Georgetown cottage rental - Relax on the Porch
Relax on the Porch
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Georgetown Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4

Perched on a bluff overlooking the wide and majestic Kennebec River, this is the quintessential Maine 'camp'. You will find all the comforts of home in a quiet and peaceful wooded setting, Cast your line, right from the rocks, for some of the best striper fishing on the East Coast.

The queen bedroom has a full bath. The twin room has a full bath. Only minutes to Reid State Park and the quaint fishing village of Five Islands. Visit Bath and Brunswick for the Maine Maritime Museum, the Chocolate Church Gallery and Performing Arts Center, The Maine State Music Theatre, historic house tours, lighthouse cruises, fairs and festivals, fine dining and, of course lobster.

17 Reviews of Property 100693 in Georgetown, Maine

Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

A Great Week in a Quiet Setting . . .

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was my second week here at the Whispering River Reeds Cottage. A few friends joined me and we all enjoyed the well appointed and beautifully finished cottage. The large screened porch is delightful. What a treat ii is to spend a week in such a nice, clean home away from home.

We found much to do in the area. The biggest attraction was Reid State Park where we most enjoyed Half Mile beach near low tide with all the tidal pools. We visited several galleries and of course, Georgetown Pottery. And we topped several days with stops at the General Store for Blueberry Ice Cream.
Dinner at the Osprey was very good. The Lobster rolls at Five Islands were not the best I have had. We also loved our day off Georgetown at the Coastal Botanical Gardens. Such a treat to the senses. Bath and its many stores and restaurants beckoned us while the beaches were at there hottest. We attempted to hike at the Newman Audubon Sanctuary but were driven out by the bugs. I would return there in the fall, however.

I would certainly return to the island and Whispering River Reeds cottage where it is best for just three people unless you have a fourth that is most agile and willing to climb to the loft. You could not ask for better service from the owners, Susie and Dave.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Beautifully calm, quiet, and clean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property was jaw-droppingly beautiful, clean, fully equipped, and conveniently located to use as the perfect "home base" as we toured the area. We didn't want to leave. The two bathrooms were perfect for a family, and the loft would be fantastic fun for a little one looking to explore! The animals, ships, and sunsets we were able to see while lounging in the hammock were breathtaking and will never be forgotten. Memories were made for us here and we WILL happily return for another week. Thank you!! You've made our summer the most memorable ever!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
4

A very relaxing week in Maine!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a very relaxing week at this cottage. We found the owners to be very easy to work with and responsive to any requests. The things we really liked about the place were: the views, the master bedroom, the outside hammock, good supply of kitchen tools and the screened in porch. It also is in a good location. We went to the Georgetown Store several times and if you need to have access to the outside world they have free wireless access.

The main thing negative to say about the cabin is it was more rustic than some of the others we compared it to but it was also significantly less expensive so that was a worthy trade-off. There are a couple of areas where the wiring is exposed that give the impression it isn't finished yet. It really wasn't that bothersome to us but if someone had small kids who stayed in that area it could be an issue. We also wished there was a larger lobster pot as the one they had barely accommodated two lobsters.

I highly recommend going to the Maine Maritime Museum in Bath if you like history at all and the Mid Coast Botanical Gardens in Boothbay is rated the top public garden in the US. It is amazing! We also went to Acadia National Park as that was a bucket list destination of mine. It took almost three hours to get there each way because the roads are slow traveling but it was worth it. It did make for a long day however!

All in all it was a lovely trip and I recommend this cabin if you are looking for a quiet getaway.
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our cottage and the feedback. We are very appreciative of suggestions and will take care of the spot where the electrician did not box in the back side of an outlet. Hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Amazing getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cottage was everything we were looking for! We have two small children and this was perfect for a relaxing family vacation. The house was spotless and had everything that we needed. Fishing off the rocks was a great way to end the night. The location is great, you can get to many great towns within thirty min. I would recommend this to everyone!!!
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Dallas, TX
5

Surprise Availability!! Got it on a whim.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Property is as described, and better. There is a small loft that children would be very excited to sleep in, ladder and all. Fireplace (with starter logs and firewood in abundance) draws well and the comfy couch with genuine lobster pot coffee table are divine. We found everything we needed in the well stocked kitchen and the screened porch really screens any nuisance and gets great breezes. Very quiet neighborhood. The best is the view out of every window! Lots of outdoor places to sit and contemplate surroundings. Lots of nearby restaurants that are outstanding as are area attractions for any type vacationer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great to see you after 6 years and to get your take on the difference in the cottage since the renovations. So glad you liked it. We knew the kids would love the loft. We hope we'll see more of you in the coming years. We agree, the dinner at the Meetinghouse is outstanding!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Beautiful and peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The cottage is great: comfortable and equipped with everything you may need. The front lawn is marvelous: you can read, sunbathe, just sit there and stare at the water and the birds, watch an amazing sunset. It's a very very quiet spot. The area is lovely too. The beach at Reid State Park (a short drive from the cottage) is beautiful and there are many great places to eat (we particularly liked the Osprey at the end of Robinhood Dr.). Bath, the closest town, is quite nice. If you're lucky the Chocolate Church may have some cool concert or performance going on. It also has a few restaurants and a couple of nice cafes and bakeries. Dealing with the cottage's owners, Susie and Dave, to make arrangements was a pleasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your review and hope to see you next year!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Westerlo, NY
5

Just beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We unfortunately only had a short time to spend at this lovely cottage, but loved every minute. The view of the river makes you feel peace and serenity. The cottage itself is immaculately clean, and has everything you will need. It is off the beaten path, which is when you find wonderful gems like Georgetown Pottery, and Five Islands at the end of the road for amazing lobster. In Bath, I highly recommend a trip to Mae's for breakfast, and then strolling through town where there are lots of great shops, and Reny's is a must!
The Botanical Garden at Boothbay Harbor is not to be missed, not only for the abundance of plant material, but also for the amazing stonework and sculptures. A hike to Morse Mountain is also a must, you proceed up to a beautiful view, and then down to a beautiful sandy beach.
Susie and Dave were very lovely and easy to work with, and if you need to get away from it all, this is the place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Larue, TX
5

River Reeds Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This sweet cottage sits on a hill overlooking the Kennebeck River. It has a roomy screened porch and outdoor lounge chairs where we enjoyed a variety of water craft pass by below us. The cottage is located in a quiet and restful neighborhood.
The cottage itself is immaculate, lined in knotty pine. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are most suitable. The kitchen is well appointed and the living room with wood burning fireplace for cool evenings is very comfortable.
The owners provide shopping cards, park passes for renters' use. Five Islands lobster was excellent though the mosquitoes were abundant at dusk - go early! The Meeting House and The Osprey are excellent restaurants were great dining experiences.
A washer would be a boone but understanably with a septic system that might be difficult.We would highly recommend this cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Baltimore-Washington area
5

Wonderful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Whispering River Reeds was a lovely, quiet, remote cottage perched up on a cliff with wonderful views of the Kennebec River. We spent hours outside watching the boats go by and listening to the birds and the screened porch was a great refuge at dusk when the mosquitos came out to play! It was unusually warm (even HOT) for Maine during our stay, but the porch always had a breeze, and the ceiling fans inside kept us comfortable. The home is well furnished and well equipped. The queen bed was very comfortable, and having 2 bathrooms was a real treat. We had more than enough room for the two of us, and even with another couple wouldn't have been on top of one another. The cottage is immaculate and very well maintained. The views from the porch, living room and queen bedroom are spectacular. The fireplace was lovely and I know we would have enjoyed it on a cool evening - maybe next year.

We loved everything about the place, it was a perfect vacation spot for us, and a great place to spend my 60th birthday. We saw a family of wild turkeys one night, and lots of deer - even saw moose droppings in the woods nearby, and thought we heard one! So many beautiful birds too. The night sky was incredible and clear, and it was so quiet - just heavenly.

We had lobsters at Five Islands more than once, and lobster rolls and fried clams there too and at several of the other nearby places. We went to the more upscale Robinhood Meetinghouse Restaurant one night and enjoyed meeting the chef, eating great food and drinking good wine - highly recommend. Loved a 1/2 day sea kayaking tour by LL Bean in Freeport, loved Reid State Park and Georgetown Pottery.

The only thing I didn't plan well for was not having a washer, and since
it was so hot when we were there, we went through our lightweight
clothes more quickly - particularly the days when we went hiking or to
the beach. The closest laundromat was in Bath, near the closest grocery store, but we went early in the week, and then didn't want to spend a 1/2 day going back to Bath to wash our clothes - so had to improvise a bit.

Susie couldn't have been nicer to deal with, and responded the same
day to my on-line inquiry. Their instructions and directions were perfect, and we would highly recommend Whispering River Reeds cottage to anyone who wants to get away from the hectic pace of their everyday lives, and relax in a comfortable cottage with a great view.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Whispering River Reeds Cottage - views from every room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100693
207 725-8362
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
White Plains, New York
5

A Jewel in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband and I spent 2 wonderful weeks in this secluded gem of a cottage. Nestled among pine trees on a bluff overlooking the Kennebec River, Whispering River Reeds Cottage is every bit as enticing as it appears on the web page. It is comfortable, spotlessly clean, well equipped and nicely decorated (with hand-painted murals on the kitchen cabinets!). We spent many an evening on the porch watching the beautiful sunsets over the river while having our dinner. And for eating dinner out we found 2 excellent restaurants: The Robinhood Meeting House right in Georgetown and Solo Bistro in Bath. For lunch we highly recommend Mae's (in Bath). Georgetown Pottery and Arrowsic Potters are 2 fun places to visit, and in Bath the "Made in Maine" shop is also fun with some unique items for sale. The Maritime Museum in Bath has several interesting tours and exhibits.

Since the weather was fantastic, we spent much of our time birding at several places along the coast including Reid Beach in Georgetown, Popham Beach in Phippsburg, and Scarborough Marsh in Scarborough near Portland. We also enjoyed the Farmers' Markets in Bath and Brunswick, the craft show at the Maine Audubon's Gilsland Farm in Falmouth and the wonderful museum at Bowdoin College. We find mid-coast Maine a great place to vacation with lots to do, and with such a lovely and convenient place to stay, what could be better.
We will definitely schedule a return visit.

Jeanne & Frank, White Plains, New York
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4