Great Barrington house rental - Front view of the House
Front view of the House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Great Barrington House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 8

Beautifully furnished secluded hilltop Adirondack-style carriage house amidst 100 ft pines. 5 minutes (1 mile) from downtown Great Barrington, 20 minutes to Stockbridge, Lennox and Tanglewood, 1/4 mile to Green River, 1/2 mile to Appalachian Trail. Walking trail through woods on property. Sweeping views of meadow, mountains and lawn from wrap-around deck. Screened-in porch for bug-free summer dining. A 25x40 ft 'Great Room' perfect for entertaining and family gatherings. Air-conditioning. DSL hi-speed wireless, Satellite TV/DVD.Large stone fireplace.Antique furnishings and fixtures throughout. Pets welcome. This house and location is special.

31 Reviews of Property 100299 in Great Barrington, Massachusetts

Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
average rating of 4.928571 based on 31 reviews
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
New York
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a wonderful week at the Carriage House. The location is perfect. The house is very comfortable, especially the main room, and the large, well-f...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
We had a wonderful week at the Carriage House. The location is perfect. The house is very comfortable, especially the main room, and the large, well-furnished deck is terrific--we ate many meals on the deck and spent a lot of time reading there as well. The wireless internet was a nice plus! Dave clearly cares very much his renters enjoy their stay.
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
Great Neck, NY
5

excellent house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I stayed at this house for the month of July, 2013. This house is just wonderful: breath-taking views from on top of a hill, spacious rooms a charming large living room and beautiful porches. Perhaps the best thing is the graciousness of the owners, who did everything they could to make us feel welcome. They are available for any problems and create a feeling that one is visiting at a friend's
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
4

Swell place to vacation!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
For the second year, this was a perfect spot. Rustic and secluded, as described, but just a few minutes from Great Barrington, which is a delightful and busy town. The restaurant scene seems to be heating up. It's easy to take advantage of Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow and the many museums. Also nice to just sit on the porch and take advantage of the lovely home David and Louise have created.
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
New York
5

Wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We love this house--and have stayed there three times. It is set in a way that makes you feel surrounded by woods, but you are only a very short drive to shops and town. The great room is both huge and cozy--our family loves it.
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at this house. The main room is beautiful and has lots of light, plenty of seating areas. We spent a lot of time on the screened porch. The location is terrific - just minutes to Great Barrington for groceries, restaurants, movies, and more. But despite being close to GB, the property still has a sense of privacy. It's the last house on a private road, which was really nice. Just a very peaceful place, and the owners were a pleasure to deal with.
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
5

Great vacation in the Berkshires

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I was delighted with your Great Barrington cottage. Everything I could have wanted was in the house, which was clean, beautiful and fun to live in for a few weeks. The on-line listing proved to be accurate and helpful. The many activities in the area kept me busy, sometimes too busy. I managed to go to Jacob's Pillow, Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company and Williamstown. It was equally lovely to stay at home, enjoy the view and be lazy on the screened porch. Great vacation!
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
5

Christmas Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family and I, along with our dog had a great time staying here after the Christmas holiday. The house was homey and comfortable. Lots of space to hang out apres-ski. Close to everything. Definitely recommend.
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
5

Reflection of the Berkshires Gloria Gilman

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Four of us, two couples, returned from last summer for a one week stay this July. The care that the owners show for this home is evident everywhere and serves to make the stay so pleasant. Our favorite part of every day was sitting with coffee or tea first thing in the am on the lovely porch watching the various types of birds at work and play around the many bird feeders that Dave fills for your visit. There are numbers of places to go off by your self if desired to settle down with a book or play games. The property is very private with open space with several perennial gardens surrounded by woods. But it is also very close to town. My partner regularly rode his bike to town. This is a lovely destination from which to enjoy the many offerings available in the Berkshires, from dance, art, theater, to good food, beautiful hiking and historic places such as the home of the sculptor of Lincoln in the Lincoln Memorial in DC, Edith Wharton's home, a Shaker village. All worth some time. This home sets the tone to take it slowly and thoughtfully and soak it all in.
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
null
5

5 Star for Sure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This was our second visit to this beautiful house. And it doesn't disappoint. We felt as if we were coming home. Although it is lovely for one couple to be here, it is ideal to share it with good friends or with family. There are so many places to sit, talk, enjoy the birds at the birdfeeders.
The rooms are gracious, in size and furnishings. There is a big wrap around porch and a screened in porch. The kitchen is well stocked with basics so you don't have to buy basics.
We love being so close to Great Barrington, but close enough to get to Jacob's Pillow, Tanglewood, Shakespeare & Co., The Berkshire Botanical Gardens, and so many other attractions. (Of course, it's great just to sit and read in one beautiful spot or other right at the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Joy---thank you so much for your kind words. We loved having the 4 of you come back to stay with us. We are so delighted that you were able to do the things you wanted to do---hiking, theater, dining and just relaxing. We so appreciate you taking time to communicate your feelings about your experience. Dave and Louise
business
Rustic Secluded Hilltop Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100299
+1 617 424-1050
Great Barrington Berkshires
Rochester, NY
4

Hilltop Carriage House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this house that is located in a prime spot in the Berkshires. My husband and I came with another couple and the house easily accommodated us . The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable, were easy to deal with and generous in their offerings to have us use what was in the house (kitchen staples, DVDs, sheets/towels...) There were many outdoor spots to enjoy the surroundings, 2 different decks and a wonderful screened in porch. There are 2 bathrooms (the one downstairs, away from the bedroom had the better shower) and comfortable beds. While the house is not contemporary in it's decoration, and the kitchen is not loaded with counter space to cook, the ambiance is warm and cozy and mostly clean. the living room/dining area is open and spacious with lots of windows. You need a car to get to town, we couldn't find the 'nature walk' that was supposed to be right by the house (unless it was a very small walk in the woods, but I think we missed the trail-head somehow) but we enjoyed walking in the neighborhood anyway. This was a definitely a nice place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway