Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !

Yuris

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch
Sleeps21
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Yuris

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !

Sleeps21
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Montreal Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 King, 2 Queen, 3 Double, 1 huge home spa, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 12

Ideally located at the corner of Saint Urbain and Rachel, main entrance of Parc Jeanne Mance and Parc Mont Royal, the heart of the Plateau Mont Royal, one of the fashionable neighbourhoods in North America. Close to pubs, cafes, shops and a laissez-faire ambience, we offer magnificent large and open areas over two floors totalling 1,600ft² plus a South-West facing terrace of 400ft². Including:

- Heating, cooling, ventilation and electricity ;

- 51'' plasma television HD with Videotron PVR-HD and subscription ;

- Unlimited professional-grade internet at 25MB/s ;

- Unlimited local calls ;

- 1 master bedroom with two Double beds and ensuite full bathroom ;

- 1 huge and luxurious home spa ;

- 1 big bedroom with King bed and large storage ;

- 2 bedrooms with Queen bed ;

- 1 huge kitchen all equipped ;

- 1 huge dining space with dining table for ten (10) seated guests ;

- extra dining table available as possible upgrade for more guests ;

- 1 kitchen countertop for five (5) seated guests ;

- 1 enormous 600ft² open space with sofa for eight (8) seated guests ;

- 1 presidential office space with four (4) seats ;

- 1 Double bed in the open space ;

- 3 Twin air mattresses provided ;

- 1 400ft² private deck with table for six (6) guests and barbecue ;

- overall, up to fifteen (15) sleeping guests ;

- overall, up to thirty three (33) seated guests ;

- extra unit available as possible upgrade for more space.

South-West orientation with sunlight all year round.

COMFORT AND SUSTAINABILITY WITHOUT COMPROMISE

This building is Green in many ways -- next to the best biking and hiking trails that Montréal can offer, walking distance from commercial areas, easy access to public transportation, etc. It was also renovated to the highest existing sustainability standards by leading specialists from ABOVE Technologies inc. including:

- extra indoor natural light provided by top quality LED lights achieving -85% reduction in power consumption ;

- full-capacity geothermal heating and cooling saving -75% on heating and -25% on cooling ;

- geothermal preheating of domestic water and heat recovery from used water saving -25% and more ;

- re-insulation of the building as new saving -30% in heating and cooling ;

- water-efficient toilets ;

- ENERGY STAR® appliances.

These features exceed ENERGY STAR® and LEED® criteria by far, probably making it the Greenest residential building in downtown Montréal. Carbon footprint is estimated to be -60% below comparable buildings in the area.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Yuris (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2015

About Yuris

We manage this property since 2011.

Yuris purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Yuris chose Montreal

We acquired this property for its perfect business and leisure location in Montréal Qc and its historic cachet and quality.

What makes this cottage unique

It is an historic cottage from 1880 completely renovated better than new in the period 2004-2013 using the latest Green technologies and standards available. We recently contracted a third-party evaluation of the property. Cost of construction alone came out at about 1.2M$.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed here for a Boy's Long Weekend Away a month or so ago, and this place is a gem. Walking distance to just about everything, including the park which is gorgeous, lots of restaurants, bars and clubs. This place is definitely for someone looking for reasonable, but refined accommodations. The beds were very comfortable, showers were all great with lots of hot water and pressure, and the kitchen was well stocked to be able to prepare your own meals if eating out isn't always your thing. But, the highlight was definitely the roof porch. Grilling and relaxing up there plus all the amenities made this place and our stay incredibly enjoyable!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 6

Why HomeAway

Sleeps21
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
average rating of 4.4 based on 21 reviews
5

Exactly as Described!! Miss It Already!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at the penthouse at the Gate of Mount Royal from September 27th through the 29th. The apartment was exactly as described in the posting from ABOVE Technologies. We dealt with Thierry prior to check-in who was EXTREMELY responsive on all questions asked. Having to deal with the logistics of a different country, Thierry went out of his way to ensure there were no issues with payment and check-in.

The penthouse itself is very large and spacious. The outdoor patio with grill was a great addition to the weekend. No complaints and our weekend went without a hitch. The kitchen was fully stocked with plates and glassware which was perfect for a group dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed Montreal and it was due in most part because of our accommodations. You can't beat the location on St. Laurent. St. Laurent can be very busy, and the penthouse was fortunately a block away from the heavy traffic. Close enough to walk everywhere and quiet enough to get a good night's rest.

I can't speak highly enough about Thierry's level of professionalism throughout the trip. Never did I once feel uncomfortable or worried. It made such a difference to our trip.

I look forward to my next trip to Montreal and will absolutely consider coming back to the penthouse. Two thumbs up.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for supporting us, Chris. We enjoyed working with your group and will welcome you in Montréal again soon. Our pleasure !
5

Happy New Year 2015 !

  • 5 of 5

Stayed with a group of twelve before and after New Year. Had a great time. This place is walking distance from all action so even during a snow storm it's very enjoyable, maybe even more. There was more than enough space and beds for all of us. We enjoyed very much the assistance of Yuris whenever we needed help. We saw the previous review and find it unfair. This place was renovated with style and high quality furniture, definitely not from Ikea. We can only praise the property management. Not a single hitch with booking, coming and going. Thanks again and will stay again !

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
1

Disappointing Stay, Would not recommend to other travelers

  • 1 of 5

I travel with a group of adults a few times a year and we use VRBO/Home Away almost exclusively. This is probably the only time I've left with a sour taste in my mouth. I really don't understand how this place has such good reviews and unfortunately makes me question peer reviews online.

First off, the booking process is fairly backwards. You need to send a full deposit (including a security deposit of over 1k) by international wire which is fairly fee heavy. That's fine, I can understand that. After you've completed this, you then have to sign their contract. They already have your deposit, so there isn't much you can do. The contract is short but it has all of these open ended points that really required clarification; "Partying inside the house is not allowed" or "Disturbing neighbours in any way is not allowed" can be bent any which way when someone has your security deposit with no recourse.

Anyways, the space itself is okay. It's a little tired. One thing it DOES NOT do is comfortably sleep 18 people. We only had 12 adults and the setup is really awkward. There are only 3 bedrooms so it's definitely void of privacy if you have a handful of couples staying. I will say, the location was nice and it was close to a lot of the major attractions of the city; we only took a cab sporadically.

Our group is pretty organized for these trips, and we wanted to know where to put the garbage on the second day. We emailed our contact that morning but no one got back to us. Oh well.

Finally, the last night we were there, one of the gentlemen relegated to the futon was setting up the bed to crash for the night. He got into bed and one of the screws on the cheap Ikea bed broke, rendering it useless. Not a big deal I thought. I emailed the next morning and called a few times; we had the place cleaned up and some time to kill so I wanted to touch base on it so they knew and see if we could just take care of it. After a handful of calls and emails and no response, we hit the road.

The contract states they need 7-10 days to review and get your deposit out. I emailed for 2 weeks until they responded with a message about getting a quote for the futon. The contact seemed annoyed and estimated we'd owe $350. I said I'd prefer some documentation and they said turns out this required nearly $500 in repairs. What a joke. I told them to send the check ASAP as I clearly had no control in the situation. Do not recommend to anyone; just really disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Michael, We are surprised by your feedback but happy to be informed of your point of view. Unfortunately, you did not share it with us during or after your stay. We believe there are a number of misunderstandings between us. First of all, our cottage can easily fit eighteen (18) people. In fact, it can fit up to twenty two (22) people. As you stayed with a group of ten (10) people and did not require more than eight (8) beds, you were offered half of the cottage (two floors) for a maximum of 12-14 people. Our space and price is adjusted to the needs of the groups staying. We were very clear with what was offered in our emails and contract. This is exactly what you got. Second, for many years now, we require a proof of ID, a proof of permanent residence, a signed contract and a full payment by international wire transfer before checkin. You may be under the impression that this is a one sided process. In reality, this booking process protects both of us against possible fraudulent activities over the internet while significantly reducing the risk of criminal activities inside the property including during your stay. As you did not complain about any of these aspects before checkout, we believe the true reason for this review is to be found with your checkout. Third of all, during the checkout process, you admitted yourself that one of your friends broke our ottoman bed. As you know, this is not an Ikea bed. This is an expensive designer ottoman worth about 2,000$. Following this damage report made spontaneously by yourself, our furniture provider was able to supply a new bed frame at a special negotiated price of less than 500$. We waved all other costs on our side and only charged you for repairing the broken bed at the best possible price. We presented you with the bills and you approved them. We perfectly understand your frustration of being charged more than 400$ on top of your stay. However, as owners, we cannot take these costs on ourselves. This was clearly your responsibily and we had the right to charge much more than that in this case. We have been very fair and honest with your group and surprised by your decision to write a bad review against us more than four months after the facts. As a young New Yorker, you may be under the impression that Montréal is the Northern Las Vegas for all-inclusive all-permitted vacations. You must understand that there are limits to this.
Vancouver, BC
5

Wonderful City, Wonderful place and Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

We had a girls weekend here. Wonderful City. Wonderful place. Wonderful time. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
San Francisco, CA
5

Wonderful summer in Montréal Qc !

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for a week this summer. Enjoyed wonderful Plateau with tons of small things to discover anyday anytime. Enjoyed this air conditioned penthouse and outside deck very much. You can hardly be closer to action with such comfort and quietness im Montréal Qc. Much appreciated. Will stay again. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Toronto, ON
5

Great location, clean with luxury bathrooms !

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for a long weekend. Loved the location so central -- walking distance from everything including best eateries like Shwartz's and Pied de Cochon and best entertainment like Mount Royal Park and Place des Arts. This place is very large and clean. On top of that, it comes with newly renovated and luxury bathrooms with spa. Highly recommended to anyone willing to discover Montréal from inside.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
14.5 Kilometres
YUL (Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport)
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Montreal Central Station
Car: not necessary

ONE OF THE BEST LOCATION IN MONTRÉAL Qc.: ONE OF THE BEST LOCATION IN MONTRÉAL Qc. Ideally located at the corner of Saint Urbain and Rachel, main entrance of Parc Jeanne Mance and Parc Mount Royal, the heart of the Plateau, one of the fashionable neighbourhoods in North America. Close to pubs, cafes, shops and a laissez-faire ambience. 15 minutes walking distance from parcs, le Plateau and downtown. Buses and metros right at the door.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$490 Per night

Montreal Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$490
From
C$748
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
C$2,995
C$11,990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add C$70 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit C$1,000
Tax Rate 19.0%
Notes Please always contact us for exact quotes. Extra fees apply for online payment. Extra fees apply for more than eight (8) guests. Extra unit required for more than twelve (12) guests. These rates do not apply for special events and vacation periods like Grand Prix, Canada Day, Osheaga Festival, Labour Day, Christmas, New Year, etc. We can best be reached by email. We don't take incoming calls anymore.

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Montreal Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Intercom System
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , Huge home spa with bath, shower, vanity and toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Private bathroom with huge shower, vanity and toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Bathroom with toilet, vanity and mirror
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Master bedroom - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Patio
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Standard check-in 5PM. Standard check-out 10AM.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote