AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !

Yuris

Speaks dutch, french, portuguese, russian, german, italian, spanish, english
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Yuris

Speaks dutch, french, portuguese, russian, german, italian, spanish, english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !

Montreal Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 King, 3 Queen, 2 Double, 1 huge home spa, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 12

Ideally located at the corner of Saint Urbain and Rachel, main entrance of Parc Jeanne Mance and Parc Mont Royal, the heart of the Plateau Mont Royal, one of the fashionable neighbourhoods in North America. Close to pubs, cafes, shops and a laissez-faire ambience, we offer magnificent large and open areas over two floors totalling 1,600ft² plus a South-West facing terrace of 400ft². Including:

- Heating, cooling, ventilation and electricity ;

- 42'' plasma television HD with Videotron PVR-HD and subscription ;

- Unlimited high-speed internet ;

- Unlimited local calls ;

- 1 master bedroom with two double beds and private bathroom ;

- 1 huge and luxurious home spa with bath and shower ;

- 1 bathroom upstairs with toilet and vanity ;

- 1 big bedroom with King bed ;

- 2 bedrooms with Queen bed ;

- 1 huge and luxurious kitchen all equipped ;

- 1 dining space with dining table for 8-10 persons ;

- 1 enormous 600ft² open space with sofa for 8-10 persons ;

- 1 presidential office space with personal computer in the open space ;

- 1 ottoman Queen bed in the open space ;

- 1 400ft² private terrace.

South-West orientation with sunlight all year round.

COMFORT AND SUSTAINABILITY WITHOUT COMPROMISE: This building is Green in many ways -- next to the best biking and hiking trails that Montréal can offer, walking distance from commercial areas, easy access to public transportation, etc. It was also renovated to the highest existing sustainability standards by leading specialists from ABOVE Technologies inc. including:

- extra indoor natural light provided by top quality LED lights achieving -85% reduction in power consumption ;

- full-capacity geothermal heating and cooling saving -75% on heating and -25% on cooling ;

- geothermal preheating of domestic water and heat recovery from used water saving -25% and more ;

- re-insulation of the building as new saving -30% in heating and cooling ;

- water-efficient toilets ;

- ENERGY STAR® appliances.

These features exceed ENERGY STAR® and LEED® criteria by far, probably making it the Greenest residential building in downtown Montréal. Carbon footprint is estimated to be -60% below comparable buildings in the area.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Yuris (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Speaks dutch, french, portuguese, russian, german, italian, spanish, english

About Yuris

We manage this property since 2011.

Yuris purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Yuris chose Montreal

We acquired this property for its perfect business and leisure location in Montréal Qc and its historic cachet and quality.

What makes this cottage unique

It is an historic cottage from 1880 completely renovated better than new in the period 2004-2013 using the latest Green technologies and standards available. We recently contracted a third-party evaluation of the property. Cost of construction alone came out at about 1.2M$.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed here for a Boy's Long Weekend Away a month or so ago, and this place is a gem. Walking distance to just about everything, including the park which is gorgeous, lots of restaurants, bars and clubs. This place is definitely for someone looking for reasonable, but refined accommodations. The beds were very comfortable, showers were all great with lots of hot water and pressure, and the kitchen was well stocked to be able to prepare your own meals if eating out isn't always your thing. But, the highlight was definitely the roof porch. Grilling and relaxing up there plus all the amenities made this place and our stay incredibly enjoyable!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 6

Why HomeAway

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 18 reviews
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
5

Exactly as Described!! Miss It Already!

  • 5 of 5
We recently stayed at the penthouse at the Gate of Mount Royal from September 27th through the 29th. The apartment was exactly as described in the posting from ABOVE Technologies. We dealt with Thierry prior to check-in who was EXTREMELY responsive on all questions asked. Having to deal with the logistics of a different country, Thierry went out of his way to ensure there were no issues with payment and check-in.

The penthouse itself is very large and spacious. The outdoor patio with grill was a great addition to the weekend. No complaints and our weekend went without a hitch. The kitchen was fully stocked with plates and glassware which was perfect for a group dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed Montreal and it was due in most part because of our accommodations. You can't beat the location on St. Laurent. St. Laurent can be very busy, and the penthouse was fortunately a block away from the heavy traffic. Close enough to walk everywhere and quiet enough to get a good night's rest.

I can't speak highly enough about Thierry's level of professionalism throughout the trip. Never did I once feel uncomfortable or worried. It made such a difference to our trip.

I look forward to my next trip to Montreal and will absolutely consider coming back to the penthouse. Two thumbs up.
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for supporting us, Chris. We enjoyed working with your group and will welcome you in Montréal again soon. Our pleasure !
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
San Francisco, CA
5

Wonderful summer in Montréal Qc !

  • 5 of 5
Stayed for a week this summer. Enjoyed wonderful Plateau with tons of small things to discover anyday anytime. Enjoyed this air conditioned penthouse and outside deck very much. You can hardly be closer to action with such comfort and quietness im Montréal Qc. Much appreciated. Will stay again. Thanks!
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
Toronto, ON
5

Great location, clean with luxury bathrooms !

  • 5 of 5
Stayed for a long weekend. Loved the location so central -- walking distance from everything including best eateries like Shwartz's and Pied de Cochon and best entertainment like Mount Royal Park and Place des Arts. This place is very large and clean. On top of that, it comes with newly renovated and luxury bathrooms with spa. Highly recommended to anyone willing to discover Montréal from inside.
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
Charlotte, NC
5

Absolutely perfect.

  • 5 of 5
The penthouse was perfect for our large group. I highly recommend this place.
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
5

Great location, very spacious

  • 5 of 5
Very spacious appartment within walking distance of a lot of restaurants, bars etc. Located on a quiet street close to parks and only about 20 minutes walk from Old Montreal. The appartment is very clean, has fantastic beds, good quality bedding and towels and two full baths and one 2-piece. All you need for your stay in great Montreal!
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
1

STAY AWAY, STAY AWAY, STAY AWAY

  • 1 of 5
2500 words is insufficient for describing this nightmare and too bad you can't give zero stars.
We booked the property in February by putting down half the rent by paypal. When we went to pay the second half, the landlord told us that as of the week before, he was no longer accepting payment by paypal and we had to wire the funds, internationally. Facing the forfeiture of our deposit, we agreed (and incurred the respective fee for which we were not reimbursed). The landlord then made us sign a rental agreement which contained several terms never previously disclosed (like the number of guests allowed, no being outside after 10 and several bases for which you would forfeit your deposit). Again, having already paid thousands of dollars and feeling blackmailed, we agreed. Then came the security deposit. The website provided that the security deposit could be paid at check in by credit card. The landlord, however, tried to make us pay by wire a week before. After several emails (the landlord does not ever answer the phone) and contacting HomeAway, we were able to pay by credit card but only by using MasterCard SecureCode.

Checkin was also a nightmare. The landlord will only email or text you the code to the lock box to get in right before 5pm (he would not let us check in early), which meant having to get international data service. After all this, the lock box didn't work and we had to be met to be let in (which meant we also had to be at the house anytime one of the later guests arrived).

Once inside, the place was dirty, worn and full of other people's belongings. The floors hadn't been swept and the pantry, fridge and bathroom cabinets were full of other people's property. Given the landlord's antics, we spent an hour documenting and photographing the damages. The landlord responded by offering to have someone come clean the following day, but we didn't trust anyone being there while we were not.

The description is also misleading. This is a 3 bedroom house, with one bedroom having two beds in it and two beds literally being in the middle of the living room.

Although the website says deposits refunded in 7 days, the landlord charged our credit card $360 almost 3 weeks after we left. He claimed we were outside after 10 and a neighbor complained. The landlord never responded to our formal complaint with HomeAway and we are still disputing the deposit. This was the worst rental experience of my life. Stay away at all costs.
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jeremy,

We perfectly understand your frustration as you have been one of a few groups in between two booking processes. As of June 2013, we require a signed contract and don't accept credit cards anymore for non-residents. Our booking policies posted on our website and our contract have not changed however. Our security deposit is held against property misuse. Therefore, when neighbors are woken up at 3AM in the night by a loud group speaking and laughing on the outside deck, we can hold your security deposit in full as is the case with many other vacation rentals and hotels in the city. You have accepted these terms and were happy with your stay until you were charged on your security deposit for this night disturbance. We are sorry but we cannot allow such misuse and will not refund the 360CA$ retained by us at this moment even after complaining to HomeAway.com and blackmailing us with bad reviews.

We remind you that you lost your HomeAway.com case already and our listing will not be removed from this website. By opening cases against us, you have closed our communication channel as we have been required to respond to third parties about them. We remind you that we already accommodated you in the past by accepting a late reconfirmation of your stay without cancelling, by accepting a payment with a non-resident credit card and by offering to charge you only 33% of the security deposit for your misuse of our house. Creating all this damage to us including complaints and bad reviews is not helping your case and our decision to not compromise with you further is final.

Wishing you a great experience with other vacation rentals and hotels !
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
14.5 Kilometres
YUL (Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport)
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Montreal Central Station
Car: not necessary

ONE OF THE BEST LOCATION IN MONTRÉAL Qc.: ONE OF THE BEST LOCATION IN MONTRÉAL Qc. Ideally located at the corner of Saint Urbain and Rachel, main entrance of Parc Jeanne Mance and Parc Mount Royal, the heart of the Plateau, one of the fashionable neighbourhoods in North America. Close to pubs, cafes, shops and a laissez-faire ambience. 15 minutes walking distance from parcs, le Plateau and downtown. Buses and metros right at the door.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Montreal Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Maximum 8 people
Sep 22 2014 - Nov 5 2014
2 night minimum stay
C$490
From
C$598
Fri,Sat
C$2,390
C$5,990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add C$50 per night, per additional guest
 
Maximum 8 people
Nov 6 2014 - Dec 18 2014
2 night minimum stay
C$390
From
C$498
Fri,Sat
C$1,990
C$4,990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add C$50 per night, per additional guest
 
Maximum 8 people
Jan 5 2015 - Feb 26 2015
2 night minimum stay
C$390
From
C$498
Fri,Sat
C$1,990
C$4,990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add C$50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$638
From
C$748
Fri,Sat
C$2,990
C$10,990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add C$70 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit C$750
Tax Rate 19.0%
Notes Please always contact us for exact quotes. Extra fees apply for more than eight (8) guests. Extra unit required for more than twelve (12) guests. These rates do not apply for special events and vacation periods like Grand Prix, Canada Day, Osheaga Festival, Labour Day, Christmas, New Year, etc. We can best be reached by email. We don't take incoming calls anymore.
50% due at booking. 100% due 60 days before arrival. Security deposit against outstanding cleaning, damages, losses and misuse required before checkin.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Montreal Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Ducted Heating
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Water Tank
  • Alarm System
  • Intercom System
  • Living Area
  • Mobile Phone
  • Macintosh Computer
  • PC
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Wireless Internet
  • Broadband Access
  • Parking On Street
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , Huge home spa with bath, shower, vanity and toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Private bathroom with huge shower, vanity and toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Bathroom with toilet, vanity and mirror
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Master bedroom - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
Outside:
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Patio
  • Bicycles
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis Court
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
Notes:
Standard check-in 5PM. Standard check-out 10AM.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote