Taos house rental - Living Room at Desert Oak 'Live the Essence of Taos' Heart of Historic District
Living Room at Desert Oak 'Live the Essence of Taos' Heart of Historic District
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Taos House Rental Photos and Description
Convenient to Taos Ski Valley: 4 bedrooms + den, 3 full baths, sleeps 12, HotTub

Desert Oak is an authentically restored, architecturally designed adobe home. From the moment you walk through the custom latilla gate into a private courtyard, you are surrounded by the comfort of a unique home designed in an elegant, southwestern style. Custom details include hand-sewn timber beams, imported Mexican tile and a traditional fireplace. French doors and skylights allow an abundance of sunlight and air to flow throughout the interior. There is a large courtyard in front (with a view of majestic Taos Mountain) and a secluded backyard with a private hot tub. A flexible plan allows the Main House (sleeps 8) or the Suite (sleeps 4) to be rented individually. They may also be combined to create a 5 bedroom, 3 bathroom, 2 kitchen home that will comfortably accommodate to 12 people. 'Live the Essence of Taos'. You will be within walking distance of over 15 Restaurants, many Bars, Galleries, Shops & Museums Very Convenient to Taos Ski Valley, Angel Fire, Red River and Santa Fe.

To find out all about Desert Oak, please visit the extensive web site which includes detailed photographs of the interior and exterior of the home as well as the amenities, floor plan, maps and links.

Our home was featured on TV on the program, 'Around the World in 80 Homes,' the Fine Living channel.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 100659 in Taos, New Mexico

SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Mission Hills, Kansas
5

Location and Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent 4 nights in this wonderful home last August - My husband, myself, and our three sons. The house was perfect! Within easy walking distance of the main street with restaurants and shops. And in a terrific neighborhood. We slept with the windows open every night, and it was so peaceful. The house has authentic charm and decor, the beds are comfy, the kitchen has everything you could ever need, and the bathrooms were well stocked. We spent our days hiking canyons, going to galleries, and eating great food! We also met the next door neighbor, Dhari, and her awesome dog, Bodhi. She is terrific! The house has a warm, historic, family feel and is updated to the 21st century. We'd definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Location! Location! Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Excellent place for a ski trip stay. TSV only 20 min drive away. After skiing, this place has everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Everyone in our group had a comfortable bed. Enough bathrooms to prevent morning log-jambs and allow for apr├Ęs-ski showers. Great hot-tub. New BBQ. Kitchen is fully stocked with all the gear you need to put on a spread. Cozy fireplace to add to the comfort. All the best restaurants and bars and shopping are within a short walk or an even shorter drive. The owner (Linda) is very helpful with any issues, which were few, and is a knowledgeable resource for all things Taos. You won't be disappointed by choosing Linda and her charming and fully-equipped rental. This is our 2nd stay and we will be back! Mark Lowery, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Mississauga, Ontario Canada.
5

Great Hide Out!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Great location in the town of Taos near shops and restaurants. Nicely appointed with BBQ, hot tub, fully equiped kitchen and laundry. The owner is a great hostess and personally looked after all of our needs. I would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Thamesford, Ontario, Canada
5

Authentic Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Having been wanting to stay at Desrt Oak for some time, and was not disappointed when the opportunity arose. The authentic adobe craftsmanship along with the cosy interior decor, convenience to center of town and the wonderful history of Desert Oak and the owner's delightful, warm, considerate vibe, all contributed to our fantastic stay in Taos. Clean and well stocked kitchen and baths, peaceful neighborhood. I will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Marshall, TX
5

Charming and Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Staying at Desert Oak was perfect for us. The listing description proved true in every way. It is an easy drive to skiing and a short walk to shopping and restaurants, not to mention the charm and authentic feel of the adobe home. The tile throughout is especially lovely. There was plenty of room for our large party and I was amazed at the well equipped kitchen (I needlessly brought kitchen extras ony to discover that the owner thought of everything!) I also appreciated Linda's personal attentiveness during our stay. She was very helpful,and accommodating, always available, but not intrusive. I highly recommend Desert Oak.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Taos, New Mexico
5

Lovely home in the center of Taos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We were so happy when we found this home for our annual employee gathering in Taos. We've returned every year for the past 7 years. The location couldn't be better for walking to local restaurants, Taos Plaza, Kit Carson Park and our nearby office. We particularly appreciate that it offers the option of renting the main house along with the suite, or renting separately when we have smaller groups in town. The wireless broadband connection is handy for getting work done in the evenings. Our employees enjoy the hot tub and grill in the large back yard. We've come to count on the home consistently being clean and inviting, and there's always a little "treat" of fresh flowers and/or chips and salsa waiting for them when they arrive after their long trip to Taos. It feels like home away from home but only better, with truly special Taos charm! We'll be back again next June or sooner!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Denver CO
5

A Taos jewel!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
A group of us from Denver rented this house for a fall mountain biking trip ... What a great place to relax in style, cook gourmet meals, soak in the hot tub and cozy up to the fire. Classic Taos architecture, a beautiful home with sufficient space for multiple couples, and a nice proximity to town -- not so close you hear the noise, but close enough to wander to the thick of things in under 5 minutes. We unreservedly recommend this house!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Brighton, CO
4

Desert Oaks during Taos Wool Festival

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My group of 8 found this lovey Southwestern home to be very convenient and comfortable during the 3 days of our stay. It's main advantage was location to Kit Carson Park and The Plaza. The easy, safe walk through friendly neighborhoods after enjoying the ambience of Taos was frosting on the cake.

Thanks to the owner for her extra care and attention!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Pompano Beach, FL
5

The best place to stay in Taos! We loved our stay here.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
A jewel smack in the middle of Taos.

I found it a plus to rent from the owner. Once we sent our deposit a Priority Mail packet arrived, chock full of information that was very helpful for planning our vacation. It included maps as well as descriptions and numbers for many local businesses. When I had questions, Linda gave me valuable insider information.
When we drove up, the walled property seemed unassuming. We opened the gate to the courtyard and we knew we were in for a treat: over a dozen vibrantly potted planters played against the adobe walls. As we entered Desert Oak, the same detail was everywhere, the tile work and the wood work was all custom. We were so comfortable we didn't want to leave our new home.
My family could walk to everything: the farmer's market, galleries, museums, restaurants and shops. The home was central to all the hikes and bike rides we took.
I am telling all my friends about Desert Oak and we can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SNOW! February Availability: Luxury in Heart of Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100659
+1 575 770-2818
Taos New Mexico
Alameda, CA
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Spent a wonderful week at Desert Oak enjoying the fabulous well appointed kitchen, hot tub and authentic adobe dwelling. We were greeted by a bottle of chardonnay and chips and salsa and a plethora of materials on what to do in Toas. The location to town is definitely a plus as we were able to walk to many places. We would defiantly stay at Desert Oak again.
Helpful votes: 1/1