MODERN COUNTRY HOUSE IN THE CATSKILLS

Meilan Chiu

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Meilan Chiu

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MODERN COUNTRY HOUSE IN THE CATSKILLS

Ellenville House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Located on a quiet country lane in the Catskill Park, this house is a perfect getaway, just two hours north from the GW bridge. Our beautiful, newly renovated, modern country house features an open floor plan on the first floor with a fully stocked cook's kitchen and bar counter, 12 person expandable dining table, a sitting area and a full bath just off the kitchen. The main room has 3 skylights and 2 french doors that provide plenty of light even on rainy days. The second floor has a half bath, master bedroom with a king size bed and en suite bathroom with spa shower, a bedroom with a queen size bed, and a third bedroom with a toddler bed and twin size bed with trundle that converts to a king size bed. There is a pool table and foosball table in the unfinished garage and an upright piano and cabinet full of board games in the main room. Wireless internet is available if you want to stay connected but when you arrive you will just want to sit back, relax and enjoy the quiet wonder of it all.

Outside is a large deck and an above ground pool (does it really matter if it's above ground - it's a pool!). The deck box houses all sorts of outdoor games including badminton and volleyball. There is also an outdoor woodburning fireplace - great way to stay warm in the evenings while marveling at the gazillion stars in the sky. Don't forget the hot chocolate and smores! Beyond the deck is a large open field on two acres populated with century old apple trees and swing sets for kids and adults.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Events Allowed

Meilan Chiu

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are a family of four with two young kids. We love to get away from the City for a relaxing weekend at our house. Our 4 year old daughter aptly calls our weekends in the Catskills 'an escape from the City'.

Meilan Chiu purchased this house in 2009

We started taking weekend trips to the Catskills many years ago and just fell in love with the beauty of the area. We started looking for a weekend place after we got married. As we were driving up Lackawack Hill Road the first time and feeling the openness of the mountain top, we knew the property would be right even before we saw it. It was a bright, sunny Spring day, the grass was green, the air was crisp and it just felt right. The house needed some work (which turned out to be a lot of work) but it's all worth it when our kids tell us how much they love going to the Catskills.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Modern Country House in the Catskills
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Modern Country House in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969212
917 952-3773
Ellenville Catskills
5

GREAT HOUSE IN THE COUNTRY!!

  • 5 of 5
We really enjoyed staying at this home. My kids loved all the toys, the play ground and the pool! The house was clean, modern and very comfortable!

We hope to come back again maybe in the winter but hopefully again next summer!
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Modern Country House in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969212
917 952-3773
Ellenville Catskills
5

GREAT FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
We had a great vacation. The house was nicer than we expected, and the yard was huge. Because we live in the city, the room for the children to run around was an unexpected bonus. We spent most of the week enjoying the use of the pool, which was the main attraction for us. However, we also went hiking and found a beautiful waterfall nearby. The scenery was breathtaking!
Meilan and her husband were very helpful and available whenever we had a question. We would recommend this as a great family vacation.
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Modern Country House in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969212
917 952-3773
Ellenville Catskills
4

WONDERFUL TIME AWAY

  • 4 of 5
We stayed at this lovely house for 2 nights with another family.
The house match the pictures. The kitchen was perfect for a large family, outdoors was spacious and we enjoyed a friendly deer visiting :).
At night you could sit outside and enjoy the lovely site of fire flies.
The house is secluded yet close to town.
You should bring your own toilet paper, paper towels and such. Otherwise the place is neat, clean and well stocked.
The wireless internet had issues and unfortunately the mifi wasn't working very well.
There is a land line if you need service, which was super helpful.
The owners are kind, attentive and fast to answer any questions.
The small bedroom can fit 3 young ones, but its very tight space.
Overall, we had a lovely time and would go back.
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Modern Country House in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969212
917 952-3773
Ellenville Catskills
Brooklyn,NY
5

GREAT GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here with my family and we had a great time. The kids loved the pool and the slide and swing set. Kitchen was very modern and spacious with all amenities needed to prepare a meal. The pictures provided are accurate description of the house. AC were available in the house but it got so breezy at night that they weren't needed. The daytime was a bit warmer so we used the AC then. The open skylight provided a nice breeze. State Park, scenic views and grocery stores were a short drive away. Overall it was a nice getaway from the city life and I would stay here again.
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern Country House in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969212
917 952-3773
Ellenville Catskills
Queens, NY
5

GREAT FAMILY GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
This was an ideal getaway for the family. Incredibly quiet and peaceful area. The house is modern/updated and very kid-friendly. The grounds are very large and make a great place for kids to run around and play. The owner was great and really a pleasure to deal with it. This is a perfect place for a relaxing vacation.
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Modern Country House in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969212
917 952-3773
Ellenville Catskills
Chicago
3

IT'S NOT 5 STARS.

It's not 5 stars.
  • 3 of 5
After reading 5 star reviews, I had high expectations for this property. I was disappointed. The house was not ready or organized to receive guests. No bath towels to be found. No paper towels in the kitchen. No toilet paper. Every "softsoap" container in the bathrooms and the kitchen were 1/2 filled with water to look as though there was soap in them. In both showers there was used bar soap. Additionally, the house is full of the owners excess property. Every closet is packed with garbage bags full of clothes, and other stuff so if you need to hang anything there is no space available. The game system in the garage doesn't work. There is no air conditioning but a ton of fans. There is no wifi. The refrigerator and freezer had old food in it. No screened doors on the first floor to let any breeze in beyond the couple of windows. On the last evening of our stay the power went out. There was no candles or flashlights in the house to help navigate this issue. Overall, this place was fair to average.
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can't address any issues we are not aware of so we encourage all guests to call us and let us know if there are any issues (we provide two cell phone contact numbers). We try the best we can to resolve all issues when it is brought to our attention. We do work hard to make sure guests are satisfied.

I informed Carolyn prior to her stay that lightning struck the telephone line by the house causing a surge of electricity into the house which compromised some of the appliances and amenities including the washer and wifi. We restored all services as quickly as we could. The washer was fixed during her stay. Unfortunately, the wifi and satellite internet were not yet fixed but now are operating fine (we have a modem available on-site for dial-up access if this happens again). Carolyn called me on her arrival to inquire about the location of the towels. I told her where the towels are and asked if there were any other issues and was told everything was fine. I followed up the next morning to make sure everything was OK and she assured me everything else was fine. Because the washer was not working before Carolyn's arrival, the housekeeper had to go to a laundromat to do laundry and in her haste, forgot to re-stock some other items and did not place the towels where it should be. If Carolyn had informed me of her issues, it would have been easily remedied by informing her where the supplies are located.

The gaming system in the garage works - the powerstrip just needs to be turned on. There is a hanging bug screen for one set of french doors and there are 3 skylights that can be opened to circulate air (using the remote on the wall by the thermostat). We actually do not advertise that we have air conditioning in the house. However, we do have air conditioning at the house now which is available if you need it but the nights are generally cool enough that you don't. We also have a whole house fan to cool the house down quickly. There are candles in the kitchen drawer next to the dishwasher in case of a power outage. Unfortunately, the lightning strike occurred just prior to Carolyn's stay and there was a power outage during her stay and she did not communicate her all her concerns to us. This is our home away from home and we love it, we sincerely want guests to enjoy their time visiting and return.
Email Owner Email

Map

The house is close to year round activities including hiking trails at Sam's Point Preserve (20 mins), Minnewaska State Park (20 mins), or Mohonk Mountain Preserve (25 mins). Many of the trails are old carriage trails so it is great for hiking with kids. Horseback riding is available year round. The Shawungunk Wine Trail includes 12 vineyards and wineries of the Hudson Valley and is just 20 mins away www.shawangunkwinetrail.com. Amazing culinary experiences in Kerhonkson, Rosendale and Stoneridge are about 20 minutes away.

In the Fall, against the backdrop of vibrant foliage, pick your own fruit at the many local orchards. Stone Ridge Orchard, about 25 minutes away is an orchard we particularly love. In the winter, cross country and downhill skiing and ice climbing are available in Belleayre, Hunter and Windham, about 45 mins away.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Ellenville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer/Fall
May 1 2014 - Sep 30 2014
Changeover Day: Sunday
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$325
Fri,Sat
$1,680
$5,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter/Spring
Oct 1 2014 - Apr 30 2015
Changeover Day: Sunday
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,540
$4,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,680
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49.00
Cleaning Fee $125.00
Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Pet Fee $200.00
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Holiday weekends require a 3 night minimum stay. Inquire about last minute specials.

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Ellenville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Family
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Mobile Phone
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Heating
  • Filtered Water
  • Local Maps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Water Cooler
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Blender
  • Oven
  • Coffee Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , Twin bed with trundle converts to King
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofabed
  • Pack n play and toddler bed available.
Entertainment:
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Television
  • Games ...
  • Toys ...
  • Books for Kids
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Pool Table
Outside:
  • Child's Swing
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Events Allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • live theater
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • playground
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • hunting
  • hiking
Notes:
Free Long Distance. About 10 miute drive to pair of nesting bald eagles. Fully equipped kitchen featuring a 5 burner stove and dual oven. The open floor plan allows you to be part of the party while you are busy cooking up a storm. Cell Phone service : Verizon works sporadically. ATT and other carriers have weak signal.
Email Owner Email