Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LUXURY FIVE BEDROOM HOUSE ON SEAFRONT IN STUNNING BAY

STEVE MILLER

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese, italian
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

STEVE MILLER

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LUXURY FIVE BEDROOM HOUSE ON SEAFRONT IN STUNNING BAY

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Great Exuma House Rental Photos and Description

5 BEDROOMS, 4 FULL BATHROOMS AND ONE HALF BATHROOM

Jolly Turtle House is a new, modern build, two story house overlooking Stocking island and the beautiful secluded Jollie Bay in Exuma.

There are numerous turtles,rays and fish, ideal for snorkeling around the corals in front of the house. There is a deck and railings that are literally a few feet from the sea . The house was built with panoramic views in mind, and upstairs the master bedroom suite with four poster bed, has its own balcony, overlooking the stunning turquoise blue, shallow waters that are very safe for kids. The house has its own private, swimming pool, all protected wrap around, with see through railings ideal for families.

A local convenience store, with drug and liquor stores, are within walking distance of the house.

Stocking island is only a five minute boat ride across the bay.

The house is only two miles from Georgetown and 15 minutes from the airport. The house is set in a very secluded, stunning shallow bay with no immediate neighbors.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
STEVE MILLER (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
LUXURY FIVE BEDROOM HOUSE ON SEAFRONT IN STUNNING BAY
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
5

An Ideal Beach House!

  • 5 of 5

The Jolly Turtle House met and exceeded our expectations! The house's panoramic view of the ocean from the back porch and master bedroom balcony was just as amazing, if not better, than shown in the photos online. The house is spacious and has enough room for a large group to stay comfortably.

The water at the house's beachfront was shallow and made for fun snorkeling. One of the other highlights of our stay at the Jolly Turtle came as an extra bonus: the view of the stars and night sky was the best we've seen in years due to hardly any light pollution in the area. We would return to the Jolly Turtle.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Perfect!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of four adults and three teenagers stayed at the Jolly Turtle and it was amazing. The location of and views from the house are breathtaking. We are glad we selected Exuma as our destination as it was so secluded and peaceful! We really have no complaints about the house or our stay. It was very spacious, clean, and we were able to cook almost all of our meals for seven days at the house. Definitely go to Stocking Island, book the Ocean Safari with Exuma Water Sports (at the north end of the island--swim with the pigs!) and interact with the locals--what friendly people! Renting a car is also highly recommended. Thanks to Wendy for answering our questions.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kelly for those kind words, and so pleased you enjoyed the house and views that we call Paradise on earth . regards Steve
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

What GREAT time we had at Jolly Turtle hose. The house was clean and neat. Perfect for the five Stewart cousins and spouses. Thanks for the condiments, spices and coffee that were stocked for us. The views were amazing. We wanted to just sit forever and look out at the beautiful water. What a treat for us that there was a regatta going on that week. We saw some beautiful boats every morning!! There were a couple of issues but a quick call to Steve and all was fixed. Sorry for the middle of the night call...too many Goombay Smashes! Our stay was wonderful; thanks to Patrick our taxi man, Bob with the Exuma Cays Adventure and Dallas with the fishing charter. Stocking Island and Chat 'N Chill were lots of fun. We even joined in the tournament fun with coconut challenge, beach golf and bocce ball. Won a couple of awards too! Have already recommended you, Steve, to friends who are looking for a great place. Thank you again for a wonderful time and hopefully the Stewarts will return soon!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very kind words and many thanks. Jolly Turtle looks forward to seeing you all again soon!
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect. The view is amazing and the house has a very airy feel to it. We rent lots of houses all over and really appreciated that someone was thinking when they designed this house. The bathrooms and bedrooms were well planned. The necessary conveniences are in the kitchen and laundry and we really loved the solid clear railing which doesnt seem like a big deal until you are on the deck during a high wind. Also, it was fantastic to have a pool for swimming at night. Rent a boat at Minns and hire Bob at exumaseatours.com to take you to Staniel Cay for the day to swim with pigs and dive the gratto. Enjoy.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words. We have spent a lot of time and money recently on revamping the house facilities and glad you enjoyed the House.
3

disappointed

  • 3 of 5

We read all the reviews on the web page and our expectation level was high. We were celebrating our 40th anniversary with our children and grandchildren.

On a positive note, the setting was perfect as was the pool which was cleaned during our stay and the beach and the beautiful water were all as described. The owner did respond to emails.

For us the issue was cleanliness, furniture and equipment.

The fridge and cupboards were dirty and disorganized with left over food from previous renters. We spent the first 3 hours cleaning and vacuuming with a wet/dry vac.

The beds had not been changed - there were sheets with hairs and beds with ants. I washed all the sheets which are of very poor quality - NOT cotton. The cleaning service did come round and give me detergent. It would have been nice to have had all the polythene off the beds and bed skirts put on.

A number of the dining room chairs had broken backs and the leather settees had cracked and split which made sitting very uncomfortable. The sofas had been covered with ill-fitting stretchy covers. To be fair, the handyman came immediately and repaired the chairs for us. The sofas need replaced.

The TV in the lounge worked for a few minutes then lost the picture - the tv in the bedroom did not work. We complained about this, BUT it was the holidays so nothing of substance could be done.

There were not enough unbroken glasses for us to sit at dinner and each have a wine glass.

We cook and the utensils for doing so were limited. No blender for drinks, no measuring cups, no wooden spoons - very few basics. And all in disarray.

Sadly we could not recommend this property to our friends, (unless there were upgrades) and were told by all the folks who came to help us that there have been a number of complaints regarding the sheets and the furniture and the equipment. These folks were great, but losing heart with this situation.

Exuma beach resort was great for dinner and lunch - walkable but also a taxi ride for the way home. The beach just down the road was also lovely and we took it in turns to swim there and walk back. The wee market is very close - shuts early on a Sunday which was unexpected for our arrival - we should have done more homework. The islanders are wonderful about offering lifts when one has 2 wee ones in tow. We did hire a car for part of our stay and visited other beaches and Georgetown.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very sorry to read this review, particularly after we responded immediately to your concerns and also being Christmas, pleased that everyone looking after the house were able to come round and fix all of the small items you mentioned . The sheets are of reasonable quality some brand new cotton and some with cotton mix to avoid crumples. Two seats out of the twelve seats had merely worked loose, which were also fixed immediately. The cleaning lady came back immediately to rectify the few areas you were concerned about. There seems to be a large degree of exaggeration going on here as there is a blender and sufficient glasses and crockery for 12 people in the house we bought just before your arrival. She had left food and various items ourt of kindness in the cupboards thinking you would be grateful for that, instead of complaining they were there. We have two very expensive satelite televisions and immediately fixed those, and indeed now replaced again after only one year with brand new televisions to avoid any issues like this happening again. We are glad that, as you say, the house and pool were acceptable to you.
5

Wonderful Stay at Jolly Turtle

  • 5 of 5

This is a great, large house in a fantastic location. It is close to several beautiful beaches and George Town, while at the same time seeming very private. The house was extremely comfortable, well appointed, and clean. It had amazing views of the ocean, which is mere steps away from the front balcony where we spent the vast majority of our time while at the house! The water right in front of the house, while not a wide sandy stretch, was perfect for short swims at the beginning and end of each day.

Steven was a pleasure to work with and was always quick to respond to any questions whatsoever when we were planning our trip.

In all, Jolly Turtle and Great Exuma are both definitely recommended. While we didn't get to to make it to the Land and Sea Park (that's for next time), our trips to Stocking Island and Chat n Chill, which are visible front the house, were both outstanding - the Sunday pig roast is highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Talid I am very happy you all enjoyed yourselves and you are welcome back anytime you like.

Map

Car: recommended

There is a fantastic golf course 20 minutes drive away in Emerald Bay. Numerous boating and fishing activities in very safe waters.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $2,750 Per week

Great Exuma House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
BASIC RATE
Jan 3 2014 - Jul 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes WEEKLY RATE DEPENDS UPON SEASON, BUT STARTS LOW SEASON AT $2,550 PER WEEK OR LESS FOR 2 PEOPLE IN STAGES UP TO $3,500 PER WEEK FOR 10 PEOPLE.

RATES DO NOT INCLUDE ANY CHARGES, OR SEPARATE PAYMENTS TO THE COMPANY LOOKING AFTER OUR PROPERTY THAT ARE REQUESTED BY YOU TO THEM SUCH AS A DAILY MAID OR COOK ETC..
IMPORTANT NOTICE IS THAT INFANTS OR BABIES CONSTITUTE ONE PERSON.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Great Exuma House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Secure Parking
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
  • The main bathroom suite upstairs is a large roman style KOHLER tub with columns .
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
  • MAIN MASTER BEDROOM WITH FOUR POSTER BED SUITE UPSTAIRS HAS LARGE 40'' SCREEN SATELLITE TV AND ENSUITE LARGE BATHROOM . ALSO A SEPARATE BALCONY OVERLOOKING THE STUNNING TURQUOISE WATERS AND STOCKING ISLAND, THERE IS ALSO A SEPARATE A/C UNIT . THERE IS A SEPARATE 32'' SATELLITE TV IN THE MAIN LIVING ROOM OF THE HOUSE.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are optional services provided by the company that looks after our house, but these must be paid for as separate items such as daily maid or cook etc.. There is plug in internet access with WIFI and a phone for local calls only.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote