CATSKILL MODERN 'DWELL' HOME-PRIVATE HAVEN-YEAR AROUND-HUNTER MOUNTAIN

Anna

Speaks swedish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number

Anna

Speaks swedish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CATSKILL MODERN 'DWELL' HOME-PRIVATE HAVEN-YEAR AROUND-HUNTER MOUNTAIN

Saugerties House Rental Photos and Description

3 bdr, 2 bath, sleeps 6 adults/3 kids, openliving dinning area, TV/den area

Modern 'Dwell' home, built in 2008, designed by Resolution 4 architecture. Located on 2 private acres with 200 acres of private woodland adjacent, beautiful views of the mountains. 2000 sq. ft. living space, Downstairs; combined kitchen/living/dining area, Blue Star Chef's Stove, Stainless steel appliances, wrap around windows and sliding doors, fire place, 1000 sq. ft. wrap around deck, Weber gas grill, dining table/chairs, lounge chairs. Guest bedroom with queen size bed connected to screened in porch, bathroom with walk in rain shower. Upstairs; master bedroom with king size bed + full size crib, 2nd bedroom (children's room) full size bed, master bath with deep soaking tub, Den/ 'go away room' doors opening to upstairs 450 sq.ft deck with fire place, lounge furniture & hammock.

Skiing at Hunter Mountain 10 min away, Thanksgiving through Easter.

Private home, fully furnished and equipped with anything you would ever need. Sleeps 6 adults, 1 baby/toddler and 1 child comfortable. All the beds have new mattresses and down free bedding, 100% cotton sheets. All towels and linen provided. Powered by solar panels and geothermal central heating and cooling system. Full basement with Bosch W/D.

Outside; hammocks, sand box, 8000 sq ft lawn. 5 minute walk to local water holes.

TWC with free WiFi, and phone. Down stairs; high res flat screen high TV with Apple TV/Netflix connection, guest bedroom; HD TV with basic cable, upstairs 42' flat screen TV with DVR, X-Box with DVD player and Netflix connection. DVD's available.

Full chefs kitchen with a Blue Star 4 burner, grill in the middle, confection oven, Wusthof cutlery. Wood burning fireplace in the living room, and on the upstairs deck. Enjoy the upstairs deck viewing the beautiful starry skies, and blaring full moon while enjoying an open fire. Ceiling fans in every room.

Perfect for families with children, big lawn for outdoor play and games, croquet, badminton in the summer; toboggan, snowshoeing, skiing and play in snow in the winter. Sandbox for small children. Water hose in front and back. Trail directly from the property leading to a beautiful walk in the woods to natural water falls. Local water holes 5 minute walk from the house, hiking trails, lakes, tubing, local zoo, all within a 15 min drive.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the owner
We had 3 families with very small children and it was the perfect vacation home. Anna was a great host and even set up changing stations and diapers and wipes for out little ones! The house was the perfect balance of modern but homey and had more toys than the kids knew what to do with! Which was great for the parents to keep them occupied! Anna also made some suggestions of going to the light house which was so lovely and the watering hole nearby. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning again! Thank you Anna for having us in your beautiful home!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1

Anna

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks swedish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

My husband and I are first generation American's, both designer, Fashion and Graphic design who love architecture and design. Although from opposite continentes we share the same taste level and passion for creating a beautiful yet comfortable living space.

Anna purchased this house in 2008

We fell in love with the property because of it's amazing location away from the road, private in this nook with this beautiful stone wall towards the mountain.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Catskill Modern 'Dwell' Home-Private Haven-Year Around-HUNTER mountain
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
business
Catskill Modern 'Dwell' Home-Private Haven-Year Around-HUNTER mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992995
+1 917-705-6919
Saugerties Catskills
5

WONDERFUL STAY AT CATSKILL MODERN

  • 5 of 5
Our family of 4 (2 adults, a toddler and a baby) stayed at this property for a week at the beginning of October. We had a wonderful time! The house is exactly as depicted - very clean, attractive and well stocked with everything you need! Anna was very helpful and got back to me quickly with any questions. She was so sweet to leave toys out for our little one to play with. She had a ball in the little sand box and with the train set. We didn't get to use the outside amenities too much since it rained three days, but they are very attractive and we would love to return when the kids are a bit older to make smores and have a BBQ. We loved that the bathroom supplies were natural/organic and that there is no microwave - right up our alley! The kitchen is well stocked with anything you need for cooking and it was nice to have the w/d so that we could cut down on packing. The location is perfect for exploring the area. If you don't have a lot of time, I would skip the town of Catskill altogether - not much at all to do/see there. But, Saugerties is very cute and we ate at Lucy's twice (lunch and dinner) - it was FANTASTIC!! The little market right in Palenville was awesome and had wonderful sandwiches and pastries. We also visited Red Hook, Rhinebeck, and a bit of Woodstock - all worth a trip. We drove to the top of the mountain and took a walk/hike around North Lake - definitely a beautiful view! I highly recommend this house for anyone visiting the area - especially if you have little ones!
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Angie! I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and your family. I will add Lucy's to my "local info" and make sure to go there ourselves. We end up staying at the house 95% of the time when here. Hope to see you soon again!
business
Catskill Modern 'Dwell' Home-Private Haven-Year Around-HUNTER mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992995
+1 917-705-6919
Saugerties Catskills
5

PERFECT WEEKEND GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
I can't say enough great things about the house and the owners. Anna was extremely responsive and helpful with all of our questions. She is very organized and knowledgeable about the area. The house is absolutely stunning, very clean and kid friendly. There was plenty for our two boys to play with - the sandbox was a favorite - and plenty of space for them to run and play in the grass and hike through the woods. We loved the house and area so much it was hard to leave. We can't wait to return. Thank you Anna!
  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Catskill Modern 'Dwell' Home-Private Haven-Year Around-HUNTER mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992995
+1 917-705-6919
Saugerties Catskills
5

GLORIOUS SPRING WEEKEND IN THE CATSKILLS

  • 5 of 5
We made a last minute decision to get out of town with our two young boys. We were very lucky to find this home and the owner Anna made quick arrangements to accommodate our stay. After a long cold winter we were delighted to have some spring sun. With the back of the house facing south we had sun all day and were able to enjoy outside time on the beautiful wrap-around deck. The downstairs is 80% windows which made it feel like you were directly in nature and with the sun, it was perfect. The house is very comfortable, feels like you are home right away. There were plenty of toys for the boys. Everything was very clean, and the kitchen was equipped with everything you could possible need to cook including a large restaurant range stove. The house is set away from the road in the beautiful nook with a large stone wall on side. It's very private and very safe with the children. At night we enjoyed watching movies on Netflix and making a fire in the living room fireplace. The quite country night made for a wonderful nights rest. This home is perfect for families as well as couples. You can't wrong! It's a gem in the Catskills. We will come again soon! Thanks for sharing your home with us.
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Elisabet! I'm glad we were able to accommodate you last minute and that you and that you had a great stay. We love having families as guests whom are able to enjoy the house as much as we do. Hope to see you soon again!
business
Catskill Modern 'Dwell' Home-Private Haven-Year Around-HUNTER mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992995
+1 917-705-6919
Saugerties Catskills
5

A PHENOMENAL MONTH IN THE COUNTRY

  • 5 of 5
I almost don't want to write this review because I'd love to keep this amazing house a secret. But, alas, Anna is such a wonderful hostess and this place deserves to be enjoyed by many.

I spent a month up at the house in July 2013 with my two daughters, ages 3 and 7. We found out shortly before our month was to begin that my husband was not going to be able to be with us the whole time. I was really apprehensive about living alone with the girls in a house (I'm from the city and have always lived in small apartments with lots of neighbors and a super to fix things, etc.) But as soon as we got up to the house, I relaxed. It was so lovely, easy to take care of, homey and comfortable. A couple things came up over the month and Anna was always super fast to respond. We really felt like we were in a home, not a rental property. And the open floor plan downstairs is ideal for a family.

The girls had a great time playing in the yard, enjoying the sandbox, books and toys. The little red wagon was a huge hit! My older daughter pulled the little one all over Saugerties in that. The girls went to a great day camp in Woodstock (about a twenty minute drive from the house) for part of the time and we just explored the area and hung out for the other weeks.

There is a fantastic swimming hole very close to the house that we went to almost every day. My 7 year old discovered the joys of jumping from a 'cliff' into the water below and the little one loved it too -- especially during the heat wave. The house is really well-located and we explored all over the area. There's a fantastic little grocery very close to the house where we often got sandwiches or ice cream.

I think you could have a really wonderful short stay and barely leave the house or the immediate vicinity. But this is also a truly wonderful place to spend a more extended holiday. I really hope we'll get back soon.
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Carolyn for such a nice review. You were my first long term rental and I'm glad you were so satisfied. Me as well hope you will be back soon!
business
Catskill Modern 'Dwell' Home-Private Haven-Year Around-HUNTER mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992995
+1 917-705-6919
Saugerties Catskills
1

VERY DISAPPOINTING - RENTER BEWARE!

  • 1 of 5
Stayed here with 2 other couples (reservation booked under Judy H.) and their kids for getaway from NYC. We were all very disappointed in the experience and do not recommend that you stay here. Please try a different house or a hotel.

Here are details:
Security Deposit: If you rent this house, you should expect that your security deposit will not be refunded. We left the house in better condition than before and the owner still came up with reasons why we shouldn’t get our security deposit. She accused us of damaging the deck with cigarette burns, but we don’t smoke! She accused us of not taking out the garbage and other misc. issues, but we did everything properly.

Level of cleanliness: Very dirty. The beddings/linens were clean, but the kitchen area was filthy. Sticky floors, dirty dishes, and sticky handles to the cabinets and fridge. There was old food in the fridge, which was not very pleasant. On the first night there, we spent about 2 hours cleaning everything and running the dishes through the dish washer. Fortunately, we brought a Costco size package of Bounty and we used half of it with the cleaning! I really was not happy doing this on my vacation.

Comfort of the beds: IKEA-quality mattresses and bedding. Fair.

Outdoor Grounds: the lawn was mowed properly and the surrounding woods are nice. I will give the owner this credit!

Accuracy of photos on this website:
Misleading. These are professional photographs taken a long time ago. Reality: the house is much more cluttered, has a lot of baby/kid toys around and personal photos of the owner and family (which I thought was creepy). And, did I mention, there was old food in the fridge?

Level of Comfort with my Stay:
Not comfortable. It felt like we were intruding on someone else’s home right when they just stepped out. In general, it felt really creepy looking at strangers’ family photos every time I opened the fridge and sleeping in their beds. It’s like staying in a hotel room, but seeing photos of the couple who just stayed there and slept in the same bed.

Experience with Contacting Owner: Overall, thumbs down. Not a good experience, not professional. We should have known this rental would have been a problem when she openly complained about other previous renters (during the process of booking the house).

Summary: Overpriced rental. Dirty. Expect to lose your security deposit. Better off in a hotel.
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This party was a returning tenant whom came back because of their first positive experience, which contradicts everything they state below. See comments in review “Labor Day Weekend”.
I accommodated the tenant with a reduced rate, lower insurance and security deposit as they were returning tenants. Quote: I gave you a lower insurance for $49/$1500 instead of $89/$5000 as you are returning guests and I kept the security deposit at $500 for you as it is now $1000.
In preparing the house for them, they requested a queen aero mattress instead of a twin mattress for a two-year-old child, which made me believe that they were bringing more people then they had stated. The tenant did not contact me with any concern or complaints during their stay, contrary to their first visit when they called and asked how to turn on the hose. They left sending me a thank you note.
I was the person to arrive at the house after their departure. I found garbage spread over the whole property due to their neglecting to close the bear proof garbage can as advised. I found a burn mark on the deck from someone putting out a cigarette. There were several cigarette buts around the property after both their stays. The doors on the grill were heavily dented. As I suspected it appeared that there had been additional quests. The house was unusually dirt and messy, and extra sheets had been used and left in the hamper. When advising the tenant of my findings, she then came back with this very long list of complaints based on the assumption that I was not the last person there before and after their visit, which indeed I was. The house is cleaned for 8-10hrs before each tenant arrives.
The tenant disputed the $500 deposit with the credit card company and after two of her appeals, with my evidence submitted, it was rewarded back to me. This is simply retaliation.
The property insurance covers any damages. The security deposit on the other hand is for “breach of contract”, bringing additional guests who would incur additional cleaning cost, which the insurance does not cover.
We enjoy sharing our home and prepare it according to who is staying. The toys are left out for families with children. If there is a party with no children, they are put away.
business
Catskill Modern 'Dwell' Home-Private Haven-Year Around-HUNTER mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992995
+1 917-705-6919
Saugerties Catskills
5

PERFECT

  • 5 of 5
This place was a little more expensive than our budget, but as soon as we pulled up and saw the house we knew it was worth it. The place and setting is just beautiful in fall. Our 3 year old loved it. He spent the first hour just running around shrieking excitedly about all the toys and cool kids' stuff the owners had left for us. And once the kids were in bed, it was very relaxing. Everything worked, and everything we needed was there. It was not an immaculate palace that makes you nervous. It felt like a home. We hope to be back one day soon.
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Tom! I'm glad you felt at home as that's our goal. Since it's our vacation/weekend home when it's not rented it maintains the home feeling instead of just being a rental property. Hope you will come again!
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Albany International
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Trailways Bus: 1/2 mile 2/day, Kingston every hr
Nearest Motorway
9 Miles
New York State Thruway, exit 20
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
North - South Lake Campgrounds
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Catskill Mountain Lodge/Ryan Nelly
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Hunter Mountain
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Rip Van Winkle
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Fernwood
Car: necessary

Located 10 minutes Hunter Mountain, the town of Saugerties and Catskill in the hamlet 'Palenville' meaning 'Village of Falling Waters' known for its many water holes on Kaaterskill Creek, only 5 minutes walk from the house. Also known as the first artist community in the Catskill, and the fictional home of Rip Van Winkle.

Hunter Mountain all year around fun, Ski Season Thanksgiving to Easter. Saugerties and Catskill both offer, large grocery stores/pharmacy, restaurants/bars/cafe's, wine store, bookstore, Movie Theater, and antique shops. 25 minutes to Kingston with Adams Fair Care Market for excellent food, and any other amenities you may need. 30 minutes to Hudson, cross the Rip Van Winkle Bridge for superior antique shopping. 20 minutes to famed Woodstock.

HITS-on-the-Hudson, 8 miles away towards Saugerties. which also hosts many festivals and events such as the Garlic Festival each September) and the 'Jazz Festival' featuring 'Levon Helms', 4th of July Parade.

Nature lovers will appreciate the access to hiking and fishing. Access to “The Long Path” trail directly from our property. Our property adjacent to 200 acres of forrest. Kaaterskill Fall, highest waterfall in NY State with beautiful hiking trails minutes away.

Enjoy a concert at the historic Maverick or live theater at the Woodstock Playhouse, and Bearsville Theater, The 'Woodstock Film Festival', held each autumn, is a movie lover's delight. Dates this year are Oct. 1 - 5. Drive in Movie Theater and many other quant local attractions.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Saugerties House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Ski Season
Dec 1 - Apr 1
3 night minimum stay
$500
From
$650
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200.00
Pet Fee $150.00
Refundable damage deposit $1,000.00
Property Damage Protection $89.00
Notes Avg Nightly Rate: $400-$650 (depends on time of yr,weekend/weekday, and # of nights)
Holidays: Avg Nightly Rate : $500-$750
Exact Pricing: Email Owner for price quote/holiday pricing/special packages
Payment Options: Credit Card, E-Check
Deposit: 50% Required to hold dates
Contract: Signed Rental Agreement Required
Check In: 4pm Check Out: 11am
Security Deposit: $1000
Cleaning Fee: $200
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Saugerties House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Village
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Iron & Board
  • Mobile Phone
  • Living Room ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Free Local Calls
  • Baby Gate
  • Printer
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Computer Available ...
Kitchen:
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Stove
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Kitchen
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Down Stairs Bathroom - toilet , shower , Walk-in Rain Shower
  • Zuma soaking tub in upstairs bathroom, walk in rain shower in down stairs bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Children's room - 1 double , Full Size Bed
    Guest room - 1 queen , Aero Mattress also available
  • Comfortable accommodations 6 adults 2 in each bedroom. 1 Crib in the master bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Radio
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Yard
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Deck Furniture
  • Porch Furniture
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Sand Box
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Small Cooler
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • festivals
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • water parks
  • live theater
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • wildlife viewing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ice skating
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • freshwater fishing
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • equestrian events
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • tennis
Notes:
Pets allowed on a case by case basis; house broken only, $150 extra cleaning fee required.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email