ZEN BEACH RETREAT-LUXURIOUS SPA

From
$175
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Sweet Homes Rentals

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ZEN BEACH RETREAT-LUXURIOUS SPA

Yachats House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

**Oct. 1st - May 31st The third night is FREE - excluding holidays - Not included in VRBO quoted total, please send inquiry for exact pricing.**

Stunning Yachats Zen beach retreat house. Romantic, one-of-a-kind home with very close beach access and filtered ocean views. Renovated in 2008 with new living/dining area, furniture, deck, new view windows in master bedroom and the living room and a dishwasher. Great separation of space with second bedroom/studio apt - separate private entrance.

Relax in the unique Asian bathroom spa equipped with a gas stove, sauna, two-person Japanese soaking tub and glass brick shower which juts out into the garden to capture the morning sun. Wake up in the morning and wander into your private meditation garden for coffee - sit in nature listening to the sounds of the ocean and the birds. Or sip coffee on the deck listening to the waves and looking at the ocean.

When you are feeling more energetic walk 200 feet to a beautiful, wide, sandy beach that goes on for miles.

Enjoy form and function at the Zen House - including the master craftsman woodwork and Zen-style influences throughout this beautiful and unique home. Includes Internet access (wireless- 15Mpbs and Ethernet) for those who must be web enabled - and Cable TVs and CD/DVD player for your inside entertainment needs. The kitchen is fully equipped for the gourmet cook with quality implements. Relax in the reclining leather chair, put your feet up on the ottoman and read your beach book while sipping your favorite beverage. This is not your typical beach rental!

The second bedroom is a studio apt above the detached garage with a separate entrance. This provides great separation of space for children or another couple. It has a double bed, sink, refrigerator, TV/Cable, and a small futon. A deck connects the master bedroom and the studio apt.

Be our guests and enjoy the wonderful ambiance of this Asian-style romantic retreat home. Definitely a one-of-a-kind experience that will compliment your special vacation or honeymoon. Please check our reviews and you will find that this house is well loved and many folks come back to stay with us.

Please Note: We do not use VRBO's online calendar, but we do keep the calendar on our website up-to-date. Please email us or see our website to check for availability. Thanks!

Keywords: House, vacation rental, pet friendly, private spa, sauna, soaking tub, romantic get away

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered

Sweet Homes Rentals

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Hi folks, I am a professional musician and an IT consultant. I play violin, piano and compose music, and work in the field of Geographic Information Systems (what's that?? - I won't bother explaining). My sweetie is a first grade teacher. We enjoy traveling, hiking, skiing - an active life. And of course we love being at the beach in Oregon.

Sweet Homes Rentals purchased this house in 2005

This house is so unique - the design, craftsmanship and feel of the place immediately drew me to it. I also knew the owners because they also own businesses (Toad Hall - go there!) in Yachats that I had been to and enjoyed. Ocean beaches have always been special to me - and Yachats is my favorite place on the Oregon Coast - and it's only 2 hours from Eugene where I live. So when this came up for sale - I snatched it up.

Everyone that stays here recognizes the special qualities of the Zen Beach Retreat House - usually guests feel very relaxed and excited at the same time to be in such an unusual, high quality home - without the high price.

For less than the cost of a typical coastal hotel room one gets:

- A fully outfitted kitchen so you can cook for yourself and avoid the expense of eating out.

- A two-person Japenese soaking tub in a beautiful spa bathroom.

- A sauna.

- Beautiful Asian wood craftsmanship and design touches throught the house.

- Two different sleeping areas with great separation of space.

- A beautiful meditation garden and deck.

- Access to a beautiful, wide, sandy beach that goes on for miles - with few people on it.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

63 Reviews Write a Review
Zen Beach Retreat-Luxurious Spa
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 63 reviews
business
Zen Beach Retreat-Luxurious Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95669vb
Toll Free (800)519-0437
Yachats Coastal Oregon
Montana
5

Great home near friendly Yachats

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house was clean and well-maintained. We really researched our options before choosing this home for our stay at the coast, and this home delivered. The owner was helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. We liked being a very short walk to the beach. The home worked well for us and our 2 young children (7 month old and 3 year old). They actually slept in the walk in closet off the main bedroom and it worked great! Grandma and Grandpa joined us and stayed above the garage. They were very pleased with their room, and the separation from the main house was also some nice privacy. The locals in Yachats were so welcoming and friendly. We especially enjoyed the food/music at the Drift Inn. We loved seeing Devil's Churn at high tide, and did some hiking in Cape Perpetua. We would definitely recommend this home to friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Zen Beach Retreat-Luxurious Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95669vb
Toll Free (800)519-0437
Yachats Coastal Oregon
Palm Desert, CA
3

Time for maintenance

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at the Zen house in 2011. We loved the house and location. Based on our experience we decided to rent it again (about 2 years later). The condition of the unit was less than I expected. 1 wash cloth, numerous lights out, no dusting, etc. (I understand they had just changed cleaning personnel). It appears there has been no day to day maintenance performed in the last 2 years. The upstairs deck railings were in real need of restaining. The garden needs some TLC as benches needed refinishing, the fire pit was shot. All in all there are deferred maintenance issues that need to be dealt with. Assuming the owners deal with the maintenance issues, we would stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are aware of minor maintenance issues that needed to be done - but have had difficult scheduling time the last few months as the Zen House has been booked solid. We don't like interfering with guest's experience by having workers in and out during their stay - so we try to get these done during gaps in bookings - which have been few and far between. We've been talking about this the last few weeks and will probably have to get workers in during stays as it looks like the upcoming month is pretty busy as well. We hope you come back and find the Zen House as beautiful as ever. Thanks again for your business and your helpful comments.
business
Zen Beach Retreat-Luxurious Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95669vb
Toll Free (800)519-0437
Yachats Coastal Oregon
Eugene, OR USA
5

More Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This year was our third week-long stay at Zen Beach Retreat--and it is a true retreat for us, leaving the fast pace of city life once we enter the door. The high ceilings, wood and windows give this house such a serene atmosphere. The biggest draw is definitely the soaking tub. Very unique room design, with the feeling of soaking in the outdoors while actually being cozy inside the house. Not to be missed. Many pluses here: the deck, the glass block shower, sauna, and separate studio bedroom. Oh, and the, garden and well equipped kitchen! We ended up cooking almost all our meals, really relaxing rather than spending time driving into town to wait for tables. It's a best kept secret that the house is a super short walk to one of the very best strolling beaches in Oregon. Great, flat expanse where you will have plenty of space to enjoy the ocean view. Best of all, our dog can join us for our stay. The house is very well maintained and clean - there's a pretty comprehensive guide to the house left for guests and it's been very useful. We had fast response from the property manager regarding a change to the lockbox. Our recent experience was wonderful - has been every visit. We're already planning the next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Cindy,
I appreciate your loyalty to the Zen House and I am glad that you enjoy all the features that makes the Zen House so unique. My favorite aspect of the house, besides the obvious soaking tub, is that there is no TV downstairs. When I come to stay, I want to experience the ambiance and comfort of the living area and enjoy the people with me, without the distraction of a blaring TV.
I hope that you will continue to spend your summer vacations at the Zen House!
Nan
business
Zen Beach Retreat-Luxurious Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95669vb
Toll Free (800)519-0437
Yachats Coastal Oregon
1

If they told us there was raw sewage, we would not have come.

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The courtesy of a simple phone call would have made all the difference. Had the property manager or owner called to let us know there was a septic problem, we could have avoided the entire mess my family vacation became. As it turned out, there was a toilet backed up when we arrived and soon after raw sewage backing up into the shower and we could not use any water at all. Once the property manager assured us the septic tank would be pumped the day AFTER we arrived, she would not take another phone call when further problems (and ensuing unpleasant smells and health issues) arose. We could not stay in the house and the following two nights were spent in two other places, the last night in a cheap motel. We were told the house was cleaned, disinfected and deodorized for our return but came back only to find a padlock on the 2nd bathroom that had a backed up toilet and raw sewage in the shower and the house smelled even worse. Still, the property manager would not return our urgent calls. Although the house was charming, we never did get to soak in the tub or have what you would call a "zen" experience. We had to relocate every day, were exposed to raw sewage, were not able to use any water, and had many unexpected expenses. Our stay in the Zen House was stressful, to say the least. Most disappointing for me is the way it was handled. The courtesy of a call before we came or access to the property manager when we needed help would have made all the difference.
Owner's Response: We apologize for the inconvenience – but we didn't know there was a septic issue until shortly before your arrival – otherwise we would have either taken care of it – or helped you find other accommodations. Septic problems, like many other plumbing related issues, happen quite infrequently are very difficult to predict. We would never have rented the Zen House knowing there was an issue. Once you arrived we asked that you not flush the toilet and said that the problem would be resolved as soon as we could get the professionals in. The shower, soaking tub, and sinks in the main house are on a different system and could have been used. The next morning we moved you to another rental as soon as it was available. We then brought the plumber in, had the bathrooms cleaned and sanitized and made the house ready for your re-arrival the next day. The bathroom in the garage was locked because it was the cause and location of the problems and required additional work to correct the issue. There were two other usable bathrooms. You chose not to return and we issued you a full refund, provided free alternate housing for you and apologized profusely about the circumstances around your visit. In addition to what we provided you during your stay you also wanted us to purchase a weekend for you at another vacation rental during winter break. We felt that was unreasonable. We are sorry that that was not sufficient for you. The lack of communication came on the third day when you left me seven increasingly dramatic messages while I was hiking and out of cell phone service. Had all those calls been directed to our local property manager, as per your instructions, she could have helped you in a timely manner.
As for the future - we are looking into a monitoring system of some sort to help avoid this kind of problem should it arise. We are always looking for ways to improve the quality of the Zen House experience.
Nan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Zen Beach Retreat-Luxurious Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95669vb
Toll Free (800)519-0437
Yachats Coastal Oregon
Brooklyn, NY
5

Great retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house was such a lovely retreat for us. It was quiet, close to the beach, lovely tub and sauna, and just generally cozy:-) It was also very close to nearby towns that offered wonderful dining and fabulous seafood. I would definitely recommend this beautiful house on the Oregon Coast!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Eugene
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
1 Block Away

Beach access 200 ft, miles of wide, white, sandy beaches, Romantic Beach walks.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Yachats House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 23 2014 - May 25 2014
$300
3 nights
 
 
Mid-Season
Jun 1 2014 - Jun 30 2014
$225
3 nights
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2014 - Jul 1 2014
$300
1 night
 
 
4th of July
Jul 2 2014 - Jul 5 2014
$300
4 nights
 
 
Summer
Jul 6 2014 - Aug 31 2014
$300
3 nights
 
 
Mid-Season
Sep 1 2014 - Sep 30 2014
$225
3 nights
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 29 2014
$300
4 nights
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2014 - Dec 27 2014
$300
4 nights
 
 
New Years
Dec 28 2014 - Jan 3 2015
$300
3 nights
 
 
Summer 2015
Jul 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
$345
3 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$175
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50.00
Cleaning Fee $110.00
Tax Rate 13.5%
Notes **Standard (Oct. 1st - May 31st): $175/night (2 night minimum) The third night is FREE - excluding holidays - Not included in VRBO quoted total, please send inquiry for exact pricing.**

Dog Fee: 1st Dog Guest $50, each additional Dog Guest is $25

Holidays: Thanksgiving, Christmas through New Years, Spring Break (Oregon), Labor & Memorial Day Weekends, and 4th of July
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Yachats House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Beach View ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Garage ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Linens Provided
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Stove
  • Oven
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Spa - toilet , tub , shower , Japanese soaking tub, dry sauna, & glass block shower.
    Off Master Bedroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds in Master Bedroom, Double Bed in separate studio above garage with small futon (suitable for children).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • CD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Books
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • children welcome ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • wildlife viewing
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • cycling
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • rock climbing
  • surfing
  • golf
Notes:
Beautiful sauna. The hot tub is a two-person Japanese Soaking Tub (non jetted), large and beautiful private meditation garden, Deck with ocean view. Kitchen has coffee grinder and various methods of making coffee (drip, french press, coffee maker). There is a separate studio apt above the garage - with it's own entrance and bathroom downstairs.
Email Owner Email