We had a very unfortunate experience with this rental. This was our first visit to the desert. The condo was advertised as immaculate, gourmet, exuding luxury, beautifully decorated, with views from every room. That was not our experience. On arrival the condo was musty smelling, dusty and dirty. The kitchen looked tidy, however it wasn't, we found dusty, unwashed small appliances in cupboards. The fridge hadn't been cleaned outside or in, we found expired food and bits of lettuce in the crisper. The living area and couch/pillows were dusty.The master bedroom sheets and quilt were old, worn, dusty. Although it was advertised, there was no TV in the master bedroom. There were lamps without bulbs. Dresser drawers had 'stuff' in them. Closets had 'stuff' on the floor. Outside the deck was dirty. We unpacked, opened windows and went for a walk to contemplate what we should do. We decided to go back and start cleaning. On return to the condo, we couldn't get past the musty smell, so decided to relocate. (this cost us an additional $1,946)
Prior to arrival, we were skeptical about the validity of this rental. When we sent our initial rental payment, it took 3 e-mails, 3 telephone calls and over 3 weeks before the owner would varify receiving our payment. This had us feeling uneasy. Then after finding the condo in the above state, we decided to wait for receipt of our damage deposit before advising the owner of the condo's condition. It took 26 days to receive the damaged deposit (with one reminder 2 weeks in).
When we finally spoke to the owner about the condition of her condo (with pictures), and asked for some financial renumeration, she replied 'you should have told me before now so I could have fixed it'. There was no refund.
In hindsight (now we have our damage deposit back), we should have contacted the owner immediately. Although, we still don't know what she could have done for us in that moment. We still feel we should be renumerated.
We noticed the owner has revised her condo description, eliminating some of those descriptive words that we found misleading eg; immaculate, gourmet, exuding luxury. This condo is modest at best.
Owner's Response: Hello Jan,
I explained that if you would have let me know that there was a problem upon check-in with cleanliness (or any other concern) that I would have corrected the situation. However, calling me after your departure to make sure your security is on its way, and THEN complaining- is not conducive for a refund.
I was shocked to learn that you supposedly did not even stay at the property , especially since my maid had to wait for you to come and return the key to my condo in order to clean for the next renter who was coming in that day. Why would you have the key? By the way- I had to pay an additional amount for her to wait nearly an hour to even obtain a key that was missing from the lockbox. This was just and unfortunate situation. I apologize for any misunderstanding, and I offered a complimentary future stay, which wasnt accepted. That was more than fair, and that is as far as Im willing to take this, especially since I was blindsided to start with. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 3/4
Did you find this review helpful?