Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

THE RED GROUPER - A FUNKY FLOATING CONDO WITH DIRECT OCEAN ACCESS

Caitlyn

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Caitlyn

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2014
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE RED GROUPER - A FUNKY FLOATING CONDO WITH DIRECT OCEAN ACCESS

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Key West House Boat Rental Photos and Description

House Boat, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

The Red Grouper is a one bedroom, one full bath floating house located at Stock Island Marina Village. With direct access to the Atlantic Ocean, it's the perfect way to experience Key West by water. Bring your boat and tie up to the Red Grouper, or just enjoy the ocean breeze from the deck or roof-top viewing area. The interior has been recently remodelled with new furnishings and artwork, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are equipped with luxury towels and linens. We have a gym and a dog park at the marina that are also available for your use. Enjoy all the comforts of home with the atmosphere of maritime living!

Stock Island is located just over the bridge from Key West, about a 15 minute ride to Duval Street. It's close enough to enjoy all the action of downtown but kick back in a more laid back atmosphere. Stock Island Marina Village is home to a colorful and friendly array of live-aboards and commercial fishermen, giving you a unique 'Old Key West' feel. And we're pet friendly!

Stock Island Marina Village: Stock Island Marina Village is a multi-use Marine Community located in historic Safe Harbor and serving live-aboard, recreational, and commercial vessels. We offer free wifi internet, use of our new gym and dog park, laundry facilities, and daily trash pick up. Our office is open 7 days a week, and we have security on site after office hours so you can feel safe during your stay. Our residents are very friendly, courteous, and knowledgable of the area, and the docks are a great slice of Key West life.

Stock Island: In 2007, the New York Times said, “The real Key West? It’s not even located on Key West proper anymore, but just over the Cow Key Channel Bridge, on the even tinier Stock Island.” Home to a diverse group of residents and business (and boats), Stock Island is a little quieter than its neighbor Key West, but still close enough to experience all Key West has to offer. Named after the livestock that used to call it home, Stock Island has a unique commercial history. The docks that currently house the Red Grouper were once lined with hundreds of fishing and shrimping vessels. With easy access to the Atlantic Ocean, proximity to Key West, and old island culture, Stock Island’s a great place to relax and experience the Florida Keys!

Red Grouper Ammenities: The Red Grouper is tastefully outfitted with everything you need during your vacation. Amenities include:

- 1 Queen Bedroom with a closet and dresser

- Full Bathroom (tub shower, sink, and toilet) with towels

- Kitchen (large refrigerator, stovetop, oven, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster) with a breakfast bar

- Living room with Full sized futon (sheets available), TV with Direct TV, IPod Dock and Speakers

- 2 person kayak

- Large outdoor deck with table, chairs, umbrella, BBQ grill

- Rooftop sitting area with chairs

- Parking next to the houseboat

- Cleats on deck to tie up personal boat

- Pet Friendly

- Thorough cleaning service before and after each stay

**Please note: Because the houseboat is located in an active marina, adjacent boats come and go. We do our best to represent the property accurately, but the neighboring vessels may differ between the photos on this site and the current conditions.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Caitlyn (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2014

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 -305-292-2197
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Lexington, NC
5

Already Missing The Red Grouper!!

  • 5 of 5
This was our first experience on a houseboat, so for being the funky floating condo that it is, it rates 4 1/2 stars with us, rounded it up to five just for the fun of it! The marina staff was awesome and made sure that we had every needed item!

The Red Grouper is roomier than photos depict, very clean and tastefully decorated. The queen bed is comfy with luxury linens and pillows. There is a large walk-in closet, a chest with mirror and six large drawers, a padded bench at the foot of the bed, and a chair in the corner of the room. The bathroom has lots of fluffy, luxurious towels and washcloths. All paper goods are furnished. No iron or board, so bring your own if wanted.

The kitchen is smaller, of course, but has everything you could possibly need to cook your own meals when desired. Champagne was chilling in the fridge for us! The only eating space is at the bar with two stools for sitting. However, we ate several times on the back deck where there is a table with four chairs. The umbrella should probably be replaced.

The living room is nice with glass from three sides with curtains. There is a large flatscreen tv with DirectTV service, an ipod dock and a dvd player. The free wifi tends to be spotty at times, but it always comes back. The wicker sofa and chair, while pretty, are not quite as comfy as they look.. The cushioning is rather thin for sitting or an afternnoon nap, but are supplied with some cushy throw-pillows.

We enjoyed the decks! My husband loved catching fish right off the back deck! There is a gas grill where we fixed steaks and other meals. Our dog's favorite spot was lying out there watching the water.. The upper deck is very nice, too! Such fun to take a glass of wine up at night to relax while watching the stars and the water. The marina is near the Key West International airport, of course, so it was fun watching the planes go over while low from takeoffs and landings. We also were treated to some incredible Air Force training maneuvers by pilots from a nearby base. Exciting to watch four and five planes in tandem maneuvers across the sky!!

We loved being in historic Key West, then coming "home" to be gently rocked to sleep on the water. The marina is laid back, friendly, and secure. Many cool folks share stories of life on the ocean, and there's lots to do on Stock Island! We highly recommend staying at Stock Island Marina in this lovely harbor on a Floating Boatel! It's not the Hilton, but it's more fun!
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 -305-292-2197
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Toronto
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5
I was looking forward to trying out this boatel, but was sadly very disappointed. We were in Key West for a friends wedding, and there were a total of four of us that stayed at the Red Grouper. First of all, the place was much shabbier than the photos.... it seemed as though the place had not been cleaned or kept up properly in quite some time. Neither my husband or I are hotel snobs, and are totally open to alternative accommodations.... but this was below my basic standards. We noticed right away that there weren't enough towels for four adults. When we asked for more towels, we were told that was all there was, and that we would just have to do laundry at the facility at the marina. When we made up the fold down futon bed that night, the sheets were threadbare at best, and the pillow cases had holes in them. The upper deck chairs were a rag tag collection of old stuff....the pretty wicker set shown in the photos was M.I.A. The grill was really grotty, and needed a decent cleaning. For an extra $75 per night, I could have been in Key West proper, and had a clean, comfortable bed to sleep in. I would not stay there again, or recommend this location to another renter. We were told they were adding additional units to the marina.... I hope they upgrade the units a bit, and invest in a good cleaning crew!
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 -305-292-2197
Key West Lower Florida Keys
DeKalb, IL
5

Back Again

  • 5 of 5
We returned to the Red Grouper to see how we like Key West in August. It was even better than March. We made use of the kayak each day to cool off. We were even able to kayak over to Hogfish. The breeze on the upper deck made for beautiful sunset watching, and we walked down to the corner for our morning coffee. The upgrades to the marina are amazing! We already made our reservation for spring break. Thanks for sharing your fabulous boatel with us.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 -305-292-2197
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Where do you live?
5

The Perfect place to stay

  • 5 of 5
I found this place over a year ago and my wife and I couldn't wait to stay there. All I can tell you is, it all and more then we expected. We did have some problems with the WiFi and Cable TV, but we didn't come to KW to watch TV or sit at the computer. NBD!
I love getting up in the mornings and having coffee on the deck right on the water, and at night we'd sit out there and watch the fish rolling in the bay. A most relaxing experience.
I would suggest if you're really thinking about renting one, ask for the brand new Blue Marlin! I puts the Red Grouper to shame, much better layout and quality workmanship.
Even with that said, I'd still rent the Red Grouper! Close to the action, but far enough to enjoy peace and quiet when you want it. Also, make sure to visit the Hog Fish Bar & Grille, it's on Stock Island and only 5 min. away.. Best food in all KW. We ended up eating there 4 time in 8 days. Yes! It's that good.
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 -305-292-2197
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Aiken, S.C
5

Honeymooners

  • 5 of 5
Me and my wife spent our Honeymoon on the Red Grouper(6 nights). My wife really enjoyed fishing from the lower deck. She caught several fish while we were there. We rented bikes and rode them to Duval Street and the restaurants we ate at. The parking is very limited and the bikes were the way to travel. The Restaurants we ate at while we were at Key West were The Hogfish Bar and Grill, The Rusty Anchor, The Hogs Breath Bar and Grill and Willie T's. We had no complaints about any of the places we ate. The seafood was the catch of the day-very fresh. We enjoyed a tour around the marina on the Kayak one day. We also enjoyed snorkeling at the beach at Fort Zachary Taylor State Park. We also went out fishing on the Gulfstream IV party boat. The folks we met at the marina were very friendly. Everything was as described in the VRBO description. We had no issues with anything. The Stock Island Marina employees were very helpful during our stay. We will surely return someday. We drove this time (751 miles one way) next time I think we will fly. I highly recommend The Red Grouper as the place to stay if you are coming to Key West.
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review. I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful honeymoon and we can't wait until you can stay with us again.
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 -305-292-2197
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Bloomington, IL
5

Perfect Getaway! We will be back!

  • 5 of 5
My partner and I spent a week at the Red Grouper, and absolutely loved staying there! It was close enough to Key West to be able to get there easily, but we really enjoyed being able to leave the "hustle and bustle" of Duval Street and having such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. We spent lots of time on the deck watching the tarpon (and maybe dolphins!) jump, and the boats go by. The unit comes with a two-person kayak. We had a blast exploring in the kayak, and even paddled over to the Hogfish for lunch one day! Everyone at the marina was super nice. Great experience from beginning to end!
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We can't wait until you visit again! Thank you very much for your review.

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Key West International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Hogfish Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Key West Express
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Rusty Anchor Restaurant
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Smathers Beach
Car: recommended

marina, coin laundry, bird watching, scenic drives, deepsea fishing, sound/bay fishing, pier fishing, groceries.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $190 Per night

Key West House Boat Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall/Winter 2014
Oct 26 2014 - Dec 19 2014
3 night minimum stay
$190
$1,150
 
 
Christmas/New Year's Eve 2014
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 3 2015
3 night minimum stay
$240
$1,450
 
 
Peak Season 2015
Jan 4 2015 - May 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,650
 
 
Special Event: Memorial Day
May 21 2015 - May 25 2015
5 night minimum stay
$330
 
 
Peak - Continued
May 26 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,650
 
 
Post Season 2015
Jun 1 2015 - Jul 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Special Event: 4th of July
Jul 2 2015 - Jul 6 2015
5 night minimum stay
$330
 
 
Post - Continued
Jul 7 2015 - Oct 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Special Event: Fantasy Fest
Oct 16 2015 - Oct 25 2015
5 night minimum stay
$330
$1,980
 
 
Post - Continued
Oct 26 2015 - Dec 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Special Event: Christmas & NYs
Dec 20 2015 - Jan 3 2016
5 night minimum stay
$330
$1,980
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.5%
Notes Rafted vessels will incur additional charges of $5.00 per foot per week or $1.00 per foot per night with complimentary trailer storage.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Key West House Boat Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house boat
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gym
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Towels included
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Crow's Nest
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote