HORSESHOE LAKE PENINSULA-- 3 BEDROOM COTTAGE, WATERFRONT- PRIVATE DOCK

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HORSESHOE LAKE PENINSULA-- 3 BEDROOM COTTAGE, WATERFRONT- PRIVATE DOCK

Republic Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms (incl. a king-sized bed), 1 bathroom, sleeps 9

Enjoy this beautiful 3 bedroom cabin with a 3 sided view of the peaceful Horseshoe Lake. Private, peaceful with many comfy places to curl up with a good book and gaze at the water almost everywhere you turn. Start a fire and soak in the atmosphere. Time is yours here at Horseshoe Lake.

Comfortable kitchen with a hand-crafted wood dining table. Spacious living room with a view of Horseshoe Lake everywhere you turn. The master bedroom has a king-sized bed. The 2nd bedroom has 2 sets of twin bunk-beds. The 3rd bedroom has a twin/full bunk bed. The rowboat and paddle boat are both included with your rental. Washer-dryer (no need for coins) are downstairs. Convenient, walk-out basement.

Enjoy this 20 acre serene property with many acres of State of Michigan land nearby. Many acres to explore and enjoy without being disturbed while you vacation on this unique, private peninsula.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Freshwater Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks spanish, english

Guestbook comments from the manager

After a stressful summer for our family, this was the perfect place to get away to and relax. The weather was great-only 1 day of rain, so we went to Marquette to dinner, movie and Presque Isle Park. We also visited Copper Harbor, Pictured Rocks, took a tour and ate dinner with friends at Upper Penn Bible Camp near Gwinn. The rest of the time we relaxed at the cabin-did some fishing (caught around 20), swam, had a nice bonfire, took walks and read on the deck or down at the dock. Thanks to the owners for allowing others to enjoy this wonderful place you've been blessed with-and thanks to the caretakers for all their work in keeping it ready for the next guest.

It's Saturday morning and I'm writing this down at the dock with the sun now up and a breeze off Horseshoe Lake. What a treat to be able to relax here!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 4
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981206
+1 734-284-5677
Republic Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
Just finishing up are week at Horseshoe lake. The pictures and description of this place are spot on. Great small mouth lake(6 right off the dock) this place is very quite. My only complaint was the cabin was a little hard to find. The directions are not good but with that said when I called about being lost, they sent someone to find us and drive us right to the cabin! We had a great week and caught a lot of fish. Lost one large pike that bent the clasp on the stringer and got away. My family and I look forward to coming back again next summer. Thank you so much.. The Gemls
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981206
+1 734-284-5677
Republic Upper Peninsula Michigan
1

Very!! Disappointing

  • 1 of 5
Very!! Disappointing

We rented the Horseshoe lake peninsula cottage for a week and only stayed one night. We were Very disappointed. The pictures need to be updated to reflect the actual condition of the cottage.
When we got there the floors were dirty, the furnace did not work, and the fire wood was so wet we could not build a fire in the fireplace. The sheets in the master bed room looked like someone had slept in them. The refrigerator I had to throw out half eaten food, broken eggs. I wiped up red stuff that was spilled on one of the shelves. In the cupboards there were chips and noodles opened. I wiped down everything. This place was not ready for renters.
I cleaned for hours!!
The bathroom was disgusting – I lifted up the toilet seat and was grossed out. I won’t even describe what I had to clean in there. The towels were musty smelling.
I could go on and on about the poor condition of this rental property –this place needs a good cleaning from floors to ceilings, furniture, bedding everything. I think the final straw was when the dog brought me not one but two dead mice from inside the cottage. By then I had had enough!!
I would not recommend this property to anyone.
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We have taken drastic measures to rectify the situation as a result of your experience.This is by no means indicative of the Horseshoe Lake guest's experiences these past 2 years.
I appreciate the fact that you called me the day after you arrived and expressed your disappointment over the phone. We quickly offered to send someone over to the cottage and our offer was initially refused.
Once the furnace was mentioned, we sent someone out immediately. We worked through multiple options to find an acceptable solution. At that point, I honestly thought we had rectified the situation that same day and you were pleased with the end result.
We moved you to another one of our vacation rentals and had a member of our team meet you there personally to ensure the new cottage met your expectations for the remainder of your vacation. Kathy expressed to me that you were pleased with the Buchanan Cottage.
No one should ever walk into a vacation rental and have the experience you initially did. By no means is your initial experience what we seek to convey to our guests. We spoke in depth and I empathized with your negative experience. I felt very sad. Please accept my deepest apologies. I'm sorry the beautiful surroundings of the Horseshoe Lake Cottage were overshadowed in this instance.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Cara
business
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981206
+1 734-284-5677
Republic Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Wonderful serene, secluded getaway!

  • 5 of 5
Thank you for sharing this serene piece of paradise with us! Several days, surrounded by tranquility, gorgeous lake views, trees and the gentle touch of nature is exactly what we needed to escape the chaos of the day to day. We were there this past fall during the peak change of the season. The surrounding view of the lake and foliage was breathtaking from the comfort and warmth of the knotty pine, stone fireplace living room. We were able to comfortably sleep all 6 of us waking up to a beautiful, peaceful sun rise with the eagles soaring overhead. Boating, fishing and hiking at its best as we explored this enormous property, catching huge size bluegill. Will defiantly stay again with family and friends next fall!

Steve and Ami Hawks
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981206
+1 734-284-5677
Republic Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Fabulous stay!

  • 5 of 5
My boyfriend and I stayed in this cabin for two nights. We loved it! The cabin was clean, neat and simple. We had a great time paddling around the lake and enjoying the dock. Next time, we're going to being way more people with us because it was a shame to not fill all those bedrooms and share. Our stay!
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Summer Place
Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Sawyer International Airport
Nearest Ferry
180 Miles
Wisconsin (
Nearest Train
240 Miles
Green Bay, WI (approx.)
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
MI-95
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Republc, off of MI-95
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
3 small bars in Republic
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Marquette Mountain
Nearest Golf
28.2 Miles
Wawonowin Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Summer Place
Car: necessary

Horseshoe is a very peaceful, relaxing lake. You are welcome to bring your own boat or enjoy the rowboat that we provide. The closest large retail areas equidistant between Iron Mountain and Marquette

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Republic Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2014
Sep 3 2014 - Nov 13 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Acccident Damage Protect $45
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes -$1100/week, 200/night firm.

We will accept bookings for shorter than 1 week during the summer when there are fill-in dates, and a full week is not available. Also, we will accept stays with a 2 night minimum any time during Spring and Fall.

Last-minute bookings are welcome. Bookings within 30 days require a full payment by credit card.
Rates subject to change without notice. Please see our website at upmichiganrentals.com for more details.
Call or email for an invoice.
**2 night minimum off-season- 1 week minimum during Summer months
30 + days before arrival: You will receive refund of payments made toward your reservation, minus $50.00 cancellation fee.

Within 30 days of arrival: all rents forfieted
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Republic Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Parking
  • Telescope
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Blender
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • new shower/tub installed in 2013
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 4 twin/ single , Bunk beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed
  • The new beds and mattresses were all purchased within the last year.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Books
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Small Cooler
  • Pedal Boat
  • Boat
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Boat Dock
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Notes:
Nearby Attractions: - Fishing--excellent (walleye, pike, panfish, perch, smallmouth bass) Surrounded by 500+ acres of state land on the north side of Horseshoe Lake. No hunting or shooting (even target) is allowed on the 20 private acres or on the adjacent private property.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Email Manager Contact Me