Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

MODERN CABIN IDEAL FOR DEEP WOODS EXPERIENCE/RETREAT.

Lois Storc

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Lois Storc

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MODERN CABIN IDEAL FOR DEEP WOODS EXPERIENCE/RETREAT.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Franklin Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths. sleeps 6.

Cozy mountain cabin retreat, remote with view of large creek, complete with trout, that runs through the property. Hiking, fishing, whitewater rafting, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, gem hunting, all in the immediate area. Cabin has open floor plan so the cook is always part of the party. Outdoors is a large deck overlooking the creek and the distant mountains. Why go inside when you have a setting like this?

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lois Storc (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Modern cabin ideal for deep woods experience/retreat.
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
business
Modern cabin ideal for deep woods experience/retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956318
+1 -863-956-8129
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
null
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
We wanted to let everyone know that we just got back home from staying in this wonderful cabin. We all had a blast and the cabin is beautiful. The kids loved playing in the creek and cooking smores on the firepit. My husband and I enjoyed sitting on the deck listening to the creek. The weather was great while we were there and we were able to sleep at night with the sliding glass doors open. Mr. Tripp and his wife were awesome and assisted us with anything we needed. We look forward to coming back and staying again. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful place with us!!!!!
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for all the great comments! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.
business
Modern cabin ideal for deep woods experience/retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956318
+1 -863-956-8129
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Great Holiday Getaway

  • 5 of 5
My family had a great time. Both the owner and property manager were very easy to communicate and made sure we were going to have a great time. It is a secluded area and was perfect for what we were looking for. We were able to take hikes on and around the property without having to be worried about running in to others. Great time and Great place. I would highly recommend if you truly want to unplug and getaway!
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad you family was able to get in touch with nature and relax.
business
Modern cabin ideal for deep woods experience/retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956318
+1 -863-956-8129
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Very nice place !

  • 5 of 5
Just like it says ..Modern Cabin Deep woods retreat ! I found every thing we needed for a comfortable stay ! love the creek along side the house ! Be sure your GPS takes you in from Franklin NC ! Tellico rd goes over a gap if you don't come in from Franklin but if you have adventure on your mind you will want to blaze this gap !! What a blast !
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are appreciated
business
Modern cabin ideal for deep woods experience/retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956318
+1 -863-956-8129
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
1

Clean and equipped; comes with spiders and mold

  • 1 of 5
First, I would like to say that the cabin is well-equipped and homey; however, it does have a major problem: black mold. When we arrived we noticed the strong musty smell immediately and opened the sliding glass doors and windows thinking it just needed aired out. I was going to sleep downstairs, but the musty smell was too strong and it wasn’t as bad upstairs with the window and door open so we slept up there instead. We went downstairs into the basement and garage to look for an axe to cut the firewood and noticed the black mold on the wall next to the furnace. I have asthma and was sneezing a great deal when we were inside the cabin on the first floor, so we usually left and went somewhere through the day so I wouldn’t be there for it to agitate my asthma. I must admit, we did not have a very good time at the cabin.

I would also like to mention that the bottom of my car, 2008 Nissan Altima, did drag going up the driveway when I arrived. We had to place some fairly large stones in one of the ditches that runs across the driveway where the rain goes across so that the front end of my car did not hit it going back out. The road/driveway back to the cabin is gravel for approximately 2 miles.

There were a lot of large, black spiders on the porch so we did not sit on the porch at all. We did find some spray under the sink and sprayed the big ones since we did not know what kind of spiders they were and I was afraid one would fall on me going out the door. We didn’t use the grill as it needs new grates. Lastly, we were quite disappointed there was no yard at all, only the small area around the fire pit or the driveway to walk the dogs.

The picture of the man fishing in the river is not at the property. We won't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to any of our friends.
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We do have a property manager on duty at our house (Cabin) he is less than a quarter of a mile away and could have taken care of all your problems. We did provide you with his e-mail and telephone number you also checked in with him before going to the house.
I will try and help you understand the arachnids (black spiders) they are granddaddy long legs and do not bite we do spray but in the summer you need to spray often.
This year we did have a lot of rain causing a musty smell if heat or air is not on again property manager could have helped you with this. The mold was only in the basement and about the size of your hand we have had this removed and new dry wall put in.
The road is a good gravel road for this area and we do have berms in place so the gravel will not wash down the stream. My property manager tells me he had no complaints during your rental period.
This is a deep woods retreat.
business
Modern cabin ideal for deep woods experience/retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956318
+1 -863-956-8129
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Anniversary Retreat

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I rented this as a get-a-way for our 46th wedding anniversary. What a great place! The owners have thought of everything to make you stay comfortable and enjoyable. We loved sitting in the rockers that were on the deck and listening to the nearby brook. The manager was so helpful and had lots of suggestions for things to see and do in the area. We enjoyed 6 wonderful days here. The last part of the road was a little rugged because of some spring rains that caused small washouts, but they were doable. Would not try it in a low slung vehicle though. There's a full kitchen for making meals. Just a great place You will need to bring groceries as town is about 20 miles away. We enjoyed hiking in the area every day. Up stairs there are lots of games to keep you and the kids occupied if it happens to be a rainy day. We would definitely recommend this place.
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We feel blessed to have our cabin to share with others.
business
Modern cabin ideal for deep woods experience/retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956318
+1 -863-956-8129
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Green Cove Springs, Florida
5

Perfect, peaceful, and welcoming

  • 5 of 5
An exceptionally well-maintained remote cabin completely stocked with all necessities. Our grandson loved every minute, especially the great fly fishing! The snowfall was an unexpected bonus! Can't wait to return for a longer stay!
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to having you and your family again. Can't believe how big the trout was your grandson caught.

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Asheville NC
Nearest Barpub
20 Miles
Franklin or Bryson City NC
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Franklin (Mill Creek Country Club)
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Smokey Mountain Railroad
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Cashiers or Maggi Valley NC
Car: necessary

Cabin is located about mid-way between Franklin NC and Bryson City NC, about six miles off of HWY 28N. It is above the Telico Trout Farm and near the Telico Gap. Great place for hiking and it is possible to walk up to the Appalacian Trail from the cabin site. One of the major attractions is Cherokee, NC. The cabin is some what remote so you will need plenty of provisions since trips to town are a time consuming event usually an hour round trip. We are closer to Bryson City than Franklin but the road to BC is very winding, at some spots you can see your own tail lights.

There are so many things to do here, such as rafting down the Nanahala Gorge, hiking to the Teleco Gap observation tower, hunting gems at the many gem mines in the area, mountain biking, and the kids really love going to the Fun Factory in town. Franklin also has a new Performing Arts center. And if you are brave enough to head for the deep woods in the winter time there is sledding and skiing (sleds provided!)

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $540 Per week

Franklin Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer/Fall
Apr 1 2015 - Nov 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
$540
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Notes There is a $200.00 security deposit required, $300.00 with pets and larger family groups.
25% deposit is required when booking is made with the balance due one month before arrival date.
Previous renters with us may enjoy last years rates:
We normally do not rent for winter months due to the problems of winterizing the cabin. However, availability can be negotiated case by case basis..

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Franklin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Basement bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , With walkout patio doors
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Restaurants: Franklin and Bryson City have many full menu and fast food restaurants.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote