Would not Recommend
Submitted: April 16, 2013
Stayed: March 2013
The unit and the location are nice. However, during our Spring Break stay, another unit had been bought and was being redone. To take up the old tile floor, the new owner hired 1 person to use a jack hammer. So for 3 of the 4 days we were there, we listened to a very loud jack hammer instead of the ocean. We could hear it in the unit,(It was 3 floors up, but sounded like it was right next door,) by the pool, and even down by the beach, from 9:00a-5:00p. Reba with Myer's Property was on vacation, so we spoke with on-site management, and asked if they would control the noise. Their answer was that owners could do whatever they want during weekdays, and Management could do nothing.
Myers property offered to let us stay an additional night for free. But, staying to hear a 4th day of a jack hammer was the last thing we wanted to do. We all wanted to go home to some peace and quiet. In dealing with Myers Property, I did not ask for a refund, but in my opinion, it should have been offered. Our vacation was ruined with no recourse.
There are so many wonderful properties in the Destin area. I would never again take a chance on a condominium complex that provides no protection for it's renters. And, even though it was not the fault of Myer's Property, because they did not effectively address the issue, we will never rent from them again. Sorry
Owner's Response: As I had responded to you previously, I do understand that your stay was probably not the most pleasant. However, I have some things to point out. We did not know that a renovation was going on and the onsite management company is correct...every property owner has the right to do renovations whenever they want to. Also, the fact that you did not even contact me until Wednesday, 4 days after check in and the day you were to leave, made it very inappropriate then ask me for a refund, which you did verbally. Had you contacted me earlier, there was a chance for me to look for another place to move you. I would not have been able to guarantee success in placing you somewhere else, since that was a very popular week and everything I had was booked, but I would have tried very given the chance. Though I was on vacation, the only day that I was not reachable was the day of your arrival. I made that very clear and you had my cell number or my assistant's number to call. Finally, I did in fact offer you another night free, after I understood from you that the jackhammer had stopped. You did not accept this additional nights stay. I really and truly do not understand what else we were expected to do.
Helpful votes: 0/2
Did you find this review helpful?