Seen better days ...
When you arrive at the gate and nothing seems square or maintained it's always a good indication as to what you are going to find.
The villas are old and poorly maintained. The external of the building needed a wash and paint as did all of the public areas. The shrubs were overgrown and hadn't seen any professional treatment for some years. The paintwork and maintenance that had been done could only be classed as amateur and the whole place had a "grubby" feel. I wouldn't say it was dirty but not as one would expect. The outside shower next to the swimming pool was broken and although it was mended once we had pointed this out to the owner, it had obviously been broken for sometime.
We had the small apartment which had a small verandah,1 bedroom and bathroom and the latter being old and in need of a complete refurbishment. All of the curtains needed freshening and the rails they hung on needed re-fixing. It was impossible to use the air con at night as it was so noisy. When we first arrived we daren't use the water as it had such a strong smell - we had to report it. Having said that the cooking facility/fridge was very good. The outside furniture was also old and a mishmash of chairs. I really wasn't happy with this venue and had it not been for the fact that I had paid for my second week I would definitely had not returned. There was no safe for personal belongings and as the front door's locking mechanism was very poor we did not feel comfortable leaving any personal documentation in the villa. When this was specified to the owner she said that they had never been asked about a safe before which I found impossible to believe. Whilst at this venue we met other residents all of whom voiced similar views and disappointment.
The venue was run by means of telephone communication to the owner and by the mailbox where the key or any messages were left. I found it most strange to run a venue as such without immediate hands on. In our opinion we would not recommend staying here until it has been drastically refurbished. However, we were determined not to let a thing like this spoil our holiday and very much enjoyed the area of Fort Lauderdale to which I will return. Sadly to say not to this venue.
Owner's Response: Unfortunately "you cannot please all the people all the time." I am not quite certain why this negative review was written several months after the stay.All the other guests that stayed during this time had a wonderful time and had nothing but fantastic things to say about the place. There is really no sense in addressing the issues regarding the outside condition of the property because we just painted the entire building this past week. We purposely do not over-cut the shrubs and trees because they provide shade and we and our "repeat guests" just love the abundance of flowers and beautiful foliage. Because of my horticulture back-round I am very conscious of not over-pruning. As a matter of fact I just planted even more flowers! However, I do understand that not everyone enjoys gardening and horticulture. Villa #1 is our smaller unit and this is prefaced in all our advertising. This unit is for those on a budget. It is suitable for a single guest or a couple. We are very accurate in our advertising.It is a lovely unit and we receive many wonderful reviews. The A/C is new. However, some guests prefer central A/C.
I am not sure how to address the issue of the water in South Florida. The residents here drink bottled or distilled water. South Florida residents understand that our water is not like the water in the Northern parts of Florida such as Ginnie Springs. However, we still love it here and refuse to move because of the water...LOL.!
All the Villas have a front door lock as well as a dead-bolt. All the locks and dead-bolts are in perfect working order. We do not have safes in the units.This is illustrated in the ammenites section of all our ads so our guests can decide if it is imperative to their stay.The property, like most vacation rentals, is run by means of telephone communication. Most vacation rental owners do not live on the property. However, I live 1 mile from the property and frequent it in the morning and in the evening meeting our guests and saying "hello."
I asked all our other guests that stayed with us in December to post a review so we can get some more different opinions. They all had a wonderful time and I recently invited them to post a review.
Bayview Villas understands we cannot please everyone all the time and are constantly striving to be the #1 vacation rental in Fort Lauderdale. We thank you for your constructive criticism and hope we can please you on another visit. Kindest Regards to all our past and future guests!
Helpful votes: 9/10
Did you find this review helpful?