Left the chalet after less than 24h!
Submitted: August 20, 2012
Stayed: August 2012
Our two families of four were expecting to pass a few days at Brice Resort. Unfortunately, after the first two hours on location, we took the decision to leave the chalet the next morning as it was definitely not appropriate for a group of eight and that the poorly maintained property presented some danger in the close vicinity of the house. Four of the five kids were stung by bees which nested on the pathway to the lake, 20 yards from the house. My daughter developed a bad reaction which forced us to bring her to an emergency room the next evening (documents from the hospital can prove it (something put in doubt by the chalet owner!). Not enough sheets, no enough pots, forks, knives, no barbecue, no seating on the deck, ... made it a bad experience for us. I would not recommend this property to any friend nor relative.
Owner's Response: Wow, this guest said they were going to write a negative review if we did not offer them a refund, and they certainly carried through with that threat! However, allow me to present the facts:
Rebecca's husband called me the 1st night of their scheduled 5-night visit, irate that there is no grill (which is true, due to the potential hazards in a wooded environment - but we didn't advertise such), and said there is no reason "to really go out on the deck (?)." He demanded a refund. Since I had trouble understanding his comments through his thick accent, I asked him to repeat his concern and let me know if there were any other issues - as his request seemed odd. He added that there is no pool table (again, we never advertised such) nor anything for his teens to do at night. He said they wanted to go home the next day and again requested a refund. I kindly indicated that we cannot offer refund, as his reason was not worthy, and I turned away many potential guests since their January reservation. I said if another guest was interested in those dates, however, I would credit them for those days.
Later that day, the husband called me to say that there was a bee hive "on the house" and they were now "in the house chasing my kids." He said, "no one can even go outside." I offered to send out a pest expert that day to remedy any issue, and he said it was unnecessary as they would leaving the next day anyways. To resolve this, however, I inspected the next day (the guests had indeed left) and there were no bees on or near the house, nor in the area (this is a wooded lake resort, so I cannot truly guarantee "bee-free," I guess:)
After a week, the husband emailed me, asking where his refund was. I explained that since our house was not rented the remaining days, we could not. He said that his kids had to go to the emergency room as a result of their visit and if I did not refund their money, he would take action plus write a bad review.
This has been our only negative comment from the 30+ guests (including many groups of 8-10) since we started renting it out our lakeside home. This guest obviously read the other review, where our guests enjoyed their stay last May but commented on the lack of kitchen items (we corrected this immediately, as a result). And, we are dumbfounded by the maintenance comment, as the property is in great shape (one of the best on the Lake). This guest's review is clearly vindictive for not refunding for their shortened stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?