Not acurately described nor reflected as in photos
Submitted: May 15, 2012
Stayed: May 2012
1. The process from start to finish was flawed in that the owner "lost" our deposit check, fortunately we had copy and was able to fax proof.
2. The property did accurately have sleeping for 14 plus --- no private room except master up a spiral stair case
3. The property had clean baths and linens, however that was it! The rest was below average regarding cleaniness. It took a full day of cleaning the pots and pans, oven was not clean,coffee pot, refrigerator. We left the sugar and the spices stuck to the shelves and did not clean those cabinets.
4.There was no gas at all in the very small gas grill. When owner was contacted he told us to get gas at a local gas station, at 7:30 pm when we were expecting to be grilling! Money was not reimbursed for this.
5. The property owner called to insure all was adequate and mentioned he was coming by the first morning, he did not show. We had not had a chance to inspect things yet.
6. He called again to say he was coming by the second morning, we told him we were hosting a graduation party (we needed to rent a grill from independant firm). At this time we notified him to the poor condition of the kitchen. IN THE AFTERNOON, the day of our graduation party, he showed up with a large mower and proceeded to mow the lawn as our guests arrived and proceeded to try and mow the lawn around our guests with all of the food on tables and people playing ring toss,...we requested he mow another time.
7. There are no pets allowed, we knew this and a guest arrived with her dog on a leash and it was KEPT OUTSIDE, he made her put the dog in the car.
8. If the weather had not cooperated, it would not have been a successful graduation event for our daughter.
9.The setting is great and perfect for young families, multigenerational families, like ourselves.
10. The spiral stairs do not work well for anyone over 55 years old!
11. The property owner would need to significantly step up the organization and cleanliness to warrant the asking price of $7,500.00! Not when one day is spent cleaning! Bring your own toilet paper and paper towels and cleaners, trash bags, etc....be prepared.
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Maggie,
We're very sorry our home didnt meet your expectations but you did get everything promised in words, pictures, & more! We just put in over $10,000.00 in NEW Custom Funishings, bedding, draperies, kitchenware, flat screen tv, dishes, etc... I guess you just missed all that???
The sleeping arrangements were discussed several times over the 6 phone conversations we had before you arrived. The pictures are also very accurate showing all of the room's and their setup except for the fact those are old pictures and don't even show the Amazing updates. Maggie, I personally saw the dishes being ran through the dishwasher so I know the pots and pans were spotless! Maybe you should have brought your N.J. nanny?
If there was any problem at all, just like at a hotel you could have simply called me & someone would have immediately addressed it! We also apologize if our normal sized grill didn't fit your UNANNOUNCED PARTY SIZE!!! Our home is equipped with accomodations to fit its capacity and if you didn't try and SNEAK a FREE graduation party into it everything would have been fine. With permission from us; catering, weddings, and several other large events have taken place without a hitch. And sorry I can't control Central NY weather but that Friday is when we cut the grass so when I witnessed your guests arriving and just recklessly parking all over my front lawn I was somewhat surprised by yours and your guests lack of concern for someone elses property. Maggie, we also spoke explicitly about pets being allowed so when my son told me there was a dog up on the inside upper deck and heard someone say F***Em it's my dog and we are paying for the house. YES, I was upset and by then there were other people arriving with several dogs. One of which was whitnessed to "Poop" on the lawn and the owner just walked away!!! So after telling you NO PETS you decieded to bring your dog anyway...NICE. Like I told you, I'm a dog lover. Having 3 myself who stay home just because of the alergies some people have. I have a responsibility to keep the rental safe and sound while people are staying there.
I'm glad everything else worked out for you. I hope your daughter enjoyed her graduation & much congratulations to her. Please say Hi to Paul he's a wonderful man.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?