POST AND BEAM HOME IN THE HEART OF TOWN

Mary Parker

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Mary Parker

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

POST AND BEAM HOME IN THE HEART OF TOWN

Nantucket Town House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 1/2 baths, Sleeps 8

This tastefully appointed post and beam home is located in the heart of Town, on a quiet side street and minutes from Main Street, Children's Beach and beach shuttles.

1st floor: Entry foyer with staircase to the upper level; open living, dining and kitchen with wood floors, exposed beams, and many windows offering views of the garden and patio; powder room. Newly designed kitchen with center island and countertop dining for four, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops and a farmhouse sink.

2nd floor: Two large bedrooms with king beds, cathedral ceilings and exposed beams, wood floors, decorated with English antiques; each with private full bath.

Lower level: Two bedrooms share a bath; one bedroom has a queen bed; the second has twin trundle beds and doubles as the entertainment room; each has a separate entry from the patio; laundry room.

Outdoor shower, private brick patio with grill and patio furniture, and one off-street parking space.

Mary Parker

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.8
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Post and Beam Home in the Heart of Town
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Post and Beam Home in the Heart of Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992756
+1 508 228 4145
Nantucket Town Nantucket
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here last May and had such a wonderful time. You can not beat the location of this house. Walking distance to all the cutest shops and restaurants. Even walking distance from the ferry so no cars or cabs necessary. House is perfect size and was spotless for our arrival. Although the weather was not the best that weekend the outdoor space was perfect to just sit and relax.

Owner is very sweet and considerate and gave many suggestions on how to make the stay even better. Also she was very fair in giving back our security deposit in a timely manner. Highly recommend this house!
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ashley,
In addition to being a great home for family, the Swan House is a comfortable set up for couples, or singles as your group was (understanding that one room has twin trundles). The main floor is perfect for gathering and the patio is a great spill-over for relaxing as well. I've had many groups gather for after dinner drinks by candle light in the patio on Summer nights. I'm glad you had such a nice stay and made the best of the weather. Come back anytime! Mary
business
Post and Beam Home in the Heart of Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992756
+1 508 228 4145
Nantucket Town Nantucket
4

Swan House is a very special rental!

  • 4 of 5
Well-loved and renovated Swan House was a wonderful rental for our family of 6 during our week on Nantucket. Beautifully renovated main floor has a clean, tasteful kitchen with all the modern conveniences and opens onto a bright, light-filled sitting room. Very unique to be up high for the main floor, yet only a few steps up from the street. Very quiet . Bedrooms are all well-kept and cozy in true Nantucket style, the cushioned chaise in one upstairs bedroom became a great toddler bed for our 3-year-old! Downstairs bedrooms are perfectly suited to children, with a clean, white-tiled shared bath. Washer/dryer conveniently placed on lower level made drying our beach towels and bathing suits everyday a breeze! Location is terrific for walking into town for dinner or to shops, also perfect when walking East, heading away from town for beach breezes and spacious neighborhoods to wander. Swan House is close to everything you could need on a Nantucket vacation, although we did drive to Surfside and Miacomet beaches as we usually spent the entire day and bring so much stuff! Our minivan fit fine in the single parking space and we were grateful for the off-street parking! I would recommend this home to anyone looking to be right in town on a Nantucket vacation. Mary, the owner, went out of her way to help us and to be sure the house had everything we needed. A lovely week in a very special place!
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Swan House is well suited for families or groups, with four bedrooms. It's convenient location means walking to the Juice Bar for the best homemade ice-cream on the Island is just a few minutes away. It's walking distance to the Whaling Museum, shops and the Shuttle buses to the Island beaches as well. I provide beach towels and chairs for eight for renters' convenience. The patio and grill area are a nice change from indoor dining too and I recommend getting fully prepared lobster dinners from Sayle's Seafood, the local fish market for a patio dinner at the house one night. I'm so glad your family enjoyed your week in Nantucket Town at my home Megan! Best, Mary
business
Post and Beam Home in the Heart of Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992756
+1 508 228 4145
Nantucket Town Nantucket
4

The BEST location on the island!

  • 4 of 5
We've stayed in the town of Nantucket many times and this location really can't be beat. You are just steps away from all that is happening in town and yet the street is quiet. We had three generations staying together in the house, and one family member couldn't walk long distances so that was very important to us. Our kids could walk to the juice bar by themselves for dessert which they thought was so cool. The kitchen and main level are really beautifully renovated. We cooked several nice meals during our stay. There are two nantucket themed king bedrooms upstairs which is where the adults slept. The bathrooms on the upper floor have not yet been renovated and are basic but clean. Our kids slept together in one of the basement bedrooms. They liked having a big tv in their room. We enjoyed many breakfasts and dinners out on the patio which has a cute little fish pond. And our mid-sized suv fit in the parking space just fine. We found the owner to be very warm and responsive.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tammy,
It was a pleasure to have your family stay at Swan House. You took full advantage of my home's offerings and its proximity to everything in Town. Thanks for feedback on the bathrooms. I am planning some renovation work to them this season as well as exterior work to the house, having it completely repainted. All the best to your family, Mary
business
Post and Beam Home in the Heart of Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992756
+1 508 228 4145
Nantucket Town Nantucket
2

Details not fully disclosed

  • 2 of 5
Over the years we have rented many wonderful vacation homes. Unfortunately we discovered that the owner of this home did not provide full disclosure.
There is no permitted on street parking in front of the house. The parking is blocks away and very scarce. The house backs up to a restaurant/bar with a large, noisy commercial ventilation system that runs 24/7. Two of the four bedrooms are located in the basement and are musty and moldy when it rains. We had friends visit for a portion of our stay and the owner charged us for an extra child. On the last morning, prior to our early departure, the owner insisted that we wash all the sheets and towels.
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nick,
It seems the Swan House was just not the right fit for your family. My home has an 8 person capacity and a ninth person added after arrival requires an extra occupant fee. I made an exception and do not allow more than 8 people in my rental home. I request that renters get the laundry started on check out day, or the night before, which is a standard policy of all rental homes on Nantucket. With 25 years experience in hospitality on the Island, I am always looking for ways to help my renters have the most enjoyable experience they can while vacationing on Nantucket. I can recommend wonderful dining, beaches, family activities and tours, etc. I am available to discuss any details of my home prior to the rental stay and am sorry you did not feel informed. I list my home with only one off-street parking spot, at the street end of my patio. For an additional car, as you brought, Ash Lane itself is a small, historic street, and too narrow for parking. For the family or group looking for the true "in-Town" Nantucket experience, my home is perfect.
Best of luck, Mary
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Nantucket Town House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SEPT DISCOUNT!
Aug 31 2014 - Sep 14 2014
5 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$7,500
 

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Nantucket Town House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Internet
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • DVD Player
  • Games
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 8 beach chairs
Email Owner Contact Me