SAN FRANCISCO AND GOLDEN GATE VIEWS FROM TIBURON ESTATE

Sandra Stevens

Speaks french, german, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SAN FRANCISCO AND GOLDEN GATE VIEWS FROM TIBURON ESTATE

Tiburon Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 2 Bedroom, 2 Baths (Sleeps 2-5) in Tiburon

No hotel or resort can offer the privacy, stunning views or luxurious amenities of our Golden Gate Villa. Located on the beautiful Tiburon Peninsula, in close proximity to everything San Francisco has to offer. No other villa rental can compare.

Who knew a San Francisco villa rental could be like this? Located on a half-acre estate; our luxury villa is a private, rejuvenating, 3,000 sq.ft. space. With its beautifully manicured gardens and quality designer furnishings, it's the perfect place to take a breath, relax and recover; choose a different activity every day or to entertain.

If you want to explore, there are endless things to see and do. Dynamic and historic San Francisco is only a 15 minute ferry ride away. You're within easy reach of many different attractions including world-class golf at Pebble Beach, tours of famous Alcatraz Island or Hearst Castle and tickets to Giants' baseball games.

The San Francisco Bay is perfect for boating or sailing, and there are many wonderful beaches to explore.

Our luxury villa is located at the water's edge, over-looking historic Tiburon, with its many restaurants, cafes, shopping and the popular 'Friday nights on Main Street'.

Villa Golden Gate features dramatic, open architecture and soaring 16-foot ceilings. We have a library of over 300 books for you to enjoy, and throughout the home are special treasures, such as an original Louis XVI mirror, Kandinsky lithographs and an exclusive 1922 Capiello poster.

The living room's giant picture window affords an unobstructed, 250 degree view, including San Francisco, the Golden Gate Bridge and Mt. Tamalpais. With its 5 foot tall limestone fireplace and lovely handmade Stark leopard carpet, there are also three luxurious white sofas, two of which fold out into comfortable queen and twin beds. Hidden in the fireside cabinetry is a large flat screen TV with satellite service and DVD player along with children and adult toys.

The dining room, with its hand-crafted Ruhlmann buffet and hand-painted Nancy Corzine table, is adorned with a 350-year old pair of Louis XV, bronze dore' candelabra. The silver is Christofle and the linens are luxurious Irish and Italian. French double doors open to a large, wrap-a-round balcony, and the large picture and mitered corner windows provide reach-out-and-touch views of The Golden Gate Bridge and The San Francisco skyline.

Everyone's favorite room, the kitchen, features imported French lighting, an Italian marble island, Gaggenau appliances and a Sub-Zero refrigerator. Another French door leads out to the balcony, with its new DCS BBQ and imported Italian wood burning pizza oven. Our concierge can provide you with a personal chef for all or part of your stay. We will stock the refrigerator as you require. The kitchen's view is of The City and Bridge as well.

The Hermitage office is the perfect place to take care of any business affairs. The 2nd Kandinsky hangs here, over a special antique marble fireplace mantle, filled with fossils. Telephone, fax, printer, WiFi, iPad, iPod, B & O speakers for all iProducts and a MacBook Pro laptop are available for your use. You will find all books here, specifically on California. There are also file cabinets organized with all the information you may need to run the villa, and every office supply. An ADS music system controls built-in speakers throughout the house from here, and your view is of The City skyline.

And, saving the best for last, the sumptuous master suite; from where you have a stunning view of Mt. Tamalpais, known as the Sleeping Lady by the local Miwok indians, as well as of the Golden Gate. This all-white room is adorned with beautiful Italian lighting, new shag carpeting, a king sized Duxiana bed, flat screen TV, and French doors opening to your private patio, where a new McGuire chaise lounge for two awaits. The owner's collection of 12 vintage photographs hang here, as well as the 3rd Kandinsky.

Every detail in the master suite is designed for two. All maple walk-in closets with a delightful Louis XV mirror, and hidden 'pocket' doors for your privacy. This is where you will find your El Safe, for the security of your personal belongings.

And next is the all Beaumaniere French marble, master bathroom; with a 2 person shower, vanity table, double vanity sinks and a Jacuzzi whirlpool bath tub, of course, for two. And a beautiful view, as with every room.

Because the villa was designed by the owner, great attention was made to every detail. Next to your maple closets is where the spacious laundry room is located, with another French door leading to a special private patio with table and chairs over-looking an antique fountain.

Finally, our large, private Junior Suite, with lovely shower, desk, easy chair, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker and private shade garden with seating and marble table.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
Sandra Stevens (Owner)
Advertiser since 2012
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks french, german, english

About Sandra Stevens

I Worked in the Hotel industry AND on Rodeo Drive, where I learned the art of catering to a person's or guests' every need. This, coupled with my extensive, First Class travel experiences taught me all the luxurious appointments First Class traveler's expect.

Sandra Stevens purchased this villa in 1999

Why Sandra Stevens chose Tiburon

I was 'smitten' by Belvedere, on my first visit here in 1984, and haven't regretted one minute of this love affair. I had the great fortune and ability to design and build Villa Golden Gate, which was then named by 2 Roman guests, telling me: 'They don't even build villas this beautiful in Rome any longer!'

What makes this villa unique

Villa Golden Gate is located directly above downtown Tiburon and only 15 minutes to San Francisco, by ferry. The villa's Concierge has lived here 30 years and can make almost anything happen, making your stay enjoyable, in every way.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Can't say enough...
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 26
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 25 traveler reviews

Write a Review
San Francisco and Golden Gate Views from Tiburon Estate
average rating of 4.76 based on 25 reviews
business
San Francisco and Golden Gate Views from Tiburon Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990935
+1 +1 415 435-2646
Tiburon The Bay Area
Southport, UK
5

Felt like a film star

  • 5 of 5
A superb experience.

We are property owners ourselves and have rented privately several times. This property is AMAZING. The pictures don't do it justice. Sandra, the owner is so generous, we couldn't believe how many "extras" there were and the high spec finishes throughout made it truly special.

And then there are the views. And I mean views, not view. The villa has been designed and built to take advantage of both incredible views of the city and the Golden Gate Bridge to the south and west, as well as delightful views over Tiburon harbour and north to Mount Tamalpais. This was definitely a place that was difficult to drag ourselves away from - even though the great ferry service to San Francisco was an short ride through the winding streets.

Tiburon is a delightful little town too, with a nice selection of restaurants etc. Plan to spend a bit of time here.

But plan to spend time at Via Golden Gate too - why leave when you have a truly luxurious and spectacular villa with those views? Can't recommend it highly enough.

We'd love to return.

Thanks for everything Sandra!
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
San Francisco and Golden Gate Views from Tiburon Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990935
+1 +1 415 435-2646
Tiburon The Bay Area
Fresno, California
5

Absolutely gorgeous!! I am giving it a 10 star.

  • 5 of 5
We were met by a house stewardess that showed us their high tech lights, supreme kitchen appliances, subzero refirg, etc, etc, etc.. The pic's on this house can not capture the amazing views , the beautiful furnishings, art and the spectacular garden. The house was supplied with anything you desired. Fabulous towels, linens, bathroom luxuries, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, apple cider, a universal charger for any device (My husband and other couples husband loved). We mentioned that we wanted to bike around Angel Island, she called at 11 and said she reserved bikes next to the ferry. Thank god, because they were all sold out when we arrived at 1p.m. They were turning people away. We stayed at the Four Seasons in SF 2 weeks before. This place will always be our jewel box. We never left Tiburon, except for the Angel Island ferry. Oh, and she sent a delicious breakfast the first morning that was the bomb! We had the fresh squeezed OJ, croissants, fruits and granola that lasted 3 days . You will only be in awe when you arrive at this breathtaking Villa.
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
San Francisco and Golden Gate Views from Tiburon Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990935
+1 +1 415 435-2646
Tiburon The Bay Area
5

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5
Our family group of five adults stayed here for a week in October. We hadn't previously considered Tiburon as a place to stay when visiting SF, but when we found this property we had the best of both worlds as we could easily drive in to the city, but then see it across the bay every morning when we woke up! The view is just fabulous. We spent hours sitting on the balcony in the sunshine, or gazing through the huge windows at night, looking out to the Golden Gate Bridge, city skyline and Tiburon.

The house met our needs perfectly. There are two big bedrooms and two sofa beds. The master suite is spacious and very comfortable. The second bedroom suite is accessed via an external staircase, which worked fine for us and gives some privacy for a second couple. The sofa bed in the lounge was very comfy. Everything there is available for you to use so we felt relaxed and it became our home for the week.

When looking for properties online, sometimes your initial email enquiries to owners never get answered. Not with Sandra - she called me soon after I first enquired to discuss everything and check that it would work for us. If I had any questions, no matter how minor, I just emailed Sandra who would promptly reply. Having a dedicated owner who wants to look after their guests and make their stay memorable makes a real difference!

If we are ever back in that part of the world we would definitely consider staying here again. Thank you!
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful review. Thank you, and we are so happy everything worked out for you. Feedback is so very important for us. We need to know what's wrong before we can make it right!
business
San Francisco and Golden Gate Views from Tiburon Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990935
+1 +1 415 435-2646
Tiburon The Bay Area
5

By far the best vacation rental I've ever had...and Ive rented a LOT! 5 STARS

By far the best vacation rental I've ever had...and Ive rented a LOT! 5 STARS
  • 5 of 5
Usually, when people post reviews on sites like this, it's because they are angry. They buy a product that they can't return or exchange, or get what they consider to be sub-standard service from a provider, and write nasty reviews. It's often the only recourse they have, and the only way to vent their frustration. This review is born from the OPPOSITE kind of feeling. After staying in this property, my feelings are so overwhelmingly positive, that writing a strongly worded review is the only way I and express my feelings. I am a professional musician and I travel a LOT for work. I discovered VRBO about two years ago, and consider it an amazing value alternative to hotels. Spend four or five hundred on a hotel in the Bay Area and see what you get! This is my fifth or sixth stay in Saundra's villa, and considering how awesome it is, I was lucky it was available. My Mother stayed with us, coming from Boston to be part of the Mill Valley Art Show. As an extremely accomplished clothing designer and maker, she works from 'scratch'; making the material, thread, buttons,every part. You could say she's a bit of a design connoisseur. she instantly fell in love with Sandra's place, specifically, her sense of aesthetic. She hadn't before stayed in a nicer, more beautiful home, without feeling like she was in a museum. To her, Saundra's villa was spectacular and opulent, while instantly feeling like home. Thats how I felt the first time I stayed! The grounds, the view, the furnishings and fixtures, down the the reading materials, all impress and invite. I have never gotten more value from this kind of travel accommodation, and frankly, never stayed in a nicer, more impressive, more INVITING home! Even if you aren't staying in Tiburon, rent this home. Even if you aren't staying north of the city, fight through the extra 15 minutes of morning traffic (what a JOKE ;) and rent this home. Even if you aren't staying in the Bay Area, change your plans to stay in Texas, or New York, or wherever, and RENT THIS HOME!!!! It is amazing.

I come to San Francisco from Boston quite often on business and only wish I could lease VGG by the year.

5 STARS
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! I've had a lot of 'spectacular' reviews in my small time listed here, and Nathan is already a favorite customer and now a friend. Thank you for such an insightful, gorgeous review. YOU deserve 5 Stars!!!!! Can't wait to have you back. Your Mom, your friends, they are all always welcome here.
business
San Francisco and Golden Gate Views from Tiburon Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990935
+1 +1 415 435-2646
Tiburon The Bay Area
5

Our 5th Trip Back - ALWAYS AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
On this trip I got to invite my Mom to stay at Sandra's place. We are from Boston and my Mom was invited to the famous Arts Fair in Mill Valley.

My Mom stayed downstairs in the 2nd bedroom and couldn't stop talking about Sandra's sense of style. She thoroughly enjoyed her private suite and even gave Sandra some tips for the private garden outside her room, which had everything she needed to get ready for her shows, then relax after.

Sandra is constantly working on making her 'Retreat' the most special place. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we are in San Francisco, and because I come often on business, I only wish I could take out a yearly lease so that Villa Golden Gate was always available.

FYI Sandra always has much more in the Villa than she advertises, and everything is taken care of for you. We just couldn't ask for more.
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review. We always enjoy your time with us so much. Are you our favorite guest? Now that you've brought your unbelievably creative and talented Mom with you, we think that you are.
Those recommendations she so generously offered have already been made and we can't wait for her response. We think her recommendations were GREAT and please thank her for us.
In the meantime, other improvements are always 'In the works' here. at Villa Golden Gate. We want our returning guests to continue to be amazed!
Seriously, we can't wait to show you the fruition of the excellent ideas you gave us. Hope to see you soon.
Sandra
business
San Francisco and Golden Gate Views from Tiburon Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990935
+1 +1 415 435-2646
Tiburon The Bay Area
3

MUST knows before renting....

  • 3 of 5
The awesome views you see in the photos, and the lovely art and architecture in the home speak for themselves. My wife and I have been renting high end homes in Marin County for years, and this is the best "view" home we've ever found.

If this home fits you might easily rate it 5 stars.

But there are a few issues that you should know first and that the owner, at the time of this writing, is not, in our opinion, being forth right about.

Many revolve around the "second" bedroom. The second bedroom is reached only by an outdoor path down some steep, uneven stairs with no handrail for much of the distance. If you older, carrying kids, tired or tipsy these might not be the stairs for you. Also if you need to keep an eye or an ear on what's going on in this bedroom, that will be impossible. It is on a lower level and no sound or sight is possible.

This bottom level is shared with the two hostesses for your stay, Ms. Sandra and Ms. Mariah. Although this home was originally built as a single family, Sandra has quite cleverly created a separate apartment for herself and her helper within the lower level. They are very quiet and although you might occasionally see Mariah, you will likely never see Sandra, since she is confined to her quarters due to an illness.

Which brings us full circle to second bedroom. Ms. Sandra does on some infrequent occasions need to use the handicap shower in the second bedroom. She is assisted by Ms. Mariah. They always leave the bathroom immaculate and provide plenty of warning, so many guests might actually find this a benefit.

Or not.

So why only 3 stars? The downstairs bedroom didn't work for us. We thought it would (we had the benefit of knowing both that the second bedroom was outside, and that Sandra and Maria lived in the home- two things that are not mentioned on the listing, at the time of this writing) and we thought we could deal with both.

Unfortunately we couldn't. Neither of us could deal with the journey to the second bedroom (we sometimes move into separate beds during the night and no way was that possible here).

Second my wife just didn't like having two other people living in the home. I'm not sure why but she got tired of it pretty fast (it never bothered me at all).

So that's the two factors, and full disclosure, for two weeks of our eight, we did get full use of the second bedroom. Those were the weeks that our teenage children showed. The second bedroom was perfect for them!
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Michael. Because I chose the lot and designed and built the house, these complements mean a lot to me!

I always ask people prior to booking, as you concurred, what exact arrangements they need. I don't want surprises or unhappy guests. I make certain to explain that the 2nd bedroom would only work in certain situations, as it is directly below the Master with a private entrance, desk, easy chair, mini-frig, Keurig coffee maker, flat screen and private sitting area. As you stated, I told all of this to you prior to booking.

While the stairs are completely even and there is a handrail, I still always explain the logistics, as Mr. B. stated.

Our ad states there is a 24 hour concierge, on site; and most reviews mention that they never saw or heard me, but were very happy at how well they were taken care of.

Michael's wife and I had a lovely conversation, where she told me that she loved everything about the house. Everything! And we sent her flowers from our gardens as often as possible.

We might add a 2nd handrail, but since this is our first complaint we might wait and see, even ask some guests if it is really a problem? But we will definitely keep an eye out.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
SFO
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
SF Ferry
Nearest Train
30 Miles
AmTrack
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
101
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Muir
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Sam's
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Lake Tahoe
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
San Rafael
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
The Caprice
Car: recommended

Classic car shows. First class raceways. Motorcycle shows. SF and Mill Valley Film Festivals. Every type of musical event including the opera, symphony, jazz, blues, outdoor concerts in the Park. Wine tasting in the famous Napa Valley. 15 minute ferry to San Francisco's many museums, shopping and restaurants. Golden Gate Park, walking or cycling across the Golden Gate Bridge. Sailing at the Corinthian YC, sailing lessons at San Francisco YC.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Tiburon Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2014
Apr 9 2014 - Apr 8 2015
4 night minimum stay
$450
$3,000
$12,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Rates are subject to change until first payment is made, no cancellations, no smoking no pets allowed.

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Tiburon Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Computer Available ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Garage ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
  • Heating ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Jacuzzi whirlpool tub for two. Two person, all marble shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Lovely private bath.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Powder Room/WC
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , can be converted to a king size
  • Sofa sleeper in living room will accomadate 2.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Games
  • Books
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Gazebo ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Balcony ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Bicycles
  • Tennis
  • Golf
  • Boat
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • zoo
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • arboretum
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • ruins
  • health/beauty spa
  • bay/sound
  • festivals
  • forests
  • reefs
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • horseback riding
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
  • gambling casinos
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling/diving
  • skiing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • mountain climbing
  • deepsea fishing
  • cycling
  • snorkeling
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
  • surfing
  • golf
  • fishing
  • wind-surfing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • sailing
Email Owner Contact Me