BEACHFRONT HOME NORTH OF SAN PEDRO

Carolyn

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Carolyn

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEACHFRONT HOME NORTH OF SAN PEDRO

Ambergris Caye House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1full bathroom, sleeps 4-6

After many years of adventures in Belize, we realized our dream of building a home there. When we are not enjoying it, we choose to rent it to others interested in discovering the wonders of Belize. We love to explore Mayan ruins, snorkel on the barrier reef, enjoy local culture and food, bird watch, read and relax ! We also enjoy to working on our house and yard!

SEAcluded Sands is a privately owned, beachfront home, located one and a third miles north of 'downtown' San Pedro, in the quiet residential neighborhood called Tres Cocos. There is a new bridge but still are no cars (except taxis) on this part of the island. You can walk, rent a golfcart, ride bicycles, use the Island Ferry or water taxi services to get to town. For your adventures, you will be picked up and returned to the end of the dock in the photograph, which is right in your front yard.

House Layout: The house features two verandas and has all living spaces on the second floor. This arrangement provides a superior view of the Caribbean Sea as well as well as the lagoon, and takes full advantage of the tropical breeze. The veranda off the living room and dining room opens to a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea. It is the perfect place to start your day with a cup of Belizean coffee and a book, watching the sunrise. Later, after a day of adventures, you can watch the moon through the palm trees and relax in the quiet of the evening.

Each bedroom has a queen bed with drawers below and a large closet. Both bedrooms open onto another veranda with a view of the lagoon, it's birds and spectacular sunsets! The futon couch in the living room opens into a double bed with closet space in the hall. There is also a twin size Aero bed available. This configuration can accommodate three couples on a budget, a family with children or be a spacious romantic getaway for a couple.

The kitchen is well equipped for those who want to explore cooking Caribbean cuisine with local fruits, vegetables and seafood. There is also a gas grill. The decor of the home is simple and features local crafts and woods. Both bedrooms have air conditioning and all areas have ceiling fans. We suggest renters reserve a golf cart for at least the first few days of their trip. Wireless internet is available for a charge of $60.00 USD. Cable TV, DVD player, beach towels, cell phone and bottled drinking water are included.

Management: Our home is managed by my niece and nephew who own and operate the award winning SEAduced By Belize tour company, as well as the Black Orchid Spa. Check out their website at www.seaducedbybelize.com and start planning your adventure! Their staff can help with any and all of your plans and questions while you are in town. When you arrive in San Pedro, simply take a taxi the three blocks to their tour office. They will check you in then take you to the house and show you it's details.

Please note: This is a privately owned home and is not part of an apartment or condominium complex. There is a neighborhood security guard but not an on site manager. We are aware that many people are not familiar with travel in Belize. Feel free to call as we gladly answer all questions to the best of our ability..

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Carolyn

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are a semi retired couple from Oregon. Wayne is an environmental consultant and I am a hospital art teacher in pediatric oncology. I first traveled to Belize in 1973 when it was British Honduras and since 1994, we have been coming almost every year. In 2001 we started looking for property and Rebecca found this lot on 9/11. Because of the attack, all flights were grounded so we bought it sight unseen! We knew the area well and it had 7 coconut trees, that seemed fine enough with us! We designed and had the house built the house in 2006.

Carolyn purchased this house in 2001

We loved the location because it is close enough to town that we can easily bicycle in for dinner or groceries yet, far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beachfront Home North of San Pedro
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
business
Beachfront Home North of San Pedro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919846
+1 5036440294
Ambergris Caye Belize
Colorado
1

EXPECTATIONS TOO HIGH

  • 1 of 5
It is with sadness that I write this letter. We were excited to arrive in Belize after receiving SEAcluded Sands owner’s information.

Things may have been different if there had been an on-site overseer and if communications had been more matter-of-fact.

Advantages of an onsite overseer:
We were not prepared to carry propane and heavy water bottles up the steep stairs.
Our stay began with an empty stove propane tank. There was not a correctly-sized wrench to change tanks.

An onsite overseer might have been helpful in filing a police report about stolen belongings while we were away from the locked house.

Matter-of-fact communications:
Lock ALL WINDOWS and doors when away from house to avoid theft.
The roads are badly pot-holed.
(Critical info for anyone with back problems)
Electricity goes off periodically.
(C-pap and O2 machines are affected not to mention air conditioning.)
There is a toll of $5 U.S. for each round trip from town to SEAcluded Sands.
There is a small, but well stocked grocery near the house so a trip to town is not required.
No paper is to be flushed.
Snorkeling off the docks is minimal. Reef snorkeling requires a boat.


Mexico Rocks and Tres Cocos’ corals and sponges were amazing. Palma was an excellent guide. The Guatemalan sellers were a delight. Elvis’ food was incredible.

The negatives could have been overcome by stressing the warnings and giving more complete information about living and driving conditions. The positives did not make up for the poor experience we had.
Sincerely, Richard and Diane
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the owners of SEAcluded Sands, we take the satisfaction of our renters very seriously. We always appreciate feedback and are attending to all concerns.

Our house is a privately owned home in a residential neighborhood and not a part of an apartment or condominium complex. For this reason, we cannot have an on site manager but instead hire a neighborhood security guard. We have owned, rented and enjoyed our house in Belize for 8 years with only one other incident of theft. ( A renter neglected to lock the door) SEAduced By Belize, who oversees the house for us, won the 2008 Tourism Board award. We trust them explicitly!

There are many things that are not within our realm of control. These include, road conditions, electricity and internet service, bridge tolls, snorkeling conditions, weather etc. We gladly answer questions for guests when they are booking, as we understand they may not be familiar with travel in Belize.

We truly regret that these renters were unable to enjoy the wonders and beauty of Belize!
business
Beachfront Home North of San Pedro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919846
+1 5036440294
Ambergris Caye Belize
3

LATE REVIEW

  • 3 of 5
We stayed at Secluded Sands in May 2013 with our daughter and granddaughter. For those of you that are stair challenged I would recommend elsewhere. The view from the porch is excellent altho the dock shown on the website is not their dock but the house to the right.
Beds were uncomfortable and I really felt since they were platform beds the platform was filthy. I was not happy either with the fact we could not flush toilet paper down the toilets and I felt that was very unsanitary. The management neice was helpful to us but very slow as we went several days with a propane gas leak into the house and then no gas. There was also the last renters garbage there when we arrived and no one to take it away for several days.

It is close to the Palapa bar within walking distance which is a great little restaurant and place to go to in the evenings. The bridge is a pain in the butt but when you stay on the North side of island this is what you have to deal with. There are several little restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to rent a golf cart but I suggest you do so you can see the South side of the island too. North side to far up is a really bad road. The caretaker next door is a gem and the vendors are there if you wish to buy something.
Suggest doing Hol Chan Alley we did it twice. Also the lunch excursion was great.
We did not have a problem with the internet while there other than outages but that is normal in the island everywhere.

We were warned not to leave anything outside and to make sure all locks were locked and even tho not all locked properly we did not have a issue. Our electronics etc were always in the safe.
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is truly unfortunate that you waited a full year to voice your concerns. We are serious about customer satisfaction and make correction or compensation when conditions do not meet renter expectations. The website clearly states that all living spaces are on the second level and I agree that if stairs are a problem, this is not the house for you. As the website states, the dock is ”the view from the house.” All docks in Belize must allow public access and you are free to use the dock. And lastly, in San Pedro, all establishments request that no paper be flushed down toilets. It is a normal request in most of Central America.
Once again, customer satisfaction is our top priority. We want guests to enjoy our house as much as we do and therefore respond immediately to negative feedback and concerns to the best of our ability.
business
Beachfront Home North of San Pedro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919846
+1 5036440294
Ambergris Caye Belize
Las Vegas, NV/ U.S.A.
5

PERFECT!

  • 5 of 5
We stayed here for the week during the "rainy season". It could not have been more perfect. The location is amazing and we loved being here. Everything we did was easily accessible from here and Seaduced was great when it came to our adventures! We did get very lucky as it only rained for a couple hours in the middle of the night our first night here and that was it. Thank you again for a great vacation!

Paul and Naomi
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Home North of San Pedro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919846
+1 5036440294
Ambergris Caye Belize
Mansfield, Tx
5

PERFECT LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
Could not have asked for a better vacation! Just over the bridge the house was close enough to town to be convenient, but far enough away to feel secluded. It is clean and well cared for making it feel like home. This home was ideal for our family with three teenagers. Caroline is awesome to work with and had plenty of ideas on activities. Rebecca with Seaduced helped as well. My kids were overwhelmed at how great an experience this was. We left feeling like we had visited family! Can't wait to return again some day.
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Home North of San Pedro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919846
+1 5036440294
Ambergris Caye Belize
Klamath Falls, Oregon
5

A GREAT GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
We had an absolute wonderful time on our trip to Belize. This is our second time to the island but our first renting a vacation home. I would highly recommend this vacation rental for anyone looking for a beautiful, clean home that is quiet and somewhat secluded. And with an outstanding price! You are still a reasonable distance from town but far enough away from the bustle of town. The owner and her family on the island were very accommodating and a pleasure to work with.
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Home North of San Pedro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919846
+1 5036440294
Ambergris Caye Belize
Portland, Oregon, USA
5

FABULOUS PLACE TO RECHARGE, REGENERATE AND FORGET ABOUT WINTER FOR A WHILE.

  • 5 of 5
We travelled with Continental through Houston to Belize City. We stayed over in Belize City, but it wasn't worth the effort. Try to get here in one day. The folks at Seaduced seem pretty accommodating so catching the last Tropic Air flight for the day should work. Just let them know what you are doing.

Shopping for food was "different" than running over to the Safeway here in the states. We did start to figure shopping out after a while. I think you really should use a provisioning service to get your basic starter food supplies. We used Mata Grande which delivered on time and we didn't have to worry about where to get our first couple of meals. Check out their website.

Seacluded Sands is a very simple house consisting of good sized living room, kitchen, 2 bedrooms and one bath. Its a good design that works well with the prevailing breezes. We never needed the air-conditioning. Its a quiet location with the occasional midnight partier racing back from the Palapa Bar (of which we were one). Worked great for us as a couple, could work well for two couples that got along well. Certainly works for a small family. Nicely decorated with tasteful local artwork. Fabulous view of the Caribbean and the barrier reef. We really liked the privacy over staying in one of the condos or resorts. The house is well provisioned with towels, pots, pans, plates etc. Everything we needed was there even some "starter coffee". Good thing because I forgot the Via at home. There is a nice beach like yard area that the owners worked hard to keep private with a well placed hedge and some assorted rocks to make sure traffic stays on the ocean side. We started calling the path deadman's curve after watching several gringos launch themselves into the sea on failing to negotiate the turn. Locals never skipped a beat going through however. You do have to put up with the occasional vendor that will slow down to see if you might be interested.

The house is close enough to town to easily walk in to have lunch or sight see. We rented a golf cart that in the end was nearly as expensive as a car in Hawaii and probably not necessary. San Pedro is clearly a boat friendly place and I think next time a boat instead of a golf cart might be the right model. You could go budget and use a bicycle to work off those lobster tacos.

Don't forget your exit tax, in cash, in US dollars.
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Ambergris Caye House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low season
Jul 2 2014 - Nov 15 2014
5 night minimum stay
$142
$1,000
 
 
High Season
Nov 16 2014 - May 1 2015
5 night minimum stay
$214
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

20% deposit (personal check or bank draft) and signed contract confirm the reservation. Full balance is due 60 days before arrival in high season and 30 days before arrival in low season. Sorry but we are not set up to take credit cards.
Tax Rate 9.0%
Notes from $1000 / week
Low Season ... May 01-Nov 14 .. $1000/week.
High Season .. Nov 15-Apr 30 .. $1500/week.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Ambergris Caye House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Safe
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Sofa Bed
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Grill
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Blender
  • Stove
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Books
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat Dock
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • reefs
  • ruins
  • zoo
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email