CHARMING 1897 SIDE-HALL VICTORIAN HOME STEPS AWAY FROM HISTORIC ST. CHARLES AVE

Donya Knudsen

Speaks english, spanish
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Donya Knudsen

Speaks english, spanish
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING 1897 SIDE-HALL VICTORIAN HOME STEPS AWAY FROM HISTORIC ST. CHARLES AVE

New Orleans House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathroom, sleeps 3 couples and 1 single comfortably plus more

This nineteenth century New Orleans home is ideally suited for families and friends who want to enjoy Mardi Gras, French Quarter Festival, Jazz Festival, Saints home games, weddings, and reunions while centrally and comfortably located at the edge of the Garden District. Easy access by streetcar to Audubon Zoo, Parks, Tulane and Loyola Universities, The Superdome, Restaurants such as Commander's Palace, Delmonico, and the beautiful veranda at the Columns Hotel. The French Quarter and Historic Marigny neighborhoods are only minutes away by streetcar or short taxi ride.

This fully furnished accommodation is ideally priced for groups of people requiring more than one room at peak celebration times in the city. The convenience of its location and the bonus associated with the privacy of a home makes this location ideal for groups or families wishing to have a unique experience living as a 'local' New Orleanian.

My family has lived in South Louisiana for about 300 years, dating back to the Cajun Expulsion. We have owned homes in New Orleans for over twenty years, raised our children here, become grandparents here, and truly love living in this wonderful city. We hope and believe that the next thousand generations of Causey’s and Knudsen’s will have a connection to this place that we cherish, as it has been a journey both appreciated and worthwhile.

Our first home is now our guest house. We are sure that experiencing the city with this location as a home base will make your visit one that is unique and more than anything you might have expected. Inside you will find items from Pakistan, Greece, Spain, Indonesia, Korea, Nigeria, Honduras, Scotland, Florida, Texas, and Louisiana. You will find an extensive home library of good books including children’s books.

You will find places to be together as well as plenty of places where you can have privacy. All of the bedrooms are located upstairs, including the master suite which enjoys its own bathroom. In addtion to a more formal parlor, there is also a sunroom which is bright and cheerful. The kitchen is fully furnished with modern appliances, and there is a washer and dryer for your convience. It is a comfortable and unique home, and we believe you will truly enjoy staying here.

This home has nineteen windows and 12 foot ceilings that give the house an airy, comfortable feel. Throughout the home you will find original crown molding, ceiling medalions, and venetian glass light fixtures. It has two sets of French doors in the sunroom which lead out to a private courtyard shaded by a magnificent crepe myrtle, and surrounded by camelias and azaleas.

Unfortunately, a large tree on the corner of the property did not survive Hurricane Katrina in August 2005. When were able to return we discovered that even with this damage we had fared better than most. The roof was secure, the dwelling space was dry, everything but the refrigerator still worked. This beautiful house built in 1897 had emerged through the storm and was destined to continue as part of this great city that has persevered through three hundred years of historical time.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
Hi Donya-



I just wanted to tell you how much my family & I enjoyed our stay in your lovely home. Our thanks go out to you & your husband for providing such a warm homey "home-away-from-home" for our trip. My uncle said it best, "I don't remember many hotels I've stayed in, but this I'll remember".

We all will.



Once again, loved the house & all the wonderful things in it. Hopefully we can do it again someday.



All my best,

Cyndi
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 2

Donya Knudsen

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english, spanish
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming 1897 Side-Hall Victorian Home Steps Away From Historic St. Charles Ave
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
Charming 1897 Side-Hall Victorian Home Steps Away From Historic St. Charles Ave
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p978310
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Excellent Houst

  • 5 of 5
This house was everything we hoped for. Great living areas, very nice bedrooms, and a large patio for our group of 6 to hang out on. We would definitely stay here again.
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming 1897 Side-Hall Victorian Home Steps Away From Historic St. Charles Ave
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p978310
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Loved this place. Fabulous stay.

  • 4 of 5
Everything about the place was special - location, backyard, sleeping arrangements, parking, easy access to transportation, walking distance to restaurants. 4,5 stars because of housekeeping problem, place was tidy but not very well cleaned. Found old moldy food in the microwave & bathrooms should have been cleaner.
But I would definitely stay here again!!!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ms. Michelle:

Thank you so much for the good review. I apologize for what might have been found in the microwave. This is normally something that is checked as part of the post guest cleaning, but appears to have been missed. Bathrooms are always tough and I will look at ways of doing more with assurances that I am sensitive to the need for clean bathrooms. For what it is worth the house goes through a seven hour cleaning routine prior to the arrival of guests. Again, I am happy that you were happy. I value return guests and hope that you have the opportunity to come for a visit again.
business
Charming 1897 Side-Hall Victorian Home Steps Away From Historic St. Charles Ave
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p978310
New Orleans Louisiana
5

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED OUR STAY!

  • 5 of 5
Wow, there was not one thing that was unsatisfactory about this house... we LOVED everything from the location, to parking, to the sleeping arrangements, to the decorations, pictures, to house being extra stocked with just about everything you need. We cannot wait to come back!
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming 1897 Side-Hall Victorian Home Steps Away From Historic St. Charles Ave
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p978310
New Orleans Louisiana
Fort Walton Beach
5

Classic New Orleans

  • 5 of 5
Excellent property. The outside does not do the inside justice. This home is huge! I felt like I was just staying with my family for the weekend. Not right downtown but it is so close you can just pay ataxia and not worry about parking, plus there are nice restaurants right around the corner. Really enjoyed this property. Had issues initially however the owners took care of them immediately! Excellent stay... Thanks!
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming 1897 Side-Hall Victorian Home Steps Away From Historic St. Charles Ave
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p978310
New Orleans Louisiana
Pleasanton, TX
5

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
Could not have dreamed that this house would enchant all of us the way it did! It was beautiful, clean, had everything you could ask for and more, and we found ourselves daily wandering from room to room, saying "Oh look at that!" The courtyard was so peaceful and comfortable, I drank my morning and evening coffee out there and just enjoyed the birds and the peace. We looked forward to coming "home" each night and relaxing after a busy day, watching a movie or playing cards. Donya was the most gracious host and went above and beyond to make sure my daughter's 33rd birthday was special. I can never thank her enough. This was our 8th annual Mother/Daughter retreat and we thoroughly enjoyed it, in a big part, due to the accomodations. Soft beds, pillows, sheets, and comforters, and so much room! We are already planning another trip back to New Orleans, and will be coming when we are able to rent this house again! I already have 3 people wanting to reserve this house for their NO's vacation! I hope all goes well with that and they find Donya, her family history, and her family home to be as beautiful as we did!
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much! What a pleasure to have you as guests from start to finish. Your requests were absolutely no problem, and I was very happy to do my best to make daughters birthday special-- I;m so pleased that it all worked out! Having such polite, delightful guests like you all was fabulous, and I was happy to help out with your daughters birthday. Hopefully your simple requests helped to make your visit easy and worry free so you could enjoy all New Orleans and the house has to offer without the hassle of finding stores and spending precious vacation time when there is also a special occasion during the visit . Guests like you are a dream-- friendly and easygoing, with excitement that is contagious. Thanks for the great review, and we truly hope to have you again!
business
Charming 1897 Side-Hall Victorian Home Steps Away From Historic St. Charles Ave
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p978310
New Orleans Louisiana
Katy
2

Beautiful Home, but very dissapointing.

  • 2 of 5
Beautiful old home. Too bad that there was so much dust and grime on curtains blinds and kitchen counter tops. There was even old food, dirt and broken glass inside of the refrigerator. We found trash and old prescription bottles under the bed.
Not worth the money to have to clean things yourself and be afraid to touch anything.
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So we will do our best to respond.

This property comfortably sleeps seven and this particular group was eleven including four children. We advertize the ability to sleep ten, but charge an additional fee for large groups over seven. We accommodated this large group that wanted the rental and offered one over flow guest at no charge because they were a small child.

The house was cleaned using our normal process and our reservation ready check list. The house was clean when the guests arrived. We did receive a text message on the day after guest arrival stating their dis-satisfaction with the condition of the house. We arranged for a second cleaning. Five hours of re-work was executed by the house keeper. Their instructions were to dust all wooden surfaces, wipe down counter tops, clean mirrors, vaccum and mop floors, and check for anything that might be perceived as a problem. The house keeper did all of this plus did a full laundry of all used towels. The re-clean was offered at no charge as per our policy. The initially clean house was clean again. The final comment from the guest was that some cleaning had been done, but that the property remained neglected. After ten hours over two cleanings and two inspections against a twenty-five item check list we were apparently unable to satisfy this guest that the house was clean. We stand by our statement that the house was initially clean and was clean once more after the second effort.

With respect to the refrigerator food referenced in the review, These items are condiments and ice. Condiments include packaged mustard/ketsup/mayo that are unopened. There are additionally some sauces and jellies that are specifically not out of date. There definately was no old food and never is. We additionally supply coffee and sugar and have never received a concern over this practice. We are considering removing these items in that apparently there are guests that take exception to this practice.

With respect to items under beds we will conceded that it is possible that such was missed. It is a simple error that may occur on occassion.

We as landlords are dilligent in our care of this property. The house is clean. One of the eleven guests present could not be satisfied. We did what we could.

Thank you.

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MSY)
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Algiers Ferry Terminal
Nearest Train
2 Miles
New Orleans Amtrak Station
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Interstate 10, Highway 90
Nearest Beach
70 Miles
Biloxi/Gulf Port Mississippi
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Igor's Bar and Grill
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Audubon Park
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Emeril's Delmonico
Car: recommended

Located off of St. Charles and Jackson Avenues within walking distance of the street car line; fine and casual dining; jovial drinking establishments; Magazine Street antique shopping; and the Mardi Gras Parade routes. The French Quarter is two miles distant and accessible via the street car that passes several times an hour. The Fair Grounds where the annual Jazz Festival is celebrated is a fifteen minute ride by car or bicycle and additionally accessible by public transport for the more adventurous. The beauty of Audubon and City Parks with access to walking, picknicking, golfing, tennis, and museums is also only a fifteen minute drive by auto. The house is a two story, fully furnished, 1897 side hall victorian with a private patio area in the back. It comfortably sleeps three couples and a single. You will be ideally positioned to fully enjoy New Orleans in the same way that people who live in this wonderful place do.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

New Orleans House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning USD75

Notes

  • $350/day; $2100/week off peak
  • Peak seasons are currently identified as 2014 Mardi Gras; 2014 Jazz Festival. Rates for these peaks as follows:

    2014 Mardi Gras $3000/week; 1 week minimum (February 27 check in; March 6 check out)
    2014 Jazz Festival $3000/week; 1 week minimum (April 23 check in;April 30 check out)
    2014 Jazz Festival $3000/week; 1 week minimum (May 01 check in; May 08 check out)
    2014 Jaxx Festival $5000/2 weeks; 2 week minimum (special two week rate) (April 23 check in; May 08 check out)
  • Damage insurance is requested. Owner will purchase damage insurance for the Guest once the fee ($50) is received as part of the inititial payment to secure a reservation. The initial payment should be half the rental plus the insurance fee. The insurance fee is non-refundable. Final payment is due before arrival as noted in the rental agreement that will be provided to you. Cleaning fee ($75) applies to all rentals. The final payment should include the balance of the rental plus the cleaning fee. Payments accepted: PayPal (only). Initial payment is refundable up to 22 days prior to arrival. Parties larger than 7 people will be charged $50 per person per day for the additional people.

Amenities

Amenities

New Orleans House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • River
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking On Street
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located in Master Bedroom (upstairs).
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located in hallway adjacent to Bedrooms (upstairs).
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Includes a washer and dryer.
  • Towels and wash cloths provided. Bar and hand gel soap provided. The guests are requested to provide their own shampoos, rinses, and conditioners.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom with bathroom (upstairs).
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Bathroom shared with bedroom 3 (upstairs).
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Bathroom shared with bedroom 2 (upstairs).
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Den with futon. Downstairs toilet.
  • 3 couples and 1 single sleep comforably. Additional (existing) sleeping arrangements include a large couch that would comfortably sleep an adult and a large ottoman that would comforably sleep a child. Additional bedding (high quality single person air beds) can be arranged for up to a maximum of ten people sleeping in the house.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Notes:
Please advise if there are any special needs you may have. We are able to arrange for house keeping, transportation, private tours, food, beverages, catering reservations, event information, etc. as requested by our guests. Services provided by ourselves will be billed at cost plus 15%. Information and recommendations are of course free of charge.