Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

NOTTINGHAM COTTAGE, WALK TO THE BEACH, COFFEE HOUSE AND IRISH PUB

Catherine Nottingham

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Catherine Nottingham

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
87%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

NOTTINGHAM COTTAGE, WALK TO THE BEACH, COFFEE HOUSE AND IRISH PUB

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Cape Charles House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 5

Cape Charles Proper! Walk to everything. Beach is 3 blocks away. Coffee house is 1 block away. Irish Pub is 2 blocks away.

Luxury marina and signature golf of 'Bay Creek' adds modern luxury to quaint old railroad town going through revitalization.

Bring family and/or friends to 'Gods Country' for a relaxing vacation.

This 3 bedroom 2 full bath plus outside hot shower offers modern amenities in a restored 1880's home.

Chefs kitchen and 3 porches plus outside grill make family meals fun and relaxing.

Walk to everything!

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Catherine Nottingham (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
87%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2014

About Catherine Nottingham

I live in Richmond, Va. where I own and manage VCU student housing.

Catherine Nottingham purchased this house in 2006

Why Catherine Nottingham chose Cape Charles

I was born and raised right outside of Cape Charles. Growing up we spent every summer at out Smith Beach cottage. This Cape

Charles home has replaced my childhood beach and boating getaway.

What makes this house unique

This home that I restored myself combines the best of old house with modern amenities.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.7
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Nottingham Cottage, Walk to the beach, coffee house and Irish Pub
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews
business
Nottingham Cottage, Walk to the beach, coffee house and Irish Pub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976114
+1 -8043069009
Cape Charles Eastern Shore Virginia
2

Week long stay in Cape Charles.

  • 2 of 5
The overall vacation was wonderful! We had a great low key vacation with our kids. It's like stepping back in time in this quaint beachside community. The "cottage" had plenty of space for everyone with comfortable beds and a nice big kitchen. We also thoroughly enjoyed the porches. However, I emailed the owner to ask what time we could check in and she emailed back that we could get in after 2pm but before 3pm. We were early at 2pm and were going to wait outside a bit. The owner spotted us and said that they were running behind on cleaning and the maid would be there later to clean up what she, herself didn't like doing. Then, contrary to my earlier inquiry said that check-in was at 4pm but she would go ahead and let us in...just don't unpack anything in the kitchen or the downstairs bath. She said that the maid didn't speak English so just point if there was anything additional we wanted cleaned; I found this rude. Also, when the maid arrived, she did indeed have a strong accent but I had no problem speaking with her. After being "cleaned" , my family and I settled in. The cottage was decent but there was absolutley no attention to detail. There were massive dust bunnies under the furniture and the twin bed in the kids room was in fact a mattress shoved under the other bed. There were old used bars of soap in the showers along with several bottles of shampoo and conditioner. The fridge had all sorts of old half used bottles and jars of food in it. The cabinets were full of nonperishable items; including spices from 2011. I have seen coffee filters and salt and pepper left for renters before but the amount of food items was ridiculous. The jacuzzi tub was stained and filthy. I would never dream of sitting in it. It was nice to have three showers but they all could have used a good cleaning. The cottage has so much potantial and if a little elbow grease and attention to detail were implemented it could be quite lovely.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Nottingham Cottage, Walk to the beach, coffee house and Irish Pub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976114
+1 -8043069009
Cape Charles Eastern Shore Virginia
Portsmouth, VA
4

Girls Weekend

  • 4 of 5
The cottage was cute and clean. The mattress in the brown bedroom was noisy and quite hard. The back bedroom (kids bedroom) did not have a dresser and the closet was locked so it could not be used. The stairs leading down from the that bedroom were very steep and would not recommend for children. The light was not working making it even more treacherous. Perhaps a gate at the top would be useful to prevent accidental falls. The kitchen is big and very nice. Only complaint was several bulbs were out. The door to side porch is not very secure and drafty. One of the windows in the kitchen did not lock. The feeling of safety was a concern especially when we left the cottage we locked valuables in the car. The side porch light was also out but we found a bulb and replaced it. The cushions on the side chairs were very dirty so you could not sit in them. Some of the towels had huge holes in them and there were only 2 wash cloths so we had to go buy some. While personal items left for renters is nice I don't believe anyone would use someone else's used bar of soap or toothpaste. I suggest just throw them out. The tub was very stained giving the appearance that it was dirty. We enjoyed ourselves and truly loved the cottage it just needs some TLC. The walk to the beach is pleasant and everyone was very friendly. The owner of this unit is very friendly and helpful.
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Sassy one- I am happy you all enjoyed your stay. I feel like your review is a little harsh and maybe should have been written to me instead of on the web site.

Most of the other houses in town have no sheets, towels or wash cloths or dish rags, soap or laundry detergent at all to use at all and you bring your own.

The reason the the expensive cushions are stained is because of the stray cats that are around town. It looks like some of my recent guest fed them so it is harder to get rid of them.

Mayberry ( Cape Charles ) is so safe that that house has remained open for 8 years when I don't have tenants... the only thing larking around are feral cats.

I would appreciate a better review. I have changed the light bulbs this week that just blew out. That tub is scrubbed every week. The town water is harsh I guess. The middle bedroom is where I sleep and is my favorite mattress. Everyone is different and like different things. The front bed is cushy soft for those that like that.

I would much appreciate a little kinder review.
Please return to out precious town.

Thanks for your time.
Catherine
business
Nottingham Cottage, Walk to the beach, coffee house and Irish Pub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976114
+1 -8043069009
Cape Charles Eastern Shore Virginia
Newark, DE
5

Great place to stay in Cape Charles

  • 5 of 5
Quaint cottage close to everything. The shops were on the next block over and the beach was a few blocks away. The house was perfect for us. Comfy, clean and the owner was very friendly and helpful. We even stayed an extra day. We brought jet ski's with us and used the free public ramp at the harbor which is only minutes away. Like the other reviewer, I almost didnt want to leave a review. We will be back to this little gem. Its a three bedroom. The 3rd bedroom is accessible through the 2nd bedroom or via back stairs. Kids would love it.
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You Ruth!
It is always nice to know that my guest have enjoyed their stay. Please visit again and get the frieda/family discount.
business
Nottingham Cottage, Walk to the beach, coffee house and Irish Pub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976114
+1 -8043069009
Cape Charles Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Impressive

  • 5 of 5
Everything was as stated. With the exception of the tranquility one gets from this small wonderful town. The house is adorable from the outside in. To walk up your surprised by the extensive use of modern appliances and the valued use of antiques. Very pleasant stay. Owner very easy to work with. Highly recommend
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Rhonda!

Hope to have you and your family back to visit real soon.
Charlie and I like offering a "Friends/ Family Discount" for repeat guest.

Catherine
business
Nottingham Cottage, Walk to the beach, coffee house and Irish Pub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976114
+1 -8043069009
Cape Charles Eastern Shore Virginia
4

Surprising cottage

  • 4 of 5
We were delightfully surprised when we walked in. Like the TARDIS it seems to be larger inside than out. The kitchen is particularly impressive. Also the covered deck in the back of the house was delightful. The house was clean and comfortable and the owner was very professional and polite.
  • Submitted: May 24, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Nottingham Cottage, Walk to the beach, coffee house and Irish Pub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976114
+1 -8043069009
Cape Charles Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Amazing place I will always return to

  • 5 of 5
It is furnished beautifully, nice and clean and right near both the beach and town. Walking distance to everything. The owner is highly responsive. We have stayed here multiple times and always choose this house first if it is available!! I almost do let want to write his because we don't want others to find this gem!!!
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
ORF
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Kelly's Irish Pub
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
rt. 13
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Cape Charles Coffee House
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Cape Charles Town Beach
Car: recommended

Beach town. Walk to Everything.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $25 Per night

Cape Charles House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
WINTER
Jan 1 2015 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
$650
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2015 - Sep 15 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
From
$25
Fri,Sat
$950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning $50
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Add-ons for :
1. groups of 5 or more
2. Holidays
3. Animals ( discouraged)
4. Special Arrangements ( outside of Sat- Sat in prime season)
Discounts for 2 week stay.
Most summer weekly rentals pay 1/2 to reserve their week and the 2nd 1/2 30 days before you arrive.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Cape Charles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Resort
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , with washer/dryer
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower
  • Stack washer/dryer in downstairs bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , blue bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , brown bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , kids room
  • 2 back bedrooms join each other but the back kids room has back stairs down to the bathroom with tub and stack washer/dryer . Home works better for smaller families.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Cable tv, but internet is at all businesses around town. The Cape Charles coffee house is the closest place to get internet

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote