Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Village Cottage surrounded by Acadia National Park

Dennis and Karen

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Dennis and Karen

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Village Cottage surrounded by Acadia National Park

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Otter Creek House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, I full bath, sleeps 4

Music Hill was rebuilt with ingenuity and love in the 1950's. Updated in Spring 2012, it exudes vintage style from the original Geneva cabinets to the Danish modern dining set. The master bedroom has a cedar-lined closet, and the bright guest room overlooks the large kitchen garden. The historic barn on the hill behind the house is testament to the seven generations that have lived here in Otter Creek. The formal dining room has room to spread out maps and plan your activities, and the living room has a brand new sofa and love seat for the whole family to unwind after a busy day. You can walk to Otter Cove and the Park Loop Road, or cross the street to climb Cadillac Mountain. Freshly painted and updated for its first year on the rental market.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Dennis and Karen (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Dennis and Karen

Adventurers, outdoors enthusiast, Karen and Dennis love to entertain family and friends.

Why Dennis and Karen chose Otter Creek

Music Hill has been a family home for 5 generations. Dennis was raised in this house.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Village Cottage surrounded by Acadia National Park
average rating of 3.5 based on 4 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We arrived late in the evening of May 30th and the owners had left the lights on for us. I felt like I was walking into my house where I could relax after a long ride home. It has a nice big kitchen where you can fix some simple meals or snacks for a hike in Acadia National Park which is minutes away. The living room is cozy and comfortable. My sister in law plunked in the recliner and said she was in heaven. The kids checked out the free WiFi connection and the other kids ran up the stairs to claim their bedrooms. There is a nice big dining room where we could have a meal or just spread out our daily treasures. Staying here was great for easy travel around Mount Desert Island. Five miles away was the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor and all the great gift shops and the entrance to drive around Acadia National Park Loop road. Take a left out of the driveway and you are in Seal Harbor where there is a beautiful sandy beach where locals and tourist hang out or continue on to Northeast Harbor and check out the waterfront. We enjoyed our stay at this house. It felt more like my house than some fancy dancy place. It was clean and quiet and the price was great, The owners stopped by to see if we needed anything. They were wonderful and told us many interesting things about this little village and surrounding towns. Hope to go back to visit again soon. Highly recommended, Thank You from The Iaquessa's

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, it is a family home, and we love sharing it. Hope you can come back next year!
Columbia, SC

Great little cottage in a great spot!

  • 4 of 5

Loved this little place! It is cozy and family friendly and in a great location. We loved walking in the village, walking to the ocean, hiking up Cadillac mountain and catching the free bus up to Bar Harbor. We love Acadia - great hiking, biking, swimming and eating. Couldn't have asked for a better vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway

Sweet little house in a great location

  • 4 of 5

This clean, pretty little house has been my winter home for the past several months. It is comfortably furnished and in a great location -- close to Bar Harbor and surrounded by the park. Nice opportunities to explore local trails and beaches, and just a short drive to anywhere on the island. This place feels like what it is -- a longtime family home in an established village setting. You will feel less like an anonymous stranger passing through and more like a welcome guest. From the photos on the walls to the dishes in the cupboards to the big vegetable garden in the side yard, the house speaks of its long personal and community history. The kitchen is sunny and well-appointed. The dining room is comfortable for large or small groups. The living room is inviting and gets beautiful morning light. I appreciated the big cedar closet in the quiet main bedroom, and the guest room has been perfectly comfortable and welcoming when friends have come to visit. Beds are firm, clean and comfortable. The landlords have been friendly and responsive to any concerns and a pleasure to deal with on all occasions. I am happy to recommend this pretty cottage for vacationers.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway

Stay away

  • 1 of 5

We rented this place for three nights on Labor Day weekend for $X*. Our party of three adults and a four month old baby arrived at Music Hill Cottage late Friday night, around 10 pm,  on August 31. Entering the house we felt a strong odor. The place smells like one of those houses which was home for an elderly person for a decade or two and hasn't been maintained property for that long. My guess is that the odor comes from the very old carpeting. Although the advertisement says that the sofa in the living room is new, it smells like dirty socks. 

The ad says that the house was updated recently, but this cottage still needs a lot of work.

Faucet in the bathroom sink is covered with mold-like something. It looks like it was growing there for months if not longer. Rusty laundry bin is covered with yellowish spots. Baseboard is rusty as well.

Kitchen cabinets are very old and rusty. There is no dishwasher. Water heater is very old as well and is not tuned to ensure that the water doesn't get too hot. I burned a finger.

Second bedroom is more like a crawl space. It is suitable for sleeping in a way similar to a tent on a camp site.

The house is decorated with family photos which doesn't seem appropriate for rental property.

There is no cell phone reception in the house.

All that said, the location of the property is very convenient. Close to the park and Bar Harbor.

When we arrived the house was full of mosquito. I believe that was due to a missing screen on a window which was wide open. Bathroom wasn't cleaned. I called emergency number and left a message. No one called back. Next morning I sent an e-mail requesting to clean the bathroom and issue a refund. Still no response. Later that morning we called again and was told that the issue is being worked on and a cleaning crew should arrive soon. We left for a hike and when we came back the bathroom was much cleaner. However, no one responded to my email regarding the refund request. I waited till next morning to send a follow up email. The response came saying that cleaning crew was sent to the house yesterday. Still no mention of a refund. I wrote back. This time someone responded saying that they are working on the refund issue. Later in the afternoon I received an email with an offer to leave same afternoon and get a full refund or leave next day and receive $Y* refund. Since it was too late for us to leave (we wouldn't arrive home until after midnight) we stayed.

* HomeAway doesn

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We and our agent worked hard to turn this around. Two cleanings, apologies, an immediate refund, and the offer of a total refund if they left were not enough. It’s our first year renting and we take every comment seriously. Our first six families were happy with Music Hill, no one else complained about Maria’s issues, we have two families returning. In spite of the difficult dealings, we agree Maria had some points. The laundry basket has been removed, the baseboard will be repainted. We were home Friday night, leaving Sat. around 8am, returning at noon. No attempt was made to call us at home Friday evening. We live ½ mile away and would have gone over at once. We will work harder at being in contact range, but our agent is capable, professional, and responded to Maria within the hour. We returned at 12, saw the emails and that the agent had given a discount. They handle the financial arrangements, so I did not negotiate this with Maria. At 12:30 I went over to address her concerns. While the bathroom had been cleaned, a cleaning cloth had been left behind, which is indeed inexcusable. The scent was from flameless candle left as a gift. I removed that at 12:30 on Saturday, the fragrance was gone at 2:30. From scented house to neutral is very different, but emotions were so high at this point I do not think she noticed. I thoroughly cleaned the bathroom and washed the dishes. The baseboard has indeed rusted under the paint, but that could not be done without causing fumes. The window in question has always had a screen, it was in place, and still is. Mosquitoes may have arrived through the opening of the door. We may turn the water temperature to 110ª but are not sure this is wise. The kitchen cabinets are old, the paint worn in places, but are clean. The crawl space bedroom’s ceiling is 8’ in center, the sides slant down, and this is in the photos. Later the first day cleaners the agent contacted came and cleaned again. Our apologies and efforts were answered with, “no help without a refund.” although she had already been given a discount. HomeAway offered the option to resolve things with Maria before her review goes live, but the only resolution she said would satisfy her would be staying at our property the full time, at no cost. I wish we could have made Maria happy, but because of her dissatisfaction Music Hill will be an even better place. We hope future renters enjoy it is a family home.


The Village of Otter Creek is surrounded on all sides by Acadia National Park and ocean. The free Island Explorer passes right in front of the house, and trails to Cadillac Mountain and the bold coast at Otter Cliffs are a short walk. Bring your bikes and you can get on the miles of carriage roads that wend along the rocky coast in the park. Music Hill is five miles from downtown Bar Harbor, the island hotspot with plenty of restaurants, whale watching, bike and kayak rentals, museums, galleries and farmer's market. It is also just three miles to the sandy Seal Harbor Beach, and seven to the up-scale shops and galleries of Northeast Harbor, where you can take a ferry to the laid-back and fun to explore outlying islands.

Acadia National Park has hiking trails, a historic homestead, and ranger-led activities from tide pool exploration to birdwatching. There are gardens, boat trips, outdoor concerts, art exhibits, guided tours, and starry skies.


Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Otter Creek House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Early Season
May 30 2015 - Jun 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
Peak Season
Jun 21 2015 - Aug 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
Late Season
Aug 30 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $800
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes $100 pet fee
$800 fully refundable security deposit
Available year round, for off season rental: 3 night, weekly or monthly, contact owner for details.
Enter dates to see total


Otter Creek House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , two twins
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , A klik klak futon
  • Bedroom 2 can accommodate a cot, let us know. The studio is not private, but an open loft area. Bedroom two is accessed though this room. We have a very nice crib available.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Our water is pure and delicious, no need for bottled.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote