Captiva Island house rental - "CABO WABO" 5 BEDROOM, 5 BATH, SLEEPS 12 ELEVATOR, PET FRIENDLY
"CABO WABO" 5 BEDROOM, 5 BATH, SLEEPS 12 ELEVATOR, PET FRIENDLY
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captiva Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Beautiful, new and ultimate luxury nestled in the heart of quaint Captiva Village. Cabo Wabo features breathtaking views of Pine Island Sound and is just a few minutes walk to the gulfside beaches, shops, restaurants and marinas. This home has a large elevator and will accommodate the handicapped, elderly or anyone who is just plain tired!

Cabo Wabo features a gourmet kitchen with all top of the line appliances, custom cabinetry, granite counters and bar/island. The home features 5 bedrooms all with private granite and tile bathrooms.There is also a huge loft area with an amazing water view that sleeps an additional two people! There are three separate balconies all offering excellent views. The pool area features two separate sunning decks while the private pool offers a spa area as well as a spectacular waterfall.

This is without a doubt one of the finest homes in the village, not a single detail has been left out! This home will make your vacation a memorable one!

A brand new fully equipped game room was just installed which includes a Pool Table, Shuffleboard Table, and soon a Fooseball Table as well as a large screen tv with satellite and surrounded with comfy seating. This is the best game room on the island!!!

Keywords: Bay View Home, water view, game room, vacation home, beach house, private home, pool and spa, Captiva Island Home, vacation home,

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 100293 in Captiva Island, Florida

'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews
business
'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100293vb
(239) 699-6279 (Florida, USA)
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Orange Village, ohio
2

Run down and dirty

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Sorry to say that this house is not represented properly by the owner. It was not clean and it is very run down. Kitchen drawers were filthy. Some sort of feces in there. Pool area is not at all what is pictured. It is not kept up. So sad...Mold on chairs. It was very hard to cook because not many serving pieces and several pots and pans too dirty, old or burnt to use. Washer was too small for a normal load. It could be a great house! Just needs to be cleaned up and taken care of. When I told the owner that my sheets were not clean he responded in a very nasty way stating that it was impossible. He also said that it was ridiculous for him to have the drawers cleaned out between renters. 19 years going to Captiva, staying in beautiful homes and this is the first bad experience.
Owner's Response: This is a completely untrue and slanderous review. It was merely posted because I had issues with her because she wanted to overload the home with more guests than we allowed. Not only did she have 4 rollaway beds brought in from a local rental company but she also brought a bunch of blow up mattresses in. The house normally sleeps up to 12 but she tried to sneak in at least another 6 to 8 people. My cleaners reported that she left the home in the most messy condition they had ever seen. I would not ever rent to her again and have also notified the local rental agencies of her behavior and the sneaky way she tries to overload vacation homes, There is nothing rundown about the home at all nor was anything there unclean. The review was written as an act of spite and should be regarded as such!
business
'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100293vb
(239) 699-6279 (Florida, USA)
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Minneapolis, MN
5

AWESOME CAPTIVA WINTER AT CABO WABO!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Thank you Bill for our most wonderful winter in recent memory. Our family of 8 had the privilege of spending 6 weeks at Cabo Wabo, and we couldn't have been happier. Bill was always quickly available if needed, otherwise he leaves his guests alone. The house and amenities are remarkable, even better than the pictures indicate. The bedrooms are large and accurately described on the web site. We used the upstairs loft as an extra bedroom, which worked out well. The kids loved the nicely sized pool and the adults enjoyed the hot tub pretty much every evening. We cooked most meals at home using either the large outdoor grill or the outstanding gourmet kitchen.
The location is ideal, a quiet cul-de-sac just a block away from Captiva drive. The traffic on Captiva drive was fairly constant, so we were delighted to not be directly on that road. The beautiful beaches are about two city blocks away (a 5 minute walk). This allowed easy enough access for us to visit the beach frequently during the day. There is a small general store, several specialty stores, and several excellent restaurants also just a 5 minute walk from the house.
As a frequent traveler to Florida, I feel qualified to offer a bit of friendly advice to potential visitors. If bugs make you squeamish, consider staying in a high rise hotel. Please do not come to private luxury accommodations in a sub-tropical climate (especially an island) and complain about seeing an occasional bug. We have rented luxury houses in several Florida locations (including Naples, Orlando, Sanibel, and Captiva). In Florida, we expect that we will see ants, an occasional spider, gecko, or palmetto. It is a very minor trade off for having a quiet neighborhood with an expanse of beautiful uncrowded beach.
We would quickly and without hesitation recommend this house. We are looking forward to our own return.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100293vb
(239) 699-6279 (Florida, USA)
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Virginia
5

Cabo Wabo Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I just spent a week at Capo Wabo and loved it. The house was such a treat (especially the pool and hot tub). My husband and I along with two other couples really enjoyed the home and the peaceful nature of our vacation. No rush, no plan, we just took it easy. We cooked some wonderful meals in the gourmet kitchen, relaxed by the pool and walked on the beach. I would highly suggest Cabo Wabo and plan to return with my kids in the future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100293vb
(239) 699-6279 (Florida, USA)
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Orlando
4

Nice house but not sure I would automatically choose it again on my next vist

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The photos of this property are accurate. No there are no roaches nor or there any broken down beds. The lady that said this was crazy. It is clean and roomy. There were 5 couples and you hardly knew when anyone was home! Tons of privacy and great location-near dining and beach (10 minute walk). The description boasted 5 rooms and 5 bathrooms but the down stairs room had a shower that was not finished. It would have been nice if the owner would have mentioned this during our phone conversation- especially since he know we were individual couples. In additon, we never got the hot tub working and that was a shame. Called the owner a few times and he nicely gave directions by phone but never came to help:(. In fact, he did not check on us- not once. He seems like a nice enough man but should consider letting a property manager rent the property if his time does not permit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: I am glad Tanya and her guests enjoyed my home, but I need to mention that the VRBO description list the home as a 5 bedroom 4 bathroom home. There is a 5th bathroom but the shower is not completed yet, which is why we do not list it as an available amenity. In fact I would think that since there is actually an extra working toilet and sink essentially an extra half bath that folks would consider it a bonus. I was called late Friday night about the hot tub's operation and I explained the way it works. Both myself and 1 of my pool service employees stopped by on Saturday morning and found it to be operating perfectly. I assumed everything was fine until I got a call on late Sunday night questioning how it operates, I then again explained the operation of the tub to the guest and asked them to get back to me if they had any problems, The hot tub operates with just a push of a button so I assumed everything was fine because never heard back from anyone. The pool/spa operation is checked on a weekly basis and is indeed working perfectly.
I own the local pool service here on the island and I am around almost 24/7 but if I don't know someone is having a problem I certainly can't fix it.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100293vb
(239) 699-6279 (Florida, USA)
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Kissimmee, FL
5

CABO WABA WAS AWESOME!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had the best vacation staying at this home. We went for nice little family reunion and could not have asked for better house that we all fit in perfectly and we had 9 people. We even could have fit a few more if we wanted. The ower (Bill) was always around to answer any questions that we had. I hope we didn't bother him too much with silly questions. The house is BEAUTIFUL especially the kitchen. The kids loved the elevator and the shuffleboard game and of course the pool table. The pool was spectacular and we even used the elevator a few times. There was a short walk to the beach which we walked to almost every night. Restaurants were in walking distent as well as a little corner market. The house was clean when we arrived. The photos you see on this website do accurately reflect the house, We did not see any bugs, but I think what the person in the above review does not realize that Florda has Palmetta bugs, it's just part living in Florida. We live in Kissimmee, FL and Palmetta bugs can be in anyone's else, doesn't matter how clean you are, if they want to come in, they will. So don't pay too much mind to the bug talk from the other review. Thanks CABO WABO for a great vacation and we hope to go back next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100293vb
(239) 699-6279 (Florida, USA)
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Manchester Nh
5

One of the finest rental home experiences we ever had!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
I absolutly love this home!
As someone who has been a very active traveler for the last 30 years I have to say that I don't think I have ever stayed in a home as lovely and well cared for as Cabo Wabo. We have now stayed in this home 3 times, most recently the first week of December and prior to that the week of 5/28/10 and one week in 2008. I have to say this home is perfect, I love the location, so close to everything ! Inside the home is gorgeous and well appointed, impeccably clean and bright. My family and I always feel so at home here.
The home owner, Bill is always available to answer any questions or to solve a problem if something should arise, although the only problem we ever encounted was a racoon walking through the back yard!
I usually don't take the time to write reviews but when Bill showed me the ridiculous, and quite untrue review of a former guest I just had to respond. I believe I stayed at the home just days prior to the disgruntled guest and found none of the issues she claims to have experienced. I wa also here after this persons dates and still did not find any of her problems.
The home is in fact even nicer now with the new game room and extra bedroom and bathroom.
We had a spell of cold weather this past visit and really enjoyed the amenities of the game room.

If you are looking for a wonderful vacation home experience you should definitley try Cabo Wabo, i know your family will love it as much as I do!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Cabo Wabo' Luxury Vacation Home: Week of January 11 2014 now on sale!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100293vb
(239) 699-6279 (Florida, USA)
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Union Beach, NJ
2

Watch what you rent

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My family and I rented the Cabo Wabo house from June 5 – June 19th. It is a beautiful home unfortunately we had a terrible problem with roaches. We spent days washing and rewashing items, spraying, calling and waiting for an exterminator. We had not planned on coming on vacation to clean house and be on bug patrol.

We did not leave food anywhere in the house. We took out the garbage every night and made sure everything was clean and put away. We have been coming to Florida for over 30 years and have never seen or killed more roaches in a house/condo than we did on this trip. Although we loved the house, we actually had to leave lights on at night in case anyone got up to walk around.

We also had some other issues. The dishwasher broke and had to be repaired. The garbage disposal leaked and the recycling was not picked up for two weeks. The containers outside were filled when we got there and finally emptied three days before we left. The bed upstairs actually had a belly in it and my brother and his wife had to get a board to put under it in order to sleep. If the house was completed in 2007 I don't see how the bed got in such bad condition. The pool was not cleaned when we first arrived but the pool guy came out and took care of it and no problems after that. There were some other smaller issues with broken items, but not of any real concern.

I have to admit that everytime we called the rental agency responded quickly to all our concerns. I cannot fault them. I do think the owner should be a little more concerned.

Its a shame about the bugs, because it really is a beautiful house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: This review is a complete fabrication!! All of the problems she stated were imagined and she drove people nuts with her bizarre actions.
There never was a garbage disposal leak, both work fine, There was never any problems with any of the beds, besides where would she have found a board to put under one. She did break one of the two dishwashers by forcing it open during a locked cycle, I did have to come out and repair her damage, The trash and recycle were picked up as scheduled every Wednesday. The bug issue was also a complete fabrication, we had the Truly Nolen Pest control come out twice and both times found absolutly no evidence of roaches. By the way we have all our homes routinely treated for pests, its a necessity here in the subtropics.
Here is my favorite part: In addition to my 2 Captiva vacation homes I also own the local pool service company. We personally clean and sevice a majority of the pools here on the island. We service the rental homes on Saturdays just prior to the incoming new guests arrival, so you can be assured that the pool was in spotless condition when she arrived.
When I got word that she was complaining about the pool being dirty, I went to the home in my pool service clothes, not as the homeowner but as the pool cleaner. I walked up to the pool, saw it was still perfect and I walked away. There was absolutly nothing wrong with it. Later in the week when I was fixing the dishwasher she broke, I asked how the pool was and she told me it was fine ever since the pool service recleaned it! We never recleaned it!
As you can see there is clearly something wrong with this person and I am grateful that she is out of my home.
We have owned and rented vacation homes here on Captiva for over 10 years and have never had a single bad review.
None of this womans issues existed anywhere in this home and I personally find it quite offensive that someone can post any derogatory thing they want, and call it a review.
Helpful votes: 13/16