From
$550
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Dana

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LUXURY HOME ON THE LAKE

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms plus bonus bedroom, 4 full baths; sleeps 12

This house has expansive decks and a dock for your boat or jet skiis. The master bedroom is large with it's own fireplace and sitting area as well as a master bath with jet and steam shower. The other 2 bedrooms also have attached bathrooms. One with a second steam shower. We converted the exercise room into a bonus bedroom with queen bed and TV. It is right across from the 4th bathroom which has a whirlpool tub and 2 person sauna. The open kitchen includes stainless appliances including a 5 burner gas stove top and dishwasher drawers. The living room is perfect for entertaining with a wet bar with icemaker and wine fridge. There is also a ping pong table, pool table and dart board. The decks are also perfect for entertaining with plenty of seating, a grill, hot tub and outstanding views of the water.

It is located right on Silver Lake which connects to Kalamazoo Lake and goes out to Lake Michigan. Enjoy the view from your deck, hot tub or the dock. It includes 2 Kayaks to enjoy the natural beauty of the lake and rivers. It also has a fire pit for enjoying the evenings. The lake is great for watersports as well as fishing. The house is about 1.5 miles from downtown Saugatuck. Paddle down to the dingy dock where you can tie up and walk around town or call the Interurban and be picked up and dropped off for $1 if you don't feel like driving or walking.

Planning a wedding, family reunion or friends get away weekend,....If you need more room, there is also a 2 bedroom, 1 bathrrom guest apartment on this property that is also available for rent. It is property #913489.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered
  • children welcome

Dana

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Luxury Home On The Lake
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

perfect relaxing getaway destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
A small group of us decided to stay at this property for a new years eve getaway. We couldn't have asked for more. The house was so comfortable, clean, spacious. The owner left a manual for us explaining how to use the tvs, sauna, hot tube etc. which was very helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better mini-vacation. We definitely plan on coming back here in the summer.
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
St. Joseph, MI
5

Amazing place, perfect location, we want to come back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I rented this house for a girls' weekend getaway and we had a blast. The house is located right on the water, with a gorgeous setting for sitting out on the deck in the morning or throughout the day to relax. The place is very clean, beds are comfortable, and all of the bathrooms are updated with steam showers. The home is set up for a great weekend of hanging out - with the fire pits, docks for fishing, pool / ping pong table and exercise equipment. We did not use the hot tub, but I'm sure it would have been great. The owners live right next door and are very helpful - but not intrusive. He came over immediately when we needed help getting the electronics to work - and gave us a full training session on how to use everything. The internet didn't work when we first got there, and in the morning he was over hooking up a new modem. We could not have had a more relaxing, fun time and we would certainly book this property again... maybe next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a great house. Perfect for large groups and there are so many perks that come with it. The owners even brought over extra kayaks for us. It has everything you need and lots of sleeping room. It sleeps 8 in beds, 2 on a futon, and 2 on the large couch. Plus there are 4 really nice full bathrooms. It also has 2 hot tubs, which is great for large groups. The kitchen is perfect for cooking large meals,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely rent again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

A wonderful place - don't hesitate.

A wonderful place - don't hesitate.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We loved it. We arrived in time to meet the caretakers who were very helpful. We didn't know how to work some of the features in the house and they were very patient with us. They even checked with us later to make sure we were OK. Just really good people. The place was spotless and had more gadgets and supplies than we could ever have used. The sauna, massage chair and steam shower were fantastic. Like going to a spa! We had family in for lunch and gathered around the kitchen for a nice meal. No problems with seating, the plates and dishes and glasses were all there... and much more. They've thought of everything. There are more decks than you could use and it was SO peaceful. Lots of wildlife yet only a few minutes from town if you need something. Meals can be delivered. We had planned on doing some shopping while we were there but we never really left the place! Even the dog loved it! We are so happy we went and plan to return.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
3

Nice house.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house was nice and clean. Although there were a couple things I wish I had known prior to booking this place:

- There was construction going on right next door to this house which made the trip not as relaxing as I was hoping for.

- There is another rental unit attached IN this house. This means that some of the common grounds are delegated to the other unit within the house (2 kayaks, a dock, some of the bonfire spaces, etc.) and this makes the house not as private as expected.

Those were my two main issues. Here are some of my pros and cons:

Pros:
+ 4 bathrooms is very useful for large groups of people.
+ The house was clean and had a lot of useful kitchen appliances, dishes, etc.
+ The electric scooter in the garage was fun.
+ The kayaks and large deck were nice.

Cons:
- The exercise equipment in the master bedroom seems unnecessary and obstructs the view of the lake from the windows.
- There are no explanations of how to operate a lot of the amenities in the house which is frustrated when you are left guessing.
- The fireplace in the living room does not work as far as we could figure out.
- Customer service was a little off. Not bad, just not particularly friendly. I never met the owners of the property. I called them to try to figure out how to use the sauna and the man on the phone seemed semi-helpful but also a bit apathetic. We were also having problems with the stereo in the house to which he said there was an iPod dock, which we later found out there wasn't. (So if you're staying there bring your own 1/8th inch cable).
-Their plates are not microwaveable. They get extremely hot if you microwave anything.
-The house is also haunted. Ok just kidding I made that part up. The rest is all true.
Owner's Response: I’m glad you enjoyed your vacation! Sorry, I didn’t know about the construction. The neighbors put on a deck. It only took them a few days to do it unfortunately; it was when you were staying. That is all the construction that they have planned so this should not be an issue in the future. Just to be clear, the house has its own private hot tub, bonfire pit, dock and kayaks. The guest unit also has its own hot tub, bonfire pit, dock and kayaks. We did move the exercise equipment from the exercise room to make it into a 4th bedroom. Many guests liked this to give them a 4th bonus bedroom with bath. We thought about moving the equipment to the garage but, many guests have also enjoyed using the equipment. There should have been a book in the living room which explains how to use the hot tub, Jacuzzi tub, steam showers, fireplaces, stereo and TV. The fireplace does work. I wish you had asked how to operate it when you called. We are always happy to come out and get something working if you can’t figure it out. For future renters, when you call, if you don’t understand the explanation or can’t get it to work, please feel free to call back. Sorry, we were not trying to be unfriendly, we just try to stay out of your way so you can enjoy your vacation but, we are always happy to help if needed. There should be an iPod dock – unless someone took that, I’ll certainly check. As far as the plates, we have always used the plates to microwave, they are supposed to be microwave safe.

Also, another update to this, we added signs for the path to the guest unit's beach so the guest unit is very separate from the main house. It has its own deck with hot tub. As well as its own fire pit, beach and dock and it is all clearly marked.
Helpful votes: 4/4
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Grand Rapids, MI (GRR)
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Lake Express, Muskegon, MI
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Holland Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-96 and BlueStar
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Downtown Saugatuck
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Bittersweet
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Ravines or Clearbrook
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Downtown Saugatuck

Saugatuck and Douglas are located among the towering white sand dunes on the shores of Lake Michigan and the Kalamazoo River. The area offers world-class beaches, boating, antiquing, golf, live theater, nightclubs, great restaurants, and a huge variety of art galleries and artists.

During the Spring and Summer around the house, beach and water activities are abundant. In the Fall, foliage is beautiful. In addition, during the winter, ice fishing, skating, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, sledding can all be done around the house. Of course all seasons can be enjoyed from the hot tub or around the fire pit.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
Off Peak
Sep 16 2013 - May 18 2014
$550
$3,675
$15,000
2 nights
 
 
Off Peak
Sep 15 2014 - May 14 2015
$550
$3,675
$15,000
2 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$650
$4,300
$16,350
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $60.00 + Tax
Pet Fee $50.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes A hot tub, firepit, dock and kayaks included with the rental.
There is an additional fee for events that take place on the property

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Saugatuck / Douglas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Parking Off Street
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Steam shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Steam shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , jetted tub , Sauna, jet tub
  • Each bedroom has an attached bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , has fireplace and sitting area
    Master 2 - 1 queen
    Master 3 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bonus Bedroom - 1 queen , We changed the exercise room into a bonus bedroom with TV
  • The Master is very large with it's own fireplace and sitting area. The Bonus Bedroom has it's own TV and the 4th bathroom is right across the hall
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Balcony
  • Wood Deck
  • Boat Dock
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 14 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
  • Sauna
  • Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
House includes a dock, kayaks, hot tub and a fire pit. Events allowed with an additional fee Items listed under other services can be arranged at an additional fee
Email Owner Email