HORSESHOE LAKE PENINSULA-- 3 BEDROOM COTTAGE, WATERFRONT- PRIVATE DOCK

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HORSESHOE LAKE PENINSULA-- 3 BEDROOM COTTAGE, WATERFRONT- PRIVATE DOCK

Republic Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms (incl. a king-sized bed), 1 bathroom (claw tub & shower), sleeps 9

Enjoy this beautiful 3 bedroom cabin with a 3 sided view of the peaceful Horseshoe Lake. Private, peaceful with many comfy places to curl up with a good book and gaze at the water almost everywhere you turn. Start a fire and soak in the atmosphere. Time is yours here at Horseshoe Lake.

Comfortable kitchen with a hand-crafted wood dining table. Spacious living room with a view of Horseshoe Lake everywhere you turn. The master bedroom has a king-sized bed. The 2nd bedroom has2 sets of twin bunk-beds. The 3rd bedroom has a twin/full bunk bed. The bathroom has an antique claw foot tub with a shower curtain surround. The rowboat and paddle boat are both included with your rental. Washer-dryer (no need for coins) are downstairs. Convenient, walk-out basement.

Enjoy this 20 acre serene property with many acres of State of Michigan land nearby. Many acres to explore and enjoy without being disturbed while you vacation on this unique, private peninsula.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the manager
Jim said--Solitude, It is the perfect name for this place in the North woods. My wife, the boys, and I had the most relaxing vacation we ever had!





Steve said-- Thank you so much for this lovely relaxing retreat. We enjoyed it so much. We hope to come again someday!





Kristin & Dave said--What a wonderful retreat! From the moment we pulled in we knew this vacation would be everything we had hoped for. The cabin is so cozy and charming and the views are just amazing!





Carol said--This is my second time here. It has been a great experience with my sisters. The property is beautiful and the cabin is wonderful! Thank you so much.





Kim & Darren said--We wish we would have had more time here. This is a great piece of property, its so peaceful and the views are amazing!





Janet said--Had a wonderful time! Caught two large bass & had a fish fry. Saw deer, beaver, geese & loons. Thank you for the wonderful time & hope to come again.





Melissa said--The cabin was great! My daughter fished for the first time and caught 35 fish. My son also fished but was not as lucky. In the morning we got to see some otters in the water. We enjoyed our trip here and would love to come back!





Jeremie said-- Had a great time with the family. Will be back for sure!





Ellen said--Thank you so much for another great weekend at "Solitude"!





Jim & Dee said--Had a nearly perfect week at the cabin! (The only thing missing-so far-was the elusive moose sighting!) We enjoyed watching the wild life-saw a doe, a fawn, & a spike horn in velvet on the drive in. Many birds-including a humming bird who buzzed us on the deck and later perched on a branch outside the window behind the couch. The boys put several miles on the row boat & caught some nice size pan fish and a 16 1/2-17" bass! We are planning our own Friday night fish fry for tonight. Played lots of Cribbage, Uno & Pool! Did a couple of day trips-One to Munising. Saw Pictured Rock, several water falls (Memorial Falls was awesome to explore), and did a glass-bottom boat/shipwreck tour. Other day trip was to Porcupine Mountains, saw Ontanogan Light House on the way. "Porkie"is a beautiful park, 60,000 acres, 90 water falls and we hiked Summit Peak, East & West river trails. The last had places to walk across the Rock on Presque Isle River & we found where the river pours into Lake Superior, breathtaking! We can't thank you enough for sharing your beautiful cabin with us!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 3

Freshwater Vacation Rentals (formerly UP Michigan Rentals)

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.7
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
business
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981206
+1 734-284-5677
Republic Upper Peninsula Michigan
1

VERY!! DISAPPOINTING

  • 1 of 5
Very!! Disappointing

We rented the Horseshoe lake peninsula cottage for a week and only stayed one night. We were Very disappointed. The pictures need to be updated to reflect the actual condition of the cottage.
When we got there the floors were dirty, the furnace did not work, and the fire wood was so wet we could not build a fire in the fireplace. The sheets in the master bed room looked like someone had slept in them. The refrigerator I had to throw out half eaten food, broken eggs. I wiped up red stuff that was spilled on one of the shelves. In the cupboards there were chips and noodles opened. I wiped down everything. This place was not ready for renters.
I cleaned for hours!!
The bathroom was disgusting – I lifted up the toilet seat and was grossed out. I won’t even describe what I had to clean in there. The towels were musty smelling.
I could go on and on about the poor condition of this rental property –this place needs a good cleaning from floors to ceilings, furniture, bedding everything. I think the final straw was when the dog brought me not one but two dead mice from inside the cottage. By then I had had enough!!
I would not recommend this property to anyone.
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We have taken drastic measures to rectify the situation as a result of your experience.This is by no means indicative of the Horseshoe Lake guest's experiences these past 2 years.
I appreciate the fact that you called me the day after you arrived and expressed your disappointment over the phone. We quickly offered to send someone over to the cottage and our offer was initially refused.
Once the furnace was mentioned, we sent someone out immediately. We worked through multiple options to find an acceptable solution. At that point, I honestly thought we had rectified the situation that same day and you were pleased with the end result.
We moved you to another one of our vacation rentals and had a member of our team meet you there personally to ensure the new cottage met your expectations for the remainder of your vacation. Kathy expressed to me that you were pleased with the Buchanan Cottage.
No one should ever walk into a vacation rental and have the experience you initially did. By no means is your initial experience what we seek to convey to our guests. We spoke in depth and I empathized with your negative experience. I felt very sad. Please accept my deepest apologies. I'm sorry the beautiful surroundings of the Horseshoe Lake Cottage were overshadowed in this instance.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Cara
business
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981206
+1 734-284-5677
Republic Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

WONDERFUL SERENE, SECLUDED GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
Thank you for sharing this serene piece of paradise with us! Several days, surrounded by tranquility, gorgeous lake views, trees and the gentle touch of nature is exactly what we needed to escape the chaos of the day to day. We were there this past fall during the peak change of the season. The surrounding view of the lake and foliage was breathtaking from the comfort and warmth of the knotty pine, stone fireplace living room. We were able to comfortably sleep all 6 of us waking up to a beautiful, peaceful sun rise with the eagles soaring overhead. Boating, fishing and hiking at its best as we explored this enormous property, catching huge size bluegill. Will defiantly stay again with family and friends next fall!

Steve and Ami Hawks
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Horseshoe Lake Peninsula-- 3 bedroom cottage, waterfront- private dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981206
+1 734-284-5677
Republic Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

FABULOUS STAY!

  • 5 of 5
My boyfriend and I stayed in this cabin for two nights. We loved it! The cabin was clean, neat and simple. We had a great time paddling around the lake and enjoying the dock. Next time, we're going to being way more people with us because it was a shame to not fill all those bedrooms and share. Our stay!
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Manager Email

Map

Summer Place
Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Sawyer International Airport
Nearest Ferry
180 Miles
Wisconsin (
Nearest Train
240 Miles
Green Bay, WI (approx.)
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
MI-95
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Republc, off of MI-95
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
3 small bars in Republic
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Marquette Mountain
Nearest Golf
28.2 Miles
Wawonowin Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Summer Place
Car: necessary

Horseshoe is a very peaceful, relaxing lake. You are welcome to bring your own boat or enjoy the rowboat that we provide. The closest large retail areas equidistant between Iron Mountain and Marquette

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Republic Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2014
Jun 17 2014 - Sep 2 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,100
 
 
Fall 2014
Sep 3 2014 - Nov 13 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25.00
Acccident Damage Protect $45.00
Rates subject to change without notice. Please see our website at upmichiganrentals.com for more details.
Call or email for an invoice.
**2 night minimum off-season- 1 week minimum during Summer months
30 + days before arrival: You will receive refund of payments made toward your reservation, minus $50.00 cancellation fee.

Within 30 days of arrival: all rents forfieted
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes -$1100/week, 200/night firm.

We will accept bookings for shorter than 1 week during the summer when there are fill-in dates, and a full week is not available. Also, we will accept stays with a 2 night minimum any time during Spring and Fall.

Last-minute bookings are welcome. Bookings within 30 days require a full payment by credit card.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Republic Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake
  • Waterfront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
General:
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Alarm Clock
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Living Room ...
  • Telescope
  • Parking Off Street
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Blender
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • new shower/tub installed in 2013
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 4 twin/ single , Bunk beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed
  • The new beds and mattresses were all purchased within the last year.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Binoculars
  • Small Cooler
  • Pedal Boat
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Boat Dock
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Notes:
Nearby Attractions: - Fishing--excellent (walleye, pike, panfish, perch, smallmouth bass) Surrounded by 500+ acres of state land on the north side of Horseshoe Lake. No hunting or shooting (even target) is allowed on the 20 private acres or on the adjacent private property.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Email Manager Email