BEAUTIFUL SPRING OPENINGS

Marilyn or Joe

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL SPRING OPENINGS

Hiawassee House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

Enjoy a million dollar view from almost every room plus balconies, decks, docks and hot-tub.

This house is close to everything you need, with all the amenities ....of the wilderness!

Sit on one of the three decks for morning coffee or evening hors d’oeuvres, dive off the dock into deep, clean water without a chill. Try out our canoe or kayaks or launch your own boat just a half mile down the road and park it at our dock. Explore the nearby rushing Hiawassee River or tube up in Fires' Creek. At night play air-hockey, ping pong or pool in the game room or relax by the panoramic TV.

Dine out conveniently or stay home for fresh trout or organic beef from the amazing local butcher. Choose the convenient dining table with its picture postcard view, sit perched high on the raised deck ir gather at the large picnic table on the screen porch. You will be soothed and seduced by the beauty of lake, islands and mountains.

The brand new, 5-star, six person hot tub with its spectacular view is just what you need after a hard day of having fun.

The bird’s nest bedroom has windows on all four sides and two balconies, so that you can truly be in the branches of the trees but still gaze at at moon and stars, especially soothing as you fall asleep.

You will find surprising nooks and angles of architecture plus chic plexiglass decks, and also enjoy the practicalities of landline, cell access and great wifi and amazing TV. And even a piano!

Keywords: waterfront mountains retreat

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Marilyn or Joe

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

This house was designed by my creative mother and brother. I spent many happy family vacations swimming in the amazingly clear water surrounded by mountains, kayaking, and enjoying family meals on the deck. In the evening we'd often gather for family jam sessions around the piano. Now my own son and I are renovating the beautiful house and would like to share it with you.

Marilyn or Joe purchased this house in 2011

My father, many years ago went to the top of a mountain and asked a ranger, 'what's the prettiest place you know around here.' The ranger pointed down to Lake Chatuge and Hayesville. The rest is history.

The wonder of being right next to the Wild Life preserve surrounded by trees lends a magic sense of privacy and of being engulfed by nature on all sides. The views of mountains, islands and lake are spectacular.

And yet, you will be within easy reach of shopping and entertainment of all sorts. So you have the benefits of wilderness but the amenities of great restaurants, theater, wineries, hiking trails, The Georgia Fairgrounds etc.

.

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.5
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Spring Openings
average rating of 3.4705882 based on 17 reviews
business
Beautiful Spring Openings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370077vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Hiawassee North Georgia Mountains
Indiana
4

JUNE RENTAL TIME

  • 4 of 5
6 of us females (5 who are retired)rented this house on Lake Chatuge. It was a wonderful place to be. And, having 4 bathrooms was quite convenient! We took day hikes along the Appalachian Trail and came back to the house to kayak, swim and/or sit in the hot tub. We also walked along the Chatuge Dam trail as well as a trail in the Jack Rabbit Campground area. Taking a day trip to the Nantahala Outdoor Center was a fun treat as well as going to the John C. Campbell Folk School for a Friday night dinner (make sure you call a day or two ahead to see if there is space) and evening concert. Having the Ingles grocery store close by as well as some restaurants in Hayesville allowed us the choice to eat out as well as prepare our own meals.
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful Spring Openings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370077vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Hiawassee North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
1

*CAUTION* CAUTION* CAUTION*

  • 1 of 5
I just rented this house and it was anything but pleasant. I knew that the house was rustic however this house gives the meaning rustic an entirely new meaning. I will list what we saw and try to leave out my personal opinion of the house till the end.
As you walk up the stairs to the second floor on one of the main beams is an active termite “highway”. The grill is not gas (they do not supply charcoal) and is about 1.5 ft square. There was a large 5 ft snake skin under the blue chair in the porch area. Most of the ceilings have water damage. The ceiling in the main room is especially bad. The photos on the website were taken before the water damage occurred as there are pieces of the ceiling hanging down. There is one TV that is located in the basement (there are no radios or other TV’s). The basement smells of mold/ dampness. The walk to the dock is xtremely steep and there are no stairs to make your hike any easier. There are lots of cobwebs throughout the house.
Now for my personal opinion, VRBO should no longer list this house. The house is a “for sale by owner”, which to me means that they are not interested in fixing any of these issues. I have been renting houses, cabins, through VBRO in numerous states for many years and this is by far the worst experience I have had.
The only two positive sides about the house is that the view is amazing and there are no bed bugs.
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Much of what this person said is true:
1. We have a small charcoal grill and you can buy charcoal in town about three miles away.

2. We have one huge TV and DVD player with tons of channels downstairs in the lower level which is a window-filled walk-out to the ground level and the hot tub. (It's not really a basement.) But we don't believe in lots of TV's and radios around the house. However, we do have GREAT wifi so if you bring a laptop, you can see anything you like anywhere you like.

3. There is a steep grassy walk down to the dock and the lake, but at age 69, I can walk at a slow plod back up the hill in 45 seconds. (See if you can beat my record.)

4. It's true that there is some water damage on the ceilings which occurred recently with the extremely bad winter weather. Our handy person will fix it soon. A brand new roof was added in May.

5. Yes. . .it is For Sale by Owner (for 470,00) since my Mom died, but we don't care if we sell it or not because we love to go there whenever possible and most of our guests love it too. Its being on the market will in no way affect your stay or any rental plans. Would you like to buy it? Come see for yourself.

But -- Please don't come if small things like this will ruin your experience. One of our objectives is to make a wonderful lakeside vacation available at a relatively low cost so that people like us (retired school teachers) can afford it.
business
Beautiful Spring Openings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370077vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Hiawassee North Georgia Mountains
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
5

LAKE GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
My six friends and I stayed here for a week and this is the perfect place if you are looking to get away from the real world and just relax. The views of the lake and mountains are fantastic from the main room, master bedroom, and hot tub, so you will be able to enjoy the North Carolina scenery. The house itself is neither large nor small, but we fit 7 people in without issue, and everyone had a bed to sleep on. Having 4 bathrooms was really nice, especially with people coming in to rinse off from the lake and hot tub at all hours of the day. The cabin could use a thorough dusting and clearing of cobwebs, but other than that the cottage was in great condition. We never did get the DirecTV operational, but the large TV works and the wifi is fast, albeit a little inconsistent at times. The lake and hot tub were both great to spend time in; the hot tube could use a thorough cleaning and a new filter and water, but we really didn't notice that until the end of the week. The lake is quite clear and the kayaks and canoe are all operational and very fun to use.
There are plenty of fun and relaxing things to do around the cabin, but if you don't mind driving a little bit, the Appalachian Trail and Asheville are two places you should really go and check out; Asheville is a really cool place to be with some awesome shops downtown, and every visitor should devote a whole day to hiking the Appalachian Trial. Quality whitewater rafting and kayaking are also not far, but we did not do either of those.
The local grocery store, Ingles, is great and pretty close, so that emergency s'more resupply never takes long. The trash service is nice to, as the pick up the trash right from the side of the cabin.
The owners of the property are great people and were extremely helpful and answered every question I had before and during our stay at the cabin.
Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a scenic getaway with endless opportunity for outdoor adventure
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Spring Openings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370077vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Hiawassee North Georgia Mountains
nc
4

GREAT VIEW!

  • 4 of 5
We had a nice stay at the house although it is older, needs some updating and a good cleaning.The cleaning lady was quick to assist us with needs, upon arrival A/C was not cooling the house so when we checked the filter it was disgusting but the claening lady brought a new filter the next day which solved the problem. The previous guests had not followed the garbage rules and the trash was all over and had been pulled out of cans by animals. The hill to the dock is a bit tough, especially when the grass is wet, they should have some steps put in, but luckily the boat ramp is a short drive away so we would drive over to the ramp in our car and them my husband would drive the boat around and pick us up. The information in the house description needs to advise not to arrive at the house with your boat in tow, it is a very narrow and long driveway that has no place to easily turn a boat trailer around. HIGHLY reccomend you put your boat in the water before arrival at the house. We hardly used tv, the game table was a huge disapointment as it was in pieces and not at all usable, but the screened porch was nice and we used it all the time for games, crafts, and meals. Hot tub was a nice feature. rooms and beds were nice but they need a better desciption of the bedding types.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful Spring Openings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370077vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Hiawassee North Georgia Mountains
Savannah Ga
2

MOTORCYCLE PAD

  • 2 of 5
Great place to stay with my motorcycle crew, wouldn't bring my family here until updates are made spider webs are cleaned up and burned out lights are replaced at door. orange kayak has hole, pool balls missing, spa was very nice and clean though, a/c works great, water in lake was surprisingly warmer than I expected. Went to nathatahala white water rafting, that would be good for the whole family. we only slept there, got back at 10:00 every night so not much time at the cabin,
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Beautiful Spring Openings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370077vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Hiawassee North Georgia Mountains
4

GREAT SPOT!

  • 4 of 5
We had a great stay at the house on Chatuge. As some of the other reviews have noted, the house is getting to the point in its life where it could use some work, but it's a fantastic location with a great view and some really nice spaces within. We particularly enjoyed spending time on the screen porch and cooking in the kitchen. The dock is a short walk down the grassy hill and the lake is beautiful. Highly recommended for a weekend getaway! Our group was three families (total of 4 kids) and it felt a little tight at sleeping time, but was more than enough space during the day. The owner was prompt with responses and easy to work with. Would go back for sure!
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Email

Map

Car: necessary

Famous John Campbell Folk School including concerts and dances

Appalachian Trail

Ride the Tail of the Dragon

Scenic Train Rides

Zipline

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Hiawassee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
off season
Nov 1 2014 - Apr 30 2015
1 night minimum stay
$125
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$180
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100.00
cleaning fee $80.00
Tax Rate 9.75%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Hiawassee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain
  • Waterfront
  • Lake
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • Three with bath/shower combination, one with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2) Each of two bedrooms have a double bed. One bedroom (bird's nest) has a queen bed and one bedroom has a single bed., Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • Piano
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Inflatable Boat
  • Wood Deck
  • Patio
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
  • scenic drives
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • wind-surfing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
  • water skiing
  • rafting
  • swimming
Notes:
Two kayaks, one sit-on-top for kids. One new double, easily righted, great for kids and adults. No experience necessary. One river canoe, but can be used on the lake. Pool and ping pong in game room 60 inch TV Next to wildlife preserve, very private, and half mile from boat launch.
Email Owner Email