Islington apartment rental - Bright and cozy living room
Bright and cozy living room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Islington Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Open-plan, 1 bedroom flat + study sleeps up to 4 in secure apartment block

This is a lovely, comfortable, bright 1st floor apartment with wooden floors throughout within a small, quiet residential apartment block. It comprises an open plan living/dining/kitchen area with flat screen TV, leather couch and armchair, dining table with 4 chairs. The modern kitchen is fully fitted with a new 4 gas-ring stove recently installed. There is plenty of work space for the budding chefs amongst you! The main bedroom has a comfortable King size bed (pocket-sprung mattress) with plenty of wardrobe/drawer space. A smaller room by the front door can be used as a study or a second bedroom with 2 single futon mattresses that would be ideal for up to 2 children or 2 adults who don't mind sleeping on the floor. The bathroom, with tiled floor, is next to the main bedroom with an amazing power shower and bath.

Wi-Fi is available throughout the flat.

Parking is very limited in the area, but really is not necessary as we are so close to all forms of public transport.

Having lived in the property for nearly fifteen years, we feel very lucky to be in such a prime location - on a quiet side street just a few minutes stroll from public transport, tourist attractions, restaurants and night life. We are very happy to use our home as a holiday rental and hope other people can benefit from staying in such a lovely, comfortable flat.

Our flat is up one flight of stairs and is well maintained, spacious and bright with all modern appliances. We have also left a bread maker, rice cooker, food blender for those who want to do a little cooking themselves.

Around the corner is Whitecross Street Market that has food stalls during the week cooking up Indian, Thai, Mexican, Brazillian, Spanish, Italian cuisine to name a few. There are also some very nice cake stalls. On the street itself, there are two very nice cafes, (Fix and Comptoir Gourmand), great restaurants include Pham Sushi, Cozzo, The Iskele, and Carnivale an intimate vegetarian-food only affair.

Jamie Oliver has two restaurants nearby, Fifteen, in Old Street (booking necessary) is a ten minute walk and Jamie's Italian in Bank is less than 20 minutes' walk, but only open weekdays. He has another branch in Angel which is a short bus ride or 1 tube stop away or 25 minutes' walk that is open every day and is extremely child-friendly.

John Torrode's Smiths of Smithfields is less than 15 minutes' walk away. It's opposite London's world famous Smithfields wholesale meat market and serves the freshest steaks, burgers in town as well as a wide variety of breakfast/lunch options.

Brick Lane - for those that like a curry (mainly Bangladeshi restaurants) is 20 minutes' walk away.

The Artillery Arms is a cosy pub around the corner catering towards workers after work or to the locals. Sunday evening is Quiz Night and it shows most of the main sporting events. If you are looking for a more up tempo nightlife, then the bars in Old Street, Shoreditch, Hoxton Square areas are just 15 minutes' walk away. Nightclubs such as Mother, 333, Plastic People and Club Aquarium with its swimming pool (!) are 10-15 minutes' walk away.

Anyone with children, there is a nice playground just off Whitecross Street (Fortune Street Park). Also there is a popular storytime session at the Barbican Library around the corner on Monday mornings for toddlers and Friday mornings for babies up to the age of 18 months.

There is no shortage of places to visit that are walking distance:

- The Museum of London is less than a 15 minute walk

- The Barbican Arts Centre is around the corner

- St Paul's Cathedral is a 20 minute walk

- The Tate Modern is a 30 minute walk (past St Paul's and crossing the Thames River over the Millennium Bridge)

- One New Change shopping centre (opened at the end of 2010) opposite St Paul's has the usual high street shops under one roof with lots of restaurants and a terrace with some good views

- Spitalfields Market has an array of restaurants as well as clothes, food, antique, art stalls. It is a 20 minute walk

- Petticoat Lane Market around the corner from Spitalfields is open on a Sunday and sells clothes, shoes, household utensils and goods plus much more. Combining this with Spitalfields Market makes for a great Sunday

- The London Financial areas (also known as the City of London) of Moorgate and Bank is a 10-15 minute walk away. It is bustling during the week and very quiet at the weekend. As well as the Stock Exchange, Mansion House, Bank of England, the Royal Exchange, Monument Tower, there are numerous restaurants, cafes and shops.

- The Tower of London is also 30 minutes' walk away (but also easily accessible by underground from Barbican or Moorgate underground stations).

Other London Tourist Attractions can be reached by bus or underground such as:

- Madame Tussauds is a quick five tube stops away from Barbican station or a 25 minute bus ride getting off at Baker Street.

- London Zoo is also the same tube and bus stop as Madame Tussauds with a lovely stroll through Regents Park

- The Natural History Museum/Science Museum/V&A Museum are based in South Kensington and can be reached easily in under 30 minutes by taking the tube from Old Street or Barbican to King's Cross and then changing to the Piccadilly line

- Buckingham Palace can also be reached in under 20 minutes by taking the tube from Old Street or Barbican to King's Cross and then changing to the Piccadilly line to Green Park or Hyde Park Corner or the Victoria Line to Victoria Station

- The London Eye/Southbank area can be reached in under 20 minutes by taking the tube from Old Street to Bank and then changing to the Waterloo&City line. If the W&C line is not working, then Old Street to Elephant & Castle changing to the Bakerloo Line for Waterloo Station

- The British Museum can be reached by catching the number 55 bus from Old Street station (20 mins journey)

- Trafalgar Square (with Nelson's Column, National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery) can be reached in 15-20 minutes by taking the tube from Old Street or Barbican to King's Cross and then changing to the Piccadilly Line for Leicester Square station or bus route 23 from Liverpool Street (30 mins)

Covent Garden/China Town/Theatreland can all be reached in under 20 minutes by catching the tube from Old Street or Barbican and changing at King's Cross on the Picadilly line to Leicester Square/Covent Garden

Waitrose supermarket, open daily, is around the corner and has everything you need should you wish to eat in. They have a fresh meat, fish, cheese and deli counter.

Check in time - after 3pm

Check out time - 10am

Earlier check in and later check out times could be arranged with our Property Management contact depending on whether there is another guest staying in the flat before/after for an extra fee.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 1004858 in Islington, United Kingdom

1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 13 reviews
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
5

A Beautiful Apartment in an Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I stayed in Jacqui's apartment for 9 nights. It is a wonderful apartment. The photos are completely accurate, if anything, the apartment is more spacious than I realised. The apartment was perfectly clean, and it has a really nice atmosphere. It's also really quiet. Another great thing about it, was that there were plenty of products and ingredients left by the owner that I was welcome to use. This makes a huge difference when one is traveling. I didn't have to go out and buy cleaning products or laundry powder or shampoo or salt and honey and so on. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything I needed to prepare food, I mean, chopping boards, and a bamix and a salad bowl etc etc, there was no having to make do with a limited availability of cooking utensils like one can sometimes face when renting a short term apartment.

Jacqui was an excellent communicator with me prior to my visit, and I could tell she has a heart of gold. All communications with her were kind and friendly and timely. I asked if there was something in the apartment I could plug my i-pod into, and she purchased it before I arrived. The apartment has wi-fi, great tv and nintendo and dvd player, you name it, it was there. She left a detailed folder of instructions, including lots of information about the local area. Also a kind welcome pack, including organic milk, coffee, tea, flowers and a bottle of wine. Now that's going the extra distance to make someone feel welcome. I was met at the apartment by a friendly managing agent at the agreed upon time, and they were totally flexible about arranging to meet me a time that suited me.

The apartment is in a wonderful location. Very close to 3 different tube stations, meaning I had access to at least 3 different tube lines, which made getting around London a breeze. The best thing about the location for me, was the street market just a 2 minute walk away. It's on 5 days a week, and I could get fresh healthy food there every day. Plus there are lots of good shops and restaurants in whichever direction I walked in.

This is the best apartment I have stayed in in London, in the best location, with the best access to tube stations and restaurants. Five Stars! Thank you Jacqui!
Owner's Response: Wow Marisa, thank you so much for the glowing review! I am really happy you had great time in London and more importantly you had everything you needed in the flat. We are very lucky to be so centrally located with public transport and restaurants within walking distance.
Safe travels back to Australia and if you are ever back in London, please contact me!
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
5

An Absolute Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had the pleasure of staying in Jacqui's apartment for 6 nights and could not have had a better experience all around. The apartment is exactly as pictured--bright, clean, and comfortable. Large windows open to both the front and back sides of the building, adding to the sense of space and light.

The apartment is incredibility spacious and very well equipped. You'll find plenty of closet and storage space in every room and we especially appreciated the rack of hooks in the front Foyer for storing coats, hats, and scarves. The bathroom is much larger than you will usually encounter in Europe, with plenty of hot water and shelf space for personal items. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking should you decide to eat-in or even entertain, and the cozy bed was heaven after a long day of sightseeing.

The location was perfect for seeing London. Two underground stations are close-by, but we chose to walk to most destinations. The Thames,Tower Bridge, Globe Theater, the Tate, Southbank Center, Covent Gardens are all within walking distance. In the interest of time, we opted to use taxis to visit Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace, but these would be very nice walks, too.

The neighborhood is full of life during the day and peaceful at night. You'll find an excellent grocery store with a decent wine department less than a block away. There's a pub on the corner and ethnic-food vendors set-up their grills at lunch time on the next block. We appreciated being able to open windows at night without being disturbed by noise--even on Guy Fawkes' Day!

Finally, we can't thank Jacqui and her agent, Vanya, enough for everything they did to make our stay comfortable and easy. Our arrival was complicated by a storm that closed-down air traffic and trains, but Jacqui and Vanya stayed in touch with us all along the way to ensure that an assistant would be at the apartment to help us settled-in when we finally arrived. Vanya was available by telephone and Jacqui by email anytime we had a question and we especially appreciated Vanya's insistence on being there on the last morning to hand us off safely to the taxi driver.

We came away with the sense that both Vanya and Jacqui care about their tenants as if we were family.

This was the third time in the past year that we've used HomeAway to arrange rentals in Europe and we have had very good experiences. I can't imagine having a better experience than this next time!
Owner's Response: Hi Diane
Many thanks for your lovely review. I am so glad you and Tom enjoyed your stay in London (and in Europe) and found the flat much to your liking.
It seems that you did do a lot of walking! That's wonderful. Yes, we are very lucky to be within walking distance to so many attractions.
It was our pleasure to have you stay, and always our number one priority to make sure you have everything you need to make it a "home away from home" whilst you are here.
Please contact me again when you next decide to visit London again.
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
5

Wonderful Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I just spent 9 nights in Jacqui's apartment, and it was wonderful. The apartment is very clean and well appointed. The kitchen is renovated and has everything you could possibly need for preparing meals and eating, including a dishwasher. When we arrived, there was a bottle of wine to welcome us, as well as fruit and milk for our coffee. In addition, there were many condiments available for our use. The living room was comfortable and had a TV. The bed room had considerable storage, and in addition, there was a small room off the bedroom, which in our case, served as the "suitcase room", so that our luggage never had to be in sight or in the way.

The location of the apartment was great. We used the Barbican and Old Street Tube stops, and the bus stop near Old Street was very close. We walked to many of the places that we wanted to visit. One of the best things about the location for us was the Waitrose store that was just around the corner, which sells all kinds of organic foods and wonderful prepared meals, in addition to wine. You can even sign up for a temporary Waitrose card and get the benefit of more discounted prices.

Jacqui was a pleasure to work with and even arranged for a cab to pick us up at the airport when we arrived. We would certainly come back again.
Owner's Response: Dear Sharryn,
Many thanks for your very kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had everything you needed in the flat. Yes, we are lucky to be so central and within walking distance to so many things
Please do get in contact with me again if you are ever back in London.
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
NH, USA
5

Beautiful, comfortable, and spotless!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I just finished a 4 night stay in this lovely apartment, and I would highly recommend it to other travelers. The owner, Jacqui, and her team in London could not be more agreeable and responsive. Communication through the whole process was stellar, and you could not ask for a better welcome than I received from the greeter, Vanya. She left fresh milk, coffee, fruit and a very nice bottle of wine – which was much appreciated!

The apartment is really well-located, easily accessed by numerous public transport options.. I was in London for business, and having such easy access to the City was terrific.

In terms of neighborhood amenities, there is a fantastic grocery store – Waitrose –about 2 minutes away. There are many shops and restaurants close by, but I confess that because of my work schedule, I did not get much of a chance to explore any of them except the coffee shop, Fix, just around the corner, which was excellent.

The apartment itself is incredibly nicely appointed, especially the living area, kitchen and bathroom. It was also impeccably clean from top to bottom. Not a speck of dust or dirt to be found. The kitchen, in particular, is superbly stocked with every convenience you can imagine. You could cook gourmet meals in this kitchen, or do as I did: make coffee and toast for breakfast and heat up take away food for dinner! Everything is top of the line. The living room is comfortable and well-furnished, with loads of power points which was great for using/charging all my electronic gizmos. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly and the TV, DVD player, etc.. are all top quality.

Two things to mention that detracted a bit (but as you can see from my rating, not so much as to detract from the EXCELLENT rating this property deserves) is that there are no black out shades in the bedroom. There are Roman shades, but they are sheer. I am assured that no one can see in, but I had a hard time sleeping due the fact that the room was not dark owing to the light coming in from the street and other buildings. (Next time, I will just bring eye shades! The bed is also very firm, and there was not much padding. I generally like a firm mattress, but I need a little bit of “squish”!

All in all, this is a very nice place with many amenities that are unmatched in other rentals (and I have done this 5 o 6 times now.) I highly recommend it
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Allison,
Many thanks for your review and your kind words.
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay in the flat and you had everything you needed to make for a comfortable stay. Yes the flat is in an ideal location, very central, close to tourist attractions as well as the City for those who are here on business. We are indeed lucky to have the supermarket, Waitrose on our doorstep.
We'll definitely look into getting some black out blinds.
I do hope you get to come back to London, for business or pleasure and come stay in Dufferin again.
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
Barcelona
5

Excellent location, beautiful flat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Stayed here on a work trip for three nights. Jacqui was very prompt with her communication and the check in process was very smooth.

The flat is great, located on a quiet road just near shops and restaurants on Whitecross Street. The transport links are good and there's two great pubs moments away, as well as Shoreditch/Hoxton a bit further a field.

Would happily stay here again and would heartily recommend to others.
Owner's Response: Hi Loz,
Thanks so much for your lovely review.
I'm really pleased you had a great time staying in the flat and that you made use of the many amenities close to us.
If you are back in London, do get in touch with me again.
Best wishes
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Un séjour très agréable

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Bonjour Jacqui,

Nous avons passé un séjour très agréable à Londres. L'appartement est très bien, accueillant, lumineux et chaleureux.

Merci à vous et à bientôt j'espère.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
5

Wonderfully located and beautifully appointed flat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family (two adults and teenage daughter) were very happy staying in this flat. It is centrally located, and easy to walk to many attractions, as well as being near three Tube stations. The flat is clean, bright, airy and very comfortable, and has everything needed for a great vacation. As well, Whitecross Street Market is just around the corner, and should not be missed for great lunches! Jacqui was a responsive and gracious landlord. We highly recommend staying here while visiting London.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Trish,
Many thanks for your review. It's great that you and your family had a wonderful stay in our flat and enjoyed what London had to offer. Whitecross Street Market is indeed a fabulous place to get lunch and we are so lucky to be just around the corner from there.
If you come back to London, do get in touch!
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
5

A fantastic, relaxing and spaceous apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My partner and I have stayed twice now at this apartment and would recommend it to anyone! It is like home from home with a functional kitchen, washing machine and all mod cons. It's very light and airy and spotless. There is a Waitrose on your doorstep together with several pubs and restaurants and the Barbican is a stone throw away. We love it !!
Owner's Response: Hi Denise,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to have repeat guests stay with us and would be thrilled to have you back the next time you plan a trip to London. We are indeed very lucky to have everything on our doorstep.
Take care
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
4

A real home away from home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Wonderful apartment, really well equipped, excellent location, and very thoughtful owner.

Looking forward to returning to the flat on future visits to London.

Property listing was very accurate, excellent customer service provided, and I would certainly recommend this property to friends or family.

Check out the Ozone cafe, or Shoreditch Grind for two of the best coffee houses in London!

Didn't want to leave...looking forward to returning!

Thanks Jacqui!
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Maria.
Yes, do get in touch when you plan to come back to London.
Jacqui
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
1 Bed Flat, Zone 1 Central London. Spacious, Modern and Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1004858
Islington London
5

Great location & accommodations

Great location & accommodations
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Not my first visit to England, but first time renting a flat there. My family of three drove to London from our home in Germany. We were warned there wouldn't be any parking available, but Jacqui worked out our parking situation for the weekend. We stayed for a few more days into the week and found parking close to our flat (risk vs reward, as it was marked private!). Besides this minor inconvenience, we found our stay there very pleasant.
We were able to bring our own food, but the grocery store nearby provided a convenience for additional needs. However, plenty of people before us have left enough behind (spices, oils, wine, etc) that you'll find yourself saving a little extra money. The subway (Tube) was very close by, and we found the 'Old Street' tube station to be the most convenient station to get around everywhere we needed.

My wife and daughter enjoyed the stay there as well. We weren't able to use the DVD player (perhaps it was the type of disc we used?), however, Jacqui said she'd look into making sure it checked out.

Jacqui stayed in communication with us throughout the trip. Provided my deposit back within a few days via Paypal. I believe a good rating hinges on ensuring our needs are met and staying in contact as a priority I recommend this flat to anyone wanting an extended stay in London. Thanks Jacqui!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Aaron! We're happy you had an enjoyable stay.
Since we are so central and walking distance to all forms of public transport, there's no need for a car.
If you come over again, get in touch with me and leave your car behind!
Thanks Jacqui
Helpful votes: 4/4