County Louth cottage rental - Old Essmore Cottage - On the coast of Carlingford Lough
Old Essmore Cottage - On the coast of Carlingford Lough
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

County Louth Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom, bathroom 2, Country Cottage

Old Essmore Cottage, extensively renovated 18th century stone cottage, beautifully furnished keeping that old charm and set in Ireland's fast becoming sought after destination.

Sleeping up to seven persons( max 6 adults ), our three bedroom country self catering accommodation, located along the shore road, is only five minutes from the beautiful village of Carlingford and only two minutes to the village of Omeath.

Old Essmore Cottage offers all you need in a self catering accommodation with cozy cottage rooms offering great views of the Mourne Mountains & Carlingford lough and with plenty of modern amenities to enhance your stay.

There is also a small garden and patio area ideal for relaxing in while you sip your tea or maybe a glass of wine or two.

The village of Carlingford is located on the shores of Carlingford Lough and is overlooked by the Cooley Mountains. It is a bustling centre for sightseers, walkers and adventure activity enthusiasts. It has a large number of award winning restaurants and pubs and has retained its medieval character. Carlingford, Omeath and the Cooley Peninsula won the 2008 European Destinations of Excellence – Tourism and Intangible Heritage award. ?

There are a number of great golf courses available nearby, great hiking trails on your door step, fishing, sailing, horse riding, dog racing tracks and a history to discover all around you.

A great location and ideal to go discover the East Coast from Dublin to Belfast - In little over an hour you can travel by car or train, from the heart of the country side into the heart of a city. Maybe a trip to the Zoo, visit The Guinness Factory or check out The Titanic Museum.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 1006636 in County Louth, Ireland

Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
average rating of 4.4 based on 7 reviews
business
Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1006636
+44 7973325211
County Louth Ireland
5

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Scenery

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We arrived to a warm and lovely welcome by the owners, who were extremely helpful with everything. The house was exactly as the pictures shown and is just beautiful and inviting. We had a great time exploring Carlingford and the area around the house, even taking a couple drives to other areas to see the Hill of Tara, Belfast and Trim Castle. My husband enjoyed the water begin so close that he could explore the shore with our youngest daughter. When going to Belfast, Gerard so graciously guided us to easy parking and how to get around the town. The Carlingford Arms was a get dining experience. We are already planning to go back to Ireland and have friends that we plan on telling about our stay in Carlingford, I am sure they will love it as much as we did. Thanks so much Gerard and Maureen.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1006636
+44 7973325211
County Louth Ireland
4

Cozy, quaint and well situated

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Well situated to visit the wonderful sights in both the North and South. The house itself was spacious and the sun room wonderful warm and inviting. I loved the turf to burn, as it gave the warm feeling of being in the country. The house was well maintained and all the amenities. I would recommend the property to anyone wanting to see all sides of Ireland, and would go back myself to the same spot.
Owner's Response: Thank you you for your kind words, it was great to have you visit and I hope it will not be too long before you can return to the shores of Carlingford lough. You and your family will always be welcome.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1006636
+44 7973325211
County Louth Ireland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Alfredo & Federica - Turin, Italy -Will Return

Alfredo & Federica - Turin, Italy -Will Return
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Very nice place where to be, we will definitetly come back to visit again
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1006636
+44 7973325211
County Louth Ireland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Jim & Allison - Belgium & U.S.Great family holiday

Jim & Allison - Belgium & U.S.Great family holiday
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Thank you so much for the oportunity to stay in your lovely home.The boys loved the beach and we so much enjoyed exploring the north east coast of Ireland and using this home as our home base. Absolutlely beautiful.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1006636
+44 7973325211
County Louth Ireland
5

Old Essmore Cottage -

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We spent two weeks in Old Essmore Cottage in July and had a wonderful time. The cottage itself was beautiful and cosy and we quickly felt at home in our surroundings. The owners, Gerard and Maureen, met us on arrival to show us around and had a very welcome tea and scones ready for us, which was lovely. Everything we could have possibly needed was provided in the cottage including logs for the fire and barbeque outdoors - we even got the weather to use it!
The location of the cottage was ideal for us to walk into Omeath to the local shops and to just admire the breath taking scenery and we also took the boat over to Warrrenpoint.
The charming town of Carlingford is only five minutes by car and has some wonderful eating places as well as the harbour, the castle and mountain walks to explore. We drove to nearby Dundalk and discovered Fitzpatricks restaurant along the way which is a must for great food and to see. We drove back over the mountains and came across 'The Tall womans grave' and mountain walk area.
Overall we had plenty to do and see in and around the area and the cottage was great. We certainly hope to return and would have no hestition in recommending this property.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1006636
+44 7973325211
County Louth Ireland
4

Essmore Cottage Carlingford

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Me and my friends were so excited to find this cozy, charming cottage a few minutes out of Carlingford Village! The location is PRIME! Our goal on this trip was to spend more time in the countryside rather than the bigger cities so it was perfect. With the cottage an hour from Dublin and an hour from Belfast every day was a new and exciting adventure whether you wanted to experience the countryside or have access to city life. With the lough and mountains both in site the view was truly spectacular - especially the day the rainbow reach from the mountains and arched over the lough. The listing was 100% accurate, the property clean and well maintained. The property owner provided excellent customer service! He was professional, polite and gracious and took all the time we needed to answer our questions. In fact, all the Irish people we ran into were helpful and kind. I would highly recommend this property to family and friends and have already done so! I hope to return to Ireland with my husband and rent this charming cottage. A few of the trip highlights included driving from Carlingford Village up the Irish Seacoast to Newcastle then returning to the Carlingford Village through the mountains. We wanted to experience the Irish countryside and it was a delightful experience. Spending time in Carlingford Village was really fun. I would recommend stopping at the Carlingford Visitor Center. The locals were friendly, gracious and seemed to truly wanted to make our experience in Ireland enjoyable. Every restaurant we ate at in the Village had great food and excellent service. We did a lot of the "main tour" attractions, i.e., New Grange, The Hill of Tara, Trim (Talbot's Castle) because we love the history. I would recommend making the trip to Inniskeen, the home of Patrick Kavanagh. The pub in Inniskeen was fun to "drop in" and visit too. What pub isn't fun to drop into in Ireland? Can't wait to get back to Ireland and see some it's "city life". So much to do, so little time - I highly recommend Old Essmore Cottage and I highly recommend visiting Ireland!!! Sandy Nemcek
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Carlingford Lough, A Beautiful Costal Holiday Home -Old Essmore Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1006636
+44 7973325211
County Louth Ireland
4

Little Essmore Cottage Carlingford

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I have had the pleasure of staying at Little Essmore Cottage on a number of ocassions. It is a delight. The cottage is beautifully situated for both coastal and hillside walks. Close to the historic village of Carlingford. Easy to get to from Belfast or Dublin airports. The owners have tastefully refurbished the property - maintaining its original cottage feel but with all mod cons. I have had many restful stays . But when in need of 'craic' and a good meal I just popped up the road to the delights of Carlingford with its many pubs and eateries. I can thorougly recommend it for either family or more active holiday experience..

Gerry McCrudden
Helpful votes: 8/8