Submitted: November 25, 2012
Stayed: November 2012
Great location and nice, airy house. Beautiful views over the water from the deck, and close to everything on the island (okay, the important things like the airport and the yacht club...). Rented a golf cart, so that made getting around easy. We rented a boat from Serenity, and had a great time touring the islands by water. Overall, the stay was fun and we enjoyed the Beach Shack "surrounded on two sides by water"!
Downsides: the air conditioning in the living room didn't work (air in bedrooms worked, however). There wasn't propane for cooking, so that wasn't an option. At this time of year, the only dining option was the Yacht Club, which was excellent! There wasn't laundry available (the washer was broken, according to the housekeeper). To be fair, the housekeeper offered to do an "emergency load" for us in her own washer, but we didn't feel it was an emergency, just an inconvenience. Also the dock was in disrepair, but that's due to a recent hurricane and stuff happens in "hurricane alley", so we kept the boat at Serenity overnight.
Tourists without a Car,
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children,
Owner's Response: Hello Victor,
Glad you enjoyed the stay. We do not offer laundry to anyone staying in the house nor does any home on the island. All visitors on the island can have laundry sent out. The main reason for this is that water is VERY expensive as it's made on the island. I arrived the morning you left and I had gas in the house and for the grill outside. Stayed 10 days and still had gas so I have no idea why it wasn't working for you. I am sorry....Did you happen to ask Chris maybe it was as simple as knowing how to light the stove? Yep the compressor went on the AC unit...living on an island isn't easy sometimes... so sorry that happened the there nights you were there...it's working now :) ready for your next visit. Heard you took some great night photos.. I would love to see them...
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?