THE HIDE-AWAY COTTAGE! PREMIUM LOCATION, WALK TO TOWN & HARBOR

Jeff and Mikeal'an OKeefe

Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Jeff and Mikeal'an OKeefe

Advertiser since 2011
Speaks english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE HIDE-AWAY COTTAGE! PREMIUM LOCATION, WALK TO TOWN & HARBOR

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Sarasota House Rental Photos and Description

COTTAGE, Voted #1 LOCATION! Walk to charming Main St. & Harbor. Close to Beaches

We have 5 cottages all located in a premium area within walking distance to Main Street, Theaters and The Bay Front Harbor.

Go to our Website to view all 5 cottages.

ww w. SarasotaCottage. com ...(No Spaces)

Sarasota #1 in USA- Siesta Key Beach!

LAUREL PARK was VOTED #1 Neighborhood in Sarasota by, THE BEST OF SARASOTA MAGAZINE!

Sarasota remains high on the list of many savvy travelers who know what a rare gem Sarasota is. Our Cottage in Laurel Park enables you to stay in the heart of Downtown and the Harbor. Walk to all the activities. Enjoy walking to outdoor cafes, restaurants, 9 performing arts theaters, Historic Opera House, 2 Cinemas with 25 movie screens. Walk along the Harbor, rent a boat at the City Marina. This adorable cottage has been meticulously renovated preserving its historic charm. Delightfully decorated with the owners collection of whimsical art work from local artist. You will pleasantly surprised by the attention to details. We offer soft fresh linens, premium mattress, full kitchen, FREE Wi-Fi, HDTV cable with DVR, Laundry, private patio and off-street parking.

We have 5 cottages in Laurel Park that can be seen on our website. Rental prices start at $495 wkly. Our website has virtual tours, maps, floor plans, reviews, pictures and an area video.

To view all 5 cottages go to:

www . SarasotaCottage . com (no spaces)

Why is our Neighborhood Voted #1 in Sarasota? Because it's in town! Located near the City Harbor and within walking distance to Theaters, Restaurants, Cafes!

Laurel Park is a small, quiet, historic neighborhood filled with FUN Key West Style Conch Houses, Pastel Colored Bermuda Cottages & Restored Bungalows. It's exceptionally charming! THE BEST PART IS OUR LOCATION. A few blocks to the Harbor & adjacent to Downtown, enables you to walk to Waterfront Restaurants, Outdoor Cafes, Theaters, Shopping, Art Galleries, Library, Grocery, Festivals, Farmers Market (Saturdays). Walk to it all!

All cottages are well appointed.

To view all 5 cottages go to:

www . SarasotaCottage . com (no spaces)

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jeff and Mikeal'an OKeefe (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Jeff and Mikeal'an OKeefe

My husband Jeff and I moved to Sarasota 5 years ago. Our plan was to retire here after working and raising a family in Washington DC/Northern VA area.

Why Jeff and Mikeal'an OKeefe chose Sarasota

WE loved Sarasota from the moment we saw it and knew this was the place we had been searching for. We opted to live in Laurel Park (where all 5 of our vacation cottage rentals are too) because we enjoy walking our dogs to restaurants, cafes and the waterfront Bay Park. WE eno riding our bikes to the Opera! The style is quaint and charming.

I'm very proud to offer 5 charming vacation cottages in our neighborhood so our guests can experience the same lifestyle!

We believe we are doing a great job because many of our guests have decided to purchase homes in our area while they were here!

What makes this house unique

Our area is VERY unique. Our quests are looking for something more than just the beach and golf. Although those things are just a few minutes away, our location gives you much more! All 5 of our charming vacation cottages are located in Laurel Park (voted the #1 neighborhood in Sarasota). Our vacationers are within walking distance to all the action and the waterfront harbor. Yet far enough away to sit our your patio and not here a thing!

We are just 2 blocks from everything downtown/HArbor so your can walk to it all!

Guestbook comments from the owner

My wife and I loved staying a this cottage. Very quiet and private even though were a short walk to town. We have already made plans to come back. Excellent value too.
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 5

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Hide-Away Cottage! Premium Location, Walk To Town & Harbor
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 14 reviews
business
The Hide-Away Cottage! Premium Location, Walk To Town & Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p952224
+1 -757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New York City
5

This is a copy written out of our guestbook.

  • 5 of 5
Thank you Jeff and Mikeal'an for the lovely stay at the cottage. We will definitely leave with fond memories of our trip to Sarasota and the surrounding beaches. The location was just as described and we were able to walk downtown and to the movies and enjoy the cafés and restaurants. We will certainly be back and recommend your cottage to all our friends and family.
Your attention to detail and the decorations were greatly appreciated
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you kind remarks.
We get the amazing guests!
Thank you,
Mikealan and Jeff OKeefe
business
The Hide-Away Cottage! Premium Location, Walk To Town & Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p952224
+1 -757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

I would give this cottage a 5 star recommendation.

  • 5 of 5
Very nice location. It is in an ideal location. It is exactly how the Okeefes described it to us. We walked and road bikes everywhere downtown and around the harbor. Even rode over the causeway to Armand Circle and the beach.
The cottage was very clean comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio at night didn't hear any of the downtown noise. We saved over $50 a day just on the beach rentals alone. The Wi-Fi worked very quickly and movie channels were readily available.
There was free and free offstreet parking right at our doorstep. It was very quiet and private.
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We look forward to your return visit over Thanksgiving!
business
The Hide-Away Cottage! Premium Location, Walk To Town & Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p952224
+1 -757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
1

Not as pictured or described!

  • 1 of 5
Old cottage with mold on all floors, in bathroom, and shower. Ants in bathroom, Air conditioner to loud to allow for sleep. The cottage has terrible odor, could not stay there due to the condition and smell of the cottage. Owner would not refund rent. Would not recommend this property to anyone!
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: None of this it true! We home owners come across these types of guests every now and then- it's very unfortunate we have to deal with bogus reviews.
This review is in total contrast to the hundreds of guests who have stayed befored and after them. These guests arrived to town and wanted their money back because they had a last minute opportunity to stay free at a friends house. They were not elible for a refund the day of arrival. They threaten us with a bed review if we didn't refund their money, which was not fair to us.
If I had a few days notice, I could have possibly re-rented their week and refunded them money.
We strive to please all our guests and meet all reasonable requests.
business
The Hide-Away Cottage! Premium Location, Walk To Town & Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p952224
+1 -757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great Stay at Hide-Away Cottage

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful three weeks at the Hide-Away cottage, our first stay in Sarasota. The cottage was clean, quiet, and private. The owners and property manager were very responsive and attentive to our needs. The location is fabulous, and we enjoyed walking into town most evenings to find a restaurant, shop, or go to the Whole Foods market. The park and marina are also an easy walk. Very nice and interesting neighborhood. It was a short drive to the beaches and major attractions.
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeff and I are very happy you embraced our lovely city! It sounds like you really enjoyed yourselves. Please come back!
Remember we have several Festivals and events throughout the year…like, The Film Festival in April and The Ringling Festival of Arts in October…just to name a few!
business
The Hide-Away Cottage! Premium Location, Walk To Town & Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p952224
+1 -757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

We rented 2 of the cottages. We all agree! AAA+++

  • 5 of 5
We have a small get together of 6 people so we needed to rent 2 out the 5 cottages. All 6 of us had a blast. We went all over town, drinking, dancing, walking, biking, shopping, to the movies and even saw a play at the last minute. Never drove anywhere!
Both cottages were perfect. I highly recommend. Nice owners did so much of us. Thank you!
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
The Hide-Away Cottage! Premium Location, Walk To Town & Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p952224
+1 -757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Vacation downtown was incredible! Loved the Cottag

  • 5 of 5
Stay here and enjoy all of downtown by walking to everything. We saw so much more on foot and met so many people while walking that we decided to buy a place in the same neighborhood! I was able to get a peak into all 5 of Mikealan and Jeff’s cottages in the neighborhood - wow what an operation these two have put together! Very professional, yet relaxed. All the cottages are well-appointed and adorable. It surprised me ho close we were to everything and how quiet the area.
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure that you enjoyed yourself!
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Sarasota International SRQ
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
walk to 100's of Bars.. yet quiet at the cottage
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Many Private & Semi-Private to Choose From
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
75
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
1
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Water Skiing
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
Lido Beach
Car: not necessary

Why is our Siesta Key Beach often voted #1 in the USA by the prestigious Dr. Beach? Our Caribbean blue water and (litterly) baby powder soft, white sand found on our beaches is like no other in the continential USA! Dubbed the 'Cultural Coast', you can enjoy a vast mixture of live entertainment, from the refined Ballet, Opera and Symphony, to the more funky Comedy Clubs or Drag Queen Bingo! The Downtown area is the hub of the action and our cottages are located just a few, quiet blocks away from everything!

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sarasota House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 20 2014 - Dec 12 2014
7 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Peak Season
Dec 13 2014 - Apr 18 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$695
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $70 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning based on #weeks $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes All pets need prior approval. Please call 941 342-1639
Refundable Security Deposit Required. Cost is based on length of stay

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Sarasota House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Sanitzed and Extra Clean. Premium Towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Premium Bedding
  • Pillow-Top Premium Mattress with luxury Linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVR
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Shed
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Weekly and monthly rentals only. Change over day is Saturday. Small dogs considered for weekly rentals- no pets for monthly rentals. Minimum age of Primary renter is 22 years old. Utilities paid for by owner for normal usage-cap on utility usage-see Short Term Rental agreement. Pool, hot tub, spa amenities are off-site for fee. Bikes, bicycles are available for rent at local bike shop. Sometimes we can offer you beach chairs, umbrellas and coolers free of charge. Many times these items are broken or missing. We cannot guarantee they will be available- however, they are available for rent on some beaches.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote