Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Quiet and Comfy Arcata Guest House

Owner

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Quiet and Comfy Arcata Guest House

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Arcata House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Location: Arcata, North Coast, California, 5 hours north of San Francisco, close to the Pacific Ocean, off Highway 101. Arcata is a small university town located between Humboldt Bay and Redwood forests.

This new two story home in a quiet neighborhood at the end of a non-through street. It has beautiful cherry hardwood floors downstairs along with a bedroom, TV room, bathroom with laundry facilities, spacious living room and dining room. It has two carpeted bedrooms upstairs with a Jack and Jill bathroom. The kitchen is fully equipped with granite countertops.

Arcata is a small progressive town and has many community events, such as the Oyster Festival, Kinetic Sculpture race, Pastels on the Plaza, Godwit Days, and the North Country Fair. Local sites include the Eureka Waterfront, Victorian Village of Ferndale, Trinidad, lush redwood groves, and pristine coastline beaches.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015

About The Owner

Chuck and Jean Ann love the north coast of California and have lived there over 20 years. They have two teenage children who attend high school in Arcata and as a family they enjoy backpacking in the local mountains.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Why The Owner chose Arcata

Arcata is a unique town. It is home to Humboldt State University, Arcata marsh, many events, and a great farmer's market.

What makes this house unique

This vacation rental is in a quiet area. The house is clean and newly remodeled.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time exploring Arcata, this house was perfect for our family. If you're a disc golfer, I would highly recommend playing the redwood curtain, beautiful place. Thank you very much for letting us stay at your house.
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 4

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Quiet and Comfy Arcata Guest House
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 25 reviews
1

A poor excuse for a vacation rental

  • 1 of 5

This has been the worst vacation rental I've ever stayed in. There are so many things wrong, I'll try to start from the beginning:

- the drive from the main road to the house is down a pitiful gravel road lined on the right by the most horrible mobile home park I've ever seen

- the home is very hard to find; it's down the last driveway on the left closely surrounded by other homes in various states of disrepair and 12 foot high thorny blackberry bushes encroaching on every side

- parking is tight - one space in a short driveway and another in the lawn/gravel in front of the porch

- the yard was horrible; tall grass with blackberry bramble on every side

- various dogs off-leash wander the street and around the house with no owner in sight; one of which pooped right on the front porch of the rental home

- cats dart all over, seemingly from the neighboring mobile home park

- the rental was dirty; dust was everywhere, the floors were dirty, the window sills had mold and cobwebs everywhere

- the front door constantly locked us out (the interior knob turned freely, but when you walk out, the outside knob was locked)

- the shower downstairs sprays water everywhere and is causing the paint and drywall to bubble

- the futon in the TV room is the one of the most uncomfortable pieces of furniture I've ever sat/slept on

- the plumbing upstairs is so loud it can wake you from a deep sleep downstairs

I would never stay here again. Arcata and the north coast are beautiful but this rental makes you feel as if you're staying in a housing project. I, personally, can't wait to go home.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Quite honestly, we are taken aback by the anomaly and negativity of your review. We have had our rental since 2006 and have had so many positive and appreciative comments, with mostly five stars ratings. No one has ever complained about not being able to find the house, the gravel road, the other houses, neighborhood pets, the blackberries or the mobile home park, which, by the way, nice people live there. The short gravel road is owned and maintained by the City of Arcata. Thank you for mentioning the shower head, which we read in your review after your stay. We, of course, will fix it immediately. It is important that owners be informed as soon possible when something is not working properly, so it does not do further damage. Also it is considerate to report any broken or ruined objects that occurred during your stay. We have inspected the house for mold and there was a small amount in the downstairs bedroom window which has been removed, along with any cobwebs. Someone had closed the heater vent near the window in that room which attributed to the mold. We pride ourselves on providing a clean environment, which is attested by other reviews. The room with the futon is not listed as a bedroom, but as a den with an extra TV. All the beds are comfortable as reported by our guests. We offer a fair price in a modest neighborhood. Our return renters are always grateful. Again, we are sorry that the rental did not meet your standards, and we wish you luck in finding rentals that align with your expectations.
5

Excellent Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here for a few nights and it was perfect. The house is large and stocked with cooking supplies and linens are plentiful. It was clean and quiet and we had a great time. It is close to highway 101 which was perfect for us as we were there to explore the area parks. Really nice owners, too.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Perfect Graduation Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

This home was the perfect place for two families and friends to come together to celebrate their children's graduation from HSU. Quiet, cozy, secluded and yet close to all the activities surrounding graduation. A very comfortable home with a picnic table and BBQ for outside activities. The kitchen was well supplied with dishes and cookware and the dishwasher was a real bonus. No cable, but several family members loved the drawer full of videos to watch. Wi-fi connection was great! Our "graduates" also performed in a music festival in downtown Arcata the day after graduation and we were within minutes of the event. The owners were just a phone call or text away if we had any problems.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are pleased that you found our guest house comfortable and convenient. The cable service is basic, channels 2-29 with local TV. Our guests enjoy the movies, games, music, and tourism information. You are most welcome to stay again!
Northern California
4

Great location. Clean comfortable unit. Attentive owners.

  • 4 of 5

This rental unit is located in a very convenient spot for all the culinary, cultural and outdoor activities of the area. It is a duplex. The neighbors are very quiet and friendly but you can hear them going up an down the stairs, etc. as you can in any duplex situation. It was not a problem for us but if you are looking for single unit solitude just be aware. The owners are very attentive. The coffee maker pooped out and I sent her an email just to let her know and - voilà - that afternoon a replacement was on the porch. The house is adequately appointed for cooking and eating in and there are plenty of towels. The beds upstairs were comfortable. We did not use the downstairs bedrooms. The bathrooms and laundry facilities are very good.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Perfect for our family

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay when we came to Arcata to celebrate an important family event. The home was very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The cost was reasonable. The owners answered our questions promptly, provided excellent directions, and left the light on for us as we arrived after dark the first night. Arcata is a lovely place to visit with numerous excellent restaurants. We especially enjoyed walking around the farmers' market at the central plaza on Saturday morning and finding tasty fresh produce for meals at our home away from home. The home is located on the north side of town, and people staying there will need a car to get around. I would recommend this place to family and friends, and would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Post Falls, ID
5

Wonderful Alternative to Motel!

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough about our experience! This home was exactly what we needed for the number of people that were going to be staying there. It was in very close proximity to our oldest sister's home, which made trips to/from the house much easier, more convenient than if we were across town. The description of the listing and photos were VERY accurate and reflected what is available at the house. The owner communicated well and in a timely fashion while we were planning our stay, provided information as requested and was available via phone or email. We were in town for a 45th wedding anniversary celebration and lots of "family time" but the highlight of our stay has to be the 4th of July celebration on the Plaza! My 3 sibs and my brother-in-law enjoyed the baseball game while my husband and I took in all the sights, sounds and smells of the celebration on the Plaza. We had a wonderful "siblings only" dinner at a sweet Italian restaurant - Mazzotti's, enjoyed frozen yogurt and browsing through the shops located all around us. Would definitely recommend this property to friends (my siblings truly enjoyed the accommodations!) and would consider renting it again in the future! (My sister and brother-in-law will be celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary in 2018).

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Arcata. North Coast, California

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $160 Per night

Arcata House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Apr 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$160
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $10
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 12.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Arcata House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) full futon
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote