautiful sandy beaches, good places to walk or cycle, and friendly pubs and restaurants.

Local annual events include:

- The Loony Dook (1st Jan, 2012) - watch 100's of crazy people get cold and wet in the sea !

- North Berwick Highland Games (4th Aug, 2012)

- The Fringe by the Sea (6th-12th Aug, 2012)

- Frequent Golf, Tennis and Sailing championships

More Details
Hide Details

Hi there, my husband and I lived here very happily for 8 years and still love the place very much and hope that you will now enjoy staying here as much as we do!

Moya Anderson purchased this apartment in 2002

6 Reviews of Property 1011251 in East Lothian, United Kingdom

Spring Breaks Now Available
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Spring Breaks Now Available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1011251
East Lothian Edinburgh & Lothians
Scotland
4

25 years celebration

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Hi Moya We all enjoyed our long weekend in North Berwick very much. Everyone thought your house was fantastic. The views were stunning and the weather for the time of year was brilliant. Thanks for supplying tea coffee soaps etc (basics covered a great help). We tried the new Italian restuarant on Quality Street Cucina Amore and had a lovely meal. The Auld House and Ship Inn served a good pint as did the Old Club House in Gullane (a nice walk, "for us" along the beach). We will keep you in mind for future weekends away.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring Breaks Now Available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1011251
East Lothian Edinburgh & Lothians
5

Memorable Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Really happy with the house, very spacious, everything available you may need and beautiful views. There were 10 of us staying here, 8 adults and 2 children.
Ideal place right opposite the beach and a few minutes walk to the town. North Berwick is a beautiful town and ideal place for golfing and not far to the station for commuting to Edinburgh. We also enjoyed the boat trip, an afternoon at the spa and a rest on the beach. I would recommend this to anybody and would go back for another holiday. We felt so lucky to get this accommodation and would like to thank Moya for a great holiday.
Regards Vinters family, Lincoln
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring Breaks Now Available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1011251
East Lothian Edinburgh & Lothians
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We'd have paid for the views alone!

We'd have paid for the views alone!
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
lovely feel to house clean ad attention to detail. We feel we have had a long restful holiday though its only been a few days
business
Spring Breaks Now Available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1011251
East Lothian Edinburgh & Lothians
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Very well equipped flat. Girls enjoyed the DVD's. nice touch as was the welcome pack. Great location will definately be back
business
Spring Breaks Now Available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1011251
East Lothian Edinburgh & Lothians
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Weekend Visit

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
House location is first class as are the facilities in the house. We will most certainly recommend this house to our friends
business
Spring Breaks Now Available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1011251
East Lothian Edinburgh & Lothians
5

Spacious and homely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our stay in the holiday house was brilliant, very spacious for the three families travelling, awesome views over the firth, 3 minute walk to main street, very homely feel to it. If ever again in north berwick for the week, we will definitly stay again, Thanks.
Helpful votes: 3/3