Hall Quarry cabin rental - Echo Vista Cabin
Echo Vista Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hall Quarry Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms Sleeps 4 Maximum

For the true 'Essence of Maine' vacation, enjoy a charming rustic cabin in the woods. Centrally located on Mount Desert Island, the cabin is located on 4 wooded acres and across the street from Echo Lake. Echo Lake is a great swimming, kayaking, paddle board and windsurfing lake. Close to all Acadia National Park activities. The free Island Explorer bus will pick you and your bike up at the end of the driveway for easy travel to Acadia's Carriage roads, trails and Bar Harbor. Relax in privacy on the covered front porch yet be only steps away from the lake.

8 Reviews of Property 100349 in Hall Quarry, Maine

Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Cozy Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Very clean, well maintained cabin in the woods. It is rustic with no central heat, so if you rent on a chilly night, knowledge of how to operate a woodstove is necessary. Wood was supplied. Plenty of hot water for a nice warm shower in the AM. We had a dog and there was plenty of woods for him to sniff. The cabin is on a main road, but set far enough back up a small hill. Spouse enjoyed kayaking in Echo Lake. Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor are the main attractions, but the quiet side of the island where the cottage is has its own charm. One road at dusk was full of little foxes crossing the road and we also spotted a deer with antlers. Plenty of restaurants to choose from too. We explored and enjoyed our stay as a result.
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Great cabin for 4 adults in a good location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in the cabin. It was a great size for 4 adults and had all the necessities a typical at-home-cook could want in the kitchen. We were especially impressed by the quality of the linens throughout.

For us, the proximity to the busy road was not an issue, but if you are a light sleeper or bothered by road noise, you may find it a little loud. Otherwise, the location was wonderful. The lake directly across the street was beautiful to look at and fun to swim in.

The cabin is on the "quite side" of Mt. Desert Island, but Bar Harbor and the Park Loop Road in Acadia National Park are within a quick drive. There is also a harbor nearby with plenty of fresh seafood and cute stores for shopping.

I would definitely stay here again.
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Bit of authentic Acadia heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoy the cottage every year we go as we feel more like locals and not part of a hotel tourist trap. The loons sounds on the lake at night, the deer family which made a presence one early evening, the shimmering waters of Echo lake seen through the trees, along w/crossing the street to swim at Echo Lake anytime you want. The cottage is very clean, has everything you need and is plainly but cutely decorated with lots of Maine pictures and rustic furniture which is how we feel a, "Maine Cabin in the Woods," should be. We would not want it any other way but how it is. Please be sure to do the Jordan Pond Path...an easy trail where you walk about 3 miles in a loop around the pond....of course the main treat is to stop at Jordan Pond house afterwards for lunch or dinner on the lawn with it beautiful views down the hill to Jordan Pond and the Twin Bubble mountains in the distance! We saved Abbe Museum in Bar Harbor and the The Mt. Desert Historical Society Museum & Garden in Southwest Harbor for rainy days (the cute little white buildings you see with the famously pictured white arch bridge going across a brook with lilly pads and flowers from the main road in Southwest Harbor). You also must try breakfast at, Café This Way, in Bar Harbor. Pair it with the Abbe Museum on a rainy day as they are located practically next to each other. Also, it you have a larger screened notebook that plays dvds or bluerays download a movie from Blockbuster or go to the Redbox located in Bar Harbor at Hannafords and watch a movie on a rainy night. The cabin has wireless and a landline phone as well. You will not get cell service however. My daughter has a new 17.5 inch laptop that she just got for graduation as she is going to college in the fall and we just set it up the wicker coffee table and sat around it while eating clam chowder with oyster crackers one rainy night. Other forays we did: Evening whale watch out of Bar Harbor (yes, we actually did see whales!), and last but not least: hikes, hikes, hikes! Every hike up any of the mountains yield vista upon vista of incredible views. Hint: :South Ridge trails are generally easier, while, North Ridge trails are generally harder. Something to do with the way the glaciers flowed initially northwards and then retreated from the south (I think). Anyway, you MUST do a climb to the top of Cadillac! If time is too short, drive to the top of Cadillac and go down a trail for a a mile of so and then climb back up.
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Lovely cabin- Met our needs perfectly!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My boyfriend and I stayed for a week mid July and had a wonderful time here. Its about a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Bar Harbor but just walk across the street and you have the perfect day. The lake is beautiful and warm enough to swim and canoe. It was also a great location for exploring Acadia National Park. The cottage/cabin itself was clean and fit our needs perfectly. While the street it's located on has a pretty high speed limit we thought that the cabin was situated far back enough to limit the noise and make it safe enough for our dog to roam in and out of the house. We would definitely want to stay here again next time we visit Bar Harbor or Acadia Park.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great getaway space!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are two native New Englanders in our near 30s now living in Brooklyn and were desperate to get away for a few days. We struggled to decide which part of the island to stay on since we had never been - when we found this cabin we knew it was "the one" !

The owner was very friendly and responded quickly to my questions. We were booking close to last minute so her responsiveness was greatly appreciated.

This cabin was exactly what we needed - easy to get to and from all of our activities, clean and set back from the traffic of the main road just enough to enjoy meals on the deck and in the yard.

The cabin reminded me of my great aunts house when I was growing up - just enough space, tastefully decorated and had unique pre-war charm. I especially loved how open the cabin felt. Since the weather was a little cold and rainy, we took advantage of the wood stove in the house, which for us, was a wonderful way to spend a night together, tending to the fire and playing board games instead of going to Bar Harbor and dealing with rowdy tourists - we get enough of that at home. Hopefully on our next visit the weather will be warm enough for a swim across the street in the lake and spend more time in the hammock.

The desk came stocked with the owners recommended activities, locations and restaurants, which was a excellent since we had not visited and recommendations from locals are always more reliable than taking a shot in the dark with a Yelp review.

Activities we did: Sea Kayaking, biking the carriage trails, scooters on the park loop and sailing. If you want a fantastic, very fresh meal I highly recommend visiting Burning Tree. It rivals some of the best meals I have had here in New York.

We planned on cooking half our meals for the visit, and if you do , here are some tips:
- Dont waste your money at the Shaws or Hanaford on the way in, the grocery stores and farm stands nearby on the quite side are well priced and sufficient. (Be sure to check out the Beech Hill Farms stand!)
- The kitchen does have pots, pans dishes and silverware, but is lacking on prep & cooking utensils so plan to pack a good knife and a spatula.
- Dont forget charcoal for the grill.
- The refrigerator is apartment sized, perfect for us, but I would imagine anyone bringing children might struggle with the space.

We really look forward to returning to this cabin soon, it was one of the best vacations we have had.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
3

Simple, clean and noisy

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We liked almost everything about our stay at the cabin in the woods. It was economical as Bar Harbor rentals go, clean, well equipped and a wonderful place for two adults with small dogs, as we were, since there was plenty of outdoor space for walks and it was not near other cabins. We were conveniently just minutes away from my daughter and her family who were in a cabin that did not accept canines. My reservation is that in the advertised description there is no mention that besides being above a useable swimming hole on the lake the cabin is also just feet above the main highway (route 102) which leads to everything on the "quiet side" of the island. We arrived on Saturday evening and because of the heat all of the windows had to be open. Sitting on that cute little porch, as we would like to have done, was impossible because of the roar of the trucks, cars and motorcycles, not to mention their fumes! The road noises were a bit better on week nights, but not that much. I recommend ear plugs or only those who are deep sleepers should apply. A shelf for storing pantry items in the kitchen would be nice and more multiple plug-ins. There are very few outlets, even for the basics. The phone was not working but the owner replaced it.
Owner's Response: Happy that you thought our cabin met your standards for cleanliness and convenience but sorry that you thought it was too loud. While the cabin is set back and above the road and has a pretty good tree buffer, your visit was during the busiest week of the year on Mount Desert Island. Acadia National Park is a big draw with well over 2 million visitors per year, mostly in July and August. I would suggest visiting in June, September of October if you prefer a quieter visit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Great Cabin across Echo Lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We loved the location of the cabin as it was kind of hidden and you have your full privacy there. It was just a perfect place to come back from the day's activities and unwind. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Acadia Nat'l park. The lake across the street is swimmable so it was like having our own private beach there. The owners were really nice also.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cabin in the Woods Across from Lake & Beech Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100349
207 244-3290
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Middletown, CT, USA
4

Rustic Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The cabin was adorable, and very clean. Location couldn't have been more convenient. The woodstove was great on a chilly night. Perfect place to unwind. Owners were really nice and responsive.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/11