NO driveway, No warning of this......anywhere!
Based on the outdoor picture one might think you are looking at the rear of the house since it's facing the backyard. However, this is the front of the house, though it's not really discernible without a paved driveway.....turns out there isn't one!!
Don't bring anyone with a disability to this house, there is no safe way for them to make it down from the road, unless you drive on the lawn which will cost you 1/2 of your deposit!
Hopefully, the owners fixed the broken water heater (verified by White Mt Oil), cold showers the last of three nights was not what we intended paying for. No refund offered for this inconvenience, poor customer service.
Did I mention their wi-fi doesn't work either? I spent an hour and a half on the phone with their communications provider trying to fix the issue, the owners already knew the problem existed and decided the guests could trouble shoot it for them, kindly making some security information available.
And lastly, cleanliness was not really a priority for the guests prior to our party, we spent well over 2 hours cleaning before and after ourselves to get the house into ship shape. Maybe the owners should be on or near the premises themselves to monitor this. Upon cleaning a bedroom at our arrival I found a dirty diaper and a "private bedroom item", really classy. Hope 1/2 of their deposit was taken to defray those rental violations.
**disclaimer** Home Away is fully aware of the misleading "driveway" description and choses not to force the owners to modify it. Home Away did however, enforce their terms & conditions towards my original review.....they found my telling of the truth wasn't "G Rated" enough for them.
Owner's Response: Photos show the house “from yard" and "from driveway"; we don’t advertise “handicap accessible”. She should have addressed special needs up front. She asked about hiking/swimming but not handicap access.
The renter drove a car into our slopped, grassy yard. There’s no indication this is an appropriate access point. A tow truck was called likely adding to the damage. We planned to keep the full security for the yard damage but decided to return half due to the hot water issue.
On 2 forms the renter noted "0" children. Clearly there is a mis-representation so I will not continue to address this point of complaining children.
We were informed the day of departure that the hot water heater failed. We apologized profusely & contacted our service co. who in turn immediately went to the house. This is un-predictable and our demonstration of response/service indicates we took all actions possible. The renter said it "wasn't a big deal" other than she wouldn’t be able to adequately clean.
We provided additional information about trash, location of cleaning materials, emergency contact info, etc. This document is also posted on the refrigerator. The first bullet: "Please walk through the house upon arrival; if there are any issues or concerns contact (us) right away." Only when this complaint was submitted did we learn of any mess, trash, or sex-toy left behind by others. The renter was responsibility to notify us of this so I don’t feel this late notice warrants remedy.
Unfortunately there are limited providers available for internet and ours often has connectivity issues so we provided contact info to the renter should an issue arise. I consider this proactive since potential for interruption does exist and it wouldn’t be possible to offer assistance remotely.
It’s unfortunate the renter is upset. Though I feel our property is well represented I may consider making changes to include; things that could potentially go wrong during a stay in New England, there is potential for inclement weather during a renter's stay, and since there are occasions when even adults make foolish decisions (driving a car onto a sloped lawn on a rainy day) I may also warn that people should not run with scissors while staying at our home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?