Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Romantic Over Water Cottage W/ Sleeping Porch. 7th Night Free!

Cheryl Strack

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Cheryl Strack

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Romantic Over Water Cottage W/ Sleeping Porch. 7th Night Free!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Hot Springs House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Sleeping Porch, 2 Baths (Sleeps 2-4)

Property Name - Bayside Cottage

A romantic get away is waiting for you on the waters edge. Come and enjoy this unique 1 bedroom that is perfect for couples or a small family. Tuck your self into your cozy queen size bed while the kids are sleeping on the pull out sofa in the living room. The new beautifully appointed deck over hangs the water and is the perfect spot to enjoy your morning coffee or relax in the evening while the sun goes down. Fish from the deck or just watch the bobbers bounce from the sofa and then just reel them in! You will enjoy the new stainless BBQ grill that sits near by and can cook that meal right there. If you get too hot, just wade into the water on the stone steps that lead you right into the lake.

The new screened in porch outfitted with a wood burning fireplace and 50'' monitor will provide a private place for you or the kids to watch that football game or play with the provided Wii.

Enjoy the outdoor speakers as they play from your iPod over the lake while you dance under the stars. Wash the lake away in the Japanese shower room before settling down for dinner. It is all there and a perfect romantic spot right on the water.

If you ever decide to leave, there is always historic Hot Springs with the bathhouses, spas and live music at the Arlington Hotel downtown. The casino is open year round and the horse racing season starts in January. There are rivers all around and canoe rental trips are always a family favorite. Party barges can be rented on the lake and there are many float up restaurants that are wonderful.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Cheryl Strack (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Romantic Over Water Cottage W/ Sleeping Porch. 7th Night Free!
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
Dallas
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I rented this house on the lake for a getaway weekend, great decision. The house is perfect for a couple or small family. It is literally right on the water, and the view is incredible. There are a lot of steps to get down to the house, so be prepared to carry your cooler and your luggage. The house is only 10 minutes from Hot springs and only 3 minutes from a grocery store (very convenient to get supplies and things you forgot). The house was very clean and had everything you needed (dishes, grill, sun porch, fridge, etc). We brought our dog and there was plenty of room for him to run around. The houses is actually at the bottom of the “main house” so you have access to a dock if you brought a boat or wanted to paddle board. Right off the deck, there are steps that walk down into the water, so it is great to be able to not have to jump in to cool down. We cooked most of our meals at the house, so it was nice to not have to rely on going into town every time we were hungry. There are instructions for using the TV, sound system, and other electronics, no need to worry about trying to “figure it out”. The absolute best part of this house is the screened in area with a TV, bathroom/shower and sitting area. In this room, they have “blinds” that go up and down with the flip of a switch. So we were able to have a comfortable area to relax while it rained. If you plan to go into hot springs, I recommend you contact the Arlington hotel and make reservations for the bath houses there. Nothing but good things to say, we will back next time we visit!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
West Monroe, LA
4

So cute and comfy!

  • 4 of 5

Great weekend on the lake and at the track. Manager could not be nicer. The cabin is small but very clean, the bed sleeps awesome! Sits right on the water, so peaceful. Well worth it!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Somerville, Texas
1

Extremely Unhappy

  • 1 of 5

This place was a absoloutely horrible, filthy, moldy, dirty, not represented according to pictures on the site. I don't know who owns this property but I think you need to find new property managers. They made NO effort to clean or maintain the property before our arrival. Stains on furniture, not fitting to sit on, bath tub would not drain, closest full of their things, porch and furniture on porch black with mold, leaves and filth everywhere. Air conditioner full of dust and filth, rails down to the so called house were missing and steps were broken and leaning, no lights on stairs except for two all else burned out. Big hole at end of steps on deck which my husband fell in. They don't tell you the only way to get to the screend in porch is to go outside to access it through another door or that there is no heating or air and very little lighting. Furniture in the screend in area was worn and dirty. This is the only room with a fire place and big TV. The shower in this room is directly in front of the doorway to the outside so becareful not to flash the neighbors. The other side of the house is very small and uncomfortable, no blinds on the windows so don't expect to get comfortable in your night close with out all the neighbors watching you. Advertised with fire wood and you get four small logs which we didn't use because there was no way we were going to sit on the furniture in the screened in porch area anyway. Lots of stairs down to the house so if you have trouble walking or climbing this is defintely not the place. We had no choice but to stay the first night since it was late when we arrived. We left early the next morning and called the property managers to let them know how unhappy we were and there suggested was to put put us someplace else which we were not willing to chance. We drove eght hours to get there and eight hours back in two days and were told we would not be refunded. The managers of this property didn't see anything wrong with the property obvisously they are used to living in these condtions. I took lots of pictures but unfortuntely they don't allow you to upload them with your review. We plan to notify the BBB and several other authorities in this area.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Becky, I am so sorry that you were so unhappy with your brief stay at the cottage. This is a very old cottage and we have not remodeled it, as we want to in the future. We have contacted the cleaning service and the property manager to discuss your issues and they have addressed them. We have replaced the window units in the cottage. They were original when we purchased this property. I hate the old heating fans in the walls as well, but until we install central heat and air, those units will have to do. The size is small but as advertised. We have just redone the bed mattress, new bedding sheets and down coverlet, new headboard and side tables, new ottomans, new curtain and new lamps and sconces in the bedroom just before your trip. The blinds on the windows in the front little room overlooking the water are tied up with bows and when you untie them they drop right down. The only people who could see in the cottage are fishermen. All lights are working properly now on the stairs. The transformer blew out and had to be ordered to be replaced. The stairs have handrails solidly on the right hand side of the stairs all the way down, the left side is open so you can cut across the yard if you wanted. Yes, this cottage is down the hill and sits directly over the waters edge. The screened in porch is just that..a porch. Normally they are not heated or cooled. We have recessed cans and track lighting in the porch area all on dimmers. Maybe they were turned down? We have the bathroom/ shower out there and it does have a door to close if you shower or go to the bathroom. We are in the process of getting the porch cushions recovered as well as the outside ones in a dark material more rental friendly. We leave firewood at the cottage, but do not stack a full rack as the winter months are our slower time. The main stack is located at the upper house where you park your car. We did offer to get you into the upper house that is completely updated and new, but you had already left. We take your review very seriously and will continue as finances become available to update and make improvements as we can. Thanks for your input. Cheryl Bryson Owner
4

Going back this week...

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here two summers ago and fell in love with the place! We're headed that direction again on Wednesday and will even be staying a bit longer this time. We had a few questions when we arrived the first time, but our questions were addressed immediately and we can't wait until Wednesday! Just hope the rain stays away because the forecast isn't looking too good. Arriving 06/25, but the calendar wouldn't let me put that date in.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
2

Not happy!!

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I stayed here mid-May. The pictures sold us- right on the water,cozy,comfortable. And it was a great location. Right on the water, secluded but close to everything, very quiet. Couldn't ask for a nicer view with morning coffee. But it was dirty. Very dirty. Stains on the ceiling, the walls, the couch cushions. Half inch of dust/dirt on the ceiling fans and the air conditioner.Thank goodness I brought my own bed linens. The couch on the screen in porch needs new cushions, they are stained,ripped,and plain wore out. Moldy shower curtain. I took pictures of the inside, because after reading the glowing reviews we were really let down. More than half the stairway step lights are out. The grill has not been cleaned or used in a very long time- the grill is rusty. I did text the owner when we first got there because we could not find the key to the screen porch- it has a separate entrance. Never heard anything from them. We were very disappointed in the overall cleanliness of the house. This is the first time we have had a bad experience with anything from VRBO. Perhaps the property is managed by an outside company. If so- owners-you need to go inspect this property and do some repairs. It could be truly something very nice.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Barb, Thank you so much for your review. Even if it was not glowing, it is very useful to us to try and maintain our cottage to the best of our ability. Since reading your review this morning, we have gone to the house to address your issues and have conferenced with the property manager and the cleaning service. We have also taken your advise to refabricate and recover the screened in porch sofa cushions in a more "renter friendly color" other than the current white ones. This cottage is quite old and we plan to redo the inside at some point in the future so it is more modern looking. Hopefully you will check back with us again. Thanks so much for your honest input and we do take it to heart. All the best to you and yours, Cheryl
Dallas, TX
5

Great Place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at this property for a father/son fishing trip - the place was perfect! We spent most of our time on the deck which is right on the water. It was great to fish and swim right off the deck! The location on the lake was perfect - there was not too much boat traffic, so the water was nice and peaceful. The property was well maintained, and the owners Richard & Kathy provided top notch customer service from booking all the way through leaving. Would highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hot Springs House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning USD60

Notes

  • $135-$175/nt
  • Racing Season (Jan 01-May 14) .. $155/night;
    No smoking.;
    Two night minimum, cleaning service $60.;
    Security Deposit $200;
  • With Minimum Age Limit for Renter.;
    Dates Available: Year Round.;
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Hot Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Security System
  • Telephone
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 -
    Full 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • With Additional Sleeping Porch. Covertible bed also available.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote